DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-28, 30, 31-33, 35-38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190373440 A1 herein Agiwal.
Claim 21, Agiwal discloses a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising[sic:] a processor (Fig. 1C: 120, UE 122, controller unit), the processor configured to [sic:]
receive configuration information indicating parameters for operating as a WTRU-to-network mobile relay, the parameters comprising a first reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold and a second RSRP threshold ([0088]: "The UE 120 receives the maximum Uu Link quality threshold (Threshold 1) and minimum Uu Link quality threshold (threshold 2) from the BS 110. ");
perform an RSRP measurement of a serving cell to determine an RSRP value ([0088]: "the controller unit 122 of the UE 120 measures the link quality parameter (RSRP/RSRQ) of Uu link i.e. wireless link between the UE 120 and the BS 110 of camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell).");
determine, based on the RSRP value, whether to indicate support for one or more of a single-path relay operation ([0088]: "If the measured RSRP/RSRQ of the camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell) is between two thresholds (Threshold 2<measured RSRP/RSRQ<Threshold 1 ... ) then the UE 120 starts the relay discovery procedure i.e. it starts transmitting the UE-to-Network relay indication (i.e. discovery message indicating itself as the UE-to-Network relay) on the D2D discovery channel.") or a multi-path relay operation in a sidelink discovery message (Claim 21 recites the alternative limitation "one or more of a single-path relay operation or a multi-path relay operation," and Agiwal's UE-to-Network relay operation is a single-path relay operation, Agiwal's disclosure of the single-path alternative fully satisfies this limitation), wherein support for the single-path relay operation is determined based on the RSRP value satisfying the first RSRP threshold ([0088]: "If the measured RSRP/RSRQ of the camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell) is between two thresholds (Threshold 2<measured RSRP/RSRQ<Threshold 1 ... ) then the UE 120 starts the relay discovery procedure i.e. it starts transmitting the UE-to-Network relay indication (i.e. discovery message indicating itself as the UE-to-Network relay) on the D2D discovery channel.");
transmit, to a second WTRU, the sidelink discovery message indicating support for one or more of the single-path relay operation or the multi-path relay operation ([0008]: "The UE capable of supporting the UE-to-Network relay functionality and in coverage of network periodically broadcasts User Equipment (UE)-to-Network Relay indication (i.e. discovery message indicating itself as the UE-to-Network relay); [0041]: "the UE transmits (or announces) the UE-to-Network relay indication ... which can be used by the Remote UE to discover the UE-to-Network relay in its proximity.).
Claim 22, claim 22 further limits an alternative of claim 21. Since Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, all the limitations of claim 22 have been met.
Claim 23, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21, wherein the parameters comprise: a first resource pool for transmitting a first sidelink discovery message, the first sidelink discovery message comprising an indication of support for the single-path relay operation ((0093]: "if the BS 110 indicates that relay (i.e., the UE-to-Network relay) is supported ... and broadcasts Uu link quality thresholds and broadcasts TX resource pools for discovery message transmission then the UE 120 uses the broadcasted TX resource pools for relay discovery for transmitting the discovery message when the UE-to-Network relay criteria ... for transmitting the UE-to-Network relay indication ... is met."); and a second resource pool for transmitting a second sidelink discovery message, the second discovery message comprising an indication of the multi-path relay operation (this clause further limits an alternative of claim 21. Since, Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, the limits of claim 22 have been met).
Claim 25, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to determine to indicate support for the single-path relay operation when the RSRP value is greater than the first RSRP threshold ([0088]: "If the measured RSRP/RSRQ of the camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell) is between two thresholds (Threshold 2<measured RSRP/RSRQ<Threshold 1 ... ) then the UE 120 starts the relay discovery procedure ... "; [0085] uses "greater than" polarity (''If the measured RSRPIRSRQ ... is greater than (or greater than equal to) this signaled Uu link quality threshold then UE 120 starts relay discovery procedure'').
Claim 26, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21. wherein the processor is configured to determine to indicate support for the single-path relay operation when the RSRP value is less than the second RSRP threshold ([0088]: "If the measured RSRP/RSRQ of the camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell) is between two thresholds (Threshold 2<measured RSRP/RSRQ<Threshold 1 ... ) then the UE 120 starts the relay discovery procedure ... ").
Claim 27, claim 27 further limits an alternative of claim 21. Since Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, all the limitations of claim 27 have been met.
Claim 28, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to determine to indicate support for the single-path relay operation ([0088]: "If the measured RSRP/RSRQ of the camped cell (or serving cell or primary cell) is between two thresholds (Threshold 2<measured RSRP/RSRQ<Threshold 1 ... ) then the UE 120 starts the relay discovery procedure ... ") and the multi-path relay operation in the discovery message (this clause further limits an alternative of claim 21. Since, Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, the limits of claim 22 have been met).
Claim 30, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to transmit a report to a network when the RSRP value satisfies the second RSRP threshold ([0109]: "The UE 120 performs Uu link quality measurement according to measurement configuration. The measurement report includes, for example, the link quality parameters, between the UE 120 and the BS 110, measured by the UE 120, and the like."), the report comprising an indication of one or more second WTRUs requesting the multi-path relay operation (this clause further limits an alternative of claim 21. Since, Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, the limits of claim 22 have been met).
Claim 31, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 21. Agiwal discloses a method implemented by a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method (Title: Method for triggering UE to network relay indication) comprising:
Claim 32, claim 32 further limits an alternative of claim 31. Since Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, all the limitations of claim 31 have been met.
Claim 33, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 23.
Claim 35, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 36, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 26.
Claim 37, claim 37 further limits an alternative of claim 31. Since Agiwal discloses single-path relay operation, all the limitations of claim 37 have been met.
Claim 38, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 28.
Claim 40, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 29, 34 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of US 20180343598 A1 herein Xu.
Claim 24, discloses the first WTRU of claim 21. Agiwal may not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink discovery message comprises an indication of the RSRP value.
Xu discloses wherein the sidelink discovery message comprises an indication of the RSRP value ([0050]: “the electronic device 200 may quantify the second link information into different levels, and transmits the level information to the user equipment. For example, a 'Uu link Quality lndicator' may be added at the electronic device 200 side to indicate the level of the second link information.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agiwal to include transmitting an RSRP derived indicator as taught by Xu so as to lower signaling overhead (0050).
Claim 29, Agiwal discloses the first WTRU of claim 21, transmit a report to a network when the RSRP value satisfies the first RSRP threshold ([0109]: "The UE 120 performs Uu link quality measurement according to measurement configuration. The measurement report includes, for example, the link quality parameters, between the UE 120 and the BS 110, measured by the UE 120, and the like.").
Agiwal may not explicitly disclose the report comprising an indication of one or more second WTRUs requesting the single-path relay operation.
Xu discloses the report comprising an indication of one or more second WTRUs requesting the single-path relay operation ([0117]: "the remote UE may transmit the target relay UE information obtained after performing the relay reselection process to the source relay UE, to assist the source relay UE to perform the relay selection process."; [0118]: "in a case that there are two or more remote UEs connecting to the source relay UE, the two or more remote UEs may transmit information on a target relay UE to the source relay UE after performing the relay reselection process.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agiwal to include transmitting an RSRP derived indicator as taught by Xu so as to lower signaling overhead (0050).
Claim 34, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 24.
Claim 39, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 29.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250220406 A1 – Embodiments of the present disclosure provide method and apparatus for relay node discovery. A method performed by a first UE comprises transmitting a multi path UE-to-network relay discovery message. The multi path UE-to-network relay discovery message comprises first information indicating that the multi path UE-to-network relay discovery message is specific for multi-path UE-to-network relay communication or a specific kind of multi-path UE-to-network relay communication. The method may further comprise, when a candidate relay UE is able to act as a relay UE used for the multi-path UE-to-network relay communication or the specific kind of multi-path UE-to-network relay communication, receiving a multi path UE-to-network relay discovery response message from the candidate relay UE.
Conclusion
/Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463
MEHMOOD B. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463