DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on April 21, 2025. Claims 11-23 are currently pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the working space"; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roberts US2019/0001501 (“Roberts”).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Roberts discloses a robot arm, comprising:
a plurality of configuration joints determining the configuration of the robot arm, a base frame, a carousel rotatably mounted on the base frame around a first axis of rotation by a first joint of the configuration joints (fig. 1, [0053] FIG. 1 shows a surgical robot having an arm 1 which extends from a base 2. The arm comprises a number of rigid limbs 3. The limbs are coupled by revolute joints 4. The most proximal limb 3a is coupled to the base by joint 4a. It and the other limbs are coupled in series by further ones of the joints 4. A wrist 5 is made up of four individual revolute joints. The wrist 5 couples one limb (3b) to the most distal limb (3c) of the arm.), a link arm pivotably mounted on the carousel around a second axis of rotation by a second joint of the configuration joints, and an arm boom pivotably mounted on the link arm around a third axis of rotation by a third joint of the configuration joints (fig. 1, fig, 2, para. 54-55, Joint 3, 4, 5 );
wherein the link arm comprises mechanically separate first and second pivot coupling rods designed to position the third joint in the working space of the robot arm (e.g. [0055] FIG. 2 shows the wrist 5 of the robot in more detail. The wrist comprises four revolute joints 300, 301, 302, 303. The joints are arranged in series, with a rigid part of the arm extending from each joint to the next. The most proximal joint 300 of the wrist joins arm part 4b to arm part 310.);
the first pivot coupling rod pivotably mounted on the carousel by a first base bearing ([0053] FIG. 1 shows a surgical robot having an arm 1 which extends from a base 2. The arm comprises a number of rigid limbs 3. The limbs are coupled by revolute joints 4. The most proximal limb 3a is coupled to the base by joint 4a.); the second pivot coupling rod pivotably mounted on the carousel by a second base bearing (para. 53, The arm comprises a number of rigid limbs 3. The limbs are coupled by revolute joints 4. The most proximal limb 3a is coupled to the base by joint 4a. It and the other limbs are coupled in series by further ones of the joints 4.); the arm boom pivotably mounted on the first pivot coupling rod by a first head bearing; the arm boom mounted on the second pivot coupling rod by a second head bearing (para. 53, A wrist 5 is made up of four individual revolute joints. The wrist 5 couples one limb (3b) to the most distal limb (3c) of the arm. The most distal limb 3c carries an attachment 8 for a surgical instrument or tool 9. Each joint 4 of the arm has one or more motors 6 which can be operated to cause rotational motion at the respective joint, and one or more position and/or torque sensors 7 which provide information regarding the current configuration and/or load at that joint. For clarity, only some of the motors and sensors are shown in FIG. 1.); and
a first drive apparatus configured and arranged to pivotably drive the first and second pivot coupling rods, whereby the first drive apparatus distributes drive energy to be conducted via the link arm for positioning the third joint in the working space to the two pivot coupling rods in order to adjust the arm boom relative to the carousel (fig. 1-fig. 5, e.g. [0061] Two electric motors 24, 25 (see FIG. 4) are mounted in arm part 310. The motors is drive respective drive shafts 26, 27 which extend into the midst of the wrist mechanism. [0062] Shaft 26 drives rotation about axis 20. Shaft 27 drives rotation about axis 21. Drive shaft 26 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 32. The worm gear 32 engages a bevel gear 33 which is fast with the coupler 28. Drive shaft 27 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 34. The worm gear 34 engages a gear train shown generally at 35 which terminates in a further worm gear 36. Worm-form pinion gear 36 engages a hypoid-toothed bevel gear 37 which is fast with the distal shell connector 311′.) .
Regarding claim(s) 12. Roberts discloses a second drive apparatus configured to pivotably drive the arm boom on the link arm by transmitting drive energy to the arm boom, thereby adjusting the arm boom relative to the link arm ([0061] Two electric motors 24, 25 (see FIG. 4) are mounted in arm part 310. The motors is drive respective drive shafts 26, 27 which extend into the midst of the wrist mechanism. [0062] Shaft 26 drives rotation about axis 20. Shaft 27 drives rotation about axis 21. Drive shaft 26 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 32. The worm gear 32 engages a bevel gear 33 which is fast with the coupler 28. Drive shaft 27 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 34. The worm gear 34 engages a gear train shown generally at 35 which terminates in a further worm gear 36. Worm-form pinion gear 36 engages a hypoid-toothed bevel gear 37 which is fast with the distal shell connector 311′.) .).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first drive apparatus comprises:a first gear unit designed to transmit part of the drive energy to the first pivot coupling rod, and a second gear unit independent of the first gear unit and designed to transmit part of the drive energy to the second pivot coupling rod; or the second drive apparatus comprises: a first swivel head gear unit designed to transmit part of the drive energy to the arm boom, wherein the first swivel head gear unit comprises a first torque support member acting against the first pivot coupling rod, and a second swivel head gear-unit designed to transmit part of the drive energy to the arm boom, wherein the second swivel head gear unit comprises a second torque support member acting against the second pivot coupling rod (para. 61-65, [0066] Various aspects of the mechanism shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 are advantageous in helping to make the mechanism particularly compact. ).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first gear unit and the second gear unit are operatively coupled together; or the first swivel head gear unit and the second swivel head gear unit are operatively coupled together (para. 61-para. 64, [0064] The gear train 35 is borne by the coupler 28. The gear train comprises an input gear 38 which engages the worm 34. Input gear 38 is located with its rotation axis relative to the coupler 28 being coincident with axis 20. That means that the input gear can continue to engage the worm 34 irrespective of the configuration of the coupler 28 relative to arm part 310 about axis 20. A series of further gears whose axes are parallel with axis 20 transfer drive from the input gear 38 to an output gear 39 on a shaft 40 whose rotation axis relative to the carrier 28 is parallel with but offset from axis 20. Shaft 40 terminates in the worm 36. Shaft 40 extends parallel to axis 20. The gears of gear train 35, together with shaft 40, are borne by the coupler 28.).
Regarding claim(s) 15. Roberts discloses wherein: the first gear unit and the second gear unit are mechanically coupled by at least one intermediate gear stage; or the first swivel head gear unit and the second swivel head gear unit are mechanically coupled by at least one swivel head intermediate gear stage (para. 61-para. 64, [0064] The gear train 35 is borne by the coupler 28. The gear train comprises an input gear 38 which engages the worm 34. Input gear 38 is located with its rotation axis relative to the coupler 28 being coincident with axis 20. That means that the input gear can continue to engage the worm 34 irrespective of the configuration of the coupler 28 relative to arm part 310 about axis 20. A series of further gears whose axes are parallel with axis 20 transfer drive from the input gear 38 to an output gear 39 on a shaft 40 whose rotation axis relative to the carrier 28 is parallel with but offset from axis 20. Shaft 40 terminates in the worm 36. Shaft 40 extends parallel to axis 20. The gears of gear train 35, together with shaft 40, are borne by the coupler 28.).
Regarding claim(s) 16. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first gear unit and the second gear unit of the first drive apparatus are driven by a common motor; or the first swivel head gear unit and the second swivel head gear unit of the second drive apparatus are driven by a common motor ([0062] Shaft 26 drives rotation about axis 20. Shaft 27 drives rotation about axis 21. Drive shaft 26 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 32. The worm gear 32 engages a bevel gear 33 which is fast with the coupler 28. Drive shaft 27 terminates at its distal end in a worm gear 34. The worm gear 34 engages a gear train shown generally at 35 which terminates in a further worm gear 36. Worm-form pinion gear 36 engages a hypoid-toothed bevel gear 37 which is fast with the distal shell connector 311′.).
Regarding claim(s) 17. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first gear unit of the first drive apparatus is driven by a first motor, and the second gear unit of the first drive apparatus is driven by a second motor that is separate from the first motor; or the first swivel head gear unit of the second drive apparatus is driven by a third motor, and the second swivel head gear unit of the second drive apparatus is driven by a fourth motor that is separate from the third motor (fig. 1-fig. 4, para. 53, The most distal limb 3c carries an attachment 8 for a surgical instrument or tool 9. Each joint 4 of the arm has one or more motors 6 which can be operated to cause rotational motion at the respective joint, and one or more position and/or torque sensors 7 which provide information regarding the current configuration and/or load at that joint).
Regarding claim(s) 18. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first motor and the second motor are actuated in a control-coupled manner; or the third motor and the fourth motor are actuated in a control-coupled manner ([0061] Two electric motors 24, 25 (see FIG. 4) are mounted in arm part 310. The motors is drive respective drive shafts 26, 27 which extend into the midst of the wrist mechanism.).
Regarding claim(s) 19. Roberts discloses wherein at least one of: the first drive apparatus comprises at least one pre-stage gearbox; or the second drive apparatus comprises at least one pre-stage gearbox ([0072]- [0080] e.g. It is convenient if the part gear 33 serves rotation about the axis 20 by which the carrier 28 is pivoted to the next-most-proximal arm part 310, as opposed to rotation about axis 21, since the part gear can also be cut away to accommodate shaft 40 intersecting the said circle. That saves space by permitting the worm 36 to be located on the opposite side of bevel gear 33 to the gear train 35. However, in other designs the part gear could serve rotation about axis 21, so gear 37 could be of part-circular form.).
Regarding claim(s) 20. Roberts discloses wherein the at least one pre-stage gearbox of the first drive apparatus or the second drive apparatus comprises at least one pre-stage bevel gearbox ([0072] 6. The bevel gear 33 is conveniently located so as to be interposed between worms 32 and 34. This helps the packaging of the motors 24, 25. [0073] 7. The bevel gears and the worm gears that mate with them can conveniently be of hypoid or skew axis, e.g. Spiroid®, form. These gears allow for relatively high torque capacity in a relatively compact form. [0074] FIGS. 5 and 6 show a second form of wrist mechanism suitable for providing joints 301, 302 in a wrist of the type shown in FIG. 2.).
Regarding claim(s) 22. Roberts discloses further comprising: a first weight balancing device assigned to the first pivot coupling rod; and a second weight balancing device, which is separate from the first weight balancing device, assigned to the second pivot coupling rod ([0081] This mechanism has been found to be capable of providing a particularly compact, light and rigid drive arrangement for rotation about axes 62 and 63 without the components of the mechanism unduly restricting motion of the shells. It permits both motors to be housed in the proximal shell which reduces distal weight.).
Regarding claim(s) 23. Roberts discloses comprising: a robot cable set guided along the first pivot coupling rod; and an energy supply line guided along the second pivot coupling rod ([0060] The shell of arm part 310 (constituted by shell parts 310′ and 310″) and the shell of arm part 311 (which extends from spur 311′) are movable with respect to each other about two rotation axes, shown at 20 and 21. These correspond to axes 305, 306 of FIG. 2. Axes 20 and 21 are orthogonal. Axes 20 and 21 intersect. A central coupler 28 is mounted to arm part 310 by bearings 29, 30. The coupler extends between the bearings 29, 30. The bearings 29, 30 hold the coupler fast with arm part 310 except that they permit relative rotation of the coupler and that arm part about axis 20, thus defining a revolute joint corresponding to joint 301 of FIG. 2. A further bearing 31 attaches the distal shell connector spur 311′ to the coupler 28. Bearing 31 holds the distal shell connector spur 311′ fast with the coupler 28 except for permitting relative motion of the spur and the coupler about axis 21, thus defining a revolute joint corresponding to joint 302 of FIG. 2.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658