DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2007078310 to Saho et al. (Saho).
In reference to claim 1, Saho teaches a cryostat (FIG. 1-7), comprising a vacuum enclosure (12, FIG. 7), inside said vacuum enclosure a plurality of nested radiation shields (15 and 16, FIG. 7), and a cryogen-free cooling system (17, FIG. 7), stages of which (28 and 32, FIG. 7) are thermally coupled with and configured to cool respective ones of said plurality of nested radiation shields (15 and 16, FIG. 7), inside said vacuum enclosure (12, FIG. 7), at least partly surrounding said plurality of nested radiation shields (par 0081 and FIG. 7), a thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7), and a compressor-driven refrigerator (inherent in the structure of cooler 87, FIG. 7) thermally coupled with said thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7) and configured to cool said thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7).
In reference to claim 2, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Saho additionally teaches wherein said compressor-driven refrigerator (87, FIG. 7) is configured to cool said thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7) to a temperature between 173 K and 273 K (par 0075).
In reference to claim 3, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Saho additionally teaches wherein at least a part of said thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7) is attached to and mechanically supported by the vacuum enclosure (via supports 13 and 14, FIG. 7).
In reference to claim 4, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Saho additionally teaches wherein a part (50, FIG. 7) of said vacuum enclosure (12, FIG. 7) is openable, constituting a door or hatch (port 50, FIG. 7) for giving access to inside the vacuum enclosure (12, FIG. 7), and a door part or hatch part (46, FIG. 7) of said thermally conductive layer (86, FIG. 7) is attached to and mechanically supported by the openable part (50) of the vacuum enclosure.
In reference to claims 10 and 11, they claim the method of providing and configuring the apparatus of claims 1-2, thus, they are rejected based on the rejection of apparatus as explained in the rejection of claims 1-2 above and the associated method steps, which follow directly from the use of the apparatus, are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saho.
In reference to claim 5, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 4 above, but Saho does not explicitly teach wherein the thermally conductive layer comprises a thermal coupling gasket for thermally coupling said door or hatch part to the rest of the thermally conductive layer when the openable part of the vacuum enclosure is closed.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cooling systems comprising doors to have gaskets to be obvious in order to prevent heat loss.
In reference to claim 6, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 4 above, but Saho does not explicitly teach wherein said compressor-driven refrigerator is a first compressor-driven refrigerator thermally coupled with that portion of said thermally conductive layer that remains within the vacuum enclosure when said openable part of the vacuum enclosure is opened, and the cryostat comprises a second compressor-driven refrigerator thermally coupled with the door or hatch part.
Although Saho did not disclose a plurality of compressors, the court holds that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In this case, the cooling capacity of the system is increased by the addition of a compressor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cryostat of Saho, to include a first compressor-driven refrigerator thermally coupled with that portion of said thermally conductive layer that remains within the vacuum enclosure when said openable part of the vacuum enclosure is opened, and the cryostat comprises a second compressor-driven refrigerator thermally coupled with the door or hatch part in order to increase the capacity of the cooling system.
In reference to claim 7, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but Saho does not explicitly teach wherein the thermally conductive layer has an opening for allowing a plurality of wired connections between respective feedthroughs in the vacuum enclosure and the plurality of nested radiation shields to go through.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cooling systems comprising thermally conductive layers, vacuum insulations and nested radiation shields to have openings for wiring to be obvious in order to allow for electrical connection for elements located within the cryostat.
In reference to claim 8, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but Saho does not explicitly teach the vacuum enclosure consists of two or more modules, each with at least one opening on a surface thereof for interconnecting with the other modules, and said thermally conductive layer consists of module-specific portions, each such portion covering at least a part of the inner walls of the respective module.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cooling systems being modular to be obvious in order to allow for easy access and maintenance.
In reference to claim 9, Saho teaches the cryostat as explained in the rejection of claim 8 above, but Saho does not explicitly teach as many compressor-driven refrigerators as there are modules, each compressor-driven refrigerator being thermally coupled with the thermally conductive layer of the respective module.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cooling systems being modular to be obvious in order to allow for easy access and maintenance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 form for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
6/12/2026