CTNF 18/847,791 CTNF 81636 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 16-22 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, line 13 recites “a processor” in addition to or not part of the fault arc protection circuit previously recited in the claim. Processor described and supported in the Specification comprised in the fault arc protection circuit and Claim should be amended to correctly claim the processor. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 17-22 depend from Claim 16. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12, lines 2-3 recites, “a common superordinate main distribution line” and lines 3-4 recites, “the common main distribution line”, and line 5, “the main distribution line” the latter ones lacking proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the recited “a common superordinate main distribution line” is considered as “a common main distribution line” (it appears that “superordinate” unintentionally carried over) and all recited “the/said main distribution line” as “the common main distribution line”. Claim 16 has similar recitations and similarly rejected and considered. Claims 13-15 and Claim 17-22 depend from rejected Claims 12 and 16 respectively and rejected due to dependency to a rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Valdes (US 2014/0192458, IDS Document) . Regarding Claim 12 , Valdes discloses a method for fault arc protection in an electric power distribution system (100, Figure 1, details in Figures 2-7) wherein electric power from an electric power source (108, Figure 1) is distributed via a common superordinate main distribution line (comprising 114, Figure 1), and from the common main distribution line via multiple subordinate output lines (115, 116, 118 branching out of 114, Figure 1), the method comprising: providing the main distribution line with a main switch configured for interrupting the main distribution line (comprising 124 in 102, Figure 1)and providing each of the subordinate output lines with respectively associated output switches configured for interrupting the subordinate output lines(comprising 124 in 104, 106 to interrupt 116, 118 respectively, Figure 1); when a fault arc is detected (arc fault protector 120 in 102, 104, 106, Figure 1) in the power distribution system based on at least one of electric voltage values or electric current values in the main distribution line (120 receiving current sensor 122, Figure 1), rendering a decision as to whether the main switch or one of the output switches should be tripped, in order to quench the fault arc, on a basis of at least one of voltage values or current values in the subordinate output lines (202, 204, 206, Figure 2B, Paragraphs 18-21). Regarding Claim 13 , Valdes discloses the method according to Claim 12, which comprises tripping the main switch when no overcurrent has been detected in the output lines and, otherwise, tripping only the output switch in the output line in which an overcurrent has been detected (202, Figure 2B). Regarding Claim 14 , Valdes discloses the method according to Claim 12, which comprises, when an overcurrent has been detected in one of the output lines, tripping only the output switch in the respective output line in which the overcurrent has been detected, and blocking the main switch (204, 206, Figure 2B). Regarding Claim 15 , Valdes discloses the method according to Claim 12, which comprises, when an overcurrent has been detected in one of the output lines, tripping the output switch in the respective output line in which the overcurrent has been detected by issuing of a trip signal (204, 206, Figure 2B). Regarding Claim 16 , Valdes discloses an electric power distribution system (100, Figure 1, details in Figures 2-7), comprising: a common superordinate main distribution line connected to an electric power source (comprising 114, Figure 1); a main switch configured for interrupting the main distribution line (comprising 124 in 102, Figure 1); multiple subordinate output lines branching off from said common main distribution line (115, 116, 118 branching out of 114, Figure 1); output switches for respectively interrupting one of the output lines (comprising 124 in 104, 106 to interrupt 116, 118 respectively, Figure 1); sensors configured for capturing at least one of voltage values or current values in said main distribution line (comprising 140, 122, Figure 1) and in said output lines (comprising 122 in 104, 106, Figure 1); a fault arc protection unit (120 in 102, 104, 106, Figure 1) for detecting a fault arc in the power distribution system on a basis of at least one of electric voltage values or current values measured in said main distribution line (Figures 1, 2B, Paragraph 19); and a processor (comprising 128, Figure 10 configured to render a decision whether the fault arc is to be quenched by tripping the main switch or by tripping one of the output switches, the decision being based on at least one of the voltage values or the current values determined in said output lines (202, 204, 206, Figure 2B, Paragraphs 18-21). Regarding Claim 17 , Valdes discloses the electric power distribution system according to Claim 16, wherein the processor is integrated in said fault arc protection unit (128 in 120, Figure 1). Regarding Claim 18 , Valdes discloses the electric power distribution system according to Claim 16, wherein said processor is configured to transmit at least one of a trip signal to a first switch or a blockade signal to a second switch (202, 204, 206, Figure 2B, Paragraphs 18-21). Regarding Claim 19 , Valdes discloses the electric power distribution system according to Claim 16, further comprising an evaluation unit configured to evaluate voltage and/or current values detected in said output lines, to execute a transmission thereof to said processor and, in response to receiving a command for tripping an output switch from said processor, to transmit a trip signal to a respective said output switch (Figures 1, 2B, Paragraphs 18-21). Regarding Claim 20 , Valdes discloses a fault arc protection unit (comprising 120, Figure 1) comprising a processor (comprising 128, Figure 1) configured for executing the steps of the method according to Claim 12 (Figures 1, 2B, Paragraphs 18-21). Regarding Claim 21 , Valdes discloses a non-transitory computer program product (Paragraphs 22-23), comprising computer- executable commands, to be executed by a fault arc protection unit configured to perform the method according to claim 12 (Figures 2A-2B, 6-7, Paragraphs 22-23). Regarding Claim 22 , Valdes discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon the computer program according to claim 21 (Figures 2A-2B, 6-7, Paragraphs 22-23) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Phillips (US 2014/0054270) discloses an electric power distribution system (12, Figure 1, details in Figures 2-7), comprising: a common superordinate main distribution line connected to an electric power source (comprising 16, Figure 1); a main switch configured for interrupting the main distribution line (comprising 18, Figure 1); multiple subordinate output lines branching off from said common main distribution line (22, 24a-24c branching out of 16, Figure 1); output switches for respectively interrupting one of the output lines (comprising 26a-26c to interrupt 24a-24c respectively, Figure 1); sensors configured for capturing at least one of voltage values or current values in said main distribution line (comprising 20, Figure 1) and sensors in said output lines (comprising 28a-28c, Figure 1); a fault arc protection unit (32, Figure 1) for detecting a fault arc in the power distribution system on a basis of at least one of electric voltage values or current values measured in said main distribution line (Figures 1, Abstract, Paragraph 23) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUCY M THOMAS whose telephone number is (571)272-6002. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571)270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-2 73-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LUCY M THOMAS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 3/31/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/847,791 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838