Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the present application.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are currently amended; claims 7, 9, and 10 are original; and claims 11-19 are new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 17 September 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
From claim 1: a second connection electrode, and the connection of the circuit board to the second connection electrode;
From claim 4: second pad parts, the connection of the plurality of second pad parts to the second connection electrode; and the open region;
From claim 7: a first thickness of the overlapping region being smaller than a second thickness of the non-overlapping region (Figure 4 discloses only the approximate locations of the regions and not the layer(s) comprising the regions);
From claim 9: all elements in the claim. Figure 7 recites the backlight being used in conjunction with the OLED panel and not the LCD panel. Figure 6 recites no backlight being used in conjunction with an LCD panel.
From claim 11: the buffer layer being disposed in the open region, the first connection electrode overlapping the open region, and the adhesive layer being in the open region;
From claim 12: the first and second portions of the buffer layer, and the second portion being provided in the buffer layer;
From claim 13: the adhesive member between the second electrode and the light conversion unit where the respective widths are equal;
From claim 14: the adhesive member (as differentiated from the adhesive layer), and the second connection not overlapping the adhesive member in the thickness direction;
From claim 15: all of the first pad parts being connected to a single first connection electrode;
From claim 16: second pad parts, a single second connection electrode, and the second pad parts being connected to the single second connection electrode;
From claim 17: the first and second adhesive layers being disposed in the open region;
From claim 18: a first-first pad part, a first-second pad part, and their respective connections in the first region to the first connection electrode through the respective first and second adhesive layers; and
From claim 19: a first-first pad part, a first-second pad part, and their respective connections to the same first connection electrode through the first and second adhesive layers.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because the limitation “the open region” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re: claim 4, the meaning of the limitation “the open region” is unclear. The meaning is unclear because the written portion of the specification does not recite a “open region” and there is no “open region” recitation in the present figures. For the purpose of examining the present application, the limitation has been construed as referring to the portion 110 that is not overlapped by element 120 in plan view.
Re: claims 5-7 and 15-19, because they depend upon claim 4, they are likewise rejected.
Re: claim 11, the meaning of the limitation “the open region” is unclear. The meaning is unclear because the written portion of the specification does not recite a “open region” and there is no “open region” recitation in the present figures. For the purpose of examining the present application, the limitation has been construed as referring to the portion of 110 that is not overlapped by element 120 in plan view.
Re: claims 2-7 and 12-19, because they depend upon claim 11, they are likewise rejected.
Re: claim 12, the meaning of the limitation “the open region” is unclear. The meaning is unclear because the written portion of the specification does not recite a “open region” and there is no “open region” recitation in the present figures. For the purpose of examining the present application, the limitation has been construed as referring to the portion of 110 that is not overlapped by element 120 in plan view.
Re: claim 14, the meaning of the limitation “adhesive member” is unclear. While the present specification recites an adhesive layer, there is no recitation of an adhesive member. For the purpose of examining the present claim, the limitation has been construed as referring to the adhesive layer.
Re: claim 15, the meaning of the limitation “the open region” is unclear. The meaning is unclear because the written portion of the specification does not recite a “open region” and there is no “open region” recitation in the present figures. For the purpose of examining the present application, the limitation has been construed as referring to the portion of 110 that is not overlapped by element 120 in plan view.
Re: claims 17-19, because they depend upon claim 15, they are likewise rejected.
Re: claim 17, the meaning of the limitation “the open region” is unclear. The meaning is unclear because the written portion of the specification does not recite a “open region” and there is no “open region” recitation in the present figures. For the purpose of examining the present application, the limitation has been construed as referring to the portion of 110 that is not overlapped by element 120 in plan view.
Re: claims 18-19, because they depend upon claim 17, they are likewise rejected.
Re: claim 18, the meaning of the limitations “first-first pad parts” and “first-second pad parts” is unclear. There are no such components recited in either the written or illustrated portions of the present specification. Because the meaning of the claim cannot in good faith be ascertained by the examiner, this claim has not been further examined.
Re: claim 19, because it depends upon claim 18, it is likewise rejected.
Re: claim 19, the meaning of the limitations “first-first pad parts” and “first-second pad parts” is unclear. There are no such components recited in either the written or illustrated portions of the present specification. Because the meaning of the claim cannot in good faith be ascertained by the examiner, this claim has not been further examined.
Claims 2-7 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Re: claims 2-3, these claims depend upon claim 11, which does not constitute a claim previously set forth as required by the statute; rather claim 11 is recited after claims 2 and 3.
Re: claims 4-7 and 15-19, they are likewise rejected because of their dependency upon claim 3.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura (US 20190162997).
Re: claim 1, Asakura discloses a first substrate 141 (Fig. 12A); a first electrode (portion of electrode 136 to the left of connector 311) disposed on the first substrate (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A) and including a first connection electrode (Fig. 12A, element 301 and the portion of 136 disposed on top of connector 313); a second substrate 131 disposed on the first substrate (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A); a second electrode (Fig. 12A portion of element 126 disposed directly in top of element 132) disposed under the second substrate (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A) and including a second connection electrode (Fig. 12A, the far right portion of element 126 that extends past the right, vertically extending side of element 133); a light conversion unit 132, 133 (Figs. 2A, 12A) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A); an adhesive layer 311, 312, 313 disposed on the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A), and a circuit board 321 disposed on the adhesive layer and electrically connected to the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode (disposition & connection disclosed in Fig. 12C), wherein the adhesive layer includes an conductive adhesive layer (paras. 167-169 disclose that elements 311, 312, 313 are conducting adhesives).
Asakura does not explicitly disclose that the conductive adhesive layer is isotropic. However, official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conducting adhesive be isotropic. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use an isotropic adhesive in connection with the device disclosed by Asakura to ensure that current can flow in all directions instead of just a single direction. By way of example and in reference to Figures 12A and 12C, current flowing through electrode 126 in the device disclosed by Asakura would be flowing in the horizontal direction and upon transition to conductive adhesive 311, the currently would transition from a horizontal flow to a vertical flow. Once the current reaches terminals 315, the current flow would again change direction from a vertical to a horizontal flow.
Re: claim 11, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Asakura further discloses a buffer layer 131 disposed between the first electrode (portion of electrode 136 to the left of connector 311) and the light conversion unit 132, 133 (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A) and including an open region (Fig. 12A, the space disposed to the right of the right-most element 133), wherein the first connection electrode (Fig. 12A, element 301 and the portion of 136 disposed on top of connector 313) overlaps the open region in a thickness direction of the first substrate (overlap disclosed in Fig. 12A), and wherein the adhesive layer is disposed in the open region (disposition disclosed in Fig. 12A).
Re: claim 2, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 11, and Asakura further discloses that the adhesive layer 311, 312, 313 is disposed as a single layer (Fig. 12A).
Re: claim 3, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 11, and Asakura further discloses that the light conversion unit includes a plurality of receiving parts 133 separated by a partition wall part 132 (Figs. 12A, 2A), wherein a dispersion liquid 138 and light conversion particles 139 dispersed by the dispersion liquid are disposed within the plurality of receiving parts (Fig. 2A), wherein the light conversion particles move by applying a voltage (para. 73), and wherein the plurality of receiving parts are connected to one first electrode (Figs. 2A, 2B; para. 73).
Re: claim 8, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Asakura further discloses a panel including at least one of a display panel 123, 124, 121, 111, 105, 104, 103 (Fig. 12A; para. 166 discloses liquid crystal display) and a touch panel; and the optical path control member of claim 1 disposed on or under the panel (Fig. 12A).
Re: claim 9, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 8, and Asakura further discloses that the panel includes a backlight unit (paras. 77-78, 121, 132, 145) and a liquid crystal display panel (para. 166 discloses LC), and wherein the optical path control member is disposed between the backlight unit and the liquid crystal display panel (para. 77 & Fig. 1B), and wherein light emitted from the backlight unit moves from the second substrate toward the first substrate (para. 77 & Fig. 1B).
Re: claim 10, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 8. Asakura does not explicitly disclose that the panel includes an organic light emitting diode panel, wherein the optical path control member is disposed on the organic light emitting diode panel, and wherein light emitted from the panel moves from the second substrate toward the first substrate.
However, Asakura does disclose a display panel 123, 124, 121, 111, 105, 104, 103 (Fig. 12A; para. 166 discloses display)), and that the optical path control member 132. 133 is disposed on the display panel (Fig. 12A) and that the light emitted by the panel would flow from the second substate 131 to the first substrate 141 (Fig. 12A).
A person of ordinary skill at a time prior to the effective date would have been motivated to substitute an OLED display for the LC display disclosed in Asakura for the purpose of reducing the overall thickness of the device. OLED displays generate their own light and do not require a supplemental light source, such as a backlight. LC displays do not generate their own light and are dependent upon external sources for source light.
Re: claim 12, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 11, and Asakura further discloses that the buffer layer 131 includes a first portion (Fig. 12A, the portion of 131 disposed to the left of the right-most element 133) that overlaps the light conversion unit 132, 133 along the thickness direction (overlap disclosed in Fig. 12A), and a second portion (Fig. 12A, the portion of 131 disposed to the right of the right-most element 133) that does not overlap the light conversion unit (Fig. 12A), and wherein the open region is provided in the second portion of the buffer layer (Fig. 12A, where the open region is the space disposed to the right of the right-most element 133).
Re: claim 14, Asakura discloses the limitations of claim 11, and Asakura further discloses that the second connection electrode (Fig. 12A, the far right portion of element 126 that extends past the right, vertically extending side of element 133) does not overlap the adhesive member 312, 313 along the thickness direction (no overlap disclosed in Fig. 12A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 13, and 15-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(b) & 112(d) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANGELA M. MEDICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871