DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a program which does not fall within the four categories considered for eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfeiffer et al (US 2021/0241000, hereafter Pfeiffer).
As per claim 1, Pfeiffer discloses a computer system for recognizing an object, the computer system comprising:
a memory for storing a program code; and
a processor for performing operations in accordance with the program code, wherein the operations include acquiring an event signal generated by an event-based vision sensor (¶ 37), acquiring, separately from the event signal,
information indicating occurrence of vibration in the object, and recognizing the object according to the event signal that is generated by the event-based vision sensor at timing of the occurrence of the vibration (¶ 45).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi (US 2023/0046071) .
As per claim 2, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 1.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include inputting a control signal to a vibration device that generates the vibration in the object and the timing of the occurrence of the vibration is identified based on timing when the control signal is inputted to the vibration device.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the operations further include inputting a control signal to a vibration device that generates the vibration in the object and the timing of the occurrence of the vibration is identified based on timing when the control signal is inputted to the vibration device (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 3, Pfeiffer teaches the computer system according to claim 1.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include inputting a control signal to a vibration device that generates the vibration in the object, and the information indicating the occurrence of vibration in the object is internally acquired as timing of input of the control signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the operations further include inputting a control signal to a vibration device that generates the vibration in the object, and the information indicating the occurrence of vibration in the object is internally acquired as timing of input of the control signal (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 4, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 2.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration device generates the vibration by emitting sound waves toward the object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the vibration device generates the vibration by emitting sound waves toward the object (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 5, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 4.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the timing of the occurrence of the vibration is identified by adding a delay time to the timing when the control signal is inputted to the vibration device.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the timing of the occurrence of the vibration is identified by adding a delay time to the timing when the control signal is inputted to the vibration device (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 6, Pfeiffer teaches the computer system according to claim 5.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the delay time is calculated based on depth information regarding the object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the delay time is calculated based on depth information regarding the object (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 7, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 2.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration device generates the vibration by contacting the object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the vibration device generates the vibration by contacting the object (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 8, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 1.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include correcting an amplitude of the vibration that is detected based on the event signal, according to depth information regarding the object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the operations further include correcting an amplitude of the vibration that is detected based on the event signal, according to depth information regarding the object (¶ 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 9, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 1.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein recognition of the object includes estimating a material of the object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches teach wherein recognition of the object includes estimating a material of the object (¶ 82 and 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
As per claim 10, Pfeiffer discloses the computer system according to claim 9.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include identifying candidate materials of the object by analyzing an image acquired through use of a frame-based vision sensor, and the material of the object is estimated from the candidate materials.
In the same field of endeavor, Arunmozhi teaches wherein the operations further include identifying candidate materials of the object by analyzing an image acquired through use of a frame-based vision sensor, and the material of the object is estimated from the candidate materials (¶ 82 and 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Arunmozhi. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeiffer in view of Delamont (US 2020/0368616).
As per claim 11, Pfeiffer discloses he computer system according to claim 1.
However, Pfeiffer does not explicitly teach wherein information indicating the occurrence of the vibration in the object includes information indicating the occurrence of a first-pattern vibration in the object and information indicating the occurrence of a second-pattern vibration in the object, the recognition of the object includes at least one of acquiring a first recognition result by recognizing the object according to an event signal generated at timing of the occurrence of the first-pattern vibration and acquiring a second recognition result by recognizing the object according to an event signal generated at timing of the occurrence of the second-pattern vibration, and the operations further include performing either a first process or a second process on the object according to at least one of the first recognition result and the second recognition result.
In the same field of endeavor, Delamont teaches wherein information indicating the occurrence of the vibration in the object includes information indicating the occurrence of a first-pattern vibration in the object and information indicating the occurrence of a second-pattern vibration in the object, the recognition of the object includes at least one of acquiring a first recognition result by recognizing the object according to an event signal generated at timing of the occurrence of the first-pattern vibration and acquiring a second recognition result by recognizing the object according to an event signal generated at timing of the occurrence of the second-pattern vibration, and the operations further include performing either a first process or a second process on the object according to at least one of the first recognition result and the second recognition result (¶ 483).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pfeiffer in view of Delamont. The advantage is improving accuracy of object detection.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487