Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/26 and 09/17/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 21 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13, 21, 23, 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub No.: 2018/0295292A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. disclose a method (A focus control method, Abstract; Paragraph 0008; Figures 5 and 13), comprising:
receiving first image data from a first image sensor of a first camera (The first image sensor 1314 may generate an electrical signal based at least partly on light received from the outside and may generate digital image (e.g., Bayer image) based at least partly on the electrical signal. The image generated by the first image sensor 1314 may be transmitted to the image sensor interface 1330, Paragraphs 0172-0179, 0185; Figures 5 and 13);
adjusting an aperture size of a variable aperture (VA) of a second camera corresponding to a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (For example, in a state where the first camera module has a first focus location, if the first camera module is deactivated while the second camera module is activated, in a process to applying the first focus location to the second camera module, the processor 520 may be configured to maintain the focus movement amount of the second camera module as a specified default value, to change an aperture state to the first aperture state 1201 or the second aperture state 1203. While the state of the first camera module 1310 (e.g., the first camera module 210) is transitioned from an activation state to a deactivation state, in the case where the second camera module 1320 (e.g., the second camera module 220) is activated, the processor 1370 may apply the focus location value of the first camera module 1310 to the second camera module 1320. In this process, the processor 1370 may apply the focus manipulation object associated with the focus location adjustment of the first camera module 1310, to the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0170-0171, 0188; Figures 5 and 13);
receiving second image data from a second image sensor of the second camera (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0189); and
determining a first output frame based on the second image data (The processor 1370 of an electronic device may be configured to adjust a first unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the first focus sharpness variation) of the first camera module 1310 or a second unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the second focus sharpness variation) of the second camera module 1320 such that a difference between a first focus sharpness variation associated with the first camera module 1310 and a second focus sharpness variation associated with the second camera module 1320 is reduced, based at least on a first f-number corresponding to a first lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the first camera module 1310 or a second f-number corresponding to the second lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0181-0189; Figure 13).
With regard to Claim 3, Lee et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising adjusting the second image data further by warping the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (common portion within a specific range) (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0188).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee et al. disclose an apparatus (Electronic device 1301, Abstract; Paragraphs 0172-0173; Figure 13), comprising:
a first camera comprising a first image sensor (First camera module 1310 with first image sensor 1314, Paragraphs 0171-0178; Figure 13),
a second camera comprising a second image sensor (The second camera module 1320 and the second image sensor 1324, Paragraphs 0171-0183; Figure 13)
a variable aperture (VA), wherein the VA is included in the second camera (With regard to focus location application of the plurality of camera modules each of which includes an aperture, the processor 520 may use the above-described aperture state change. For example, in a state where the first camera module has a first focus location, if the first camera module is deactivated while the second camera module is activated, in a process to applying the first focus location to the second camera module, the processor 520 may be configured to maintain the focus movement amount of the second camera module as a specified default value, to change an aperture state to the first aperture state 1201 or the second aperture state 1203, and to have a sharpness variation the same as a first focus sharpness variation, Paragraphs 0171, 0188);
a memory storing processor-readable code (Computer readable medium for storing processor-readable code, Paragraphs 0218-0219); and
at least one processor (See processor 1370, Paragraph 0218 and Figure 13) coupled to the memory, to the first camera, and to the second camera, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (At least a part of an apparatus (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or a method (e.g., operations) may, for example, be implemented by instructions stored in a computer-readable storage media in the form of a program module. The instruction, when executed by a processor (e.g., a processor 120, 520, or 1370), may cause the processor to perform a function corresponding to the instruction. The computer-readable recording medium may be, for example, a memory (e.g., the memory 140 or 1360), Paragraphs 0218-0219; Figure 13) including:
receiving first image data from the first image sensor (The first image sensor 1314 may generate an electrical signal based at least partly on light received from the outside and may generate digital image (e.g., Bayer image) based at least partly on the electrical signal. The image generated by the first image sensor 1314 may be transmitted to the image sensor interface 1330, Paragraphs 0172-0179, 0185; Figures 5 and 13);
adjusting an aperture size of a variable aperture (VA) of the second camera corresponding to a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (For example, in a state where the first camera module has a first focus location, if the first camera module is deactivated while the second camera module is activated, in a process to applying the first focus location to the second camera module, the processor 520 may be configured to maintain the focus movement amount of the second camera module as a specified default value, to change an aperture state to the first aperture state 1201 or the second aperture state 1203. While the state of the first camera module 1310 (e.g., the first camera module 210) is transitioned from an activation state to a deactivation state, in the case where the second camera module 1320 (e.g., the second camera module 220) is activated, the processor 1370 may apply the focus location value of the first camera module 1310 to the second camera module 1320. In this process, the processor 1370 may apply the focus manipulation object associated with the focus location adjustment of the first camera module 1310, to the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0170-0171, 0188; Figures 5 and 13);
receiving second image data from a second image sensor of the second camera (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0189); and
determining a first output frame based on the second image data (The processor 1370 of an electronic device may be configured to adjust a first unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the first focus sharpness variation) of the first camera module 1310 or a second unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the second focus sharpness variation) of the second camera module 1320 such that a difference between a first focus sharpness variation associated with the first camera module 1310 and a second focus sharpness variation associated with the second camera module 1320 is reduced, based at least on a first f-number corresponding to a first lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the first camera module 1310 or a second f-number corresponding to the second lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0181-0189; Figure 13).
With regard to Claim 13, Lee et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform operations comprising adjusting the second image data further by warping the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (common portion within a specific range) (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0188).
In regard to computer program storing Claims 21 and 23, these claims correspond to apparatus claims 11 and 13 and are rejected as discussed in the above rejections to apparatus claims 11 and 13 (Also see Paragraphs 0217-0219).
Regarding Claim 26, Lee et al. disclose an apparatus (Electronic device 1301, Abstract; Paragraphs 0172-0173; Figure 13), comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (Computer readable medium for storing processor-readable code, Paragraphs 0218-0219); and
at least one processor (See processor 1370, Paragraph 0218 and Figure 13) coupled to the memory, to the first camera, and to the second camera, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (At least a part of an apparatus (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or a method (e.g., operations) may, for example, be implemented by instructions stored in a computer-readable storage media in the form of a program module. The instruction, when executed by a processor (e.g., a processor 120, 520, or 1370), may cause the processor to perform a function corresponding to the instruction. The computer-readable recording medium may be, for example, a memory (e.g., the memory 140 or 1360), Paragraphs 0218-0219; Figure 13) including:
receiving first image data from a first image sensor of a first camera (The first image sensor 1314 may generate an electrical signal based at least partly on light received from the outside and may generate digital image (e.g., Bayer image) based at least partly on the electrical signal. The image generated by the first image sensor 1314 may be transmitted to the image sensor interface 1330, Paragraphs 0172-0179, 0185; Figures 5 and 13);
adjusting an aperture size of a variable aperture (VA) of a second camera corresponding to a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (For example, in a state where the first camera module has a first focus location, if the first camera module is deactivated while the second camera module is activated, in a process to applying the first focus location to the second camera module, the processor 520 may be configured to maintain the focus movement amount of the second camera module as a specified default value, to change an aperture state to the first aperture state 1201 or the second aperture state 1203. While the state of the first camera module 1310 (e.g., the first camera module 210) is transitioned from an activation state to a deactivation state, in the case where the second camera module 1320 (e.g., the second camera module 220) is activated, the processor 1370 may apply the focus location value of the first camera module 1310 to the second camera module 1320. In this process, the processor 1370 may apply the focus manipulation object associated with the focus location adjustment of the first camera module 1310, to the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0170-0171, 0188; Figures 5 and 13);
receiving second image data from a second image sensor of the second camera (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0189); and
determining a first output frame based on the second image data (The processor 1370 of an electronic device may be configured to adjust a first unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the first focus sharpness variation) of the first camera module 1310 or a second unit (e.g., a focus unit distance defined by the second focus sharpness variation) of the second camera module 1320 such that a difference between a first focus sharpness variation associated with the first camera module 1310 and a second focus sharpness variation associated with the second camera module 1320 is reduced, based at least on a first f-number corresponding to a first lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the first camera module 1310 or a second f-number corresponding to the second lens driving part associated with the focus adjustment of the second camera module 1320, Paragraphs 0181-0189; Figure 13).
With regard to Claim 28, Lee et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform operations comprising adjusting the second image data further by warping the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (common portion within a specific range) (The second camera module 1320 may include a configuration the same as or similar to that of the first camera module 1310. The second camera module 1320 may include a second lens 1321, a second actuator 1322 that drives the second lens 1321, an aperture 1323, and a second image sensor 1324. The FoV of the first camera module 1310 and the FoV of the second camera module 1320 has a common portion within a specific range, and a specific camera module may have a greater FoV, Paragraphs 0181-0188).
4.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-10, 12, 14-20, 22, 24-25, 27 and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638