CTFR 18/847,851 CTFR 82640 DETAILED ACTION This office action is responsive to communication filed on April 7, 2026. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the control circuitry of claim 1 dynamically changes exposure periods based on event data generated by the event detection circuitry "during the exposure periods of the intensity detecting pixels." This concurrent operation, in which event data is generated in parallel with intensity pixel exposure and used to dynamically adjust exposure periods, is absent from Krishnappa. In Krishnappa, event data collection and exposure value determination are completed before RGB exposure begins; there is no mechanism for adjusting exposure periods based on events detected during the ongoing exposure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., adjusting exposure periods based on events detected during the ongoing exposure) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 1 does not require that an exposure period is adjusted based on events detected during that ongoing exposure period. Rather, claim 1 more broadly requires dynamically changing the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels based on the event data generated by the event detection circuitry during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels. Krishnappa et al. teaches dynamically changing the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels based on the event data generated by the event detection circuitry (“An exposure time of each row may be determined based on the change in brightness level.” See paragraphs 0087 and 0088. See also the “exposure setting” in figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101.) during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (For instance, figure 8 shows five exposure periods of intensity detection pixels (i.e. RGB pixels). In figure 8, the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (RGB pixels) are dynamically adjusted based on based on analyzed event data (820-826) generated during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels, paragraphs 0113-0117.). Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and similar claim 15 is maintained by the Examiner . Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The rejection of claims 12 and 13 under 35 USC 112 is hereby removed in view of Applicant’s response. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Krishnappa et al. (US 2020/0137287) . The Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments, as outlined above, is hereby incorporated into the rejections of claims 1-11, 14 and 15 by reference. Consider claim 1, Krishnappa et al. teaches: A sensor device (electronic device, 200, figure 2A) comprising: a plurality of pixels (i.e. a “pixel array” (paragraph 0052) of a sensor (230), figures 2A and 4) each configured to receive light and perform photoelectric conversion to generate an electrical signal (The sensor (230) is a monocular CMOS image sensor, paragraphs 0064, 0051, 0052, 0058 and 0059.); event detection circuitry (event circuitry, 410, event signal processing, 4102, figure 4, paragraphs 0084-0086) that is configured to generate event data (“event data”, paragraph 0086) by detecting as events intensity changes above a predetermined threshold of the light received by each of event detecting pixels (“The event data of the scene may include a change in pixel intensity in an image” paragraph 0064. See also “threshold value”, paragraphs 0075 and 0087.) that form a first subset of the pixels (e.g. a “row” of pixels, paragraphs 0081, 0069, 0087 and 0099); pixel signal generating circuitry (RGB circuitry, 420, figure 4, paragraphs 0084 and 0088) that is configured to generate for each of a series of frame periods (e.g. RGB frame periods, paragraphs 0078 and 0095, see figure 5) pixel signals constituting a frame image that indicates intensity values of the light received by each of intensity detecting pixels (i.e. pixel signals constituting an RGB frame, paragraphs 0078 and 0095) that form a second subset of the pixels (i.e. for “rows in the image”, paragraph 0088) during respective exposure periods (e.g. during the three exposure periods shown in figure 5, paragraphs 0095-0097); and a control circuitry (RGB sensor controller, 430, figure 4, paragraphs 0084 and 0088) that is configured to associate with each other event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels that have a corresponding field of view (The sensor (230) including the event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels is a monocular sensor, paragraph 0064. The event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels are associated with each other, as a change is brightness level for each row is determined by the event detecting pixels (paragraph 0081) and the exposure time of each row of the RGB pixels is then set based on the determined change in brightness, paragraphs 0087 and 0088.) and to dynamically change the exposure periods of the intensity detecting pixels based on the event detection data generated by the event detection circuitry (“An exposure time of each row may be determined based on the change in brightness level.” See paragraphs 0087 and 0088. See also the “exposure setting” in figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101.) during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (For instance, figure 8 shows five exposure periods of intensity detection pixels (i.e. RGB pixels). In figure 8, the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (RGB pixels) are dynamically adjusted based on based on analyzed event data (820-826) generated during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels, paragraphs 0113-0117.). Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to deduce a brightness level from the events detected by the event detecting pixels; and a larger brightness level leads to a shorter exposure period, while a smaller amount of motion and/or a smaller brightness level leads to a longer exposure period (As shown in figure 6A, very bright regions have longer exposure times than low intensity regions, paragraphs 0099-0101.). Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to adjust the exposure period of each intensity detecting pixel separately (i.e. such that different rows of intensity detecting pixels have different exposure periods, see figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101). Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the pixel signal generating circuitry generates during each frame period at least two sets of pixel signals with at least two differing exposure periods; and the control circuitry is configured to adjust the shorter exposure period, while the longer exposure period is fixed (For instance, as shown in figure 6B, a long high exposure period is fixed, whereas a short exposure period differs between low exposure and medium exposure, paragraphs 0102-0104.). Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to set different frame periods for each set of pixel signal and to adjust the frame periods concurrently with the exposure period (As shown in figure 6A, images of rows having different exposure settings are captured during different frame periods, paragraphs 0099-0101.). Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 4 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the intensity detecting pixels are arranged in a two-dimensional array comprising a plurality of rows (“pixel array”, paragraph 0052); and the control circuitry is configured to read out pixel signals of the intensity detecting pixels in a row based manner such that for each row pixel signals of different exposure periods are generated simultaneously (see figure 6B, paragraphs 0102-0104); or the control circuitry is configured to read out pixel signals of the intensity detecting pixels in a row based manner such that for each row pixel signals of different exposure periods are read out consecutively (see figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101). Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 4 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to execute a neural network (“Here, the single processor or the plurality of processors may include general-purpose processors, such as a central processing unit (CPU), an application processor (AP), a digital signal processor (DSP), etc., graphic-exclusive processors, such as a graphics processing unit (GPU), a vision processing unit (VPU), etc., or AI-exclusive processors, such a neural processing unit (NPU), etc.” paragraph 0049) that receives for each frame period all sets of pixel signals (“RGB data”, paragraph 0066) and the event data (“event data”, paragraph 0066) generated during the frame period (see paragraph 0066) and outputs a frame image (“RGB frames”, paragraph 0095, figure 5). Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to set different exposure periods in different parts of a frame image (see figures 6A and 6B, paragraphs 0099-0104). Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to adjust the frame periods concurrently with the exposure periods (i.e. such rows with the same exposure periods have the same frame periods, as shown in figure 6A and detailed in paragraphs 0099-0101). Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the control circuitry is configured to evaluate the events detected during a current frame period and to adjust the exposure periods within the next frame period based on the result of the evaluation (Event data (602, 604, figure 6A) is detected in a pre-capture phase prior to adjusting the exposure periods within the next frame period, paragraphs 0099-0101, figure 5, paragraphs 0094-0096.). Claim 11 is directed toward the operation of the control circuitry with respect to the number of events reaching the predetermined value. However, parent claim 10 recites “wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate the events detected during a current frame period and to adjust the exposure periods within the next frame period based on the result of the evaluation; or the control unit is configured to count events detected during a current exposure period and to end the exposure period, when the number of events reaches a predetermined value ”. With regard to claim 10, Krishnappa et al. teaches that the control unit is configured to evaluate the events detected during a current frame period and to adjust the exposure periods within the next frame period based on the result of the evaluation (see claim 10 rationale). As such, Krishnappa et al. is not required to additionally teach that the control unit is configured to count events detected during a current exposure period and to end the exposure period, when the number of events reaches a predetermined value. Because claim 11 modifies a limitation not required in claim 10, Krishnappa et al. anticipates claim 11 for the reasons provided with respect to claim 10. Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 1 above, Krishnappa et al. further teaches that the first subset of pixels overlaps or is equal to the second subset of pixels (The sensor (230) is a monocular sensor, paragraph 0064. The fields of view of the event data and the image data overlap, as shown in figures 6A and 6B, and detailed in paragraphs 0099-0104.). Consider claim 15, Krishnappa et al. teaches: A method for operating a sensor device (electronic device, 200, figure 2A), the method comprising: receiving light and performing photoelectric conversion with each of a plurality of pixels of the sensor device (i.e. a “pixel array” (paragraph 0052) of a sensor (230), figures 2A and 4) to generate an electrical signal (The sensor (230) is a monocular CMOS image sensor, paragraphs 0064, 0051, 0052, 0058 and 0059.); generating, with event detection circuitry of the sensor device (event circuitry, 410, event signal processing, 4102, figure 4, paragraphs 0084-0086), event data (“event data”, paragraph 0086) by detecting as events intensity changes above a predetermined threshold of the light received by each of event detecting pixels (“The event data of the scene may include a change in pixel intensity in an image” paragraph 0064. See also “threshold value”, paragraphs 0075 and 0087.) that form a first subset of the pixels (e.g. a “row” of pixels, paragraphs 0081, 0069, 0087 and 0099); generating, with pixel signal generating circuitry (RGB circuitry, 420, figure 4, paragraphs 0084 and 0088), for each of a series of frame periods (e.g. RGB frame periods, paragraphs 0078 and 0095, see figure 5) pixel signals constituting a frame image that indicates intensity values of the light received by each of intensity detecting pixels (i.e. pixel signals constituting an RGB frame, paragraphs 0078 and 0095) that form a second subset of the pixels (i.e. for “rows in the image”, paragraph 0088) during respective exposure periods (e.g. during the three exposure periods shown in figure 5, paragraphs 0095-0097); associating with each other event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels that have a corresponding field of view (The sensor (230) including the event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels is a monocular sensor, paragraph 0064. The event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels are associated with each other, as a change is brightness level for each row is determined by the event detecting pixels (paragraph 0081) and the exposure time of each row of the RGB pixels is then set based on the determined change in brightness, paragraphs 0087 and 0088.); and dynamically changing the exposure periods of the intensity detecting pixels based on the events generated by the event detection circuitry (“An exposure time of each row may be determined based on the change in brightness level.” See paragraphs 0087 and 0088. See also the “exposure setting” in figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101.) during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (For instance, figure 8 shows five exposure periods of intensity detection pixels (i.e. RGB pixels). In figure 8, the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (RGB pixels) are dynamically adjusted based on based on analyzed event data (820-826) generated during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels, paragraphs 0113-0117.) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 19 and 20 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 12, 13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims . 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Consider claim 19, the closest prior art, Krishnappa et al. (US 2020/0137287) teaches: A sensor device (electronic device, 200, figure 2A) comprising: a plurality of pixels (i.e. a “pixel array” (paragraph 0052) of a sensor (230), figures 2A and 4) each configured to receive light and perform photoelectric conversion to generate an electrical signal (The sensor (230) is a monocular CMOS image sensor, paragraphs 0064, 0051, 0052, 0058 and 0059.); event detection circuitry (event circuitry, 410, event signal processing, 4102, figure 4, paragraphs 0084-0086) that is configured to generate event data (“event data”, paragraph 0086) by detecting as events intensity changes above a predetermined threshold of the light received by each of event detecting pixels (“The event data of the scene may include a change in pixel intensity in an image” paragraph 0064. See also “threshold value”, paragraphs 0075 and 0087.) that form a first subset of the pixels (e.g. a “row” of pixels, paragraphs 0081, 0069, 0087 and 0099); pixel signal generating circuitry (RGB circuitry, 420, figure 4, paragraphs 0084 and 0088) that is configured to generate for each of a series of frame periods (e.g. RGB frame periods, paragraphs 0078 and 0095, see figure 5) pixel signals constituting a frame image that indicates intensity values of the light received by each of intensity detecting pixels (i.e. pixel signals constituting an RGB frame, paragraphs 0078 and 0095) that form a second subset of the pixels (i.e. for “rows in the image”, paragraph 0088) during respective exposure periods (e.g. during the three exposure periods shown in figure 5, paragraphs 0095-0097); and a control circuitry (RGB sensor controller, 430, figure 4, paragraphs 0084 and 0088) that is configured to associate with each other event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels that have a corresponding field of view (The sensor (230) including the event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels is a monocular sensor, paragraph 0064. The event detecting pixels and intensity detecting pixels are associated with each other, as a change is brightness level for each row is determined by the event detecting pixels (paragraph 0081) and the exposure time of each row of the RGB pixels is then set based on the determined change in brightness, paragraphs 0087 and 0088.) and to dynamically change the exposure periods of the intensity detecting pixels based on the event detection data generated by the event detection circuitry (“An exposure time of each row may be determined based on the change in brightness level.” See paragraphs 0087 and 0088. See also the “exposure setting” in figure 6A, paragraphs 0099-0101.) during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (For instance, figure 8 shows five exposure periods of intensity detection pixels (i.e. RGB pixels). In figure 8, the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels (RGB pixels) are dynamically adjusted based on based on analyzed event data (820-826) generated during the exposure periods of the intensity detection pixels, paragraphs 0113-0117.). However, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest at least that the control circuitry is configured to count events detected by the associated event detecting pixels during a shorter exposure period of the at least two differing exposure periods and end the shorter exposure period when a number of the counted events reaches a predetermined value, while a longer exposure period of the at least two differing exposure periods is fixed; and execute a neural network that receives for each frame period all sets of pixel signals and the event data generated during the frame period and outputs the frame image, in combination with the other elements recited in claim 19. Claim 20 is allowed as depending from an allowed claim 19. Consider claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the control circuitry is configured to estimate the illumination intensity detecting pixels within the current frame period by extrapolating the intensity values obtained in the previous frame period based on the events that have been detected after then end of the previous frame period, and to adjust the current exposure periods based on the estimated illumination, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1. Claim 13 contains allowable subject matter as depending from claim 12. Consider claim 16, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the control circuitry is configured to count events detected by the associated event detecting pixels during a current exposure period of the intensity detecting pixels and to end the current exposure period when a number of the counted events reaches a predetermined value, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1. Claim 17 contains allowable subject matter as depending from claim 16. Consider claim 18, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the control circuitry is configured to deduce a brightness level from the events detected by each of the associated event detecting pixels during the respective exposure periods, and to adjust the exposure period of each intensity detecting pixel separately based on the deduced brightness level, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1 . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALBERT H CUTLER whose telephone number is (571)270-1460. The examiner can normally be reached approximately Mon - Fri 8:00-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sinh Tran can be reached at (571)272-7564. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 2 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 3 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 4 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 5 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 6 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 7 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 8 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 9 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 10 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 11 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 12 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 13 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/847,851 Page 14 Art Unit: 2637