DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lalonde (US 2014/0031804).
Regarding claim 1-3, 5, 6, 11-13, 15, 16 and 20, Lalonde discloses a cryogenic catheter (figs. 1 and 2B) including a shaft (40) for delivering a fluid to a connected expandable treatment element biased to form a multiple loop coil structure when expanded (note the coil form of element 14 and the flexibility of the “cryoballoon” as discussed [0026]). Balloons are, by definition, expandable by pressure which in the case of the multiple loop coil structure will result in expansion both laterally and longitudinally relative to the longitudinal axis of the shaft, resulting in a device as shown by Lalonde: an expandable element extending longitudinally along the axis defined by the shaft. Alternatively, regardless of whether there is a longitudinal expansion of the balloon, the result of inflation is a longitudinally extending coil as shown by Lalonde (fig. 1) which is all the claims require. The expandable treatment element forms a plurality of “approximately parallel”/helical coil structures when expanded (fig. 2B). The term “flexible linear” is being interpreted to be broad rather than indefinite, where Lalonde shows the expandable treatment element has some degree of linear flexibility, whether or not the element is expanded ([0026], see also figs. 3A-B). Lalonde further shows electrodes (44, fig. 2B), where all electrodes are “configurable” for sensing, and further includes a “reinforced guide sheath” encompassing the shaft (18). The claim recites numerous functional limitations (“configured to”). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the claim. In this case, Lalonde could be supplied with near-critical-temperature argon (including argon in a specific temperature range) and could be used to ablate parasympathetic nerve fibers in a wall or a passageway of any kind within a patient. This argon could be used to expand the expandable element, while the coil can be approximately parallel to the passageway.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, it is noted this is a further limitation to an element recited in the alternative in claim 1/11 (respectively): expansion via “at least one of” pressure and mechanical force. Since the prior art shows one (pressure) it does not need to show the other (mechanical force). However, in the interest of compact prosecution, see the Conclusion of the previous Action for an example of push wires for controlling the shapes of coils.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalonde.
Regarding claim 10, Lalonde discloses a reinforced guide sheath (18, fig. 2B) around the shaft (40), where “reinforced” is being interpreted as extremely broad rather than indefinite. Further, duplication of parts has been held to be an obvious modification (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)), where the claims recite no relationship between these additional shafts and any other part of the catheter. Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lalonde to have any number of disclosed elements, including one or more additional shafts within the “reinforced guide sheath,” that would produce the predictable result of a device that functions in a desired manner. It is noted these additional shafts have no claimed relationship to any other part of the system other than being in the sheath.
Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalonde in view of Saadat (US 2003/0088240).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Lalonde does not disclose the exact manner in which coolant is supplied to the expandable treatment element. However, using a fluid supply lumen with distal ports is known in the art where it has been held that the combination of known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an obvious modification (MPEP 2141(III)). Saadat, for example, discloses a cryocatheter and teaches that the distal end of fluid supply lumen (142, fig. 11) may be provided with ports (148) for delivering fluid to an expandable treatment element (144). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cryocatheter of Lalonde to use any commonly known structure for delivering coolant to an expandable treatment element, including a fluid supply lumen with distal ports as taught by Saadat, that would produce the predictable result of allowing the expandable treatment element to be cooled in a desired manner.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalonde in view of Lalonde (US 2011/0054453), hereinafter Lalonde2.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Lalonde does not disclose the use of a Joule-Thomson valve. However, Joule-Thomson valves are very common in the art. Lalonde2 discloses a cryogenic catheter and teaches that an expandable element may be cooled by passing fluid through a joule-Thomson valve within a fluid supply lumen in a shaft (fig. 2, [0046]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to provide the shaft of Lalonde with any commonly known cooling element, including a Joule-Thomson valve on a fluid supply lumen as taught by Lalonde2, that would produce the predictable result of allowing the expandable treatment element to be cooled in a desired manner. Note that while not directly relevant to the rejections as this time, Lalonde2 expressly uses argon ([0047]) in a supercritical state ([0046]) which can be considered to be “near-critical-temperature.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 August 2026 have been fully considered but, as noted in the interview summary, they are not persuasive. The claims have been amended to recite that the expandable treatment element, when expanded, extends along a length of a hypothetical passageway. Applicant makes several arguments about why Lalonde does not disclose this feature.
The first argument is that Lalonde’s cryoballoon extends radially outward, not along the length of the passageway. This argument is not persuasive because balloons do not extend in a single direction when inflated. Even if the balloon expands more radially than longitudinally, a position for which there is no evidence (Applicant’s assertion about angioplasty balloons having unclear relevance and being without evidence), that does not mean there is no amount of longitudinally expansion. Further and more basically, the claim does not recite any degree of longitudinal expansion during inflation in the first place, only that the element is “biased” to form a coil structure “when expanded” that then extends along a length of the passageway. Therefore, a longitudinal element that only extends radially would still meet this limitation as the resulting inflated, longitudinal element would “extend along a length.” The fact that Lalonde shows a coil structure that extends along a length of the passageway, and teaches that the coil structure is inflated, means that by definition the coil structure is biased in one way or another to produce the extended shape shown when inflated (a step explicitly discussed in paragraph [0026]). Therefore, Lalonde does in fact show an expandable coil structure that extends along the length of the passageway when expanded due to the bias of the expandable coil. It is noted the preceding discussion is independent of the fact that Lalonde explicitly states that the length of the balloon can be controlled mechanically ([0027]).
Second, Applicant argues that while the cryoballoon of Lalonde may have a “coil form” due to surface features or wrinkles, that is not the same as the coil structure biased to form a coil structure when expanded. This argument is unclear. Neither the claims, the rejection, nor the prior art discuss surface features or wrinkles. The coil form of Lalonde is clearly and unambiguously shown in the cited figures and explicitly referred to in the specification ([0026]) as a “helical portion.” Lalonde further notes that when inflated the balloon may transition into “a substantially concentric spiral” ([0026] when viewed from along the longitudinal axis, see also [0025] “conical shape”). The expandable element would not be able to expand to form the coil shape unless it was biased to form the coil shape. Independent of the breadth of the claim language, it is not even clear what Applicant understands the distinction to be between the structure of Lalonde and the disclosed invention. Balloons do not inflate by default into coils or any particular shape, they must be biased (“pre-shaped or configured”) by the structural features of the balloon to assume a shape when inflated. At least as far as the claims are concerned, Lalonde’s balloon inflates into a coil shape for exactly the same reason Applicant’s balloon inflates into a coil shape: because it is biased/pre-shaped/configured to do so. None of this is related to wrinkles or surface features.
Applicant’s third argument is similarly difficult to parse. Applicant asserts that Lalonde’s balloon treats a single localized position. This is true, but single, localized position does not mean that that Lalonde ablates a two-dimensional slice of tissue in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the device. The claims do not recite any specific length of treatment, so as long as Lalonde treats a three-dimensional region of tissue (that is, a region of tissue that has a length along all three axes), even a single, localized three-dimensional region of tissue, that is sufficient to read on the claim. Once again it is not clear what Applicant understands the difference to be between Lalonde and the disclosed invention. Both devices are expandable, elongate coils and it is not clear, even qualitatively, how Applicant understands their own elongate coil to treat a length of tissue in a manner different from how Lalonde’s elongate coil treats a length of tissue.
Applicant offers some related remarks about the language related to the orientation of the expandable element relative to the passageway, but once again it must be noted that it is unclear to the examiner how Applicant can argue that Lalonde’s elongated, inflatable coil does not extend along a passageway within which the coil is inflated. The balloon must be biased to form the coil if it is to form the coil when inflated, and such inflation necessarily results in treating tissue that is along and adjacent to the length of the inflated coil. The claims require nothing more. One possible interpretation of Applicant’s remarks is that Applicant is reading Lalonde to teach that, instead of a coil, a generic elliptical balloon is substituted (potentially the “angioplasty balloon” in Applicant’s remarks, and may explain why Applicant references the indeterminate “surface features or wrinkles”). There is no basis in Lalonde for such an interpretation. Lalonde notes that “the helical distal portion” ([0026]) may instead be an expandable element, where “instead” is a reference to the conductive shape memory metal in the previous sentence. That is, instead of the helical distal portion being formed from a conductive shape memory metal, the helical distal portion can be formed from an expandable element. Lalonde goes on to say that “the helical distal portion” may be inflated which clearly associates the helical shape with the expandable element. Lalonde in the same paragraph ([0026]) further includes an explicit statement that the helical distal portion is flexible enough to be transitioned into a concentric spiral. Clearly if the expandable element were simply a generic elliptical balloon it would not be transitionable into a concentric spiral. If more evidence is necessary, paragraph [0039] states “the helical distal portion 14 may be a treatment element (such as a cooled thermally conductive material or cryoballoon)” which again clearly indicates that the same coiled shape can be formed from a conductive material or a cryoballoon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Using balloons made out of various materials, including compliant materials which stretch, is known in the art, as is using balloons with no distal attachment point, both taught by US 2012/0130458 to Ryba ([0122], fig. 2B). Such a balloon made of compliant material will expand distally (especially when constrained by a lumen). Regarding the general teaching that an expandable element may be biased to an expanded or collapsed state, see for example paragraph [0070] of US 2013/0231659 to Hill.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W FOWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794