DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 21, 24, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 20170269353).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) a light field display device, comprising: a display panel (404), comprising a plurality of pixels; an imaging structure (402) located at a light emitting side of the display panel; wherein the imaging structure (402) is configured to image light emitted from the display panel (404) (along the optical path direction; section 0044), so that the light emitted from the display panel forms a real image on a first plane; the first plane is located at a side away from the display panel, of the imaging structure; a transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses; section 0023) located at a side away from the display panel, of the imaging structure; wherein the transmission lens structure is configured to: amplify the real image to form a virtual image (408) and enable a pupil of a human eye (Eye) to receive the virtual image; the virtual image received by a pupil of a single eye is formed by light emitted from at least two pixels (404n).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) the imaging structure (402) comprises a plurality of micro lenses (402n) arranged in an array; focal lengths of the plurality of micro lenses are same (sections 0044, 0049; Fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) a focal point of the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) is located on the first plane (Fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) the display panel comprises plurality of pixels (404n); the pixels (404n) are in one-to-one correspondence with the micro lenses (402n) (section 0043).
Regarding claim 21, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Fig. 6) the imaging structure further comprises: a first planarization layer (layer between 604 and 602; Fig. 6) located at a side away from the display panel (606), of the micro lens; wherein the micro lens is a spherical lens; a curved region of the spherical lens faces the transmission lens structure (section 0049); or the micro lens comprises a first cylindrical lens and a second cylindrical lens that are stacked; an extending direction of the first cylindrical lens and an extending direction of the second cylindrical lens intersect; a curved region of the first cylindrical lens and a curved region of the second cylindrical lenses face the transmission lens structure.
Regarding claim 24, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Fig. 6) the transmission lens structure (602) comprises a plurality of lenses; the plurality of lenses comprise at least one of a straight-through lens, a free-form surface lens or a Fresnel lens; or the transmission lens structure is a folded light path structure (section 0049).
Regarding claim 34, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Fig. 6) the light field display device comprises two display panels corresponding to a left eye and a right eye respectively, two imaging structures corresponding to the left eye and the right eye respectively, and two transmission lens structures corresponding to the left eye and the right eye respectively (section 0005).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9, 11, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses (Figs. 4-5b) varying distances between the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) and the imaging structure (402) by means of an actuator (406).
Xu does not necessarily disclose a distance H1 between the transmission lens structure and the imaging structure satisfies: P1/H1=EB/ER; wherein EB is an eye movement distance, ER is a distance from the human eye to the transmission lens structure, and P1 is a width of the display panel in any eye movement distance direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) varying distances between the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) and the imaging structure (402) by means of an actuator (406). Xu also discloses light intensities on various pixels and pixel locations with different colors (sections 0070-0073).
Xu does not necessarily disclose the pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units; the display panel comprises a first light emitting plane; light emitting colors of the plurality of sub-pixel units on the first light emitting plane are different; a distance a between the micro lens and the first light emitting plane satisfies: tanfov1= D1/H1 = SS/a ;wherein SS is an aperture of the micro lens, D1 is an aperture of the transmission lens structure, and fov1 is a field of view of the micro lens.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular field of view and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Xu does not necessarily disclose in the any eye movement distance direction, the plurality of pixels are divided into a plurality of pixel rows; the pixel row comprises v pixels arranged along the eye movement distance direction, wherein v is an integer greater than 2; the aperture SS of the micro lens satisfies: SS=P1/v; wherein v is less than or equal to 30.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular pixels and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Xu does not necessarily disclose a focal length F1 of the transmission lens structure satisfies: 1/ER + 1/H1 = 1/F1; wherein a distance b between the first plane and the micro lens satisfies B = H1-a-F1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular focal length and distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses (Figs. 4-5b) varying distances between the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) and the imaging structure (402) by means of an actuator (406). Xu also discloses light intensities on various pixels and pixel locations with different colors (sections 0070-0073). Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) the pixel group (404n) is in one-to-one correspondence with the micro lens (402n) (section 0043).
Xu does not necessarily disclose a distance between the plurality of micro lenses and the transmission lens structure is less than or equal to a focal length of the transmission lens structure; wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of pixel groups; the pixel group comprises V pixels, wherein V is an integer larger than 2; wherein the pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units; the display panel comprises a first light emitting plane; light emitting colors of the plurality of sub-pixel units on the first light emitting plane are different; a distance a between the micro lens and the first light emitting plane satisfies: tan fov1 = EB/H1 = SS/a2 ; wherein fov1 is a field of view of the micro lens, EB is an eye movement distance, H1 is a distance between the transmission lens structure and the micro lens, and SS is an aperture of the micro lens.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distance, pixels, and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) varying distances between the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) and the imaging structure (402) by means of an actuator (406).
Xu does not necessarily disclose a focal length F1 of the transmission lens structure satisfies: tan fov2/2 = (P1/2) / F1; wherein P1 is a width of the display panel in any eye movement distance direction, and fov2 is a field of view of the transmission lens structure; wherein a distance H1 between the micro lens and the transmission lens structure is equal to a focal length F1 of the transmission lens structure, a distance between the first light emitting plane and the micro lens is larger than the focal length of the micro lens; a distance a between the micro lens and the first light emitting plane satisfies: tanfov1 = EB/F1 = SS/a; or a distance H1 between the micro lens and the transmission lens structure is less than a focal length F1 of the transmission lens structure, a distance between the first light emitting plane and the micro lens is greater than the focal length of the micro lens.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular field of view and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, Xu does not necessarily disclose an aperture SS of the micro lens satisfies: SS = v x P2, wherein P2 is a pixel size in any eye movement distance direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular aperture and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, Xu does not necessarily disclose a distance b between the first plane and the micro lens satisfies: 1/-L1 + 1/(F1-b) = 1/F1; wherein L1 is a distance between an optimal depth of field plane and the transmission lens structure.
Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-5b) varying distances between the transmission lens structure (viewing lens between eye and microlenses) and the imaging structure (402) by means of an actuator (406). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distance and optical characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 19 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Yan et al. (US 20220308349).
Regarding claim 19, Xu does not necessarily disclose the imaging structure further comprises: a first substrate located between the plurality of micro lenses and the display panel and bonded to the display panel; or the imaging structure further comprises: a bonding frame located between the plurality of micro lenses and the display panel and bonded to the display panel in a peripheral region of the display panel.
Yan discloses (Fig. 6) the imaging structure further comprises: a first substrate (20, 24) located between the plurality of micro lenses (22) and the display panel (21) and bonded to the display panel; or the imaging structure further comprises: a bonding frame located between the plurality of micro lenses and the display panel and bonded to the display panel in a peripheral region of the display panel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yan so that the micro lenses and the pixels of the display panel are fixed with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 26, Xu discloses (Figs. 2a-18b; in particular Figs. 4-6) the pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units (x, y); the sub-pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels with a same light emitting color (R, G, B) (sections 0070-0073).
Xu does not necessarily disclose the sub-pixel comprises: a color film; a light emitting color of the color film corresponds to a color of the sub-pixel; a plane of a surface of the color film facing a side of the micro lens is the first light emitting plane; or the pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units; the sub-pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels with a same light emitting color; the sub-pixel comprises a light emitting device; in the pixel, light emitting colors of the light emitting device comprised in sub-pixel units of different types are different; the light emitting device comprises a light emitting layer, and the first light emitting plane is a light emitting surface of the light emitting layer.
Yan discloses (Fig. 6) the sub-pixel comprises: a color film (23); a light emitting color of the color film corresponds to a color of the sub-pixel (section 0039); a plane of a surface of the color film facing a side of the micro lens (22) is the first light emitting plane; or the pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units; the sub-pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels with a same light emitting color; the sub-pixel comprises a light emitting device; in the pixel, light emitting colors of the light emitting device comprised in sub-pixel units of different types are different; the light emitting device comprises a light emitting layer, and the first light emitting plane is a light emitting surface of the light emitting layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yan to obtain a complete target color image.
Regarding claim 27, Xu does not necessarily disclose the sub-pixel further comprises: a light emitting device located at a side away from the micro lens, of the color film; or the sub-pixel further comprises: a thin film transistor located at a side away from the micro lens, of the color film; a pixel electrode located between the thin film transistor and the color film.
Yan discloses (Fig. 6) the sub-pixel further comprises: a light emitting device located at a side away from the micro lens, of the color film (section 0033); or the sub-pixel further comprises: a thin film transistor located at a side away from the micro lens, of the color film; a pixel electrode located between the thin film transistor and the color film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yan to obtain a complete target color image.
Regarding claim 28, Xu does not necessarily disclose light emitting colors of a plurality of light emitting devices comprised in the display panel are same; or the color film extends to a region between adjacent sub-pixels; color films comprised in two adjacent sub-pixels belonging to different sub-pixel units are stacked in a region between the two adjacent sub-pixels.
Yan discloses (Fig. 6) light emitting colors of a plurality of light emitting devices comprised in the display panel are same (sections 0035, 0038-0039, 0046); or the color film extends to a region between adjacent sub-pixels; color films comprised in two adjacent sub-pixels belonging to different sub-pixel units are stacked in a region between the two adjacent sub-pixels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yan to obtain a complete target color image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose or suggest the light field display device of claim 32, in particular the limitations of the display panel further comprises: an encapsulation layer located at a side facing the imaging structure, of the light emitting device, and comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer sequentially stacked on a side facing the imaging structure, of the light emitting device; a second planarization layer located at a side away from the first inorganic encapsulation layer, of the second inorganic encapsulation layer; wherein the display panel further comprises a plurality of light concentrating structures at a side away from the light emitting device, of the second planarization layer; the light concentrating structures are in one-to-one correspondence with the sub-pixels.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871