3DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 09/17/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending of which claims 1 and 16 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 09/17/2024 and 02/11/2026 have been considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al (US 20250119909 A1, hereinafter referred to as Xiong. The provisional document relied on for priority fully supports Xiong’s disclosure in its entirety ).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a method (i.e. Figs 1-19 in particular Figs. 4-6) of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 1 the UE is performing the method – see paragraphs 22 and 126.), the method comprising:
determining (See Fig. 5 and paragraph 59), by the UE, that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource including one or more first uplink control information (UCI) messages (Fig. 5 LP PUCCH for TRP#0 as the claimed first PUCCH claimed overlaps with LP PUCCH For TRP#1 as the claimed second PUCCH and each PUCCH carries UCI ) associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index value (Per Paragraphs 36, 39, and 41 indicate the TRP index is associated with the CORESET pool index and hence TRP#0 corresponds to CORESET pool index 0 as the claimed 1st CORESET pool index and TRP=1 corresponds to CORESET pool index 1 as the claimed 2nd CORESET Pool index) overlaps in a time domain (i.e. in Fig. 5 the overlap is over time slot or sub slot per paragraphs 59 and 67) with a second PUCCH resource (Fig. 5 LP PUCCH For TRP#1 as the claimed second PUCCH and each PUCCH carries UCI overlaps with LP PUCCH for TRP#0 as the claimed first PUCCH claimed) including one or more second UCI messages (each PUCCH carries UCI )associated with a second CORESET pool index value (Per Paragraphs 36, 39, and 41 indicate the TRP index is associated with the CORESET pool index and hence TRP#0 corresponds to CORESET pool index 0 as the claimed 1st CORESET pool index and TRP=1 corresponds to CORESET pool index 1 as the claimed 2nd CORESET Pool index);
identifying, by the UE, one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources (i.e. Fig. 5 HP PUSCH for TRP#0 and LP PUSCH for TRP#1 overlap the PUCCH resources) that overlaps in the time domain with at least one of the first PUCCH resource or the second PUCCH resource; (Per paragraph 59 and Fig. 5 – LP PUCCH for TRP#1 and HP PUCCH for TRP#0 overlap the PUSCH resources in Fig. 5 – see paragraph 59)
multiplexing, by the UE, one or more of the one or more first UCI messages and the one or more second UCI messages onto one or more of the one or more PUSCH resources; (See Fig. 5 in the second time slot the second UCI is multiplexed on second PUSCH for TRP=1. Even though the first PUSCH is not multiplexed with UCI because the priority of the first PUCCH carrying the UCI is low s dropped, Per Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 if the PUSCH is the same priority as PUCCH then the first UCI is multiplexed onto the PUCCH TRP and is governed by the rule detailed in paragraphs 44 and 50-51. )
transmitting, by the UE, the one or more PUSCH resources on an associated component carrier after the multiplexing. (See Fig. 5 and PUSCH for TRP#0 and PUSCH for TRP#1 is transmitted where each TRP corresponds to a single component carrier per paragraph 88 and also see paragraph 67 and Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 16, Xiong discloses a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, (UE in Fig. 1 detailed in Fig. 16) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 16 processor 1612); and a memory (Fig. 16 Memory 1620) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured:
to determining (See Fig. 5 and paragraph 59), by the UE, that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource including one or more first uplink control information (UCI) messages (Fig. 5 LP PUCCH for TRP#0 as the claimed first PUCCH claimed overlaps with LP PUCCH For TRP#1 as the claimed second PUCCH and each PUCCH carries UCI ) associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index value (Per Paragraphs 36, 39, and 41 indicate the TRP index is associated with the CORESET pool index and hence TRP#0 corresponds to CORESET pool index 0 as the claimed 1st CORESET pool index and TRP=1 corresponds to CORESET pool index 1 as the claimed 2nd CORESET Pool index) overlaps in a time domain (i.e. in Fig. 5 the overlap is over time slot or sub slot per paragraphs 59 and 67) with a second PUCCH resource (Fig. 5 LP PUCCH For TRP#1 as the claimed second PUCCH and each PUCCH carries UCI overlaps with LP PUCCH for TRP#0 as the claimed first PUCCH claimed) including one or more second UCI messages (each PUCCH carries UCI )associated with a second CORESET pool index value (Per Paragraphs 36, 39, and 41 indicate the TRP index is associated with the CORESET pool index and hence TRP#0 corresponds to CORESET pool index 0 as the claimed 1st CORESET pool index and TRP=1 corresponds to CORESET pool index 1 as the claimed 2nd CORESET Pool index);
to identify, by the UE, one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources (i.e. Fig. 5 HP PUSCH for TRP#0 and LP PUSCH for TRP#1 overlap the PUCCH resources) that overlaps in the time domain with at least one of the first PUCCH resource or the second PUCCH resource; (Per paragraph 59 and Fig. 5 – LP PUCCH for TRP#1 and HP PUCCH for TRP#0 overlap the PUSCH resources in Fig. 5 – see paragraph 59)
to multiplex, by the UE, one or more of the one or more first UCI messages and the one or more second UCI messages onto one or more of the one or more PUSCH resources; (See Fig. 5 in the second time slot the second UCI is multiplexed on second PUSCH for TRP=1. Even though the first PUSCH is not multiplexed with UCI because the priority of the first PUCCH carrying the UCI is low s dropped, Per Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 if the PUSCH is the same priority as PUCCH then the first UCI is multiplexed onto the PUCCH TRP and is governed by the rule detailed in paragraphs 44 and 50-51. )
to transmit, by the UE, the one or more PUSCH resources on an associated component carrier after the multiplexing. (See Fig. 5 and PUSCH for TRP#0 and PUSCH for TRP#1 is transmitted where each TRP corresponds to a single component carrier per paragraph 88 and also see paragraph 67 and Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 2, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the associated component carrier is one of: a same component carrier or a different component carrier as a PUCCH component carrier on which the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource may be simultaneously transmitted. (See Fig. 7 simultaneous transmission by UE per paragraph 27 may transmit two PUCCHs on TRP=0/Carrier 1 and TRP=1/Carrier 2. See paragraphs 30 and 43)
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the identifying the one or more PUSCH resources includes:
identifying a first PUSCH resource (i.e. Fig. 5 HP PUSCH for TRP=0) of the one or more PUSCH resources that overlaps with the first PUCCH resource, wherein the one or more first UCI messages are multiplexed onto the first PUSCH resource; (i.e. per Fig. 5 HP PUSCH for TRP=0 is the claimed first PUSCH that overlaps with the claimed first PUCCH being LP PUCCH for TRP=0 and the PUCCH carries a first UCI is not multiplexed on high priority PUSCH. However as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 a non prioritized PUSCH will be multiplexed with the first UCI and the overlapping PUCCH that carried the UCI is dropped. Per Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 if the PUSCH is the same priority as PUCCH then the first UCI is multiplexed onto the PUCCH TRP and is governed by the rule detailed in paragraphs 44 and 50-51. )
identifying a second PUSCH resource (i.e. LP PUSCH for TRP#1 in Fig. 5) of the one or more PUSCH resources that overlaps with the second PUCCH resource (LP PUCCH for TRP#1 in Fig. 5), wherein the one or more second UCI messages are multiplexed onto the second PUSCH resource (See Fig. 5 paragraph 59 UCI multiplexed onto the second PUSCH, LP PUSCH in the second time slot.)
wherein the transmitting includes transmitting the first PUSCH resource and the
second PUSCH resource. (See Fig. 5 PUSCH for TRP#0 and PUSCH for TRP #1)
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Xiong discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first PUCCH resource is scheduled earlier in the time domain than the second PUCCH resource. (Xiong in Fig. 5 LP PUCCH for TRP#1 is scheduled earlier in the time domain compared to LP PUCCH for TRP#0. )
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Xiong discloses the method of claim 4, wherein, when the first PUCCH resource has a same starting time as the second PUCCH resource, the UE identifies the first PUSCH that overlaps the first PUCCH resource having the one or more first UCI messages associated with the first CORESET pool index value that is one of a higher value or a lower value than the second CORESET pool index value associated with the one or more second UCI messages of the second PUCCH resource. (Note claimed in the alternative and hence see paragraphs 52 and 166 on UCI multiplexing based on lower value than the second CORESET pool index value associated with the one or more second UCI messages of the second PUCCH resource which is based on the lowest TRP/CORESET index)
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Xiong discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first PUSCH resource and the second PUSCH resource are a same PUSCH resource. (See Figs. 2, 4, and 5 where the first and second PUSCH share the same PUSCH resource which is time because the first and second PUSCH overlap in time.)
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the multiplexing the one or more of the one or more first UCI messages and the one or more second UCI messages onto the one or more of the one or more PUSCH resources includes one or more of: (Please Note limitations are in the alternative and suffices to address one and only first one addressed)
identification of the one or more PUSCH resources irrespective of a CORESET
pool value associated with the one or more PUSCH resources that overlap with one or
both of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource; (See Fig. 4 and per paragraph 59 and 36 that the two PUSCHs overlapping the PUCCH are chosen irrespective of a CORESET pool value as PUSCH for TRP#0 and PUSCH TRP#1 are selected as both overlap with PUCCH TRP#1 and the PUCCH’s UCI is multiplexed on both PUSCH s. See paragraph 51)
identification of at least one PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH resource or
the second PUCCH resource that does not overlap with any PUSCH resource of the one or more PUSCH resources in which the CORESET pool value associated with at least one PUSCH resource of the one or more PUSCH resources is equal to a corresponding CORESET pool value associated with the at least one PUCCH resource; or identification of the at least one PUCCH resource of the first PUCCH resource
or the second PUCCH resource that overlaps with the at least one PUSCH resource in
which the CORESET pool value associated with the at least one PUSCH resource is different than the corresponding CORESET pool value associated with the at least one
PUCCH resource.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected in the same scope as claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, further including: refraining, by the UE, from transmission of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource in response to the transmitting the one or more PUSCH resources. (See Figure 5, paragraph 59, wherein both LP PUCCH for TRP#0 and TRP#1 are dropped by the UE and the corresponding PUSCHs that overlap are transmitted by the UE).
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected in the same scope as claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 18 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Yin et al (US 20250158784 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, further discloses wherein the identifying the one or more PUSCH resources includes: identifying a first PUSCH resource of the one or more PUSCH resources that overlaps with both of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource, (See Fig. 5 see each PUSCH for TRP#0 and TRP#1 and paragraph 59)
Xiong fails to disclose wherein the multiplexing includes multiplexing the one or more first UCI messages and the one or more second UCI messages onto the first PUSCH resource.
Yin in the same endeavor discloses wherein the multiplexing includes multiplexing the one or more first UCI messages and the one or more second UCI messages onto the first PUSCH resource. (See Fig. 10 paragraph 149 showing in Fig. 10 where HP HARQ-ACK PUCCH and HP SR PUCCH overlap with LP PUSCH. The UCI being HARQ-ACK and SR is multiplexed on LP PUSCH and transmitted as shown in Fig. 10. See also paragraph 145 and Fig. 9)
In view of the above, having Xiong’s UCI multiplexing techniques and then given the well- established teaching of Yin’s techniques for configuring multiplexing on LP PUSCH, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xiong’s UCI multiplexing techniques as taught by Yin’s techniques for configuring multiplexing on LP PUSCH, since Yin states in paragraph 0005 that the modification results in improving communication flexibility and efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim(s) 13 and 28 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Yoshioka et al (US 20250158784 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose further including: receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a PUSCH multiplexing parameter that identifies a predetermined procedure for the identifying the one or more PUSCH resources that overlaps in the time domain with the at least one of the first PUCCH resource or the second PUCCH resource.
Yoshioka, in the same endeavor, discloses further including: receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a PUSCH multiplexing parameter that identifies a predetermined procedure for the identifying the one or more PUSCH resources that overlaps in the time domain with the at least one of the first PUCCH resource or the second PUCCH resource. (See paragraphs 57 and 72 indicating terminal 20 receives RRC with parameter indicating procedure to identify channel type (the PUCCH, the PUSCH, or the like), whether or not at least some of the signals/channels that overlap in the time domain are included in the same actual CC/actual CC group, a priority of the signal/channel, whether or not the signal/channel spans multiple actual CCs.)
In view of the above, having Xiong’s UCI multiplexing techniques and then given the well- established teaching of Yoshioka’s techniques for preconfiguring overlapping channels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xiong’s UCI multiplexing techniques as taught by Yoshioka’s techniques for preconfiguring overlapping channels, since Yoshioka states in paragraphs 0005 and 0008 that the modification results in more flexible and efficient resource allocation and reduces overhead of resource allocation.
Regarding claim 28, Claim 28 is rejected in the same scope as claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 20, 24, 25, 26, 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474