DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirozawa USPA 2019/0046929 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Hirozawa discloses a spiral membrane element comprising: a central tube (figure 1); and a membrane leaf (paragraph 82) that has a separation membrane and a permeation spacer and is wound around the central tube (figure 1; Abstract) ; wherein the permeation spacer has a plurality of grooves and a plurality of projections on one surface thereof (paragraph 27), the grooves and the projections each extend in a first direction and are arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on the one surface (figures 2-4), and when the groove has a width defined as W1 and the projection has a width defined as W2 in the second direction and the projection has a height defined as H, 9.1≤1000×{(W1/W2)/H}<18.2 is satisfied, where W1, W2, and H are in unit of μm (see comparative example 1: relationship = 12.7).
Regarding claim 2, Hirozawa discloses that a distance between a top portion that the projection on the one surface has and another surface of the permeation spacer is defined as T, the permeation spacer satisfies T≤450, where T is in unit of μm (figure 4; paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 3, Hirozawa discloses embodiments where a distance between a top portion that the projection on the one surface has and another surface of the permeation spacer is defined as T, the permeation spacer satisfies 0.35≤H/T≤0.65, where T is in unit of μm (figure 4; paragraphs 38 and 40).
Regarding claim 4, Hirozawa discloses embodiments where the permeation spacer satisfies H≤200 (figure 4; paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 5, Hirozawa discloses that the permeation spacer satisfies 1.2≤W1/W2<2.0 (see comparative example 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hirozawa discloses embodiments where the permeation spacer satisfies 600≤W1 (Table 2: groove width = 0.8 mm).
Regarding claim 8, Hirozawa discloses embodiments where the permeation spacer satisfies 100000≤W1×H (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 9, the spiral membrane of Hirozawa could be used for separating an acid gas from a gas mixture (paragraph 59). Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirozawa USPA 2019/0046929 A1.
Hirozawa is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 7, Hirozawa does not disclose that the permeation spacer satisfies 500≤W2, but does disclose that W2 is not particularly limited and can be determined in accordance with the pressure at which the element is to be operated. Therefore, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the value of W2 is considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal performance depending on the pressure at which the element is to be operated. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, Hirozawa discloses pressure filtration (paragraph 71), but does not expressly state generating a pressure difference by decompressing from a permeation side in the spiral membrane element. Nevertheless, generating a pressure difference by decompressing from a permeation side in the spiral membrane element, is well-known in the art of pressure filtration and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.03 (A-E).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776