Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on July 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 30, 2026.
Abstract of the Disclosure
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 5 of the paragraph, the phrase “formula (III) (II) (III), wherein is pendent oxygen. . .” needs correction. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the phrase “enhances deposition . . .” in lines 23-25 (last three lines) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2-8, being dependent from claim 1, inherit the same rejection as in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partain, III et al. (WO 2020051049, already cited in IDS dated 09/17/2024), hereinafter “Partain, III.”
Regarding claims 1-4, Partain, III teaches a fabric care composition including water; a modified carbohydrate polymer having a weight average molecular weight of < 500,000 Daltons, preferably, 50,000 to 480,000 Daltons (see [0010]) and a Kjeldahl nitrogen content corrected for ash and volatiles, TKN, of ≥ 0.5 wt%, preferably, 0.5 to 5.0 wt (see [0014]); and a cleaning surfactant; wherein the modified carbohydrate polymer is a carbohydrate polymer functionalized with quaternary ammonium moieties; wherein the quaternary ammonium moieties on the modified carbohydrate polymer include: trimethyl ammonium moieties having formula (I) and dimethyl(alkyl) ammonium moieties having formula (II)
wherein each R is independently selected from a C8-22 alkyl group (see abstract), most preferably each R is a C12 alkyl group (see [0014]). Preferably, the fabric care composition further comprises: 0 to 10 wt%, preferably, 0.1 to 10 wt%, based on the weight of the fabric care composition, of a fragrance (see [0025]). The modified carbohydrate polymer has a mol% substitution ratio of trimethyl ammonium moieties of formula (I) to dimethyl(alkyl) ammonium moieties of formula (II) of > 2 to < 100 (see claim 4), for example, 99.0 to 3.3 (see Table 1).One of the preferred carbohydrate polymer is dextran (see [0013]), which is a known complex branched glucan. It is noted that the fabric care composition of Partain, III does not contain silicone. Partain, III, however, fails to specifically disclose the dextran having a weight average molecular weight of 140,000 to 500,000 Daltons; and that the degree of substitution of the trimethyl ammonium moieties on the dextran polymer is 0.1 to 0.2, and the degree of substitution of the dimethyl(alkyl) ammonium moieties or dimethyldodecyl ammonium moieties on the dextran polymer is 0.005 to 0.02, or a ratio of trimethyl ammonium substitution to dimethyldodecyl ammonium substitution of 40:1 to 5:1 as recited in claim 1; and the modified carbohydrate polymer having a Kjeldahl nitrogen content corrected for ash and volatiles of 0.5 to 2.0 wt% as recited in claim 3.
Considering that Partain, III teaches that the modified carbohydrate polymer, like dextran, has a weight average molecular weight of < 500,000 Daltons, preferably, 50,000 to 480,000 Daltons; and the modified carbohydrate polymer has a mol% substitution ratio of trimethyl ammonium moieties of formula (I) to dimethyl(alkyl) ammonium moieties of formula (II) of > 2 to < 100 (see claim 4), for example, 99.0 to 3.3 (see Table 1), the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g., MW of 140,000 to <500,000; ratio of 40:1 to 5:1) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With respect to the Kjeldahl nitrogen content corrected for ash and volatiles, considering that Partain, III teaches that the modified carbohydrate polymer has a Kjeldahl nitrogen content corrected for ash and volatiles, TKN, of > 0.5 wt%, preferably, 0.5 to 5.0 wt%, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g., 0.5 to 2.0 wt% because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partain, III as applied to claims 1-4 above, as evidenced by Sivik et al. (WO 2021/257793, already cited in IDS dated 09/17/2024), hereinafter “Sivik.”
Regarding claims 5-8, Partain, III teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Partain, III teaches that the cleaning surfactant is selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactants, nonionic surfactants, cationic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants and mixtures thereof, preferably a mixture a linear alkyl benzene sulfonate, sodium lauryl ethoxysulfate and a nonionic alcohol ethoxylate (see [0016]). Partain, III also teaches that the fabric care composition is a laundry detergent (see [0022]), for example, an aqueous laundry detergent (see [0042] and Table 2). Partain, III, however, fails to specifically disclose that the branched chain dextran polymer comprises a plurality of glucose structural units, wherein 90 to 98 mol% of the glucose structural units are connected by α-1,6 linkages and 2 to 10 mol% of the glucose structural units are connected by α-1,3 linkages as recited in claim 5.
As evidenced by Sivik, the dextran may comprise a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein at lest 90% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosidic linkages (see page 18, lines 1-6 and 27-29), and the backbone of the dextran can comprise at least 3% or at least 5% glucose monomer units which are linked via alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages (see page 18, lines 17-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the glucose units of the dextran of Partain, III to be connected by alpha-1,6-glycosidic linkages and alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages within those recited because, as evidenced by Sivik, the dextran may comprise a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein at least 90% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosidic linkages and the backbone of the dextran can comprise at least 3% or at least 5% glucose monomer units which are linked via alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761