DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Selvanesan et al. (U.S. 2024/0414743), hereinafter Selvanesan.
With respect to Claim 1, Selvanesan teaches an electronic device for a user equipment (UE) (¶ 0353, “a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, like a 3rd Generation Partnership Project, 3GPP”), comprising:
at least one processor (figure 13, #602 memory); and
at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device (figure 13, #606 or #608, memory) to:
determine, based on resource configuration information, a licensed frequency band resource pool and an unlicensed frequency band resource pool that are available to a sidelink transmission of the UE (¶ 0493, “In the system one or more resource pools 420a in the unlicensed spectrum 418 are provided and one or more resource pools 420b in the licensed spectrum 416 are provided. It is noted that each of the resource pools 420a and 420b may be only within the unlicensed/licensed spectrum.”); and
determine, from the licensed frequency band resource pool and the unlicensed frequency band resource pool, a candidate resource set for the sidelink transmission of the UE (¶ 0058, “the UE may determine which of the received sets of resources to use for the transmission, for example to use only the set of resources for a transmission which the UE judges to be not occupied.”)
With respect to Claim 2, Selvanesan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration information is preconfigured and/or is dynamically configured by a signaling from a base station (¶ 0009, “both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs.”)
With respect to Claim 22, the claims are the method corresponding to the device of Claim 1 and is rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (U.S. 2024/0414743), hereinafter Selvanesan, in view of Si et al (U.S. 2025/0240772), hereinafter Si.
With respect to Claim 20, Selvanesan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
select, from the candidate resource set, one or more resources to perform the sidelink transmission of the UE (¶ 0058, “the UE may determine which of the received sets of resources to use for the transmission, for example to use only the set of resources for a transmission which the UE judges to be not occupied.”); and
Selvanesan fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from a base station, a signaling instructing the UE to enable the licensed frequency band resource pool and/or the unlicensed frequency band resource pool; and
enable the resource pools as indicated by the signaling.
Si teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from a base station, a signaling instructing the UE to enable the licensed frequency band resource pool and/or the unlicensed frequency band resource pool; and (¶ 0085, “the resource allocation of PSSCH, PSCCH, and PSFCH within the interlace based resource pool, and the associated signaling for the enabling the interlace based resource allocation and the corresponding indication of frequency domain resources when the interlace based resource allocation is enabled.”)
enable the resource pools as indicated by the signaling (¶ 0085, “the resource allocation of PSSCH, PSCCH, and PSFCH within the interlace based resource pool, and the associated signaling for the enabling the interlace based resource allocation and the corresponding indication of frequency domain resources when the interlace based resource allocation is enabled.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Si which teaches enabling or disabling the allocation as it allows better control of devices in the network in the system of Selvanesan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479