DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendments dated 07/31/2026 are entered.
Claims 1-19 and 25-29 are cancelled.
Claims 20-24 and 40 are pending and are examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All previous objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and/or upon consideration of Applicant’s arguments.
Information Disclosure Statement
Initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 07/31/2026 is attached to the instant Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Instant SEQ ID NO:10 is 100% identical to the Glycine max JAGGED1 protein, which has been deposited and publicly available in the NCBI GenBank and at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) for more than a decade. See alignment below; Qy = instant SEQ ID NO:10. See also association with the Jeong et al. 2012 research article, described in the art rejections, infra.
RESULT 1
K7N2W4_SOYBN
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
ID K7N2W4_SOYBN Unreviewed; 256 AA.
AC K7N2W4;
DT 09-JAN-2013, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 09-JAN-2013, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 77.
DE SubName: Full=JAG1 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGG35826.1};
GN Name=Ln {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGG35826.1};
GN Synonyms=LN {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KRG90823};
GN ORFNames=GLYMA_20G116200 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KRG90823.1};
OS Glycine max (Soybean) (Glycine hispida).
OC Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
OC Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae; Pentapetalae;
OC rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50 kb inversion clade;
OC NPAAA clade; indigoferoid/millettioid clade; Phaseoleae; Glycine;
OC Glycine subgen. Soja.
OX NCBI_TaxID=3847 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGG35826.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KRG90823.1, ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KRG90823}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Williams 82 {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KRG90823};
RC TISSUE=Callus {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KRG90823.1};
RX PubMed=20075913; DOI=10.1038/nature08670;
RA Schmutz J., Cannon S.B., Schlueter J., Ma J., Mitros T., Nelson W.,
RA Hyten D.L., Song Q., Thelen J.J., Cheng J., Xu D., Hellsten U., May G.D.,
RA Yu Y., Sakurai T., Umezawa T., Bhattacharyya M.K., Sandhu D.,
RA Valliyodan B., Lindquist E., Peto M., Grant D., Shu S., Goodstein D.,
RA Barry K., Futrell-Griggs M., Abernathy B., Du J., Tian Z., Zhu L., Gill N.,
RA Joshi T., Libault M., Sethuraman A., Zhang X.-C., Shinozaki K.,
RA Nguyen H.T., Wing R.A., Cregan P., Specht J., Grimwood J., Rokhsar D.,
RA Stacey G., Shoemaker R.C., Jackson S.A.;
RT "Genome sequence of the palaeopolyploid soybean.";
RL Nature 463:178-183(2010).
RN [2] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGG35826.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RX PubMed=23243125; DOI=10.1105/tpc.112.104968;
RA Jeong N., Suh S.J., Kim M.H., Lee S., Moon J.K., Kim H.S., Jeong S.C.;
RT "Ln is a key regulator of leaflet shape and number of seeds per pod in
RT soybean.";
RL Plant Cell 24:4807-4818(2012).
RN [3] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGG35826.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RA Jeong S.-C.;
RL Submitted (MAY-2012) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [4] {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KRG90823}
RP IDENTIFICATION.
RC STRAIN=Williams 82 {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KRG90823};
RG EnsemblPlants;
RL Submitted (FEB-2018) to UniProtKB.
RN [5] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KRG90823.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RC TISSUE=Callus {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KRG90823.1};
RA Schmutz J., Cannon S., Schlueter J., Ma J., Mitros T., Nelson W., Hyten D.,
RA Song Q., Thelen J., Cheng J., Xu D., Hellsten U., May G., Yu Y.,
RA Sakurai T., Umezawa T., Bhattacharyya M., Sandhu D., Valliyodan B.,
RA Lindquist E., Peto M., Grant D., Shu S., Goodstein D., Barry K.,
RA Futrell-Griggs M., Abernathy B., Du J., Tian Z., Zhu L., Gill N., Joshi T.,
RA Libault M., Sethuraman A., Zhang X., Shinozaki K., Nguyen H., Wing R.,
RA Cregan P., Specht J., Grimwood J., Rokhsar D., Stacey G., Shoemaker R.,
RA Jackson S.;
RT "WGS assembly of Glycine max.";
RL Submitted (JUL-2018) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Nucleus {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00004123}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; JX119212; AGG35826.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; CM000853; KRG90823.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR STRING; 3847.K7N2W4; -.
DR PaxDb; 3847-GLYMA20G25000.2; -.
DR EnsemblPlants; KRG90823; KRG90823; GLYMA_20G116200.
DR Gramene; KRG90823; KRG90823; GLYMA_20G116200.
DR eggNOG; ENOG502QUI4; Eukaryota.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_062933_0_0_1; -.
DR OMA; MNDYYVG; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000008827; Chromosome 20.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0003700; F:DNA-binding transcription factor activity; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0008270; F:zinc ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0048653; P:anther development; IEA:UniProtKB-ARBA.
DR GO; GO:0048440; P:carpel development; IEA:UniProtKB-ARBA.
DR GO; GO:0030154; P:cell differentiation; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR FunFam; 3.30.160.60:FF:002425; Zinc finger protein STAMENLESS 1; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.30.160.60; Classic Zinc Finger; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR045320; JAGGED/SL1-like.
DR InterPro; IPR036236; Znf_C2H2_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR013087; Znf_C2H2_type.
DR PANTHER; PTHR45730; ZINC FINGER PROTEIN JAGGED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR45730:SF32; ZINC FINGER PROTEIN JAGGED; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF57667; beta-beta-alpha zinc fingers; 1.
DR PROSITE; PS00028; ZINC_FINGER_C2H2_1; 1.
DR PROSITE; PS50157; ZINC_FINGER_C2H2_2; 1.
PE 4: Predicted;
KW Developmental protein {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022473};
KW Differentiation {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022782};
KW Metal-binding {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022723};
KW Nucleus {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023242};
KW Reference proteome {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000008827};
KW Zinc {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022833};
KW Zinc-finger {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022771, ECO:0000256|PROSITE-
KW ProRule:PRU00042}.
FT DOMAIN 52..79
FT /note="C2H2-type"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|PROSITE:PS50157"
FT REGION 1..46
FT /note="Disordered"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT REGION 119..160
FT /note="Disordered"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 16..29
FT /note="Basic and acidic residues"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 141..152
FT /note="Pro residues"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
SQ SEQUENCE 256 AA; 27795 MW; 775A8B68526CBA7A CRC64;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1424; Length 256;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 255; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MRPERNPLDLNNLPDEYSRDGKQVLEDHTSSSGCRKKKSGGKDGKDECGKVYECRFCSLK 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MRPERNPLDLNNLPDEYSRDGKQVLEDHTSSSGCRKKKSGGKDGKDECGKVYECRFCSLK 60
Qy 61 FCKSQALGGHMNRHRQERETETLNQARQLVFRCDHNIAAQGAPHLGCCQTIGTGGYHPSG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 FCKSQALGGHMNRHRQERETETLNQARQLVFRCDHNIAAQGAPHLGCCQTIGTGGYHPSG 120
Qy 121 DPTVPLRFPRYFSGSSSTHMPPSPPPPPPPQRPYLYPSPTRPVSFGSSHFPLQHAVNDYY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DPTVPLRFPRYFSGSSSTHMPPSPPPPPPPQRPYLYPSPTRPVSFGSSHFPLQHAVNDYY 180
Qy 181 VGHVMSGGSHGHYVGGESTRSYTCIGAPVGQGGGFAGGKEGSAVQEEGLSTWGRGYSGAQ 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 VGHVMSGGSHGHYVGGESTRSYTCIGAPVGQGGGFAGGKEGSAVQEEGLSTWGRGYSGAQ 240
Qy 241 DRLDPPSAINRFQDG 255
|||||||||||||||
Db 241 DRLDPPSAINRFQDG 255
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Response to Applicant’s arguments:
Amendments made to the claims filed in Applicant’s response submitted on 31 July 2026 overcame the rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Response to Applicant’s arguments:
Amendments made to the claims filed in Applicant’s response submitted on 31 July 2026 overcame the rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over JEONG-1 (Jeong et al., 2012, Ln Is a Key Regulator of Leaflet Shape and Number of Seeds per Pod in Soybean, The Plant Cell 24: 4807-4818, with Supplemental Data1) in view of JEONG-2 (Jeong et al., PCT International Patent Application Publication WO 2013/187554, published 19 December 2013; see IDS filed 01/08/20252). This is a new rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
The claims are drawn to a polynucleotide (i) comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, or 35, or (ii) encoding the polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12, 13, 14, 22, 24, 26, 28,or 30; and to a biological sample obtained from a Glycine max soybean plant and comprising the polynucleotide.
JEONG-1 teaches that the Ln locus is a key regulator of leaflet shape and number of seeds per pod in soybean (entire document; see Title, Abstract, for example). The results indicated that the leaflet shape and NSPP traits are pleiotropic effects of the ln gene. Consequently, the results should facilitate development of new soybean cultivars with high yield potential (page 4808. Left col., first paragraph).
The sequence data from JEONG-1 can be found in the GenBank/EMBL data libraries. As shown above (see Claim Interpretation section), JEONG-1 teaches a JAG protein having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:10. It was encoded by Glyma20g25000.1, and was named Gm JAG1 (page 4808, right col., first sentence).
JEONG-1 teaches the ln (Gm-jag1) allele, its phenotype and its expression (entire section spanning pages 4808-4810), and teaches that differences in leaflet shape and pod type between Ln and ln soybean plants have been repeatedly assessed in different soybean backgrounds.
JEONG-1 teaches the one nonsynonymous nucleotide substitution (Gm-jag1 allele), and teaches its introduction into jag-3 mutants to obtain 63 transgenic (Gmjag1) lines. Expression of theGmjag1 allele was confirmed by RT-PCR (Figure 3A; page 4810, right col.).
In the Supplemental Data, JEONG-1 teaches various polymorphic sites identified from comparison of Gn-JAG1 containing sequences from 14 soybean lines. See reproduced Supplemental Figure 6 below; and also teaches corresponding sequencing primers, as well as the corresponding phenotypes as leaflet shapes (JEONG-1 additional Supplemental data; not shown herein, but see attachment to this Office action).
JEONG-1 does not explicitly reduce to practice the instantly claimed polynucleotides. However, such claimed compositions and methods practiced with them would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the following reasons.
JEONG-2 teaches the identification and use of the ln gene in soybean (i.e., GmJAG1) for controlling number of seeds per pod in soybean and uses thereof. The invention relates to ln gene produced by single nucleotide substitution in EAR motif of ‘leaf shape'-controlling Ln (broad leaflet)' gene from soybean (Glycine max), a recombinant vector comprising the ln gene, a host cell transformed with recombinant vector, a method of controlling the number of seeds per pod by using the ln gene, a method of producing a plant with controlled number of seed per pod by using the ln gene, a transformed plant with controlled number of seeds per pod that is produced by the method, seeds thereof, and a composition for controlling the number of seeds per pod in a plant comprising the recombinant vector comprising the ln gene (entire document; see Title, Abstract, [1], for example). Soybean seed yield is determined by the number of seeds per unit area and seed weight. During soybean production, the number of seeds per unit area is a product of the number of plants per unit area, the number of pods per plant, and the number of seeds per pod (NSPP) [3].
Figure 1 in JEONG-2 depicts molecular cloning of ln, including the JAG gene structure showing five exons (gray boxes), four introns (white boxes), and 1.5 kb of putative promoter region. Start and stop codons (vertical lines) and a 6-bp alternative splicing site (arrow) of the gene are labeled. (e) Amino acid sequence of the JAG protein. Position and nature of the ln (asterisk) mutation is indicated. Two amino acids changed by an alternative splicing of 6 bp between second intron and third exon are boxed. Putative conserved motifs are in bold font. The EAR repression motif is underlined by a solid line.
Figure 2 in JEONG-2 depicts alignment of amino acid sequences of Glycine max JAG 1 and its Arabidopsis homeolog JAG2, AtJAG.
JEONG-2 teaches functional analysis of GmJAG1 and Gmjag1 alleles in the Arabidopsis jag-3 mutant (Figure 4). A comparison of the RT-PCR product sequences revealed that GmJAGl contains an alternative splicing site of 6-bp (two amino acids) on the 5' side of the third exon (Figure 1d; [82]).
JEONG-2 teaches the construction of various vectors for transformation, which comprise GmJAG1 or Gmjag1 (i.e., polynucleotides comprising the sequences obtained from a Glycine max soybean plant).
In Example 4, JEONG-2 teaches the functional divergence between soybean JAG1 and Arabidopsis JAG. Allelic variation of the GmJAGl gene in the wild and cultivated soybean populations was evaluated in the 59 accessions containing a broad leaflet type and in 12 accessions containing a narrow leaflet type. The genotypes scored by a marker Ln_AH generated from the 1-bp substitution mutation at the EAR correlated perfectly with the genotypes scored by leaflet types (Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious and within the scope of an ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine and to modify the compositions and methods taught by JEONG-1 and JEONG-2, and to introduce various single nucleotide mutations in the sequence of Gm-JAG1, including those claimed in any one of instant SEQ ID NO: 7, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, or 35; thus arriving at the Applicant’s invention with a reasonable expectation of success, and without any surprising results. Obviously, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of harnessing the seeds per pod regulatory activity of the JAG1 gene as taught by JEONG-1 and JEONG-2, which should facilitate development of new soybean cultivars with high yield potential including seed yield.
Although JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 do not explicitly reduce to practice the instantly claimed polynucleotides (and encoded polypeptides), these particular embodiments would be considered routine optimization and merely a design choice that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. The cited prior art clearly demonstrates the significance of the Gm-JAG1 mutants, generated relative to the nucleotide encoding the JAG1 protein shown in the instant application as SEQ ID NO:10; and teaches methods of generating them. Applicant has also not demonstrated any criticality of the instantly claimed mutations/polynucleotides vs. those Gm-JAG1 mutants previously taught by JEONG-1 and JEONG-2.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 as applied to claims 20-21 above, and further in view of SHIAU (Shiau et al., 1990, Defatted and full-fat soybean meal as partial replacements for fishmeal in tilapia (Oreochromis niloticus × O. aureus) diets at low protein level, Aquaculture 86: 401-407).
The claims are drawn to biological sample obtained from a Glycine max soybean plant and comprising the polynucleotide of claim 21, wherein the sample comprises (non-defatted) soybean meal or soybean stover.
The teachings of JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 are set forth above. JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 do not explicitly teach that the biological sample obtained from Glycine max (soybean) comprises soybean meal.
However, SHIAU teaches soybean meal (i.e., the sample comprises soybean meal) (title, abstract, for example). SHIAU further teaches both “defatted and full-fat soybean meal” (i.e., wherein the soybean seed meal is defatted or wherein the soybean seed meal is non-defatted) (entire document; title, abstract, for example). SHIAU also teaches the advantages of both defatted and full-fat soybean meals as dietary supplements (page 402, first three paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine and to modify the teachings of JEONG-1, JEONG-2 and SHIAU, and to obtaining defatted or non-defatted soybean meal from the plants (i.e., soybean biological samples) of JEONG-1, JEONG-2, thus arriving at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success, and without any surprising results. Obviously, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of harnessing the seeds per pod regulatory activity of the JAG1 gene as taught by JEONG-1, which should facilitate development of new soybean cultivars with high yield potential including seed yield, which is used toward the production of more defatted or non-defatted soybean meal for feeding fish, and given that SHIAU teaches that that either defatted soybean meal or full-fat soybean meal can be used to replace 30% fishmeal protein in a diet for [tilapia] (abstract).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 as applied to claims 20-21 above, and further in view of NIU (Niu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0352655 A1, assigned to Inari Agricultural Technology Inc.).
The claim is drawn to a guide RNA molecule comprising a Cas12 direct repeat element which is operably linked to the spacer RNA molecule encoded by SEQ ID NO: 2.
The ln gene, extensively taught by JEONG-1 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2. See alignment below.
RESULT 3
JX119217/c
LOCUS JX119217 3920 bp DNA linear PLN 05-MAR-2013
DEFINITION Glycine max cultivar Myengjunamul jag1 (ln) gene, complete cds.
ACCESSION JX119217
VERSION JX119217.1
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Glycine max (soybean)
ORGANISM Glycine max
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50
kb inversion clade; NPAAA clade; indigoferoid/millettioid clade;
Phaseoleae; Glycine; Glycine subgen. Soja.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 3920)
AUTHORS Jeong,N., Suh,S.J., Kim,M.H., Lee,S., Moon,J.K., Kim,H.S. and
Jeong,S.C.
TITLE Ln is a key regulator of leaflet shape and number of seeds per pod
in soybean
JOURNAL Plant Cell 24 (12), 4807-4818 (2012)
PUBMED 23243125
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 3920)
AUTHORS Jeong,S.-C.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (30-MAY-2012) Bio-Evaluation Center, Korea Resarch
Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology, 30 Yeongudanji-ro,
Ochang-eup, Cheongwon, Chungbuk 363-883, Republic of Korea
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..3920
/organism="Glycine max"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/cultivar="Myengjunamul"
/db_xref="taxon:3847"
/PCR_primers="fwd_name: SoyJAG-1-f, fwd_seq:
agtctaagtcccctgggtag, rev_name: SoyJAG-1-r, rev_seq:
atcatgaagtttaccggatg"
/PCR_primers="fwd_name: SoyJAG-1a-f, fwd_seq:
cttgctttctttctggtataaatg, rev_name: SoyJAG-1a-r, rev_seq:
ctgtttcatggtcaaggaat"
/PCR_primers="fwd_name: SoyJAG-2-f, fwd_seq:
acacccttcttttcttcctc, rev_name: SoyJAG-2-r, rev_seq:
gtaatgggtgcataccctaa"
/PCR_primers="fwd_name: SoyJAG-3-f, fwd_seq:
gattgctgaaattcgatcat, rev_name: SoyJAG-3-r, rev_seq:
aggaaaaggagtttggaaag"
/PCR_primers="fwd_name: SoyJAG-4-f, fwd_seq:
ctacagtaaccagggacagc, rev_name: SoyJAG-4-r, rev_seq:
gtcactaatcatcgcctttc"
gene 791..2964
/gene="ln"
mRNA join(791..998,1110..1204,1738..1869,2112..2199,2409..2964)
/gene="ln"
/product="jag1"
5'UTR 791..996
/gene="ln"
/note="Gmjag1"
CDS join(997..998,1110..1204,1738..1869,2112..2199,2409..2862)
/gene="ln"
/codon_start=1
/product="jag1"
/protein_id="AGG35831.1"
/translation="MRPERNPLHLNNLPDEYSRDGKQVLEDHTSSSGCRKKKSGGKDG
KDECGKVYECRFCSLKFCKSQALGGHMNRHRQERETETLNQARQLVFRCDHNIAAQGA
PHLGCCQTIGTGGYHPSGDPTVPLRFPRYFSGSSSTHMPPSPPPPPPPQRPYLYPSPT
RPVSFGSSHFPLQHAVNDYYVGHVMSGGSHGHYVGGESTRSYTCIGAPVGQGGGFAGG
KEGSAVQEEGLSTWGRGYSGAQDRLDPPSAINRFQDGF"
3'UTR 2863..2964
/gene="ln"
/note="Gmjag1
Query Match 100.0%; Score 23; Length 3920;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 23; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CCGGATGAAGAGGTATGGTCTTC 23
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1205 CCGGATGAAGAGGTATGGTCTTC 1183
The ln gene from soybean, extensively taught by JEONG-2 as SEQ ID NO:1 (including single substitutions in its EAR motif), is also 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2. See alignment below.
RESULT 10
BBB19635/c
(NOTE: this sequence has 2 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
ID BBB19635 standard; DNA; 771 BP.
XX
AC BBB19635;
XX
DT 13-FEB-2014 (first entry)
XX
DE Glycine max mutant Ln (broad leaflet) gene, SEQ ID 1.
XX
KW Ln gene; crop improvement; ds; gene; mutant; plant; seed;
KW transgenic plant.
XX
OS Glycine max.
XX
FH Key Location/Qualifiers
FT CDS 1..771
FT /*tag= a
FT /transl_except= (pos:94..99,aa:SVAG)
FT /product= "Glycine max mutant Ln (broad leaflet) or JEG
FT protein"
XX
CC PN WO2013187554-A1.
XX
CC PD 19-DEC-2013.
XX
CC PF 04-SEP-2012; 2012WO-KR007066.
XX
PR 13-JUN-2012; 2012US-0659022P.
XX
CC PA (KRIB ) KOREA RES INST BIOSCIENCE & BIOTECHNOLOG.
XX
CC PI Jeong SC, Jeong NH, Suh SJ, Kim MH, Moon JK, Kim HC;
XX
DR WPI; 2013-X24634/01.
DR P-PSDB; BBB19656.
XX
CC PT New ln gene consisting nucleotide sequence produced by single nucleotide
CC PT substitution in ethylene-responsive element binding factor-associated
CC PT amphiphilic repression motif of gene from soybean for controlling number
CC PT of seeds per pod.
XX
CC PS Claim 1; SEQ ID NO 1; 30pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel Glycine max Ln (broad leaflet)
CC gene of SEQ ID NO:1 (see BBB19635), which is produced by a single
CC nucleotide substitution in an EAR motif of the Ln gene. The invention
CC also provides: (1) a recombinant vector comprising the Ln gene; (2) a
CC host cell transformed with the recombinant vector; (3) a method for
CC controlling the number of seeds per pod; (4) a method for producing a
CC plant with controlled number of seeds per pod, which involves
CC transforming the plant cell with the recombinant vector comprising the Ln
CC gene, and regenerating the plant from the transformed plant cell; (5) a
CC transformed plant (transgenic plant) with controlled number of seeds per
CC pod that is produced by the method; and (6) a composition for controlling
CC the number of seeds per pod in plants. The Ln gene produces plants with
CC improved production yield. The present sequence is a Glycine max mutant
CC Ln (broad leaflet) gene comprising a single nucleotide substitution in an
CC EAR motif which can be used in the invention for producing plants with
CC improved production yield.
XX
SQ Sequence 771 BP; 199 A; 197 C; 211 G; 164 T; 0 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 23; Length 771;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 23; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CCGGATGAAGAGGTATGGTCTTC 23
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 98 CCGGATGAAGAGGTATGGTCTTC 76
JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 do not explicitly teach the concept of a guide RNA molecule comprising a Cas12 direct repeat element which is operably linked to the spacer RNA molecule to accomplish mutation in the soybean ln gene.
However, NIU teaches novel plants, seeds and compositions, as well as improvements to plant breeding and methods for creating modifications in plant genomes (entire document; title, abstract, for example). Plants of interest include soybean (Glycine max L.) [0170, 0548; Examples 6, 25, 29, 30, 31, 38, 47].
NIU teaches CRISPR technology for editing the genes of eukaryotes, including Cpf1 endonuclease (more recently known as Cas12, CRISPR-associated protein 12a), as well as corresponding guide RNAs and PAM sites [0053]. The Cpf1 system requires only the Cpf1 nuclease and a crRNA to cleave the target DNA sequence (i.e., a guide RNA molecule comprising a Cas12 direct repeat element) [0057].
NIU teaches that the crRNA contains a “guide RNA”, typically a 20-nucleotide RNA sequence that corresponds to (i.e., is identical or nearly identical to, or alternatively is complementary or nearly complementary to) a 20-nucleotide target DNA sequence (i.e., is operably linked to the spacer RNA molecule corresponding to a target sequence) [0055].
Even though NIU does not explicitly teach a spacer RNA molecule encoded by instant SEQ ID NO: 2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to combine and to modify the teachings of NIU with those of JEONG-1 and JEONG-2, to include the EAR motif of the ln gene taught by JEONG-1 and JEONG-2 (i.e., a guide RNA molecule comprising a Cas12 direct repeat element which is operably linked to the spacer RNA molecule encoded by SEQ ID NO: 2). One would have been motivated to do this in order to provide a superior method of producing a soybean plant with controlled number of seeds per pod by using the ln gene, as taught by NIU, JEONG-1 and JEONG-2.
Response to Applicant’s arguments:
Applicant’s arguments filed July 31, 2026 have been carefully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 presented in the previous Office Action. The traversal is on the grounds that the stated combinations of references do not teach or suggest all of the limitations of the instant claims (Remarks, pages 7-10).
Initially, it is noted that the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are newly made due to Applicant’s amendments to the claims and accompanying remarks.
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the cited prior art, and of the state of the art in general. The main issue in the present obviousness analysis is the concept of induced mutagenesis of the soybean JAG1 gene. It is in this context that the combined teachings of the cited references (starting with JEONG-1 and JEONG-2) precisely teach, suggest, and provide motivation for the instantly claimed compositions and methods.
Applicant is reminded that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant is reminded that the burden is on Applicant to establish results that are unexpected and significant. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c). Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e). See In re Blondel, 499 F.2d 1311, 1317, 182 USPQ 294, 298 (CCPA 1974) and In re Fouche, 439 F.2d 1237, 1241-42, 169 USPQ 429, 433 (CCPA 1971) for examples of cases where indirect comparative testing was found sufficient to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02(b).
Applicant is also reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have arrived at the Applicant’s invention by combining the teachings of the cited art as discussed above.
Thus, Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Contact Information
BRATISLAV STANKOVIC, JD, PhD
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Units 1661 & 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/SPE, Art Units 1661 & 1662
1 A copy of the Jeong et al. 2012 article was provided in a previous Office action. Instantly provided is only the Supplementary Data of that article.
2 Assigned to Korea Res. Inst. Of Bioscience.