Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2.) Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 21-23 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub No.: 2022/0166936A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a method (Method of a camera module capturing an image, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20), comprising:
receiving first image data from a first image sensor of a first camera (Camera module 1100a has an image sensor that senses an image of a target, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20);
receiving second image data from a second image sensor of a second camera (Camera module 1100c has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
wherein at least one of the first image data or the second image data is received through a variable aperture having an adjusted aperture setting applied by the first camera or the second camera (To adjust the shutter speeds and/or aperture values of the image sensors, the main processor may control mechanical devices included in the image sensors or may control pixels included in the image sensors, Paragraphs 0093-0094, Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0151-0168; Figures 19-20. Each of the camera modules include an actuator. The actuator 1130 may move the OPFE 1110 or an optical lens (hereinafter referred to as an “optical lens”) to a specific location. For example, the actuator 1130 may adjust a location of an optical lens such that an image sensor 1142 is placed at a focal length of the optical lens for accurate sensing, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20);
determining a first output frame based on the first image data and the second image data by adjusting the second image data to match a characteristic of the first image data (merging of image data) (One camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraph 0168; Figures 19-20).
In regard to Claim 2, Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the second image data comprises adjusting the second image data to match a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (As mentioned above, one camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
With regard to Claim 3, Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 2, wherein adjusting the second image data further comprises warping (merging of image data) the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (At least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may have different FOVs from each other. In this case, the at least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may include different optical lens, not limited thereto. the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by merging at least a portion of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal. Also, the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by selecting one of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and/or 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal., Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim et al. disclose an apparatus (Electronic device with camera module group, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20), comprising:
a first camera comprising a first image sensor (Camera module 1100a has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
a second camera comprising a second image sensor (Camera module 1100c has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
a variable aperture, wherein the variable aperture is included in one of the first camera or the second camera (To adjust the shutter speeds and/or aperture values of the image sensors, the main processor may control mechanical devices included in the image sensors or may control pixels included in the image sensors, Paragraphs 0093-0094, Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0151-0168; Figures 19-20);
a memory storing processor-readable code (Internal memory, Paragraphs 0151-0168, 0172; Figures 19-20); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, to the first camera, and to the second camera, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Application processor 1200, Paragraphs 0151-0168, 0172, 0193; Figures 19-20) including:
receiving first image data from the first image sensor (Camera module 1100a has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
receiving second image data from the second image sensor (Camera module 1100c has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
wherein at least one of the first image data or the second image data is received through the variable aperture according to an adjusted aperture setting applied by the first camera or the second camera (Each of the camera modules include an actuator. The actuator 1130 may move the OPFE 1110 or an optical lens (hereinafter referred to as an “optical lens”) to a specific location. For example, the actuator 1130 may adjust a location of an optical lens such that an image sensor 1142 is placed at a focal length of the optical lens for accurate sensing, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20);
determining a first output frame based on the first image data and the second image data by adjusting the second image data to match a characteristic of the first image data (merging of image data) (One camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraph 0168; Figures 19-20).
In regard to Claim 12, Kim et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the adjusting the second image data comprises adjusting the second image data to match a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (As mentioned above, one camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
With regard to Claim 13, Kim et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the adjusting the second image data further comprises warping (merging) the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (At least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may have different FOVs from each other. In this case, the at least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may include different optical lens, not limited thereto. the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by merging at least a portion of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal. Also, the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by selecting one of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and/or 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal., Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
With regard to computer program storing Claims 21-23, these claims correspond to apparatus claims 11-13 and are rejected as discussed in the above rejections to apparatus claims 11-13 (Also see Paragraphs 0193-0195).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim et al. disclose an apparatus (Electronic device with camera module group, Paragraphs 0151-0168; Figures 19-20), comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (Internal memory, Paragraphs 0151-0168, 0172; Figures 19-20); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, to the first camera, and to the second camera, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Application processor 1200, Paragraphs 0151-0168, 0172, 0193; Figures 19-20) including:
receiving first image data from a first image sensor of a first camera (Camera module 1100a has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
receiving second image data from a second image sensor of a second camera (Camera module 1100c has an image sensor that senses and receives an image of a target, Paragraphs 151-0168; Figures 19-20),
wherein at least one of the first image data or the second image data is received through a variable aperture (VA) having an adjusted aperture setting applied by the first camera or the second camera (Each of the camera modules include an actuator. The actuator 1130 may move the OPFE 1110 or an optical lens (hereinafter referred to as an “optical lens”) to a specific location. For example, the actuator 1130 may adjust a location of an optical lens such that an image sensor 1142 is placed at a focal length of the optical lens for accurate sensing. To adjust the shutter speeds and/or aperture values of the image sensors, the main processor may control mechanical devices included in the image sensors or may control pixels included in the image sensors, Paragraphs 0093-0094, Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0151-0168; Figures 19-20);
determining a first output frame based on the first image data and the second image data by adjusting the second image data to match a characteristic of the first image data (merging of image data) (One camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraph 0168; Figures 19-20).
In regard to Claim 27, Kim et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the adjusting the second image data comprises adjusting the second image data to match a depth of focus (DOF) of the first image data (As mentioned above, one camera module (e.g., 1100c) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may be, for example, a vertical shape of depth camera extracting depth information by using an infrared ray (IR). In this case, the application processor 1200 may merge image data provided from the depth camera and image data provided from any other camera module (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) and may generate a three-dimensional (3D) depth image, Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
With regard to Claim 28, Kim et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the adjusting the second image data further comprises warping (merging) the second image data to match a field of view (FOV) of the first image data (At least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may have different FOVs from each other. In this case, the at least two camera modules (e.g., 1100a and 1100b) among the plurality of camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c may include different optical lens, not limited thereto. the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by merging at least a portion of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal. Also, the image generator 1214 may generate the output image by selecting one of the image data respectively generated from the camera modules 1100a, 1100b, and/or 1100c having different FOVs from each other, depending on the image generating information Generating Information or the mode signal., Paragraphs 0168-0177 and Figures 19-20).
3.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 14-20, 24-25 and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638