DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 09/17/2024.
Claims 1-12, 16-23 are pending of which claims 1, 8, 16 and 23 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2020/0205165).
Regarding claim 1 and 16, Huang’165 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication(see fig.2, User terminal equipment 250), comprising: at least one memory(see fig.2, which shows memory 272); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE(see fig.2, which shows processor 270 coupled with the at least one memory 272 and configured to cause the UE 250 to) to:
select at least one resource on at least one carrier(fig.18 & see para.0444, which discusses the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for a sidelink transmission in slot n−P1 and in slot n of carrier 2, and the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for the sidelink transmission in slot n−P2 and in slot n of carrier 3 In slot n−P1 or earlier than slot n−P1, the UE could perform resource selection for resource in slot n−P1, slot n on carrier 2 based on sensing) of a plurality of carriers(see para.0444, which discusses as shown in FIG. 18, assuming that a slot in the figure refers to a resource configured in sidelink resource pool of a carrier, a UE is configured with 3 carriers as plurality of carriers while the number of TX RF chains of the UE is 2);
determine that a simultaneous transmission of a first transmission(see fig.18 & see para.0444, which discusses the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for a sidelink transmission in slot n−P1 and in slot n of carrier 2, and the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for the sidelink transmission in slot n−P2 and in slot n of carrier 3…If the UE receives a unicast sidelink transmission in slot n−k of carrier 1, and the UE is required/indicated to transmit PSFCH with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback for the unicast sidelink transmission, the UE may fail to transmit in a carrier due to only 2 available TX RF chains) on a first resource on a first carrier of the plurality of carriers(see fig.18 & see para.0444, which discusses as shown in FIG. 18, assuming that a slot in the figure refers to a resource configured in sidelink resource pool of a carrier, a UE is configured with 3 carriers) and at least one transmission on the at least one resource is not supported by a transmit capability of the UE(see fig.18, para.0444, which discusses assuming that a slot in the figure refers to a resource configured in sidelink resource pool of a carrier, a UE is configured with 3 carriers while the number of TX RF chains of the UE is 2…f the UE receives a unicast sidelink transmission in slot n−k of carrier 1, and the UE is required/indicated to transmit PSFCH with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback for the unicast sidelink transmission, the UE may fail to transmit in a carrier due to only 2 available TX RF chains, thus not support since the number of TX RF chains of the UE is 2 while a UE is configured with 3 carriers ) wherein the first carrier is different from the at least one carrier(see fig.18, which shows carrier 1 is different from carriers 2-3); and transmit assistant information associated with the first resource to another UE(see para.0454-0458, which discusses a first UE (e.g., sidelink receive (RX) UE) is required to transmit shared/assistant information to a second UE (e.g., sidelink TX UE), wherein the information includes, at a minimum, capability information of the first UE, see para.0459).
Regarding claim 2 and 17, Huang’165 discloses wherein the first transmission includes a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission that at least partially overlaps with the at least one resource in a time domain, or(due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) at least partially overlaps with a radio frequency (RF) retuning period from a carrier of the at least one carrier to the first carrier (see para.0503, which discusses the PSFCH is partly or fully overlapped with the resource for the PSCCH (and/or PSSCH) in a time domain, see also para.0510, 0535, 0543).
Regarding claim 3 and 18, Huang’165 discloses wherein a carrier combination of the first carrier and the at least one carrier(see fig.18, which shows combination of carrier 2-3 and carrier 1) is not supported by the transmit capability of the UE(see para.0444, which discusses the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for a sidelink transmission in slot n−P1 and in slot n of carrier 2, and the UE occupies/reserves a time-frequency resource for the sidelink transmission in slot n−P2 and in slot n of carrier 3…. If the UE receives a unicast sidelink transmission in slot n−k of carrier 1, and the UE is required/indicated to transmit PSFCH with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback for the unicast sidelink transmission, the UE may fail to transmit in a carrier due to only 2 available TX RF chains, thus transmission in one of the carrier is not supported due to only 2 available TX RF chains ).
Regarding claim 4 and 19, Huang’165 discloses wherein the first resource is for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission (see para.0444, which discusses the UE is required/indicated to transmit PSFCH with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback for the unicast sidelink transmission, see para.0499).
Regarding claim 5 and 20, Huang’165 discloses wherein the assistant information(see para.0454, which discusses a first UE (e.g., sidelink receive (RX) UE) is required to transmit shared/assistant information to a second UE (e.g., sidelink TX UE), wherein the information includes, at a minimum, capability information of the first UE, see para.0455, which discusses he shared/assistant information could be the first UE's capability. In another alternative, the shared/assistant information could be the first UE's reserved capability in a slot. In another alternative, the shared/assistant information could be the first UE's multiple reserved capability in multiple slots, see para.0469, see para.0443) indicates a slot index of the first resource(see para.0483, which discusses the second UE's available resource for transmitting the feedback could be available slot index, see para.0585, which discusses the first UE's available resources on the carrier for transmitting the feedback could be an available slot index).
Regarding claim 6 and 21, Huang’165 discloses wherein the assistant information n(see para.0454, which discusses a first UE (e.g., sidelink receive (RX) UE) is required to transmit shared/assistant information to a second UE (e.g., sidelink TX UE), wherein the information includes, at a minimum, capability information of the first UE, see para.0455, which discusses he shared/assistant information could be the first UE's capability. In another alternative, the shared/assistant information could be the first UE's reserved capability in a slot. In another alternative, the shared/assistant information could be the first UE's multiple reserved capability in multiple slots, see para.0469, see para.0443) indicates a slot index(see para.0483, which discusses the second UE's available resource for transmitting the feedback could be available slot index, see para.0585, which discusses the first UE's available resources on the carrier for transmitting the feedback could be an available slot index) of a physical sidelink share channel (PSSCH) reception associated with the PSFCH transmission on the first resource(see para.0469, which discusses The second UE could determine an available resource for PSFCH for a unicast sidelink transmission (e.g., PSCCH1 (and/or PSSCH1)). In this example, the shared/assistant information could be the first UE's TX chain capability and/or reserved capability in slot n (e.g., the reserved capability in slot n is 0, due to the occupied/reserved resource in other two carriers). More specifically, the first UE could be configured to transmit the shared/assistant information periodically. If the first UE is required to transmit the shared/assistant information in a sidelink slot with index m, m+P, m+2P, the shared/assistant information in the sidelink slot m may include information related to sidelink slot m, sidelink slot m+P−1, or sidelink slot m+P. The second UE could determine one resource for the PSFCH based on the shared/assistant information from the first UE, see fig.19).
Regarding claim 7 and 22, Huang’165 discloses wherein the transmit capability of the UE comprises at least one(due to one language, only one of them is being considered) of: a limited number of simultaneous transmission carriers, a limitation on supported carrier combinations, or an interruption for radio frequency (RF) retuning (see para.0443, which discusses the capability could refer one or any combination of following bullets referenced from the Final Report of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #91 v1.0.0: (a) a number of Transmit (TX) (RF) chains smaller than the number of configured TX carriers, or (b) the UE does not support the given band combination, or (c) the TX chain switching time, or (d) the UE cannot fulfill the Radio Frequency (RF) requirement due to, for example, a Power Spectrum Density (PSD) imbalance. Alternatively, the capability could refer a number of carriers the UE can transmit simultaneously/concurrently in/during a time unit (e.g., a slot). A Transmit (TX) RF chain of a UE is used for handling a sidelink transmission on a carrier or on a plurality of carriers in the same band (e.g., a TX RF chain is used for handling carriers which is the UE's serving carriers in the band), see para.0459).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2020/0205165) and in view of SHIMEZAWA et al (US 20240073778).
Regarding claim 8 and 23, Huang’165 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see fig.2, User terminal equipment 250), comprising:
at least one memory (see fig.2, which shows memory 272); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (see fig.2, which shows processor 270 coupled with the at least one memory 272 and configured to cause the UE 250 to):
determine assistant information(see para.0457, which discusses the first UE transmits assistant information, see para.0454, which discusses a first UE (e.g., sidelink receive (RX) UE) is required to transmit shared/assistant information to a second UE (e.g., sidelink TX UE)) associated with a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission(see para.0458, which discusses If the second UE attempts to transmit sidelink transmission in slot n−k to the first UE, wherein the slot n−k is within slot m-P and slot m, the second UE may select a resource for the PSFCH associated with the sidelink transmission based on the assistant information received in slot m−P) on a carrier of a plurality of carriers(see fig.18, which shows carriers on carrier of 1-3 as plurality of carriers); and
As discussed above, although Huang’165 discloses determine assistant information(see para.0457, which discusses the first UE transmits assistant information, see para.0454, which discusses a first UE (e.g., sidelink receive (RX) UE) is required to transmit shared/assistant information to a second UE (e.g., sidelink TX UE)), Huang’165 does not explicitly show the use of “transmit the assistant information to a base station (BS)” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “transmit the assistant information to a base station (BS)” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by SHIMEZAWA’778.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, SHIMEZAWA’778 teaches the use of transmit the assistant information to a base station (BS)(see para.0192, which discusses the terminal device 200 transmits at least one of the received power information, the position information, and the capability information as assistant information to the base station 100, see para.0179-0185, which discusses at least the capability information may include information indicating whether or not transmission or reception in a channel (for example, PSCCH, PSSCH, PSFCH, and the like) in predetermined sidelink communication can be performed).
In view of the above, having the system of Huang’165 and then given the well-established teaching of SHIMEZAWA’778, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang’165 to include “transmit the assistant information to a base station (BS)” as taught by SHIMEZAWA’778, since SHIMEZAWA’778 stated in para.0011+ that such a modification would provide a mechanism capable of implementing sidelink communication with lower delay and higher reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Huang’165 discloses wherein the PSFCH transmission includes at least one(due to at least one language, only one of them is being considered) of: a PSFCH transmission associated with a physical sidelink share channel (PSSCH) reception with enabled hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK); a PSFCH transmission associated with a reserved PSSCH reception; or a PSFCH transmission associated with a resource conflict indicator(see para.0469, see para.0503, which discusses the PSFCH is partly or fully overlapped with the resource for the PSCCH (and/or PSSCH) in a time domain, see para.0557 & see fig.19, which discusses and shows PSFCH associated with reserve resource for PSCCH2, thus, resource conflict/overlap indicator or reserve PSSCH)).
Regarding claim 10, Huang’165 discloses wherein the reserved PSSCH reception is reserved by a PSSCH reception (see para.0557 & see fig.19, which discusses and shows PSFCH associated with reserve resource for PSCCH2) with an enabled HARQ-ACK (see para.0292, which discusses HARQ-ACK for the corresponding PSSCH).
Regarding claim 11, Huang’165 discloses wherein the PSFCH transmission associated with a resource conflict indicator indicates a resource conflict of a PSSCH transmission (see para.0469, see para.0503, which discusses the PSFCH is partly or fully overlapped with the resource for the PSCCH (and/or PSSCH) in a time domain).
Regarding claim 12, Huang’165 discloses wherein the PSFCH transmission associated with a resource conflict indicator indicates a potential resource conflict of a PSSCH transmission(see para.0469, see para.0503, which discusses the PSFCH is partly or fully overlapped with the resource for the PSCCH (and/or PSSCH) in a time domain) based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement associated with the PSSCH transmission(see table 1, which discusses based in CBR associated with PSSCH, see para.0530).
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474