Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12-13, 17-19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 10, 12-13 and 17-19, the phrase “at least some of” should be changed to “at least one of”.
Claim 20, "the semiconductor wafer element" in lines 4-5 should be changed to “a semiconductor wafer element” to provide proper antecedent basis for claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iigusa (US 2005/0206573).
Regarding claim 16, Iigusa discloses in Figures 1-5, a radial line slot antenna array, comprising:
a substrate (13, Fig. 5A) comprising a radiating surface (14, Fig. 5A) for the array, the radiating surface comprising multiple slots (SL1-SL12) arranged in a predefined configuration representing a slot element layout for the radial line slot antenna array;
a set of switching devices (VC1-VC12), each switching device structurally aligned with a respective slot (SL1-SL7);
a plurality of bias control lines (lines between control circuit 2 and VC1-VC7); and
driving circuitry (2) configured to individually address the switching devices, whereby to enable selected bias signals to be applied to the switching devices using the bias control lines.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 16, Iigusa discloses in Figure 1,
wherein at least some of the set of switching devices (SL1-SL12) comprise varactor diodes (see par. 0101) and/or memcapacitors.
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 16, Iigusa discloses in Figures 1-4,
wherein: the driving circuitry (2) comprises at least one high voltage driver configured to supply a high voltage bias signal; and/or the radiating surface comprises a metallic layer interposed between and bonded to the semiconductor wafer element and the substrate.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al (US 2018/0062269).
Regarding claim 16, Kishimoto discloses in Figure 1, a radial line slot antenna array, comprising:
a substrate comprising a radiating surface (101) for the array, the radiating surface comprising multiple slots (102) arranged in a predefined configuration representing a slot element layout for the radial line slot antenna array;
a set of switching devices (104), each switching device structurally aligned with a respective slot (102);
a plurality of bias control lines (105); and
driving circuitry (107) configured to individually address the switching devices, whereby to enable selected bias signals to be applied to the switching devices using the bias control lines.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, Kishimoto discloses in Figure 1,
wherein at least some of the set of switching devices (104) comprise micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) switches (see par. 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kishimoto et al (US 2018/0062269) in view of Sievenpiper (US 2004/0227678).
Regarding claim 18, Kishimoto is silent on the MEMS switches comprising charge-controlled or field-controlled MEMS switches; and/or at least some of the MEMS switches comprise cantilever, bridge, or diaphragm type MEMS.
Sievenpiper discloses in Figures 2a-2b and par. 0046, the MEMS switches comprising charge-controlled or field-controlled MEMS switches; and/or at least some of the MEMS switches (8) comprise cantilever, bridge, or diaphragm type MEMS.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to select at least some of the MEMS switches of Kishimoto with at least some of the MEMS switches as taught by Sievenpiper to make effective MEMS-tuned antenna, since such modification would have involved a mere change or selecting in a suitable type of MEMS switches and generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Iigusa and Kishimoto fail to disclose a set of active switching devices integrally formed in a semiconductor wafer element bonded to the substrate; a plurality of bias control lines integrally formed in the semiconductor wafer element; and driving circuitry integrally formed in the semiconductor wafer element and configured to individually address the active switching devices.
However, there is no teaching or suggestion for combination to meet the method and structure requirement of the radio line slot antenna array as in claims 1 and 9. Claims 2-8 and 10-15 are allowed since they are dependent on claims 1 and 9.
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845