DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2203825.1, filed on 03/18/2022.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: “400”, “860”, “960”, “1060”, and “1770”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1120” has been used to designate both “a bulge in the inner skin 1100” and “the plurality of cylindrical cells in parallel”.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first and a second water-proof layer either side of the at least one channel” of claim 21 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
a. Claim 24 recites “a first battery in combination with a second battery, each battery according to claim 18 further comprising: a second interface plate....” It is unclear whether the claim requires each of the first and second batteries to comprise a respective second interface plate, thereby requiring two second interface plates, or whether the battery pack comprises one second interface plate connecting the first battery with the second battery. Additionally, claim 24 further recites “a second interface plate to connect at least one channel provided to direct coolant flow across the second electrical end plate of the first battery with the at least one channel provided to direct coolant flow across the second electrical end plate of the second battery.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the at least one channel” associated with the second battery. Additionally, claim 24 recites “a second end in fluid communication with the at least one channel of the second”. It appears this limitation is incomplete. For examination purposes the limitation will be treated as reading “a second end in fluid communication with the at least one channel of the second battery”.
6. In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434) in view of Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398).
a. Regarding claim 1, Eller teaches vehicle 100 comprising body including wing 104 or 106 having first and second layers that form at least part of a monocoque structure and battery 110 located between the first and second layers [FIGS. 5A and 5B illustrate a cross-sectional view of an example one of the one or more batteries 110 [0023]; battery 110 is positioned within wing 104, 106 between the upper and lower wing skins; FIGS. 1 and 5A–5B] and cuboidal container 200 [batteries 110 may comprise the housing 200; the general shape of the one of the one or more batteries 110 of the second grouping 112 may be rectangular [0023]] mechanically fixed, glued or welded to a first layer of the body by surrounding flange 300 [flanged cover 300 [0023]] rigidly fixed to the body [As illustrated, the flanged cover 300 may be disposed on top of and/or around the second half of the housing 200 [0019]; flanged cover 300 may comprise the plurality of holes 210 operable to be utilized in fastening the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100. Any suitable fasteners may be utilized through the plurality of holes 210 to couple the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100 [0019]; FIGS. 2–5B].
Eller does not specifically teach a battery comprising cylindrical cells held together by a bonding material in a hexagonal pattern in a same plane, bonding a surface of a cell to an adjacent surface of an adjacent cell with triangular gaps between the cells.
Lavender-Moore teaches battery 200 comprising cylindrical cells 100 held together by a bonding material in a hexagonal pattern in a same plane, bonding a surface of a cell to an adjacent surface of an adjacent cell with triangular gaps between the cells [FIG. 2 shows a block 200 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 100 mechanically joined together via an adhesive on the cylindrical surfaces of the cells 100 [0047]] for the purpose of providing for improving the efficiency with which the cells can be packaged into a given volume and mechanically joining the cells using adhesive while reducing tolerance stack and cell positioning problems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the adhesively bonded, close-packed cylindrical-cell structure taught by Lavender-Moore as the battery within the structural battery housing taught by Eller because doing so would have increased the number of cells accommodated within the available wing volume while mechanically retaining the cells and reducing tolerance-stack and cell-positioning problems.
Eller in view of Lavender-Moore does not specifically teach the cuboidal container mechanically fixed, glued or welded to the second layer of the body by a surrounding flange rigidly fixed to the body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate Eller’s flange-and-fastener attachment at the opposite end of housing 200 in a reversed or mirrored orientation, thereby rigidly fixing the housing to both the first and second layers of the body by a surrounding flange rigidly fixed to the body because duplicating Eller’s known attachment at the opposed, structurally corresponding location would restrain both ends of the housing, distribute battery loads between both wing skins, and increase the rigidity of the battery-to-body connection and since mere duplication of a known part lacks patentable significance absent a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
b. Regarding claim 3, Eller in view of Lavender-Moore teaches the vehicle of claim 1. Eller teaches surrounding flange 300 is mechanically fixed to the layers of body 104, 106 wherein surrounding flange 300 is bolted or riveted to vehicle body 100 [As illustrated, the flanged cover 300 may be disposed on top of and/or around the second half of the housing 200 [0019]; flanged cover 300 may comprise the plurality of holes 210 operable to be utilized in fastening the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100. Any suitable fasteners may be utilized through the plurality of holes 210 to couple the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100 [0019]; FIGS. 2–5B].
c. Regarding claim 5, Eller in view of Lavender-Moore teaches (references to Eller) the vehicle of claim 1 wherein one of the first and second layers is an outer skin of vehicle 100 [FIGS. 5A and 5B illustrate a cross-sectional view of an example one of the one or more batteries 110 [0023]; battery 110 is positioned within wing 104, 106 between the upper and lower wing skins; FIGS. 5A–5B].
d. Regarding claim 7, Eller in view of Lavender-Moore teaches (references to Eller) the vehicle of claim 1, wherein vehicle 100 is an automobile, motorbike, scooter, e-mobility platform, watercraft, submarine, eVTOL helicopter or aircraft [FIG. 1 illustrates an example vehicle 100. Vehicle 100 may be any suitable vessel configured for transportation, such as an aircraft [0010]]. Thus, Eller teaches the claimed alternative where the vehicle is an aircraft.
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434) in view of Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) and further in view of Sakagami et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0168866).
a. Regarding claim 6, Eller in view of Lavender-Moore teaches (references to Eller) the vehicle of claim 5 wherein battery 110 has a positive terminal 302 and a negative terminal 204 [batteries 110 may comprise; anode 204; cathodes 302 [0023]; battery 110 is positioned within wing 104, 106 between the upper and lower wing skins; FIGS. 5A–5B].
Eller in view of Lavender-Moore does not specifically teach the negative terminal electrically connected to the outer skin.
Sakagami teaches battery 14 [lithium-ion battery 14 as the battery [0032]] mounted on vehicle 1 having positive terminal 14a and negative terminal 14b, negative terminal 14b electrically connected by ground plate 52 to electrically conductive battery case 46 electrically connected to the vehicle body [minus terminal 14 b of the lithium-ion battery 14 has to be electrically connected to minus-side terminals of the high-voltage electric load 20 and the low-voltage electric load 21, and thus is electrically connected to a vehicle body of the vehicle 1 [0035]; the minus terminal 14 b and the battery case 46 are electrically connected by the ground plate 52 [0048]. Thus, negative terminal 14b is electrically connected to the conductive structural body of the vehicle [FIGS. 2, 3 and 6; claim 1 and claim 3] for the purpose of providing for using the conductive vehicle body structure as the electrical ground for the battery, thereby eliminating a separate grounding harness, reducing cost, and avoiding failure resulting from omission or disconnection of such a harness.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Eller in view of Lavender-Moore to include the battery negative terminal electrically connected to the outer skin because Sakagami teaches using the conductive vehicle body structure as the electrical ground for the battery thereby eliminating a separate grounding harness, reducing cost, and avoiding failure resulting from omission or disconnection of the harness.
10. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434).
a. Regarding claim 8, Lavender-Moore teaches a method of manufacturing battery structure 200 comprising providing a plurality of cylindrical cells 100 and bonding surfaces of the cells to adjacent surfaces of adjacent cells in a hexagonal pattern in a same plane with triangular gaps between the cells to form battery 200 [FIG. 2 shows a block 200 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 100 mechanically joined together via an adhesive on the cylindrical surfaces of the cells 100 [0047]; mechanically bonding adjacent cells with adhesive to produce a first row of cells, claim 1].
Lavender-Moore does not specifically teach the cells are held within a cuboidal container, manufacturing a vehicle comprising a body having first and second layers that form at least part of a monocoque structure, placing the cuboidal container holding the cells between the first and second layers, and mechanically fixing, gluing or welding the cuboidal container to the first and second layers of the body by a surrounding flange that is rigidly fixed to the body.
Eller teaches battery 110 held within generally cuboidal housing 200 [batteries 110 may comprise the housing 200; the general shape of the one of the one or more batteries 110 of the second grouping 112 may be rectangular [0023]], manufacturing vehicle 100 comprising body 104, 106 having first and second layers that form at least part of a monocoque structure and placing cuboidal container 200 holding the cells between the first and second layers [FIGS. 5A and 5B illustrate a cross-sectional view of an example one of the one or more batteries 110 [0023]; battery 110 is positioned within wing 104, 106 between the upper and lower wing skins; FIGS. 5A–5B], and mechanically fixing, gluing or welding cuboidal container 200 to the first layer of body 100 by surrounding flange 300 [flanged cover 300 [0023]] that is rigidly fixed to the body [As illustrated, the flanged cover 300 may be disposed on top of and/or around the second half of the housing 200 [0019]; flanged cover 300 may comprise the plurality of holes 210 operable to be utilized in fastening the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100. Any suitable fasteners may be utilized through the plurality of holes 210 to couple the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100 [0019]; FIGS. 2–5B] for the purpose of providing an efficiently packaged battery assembly retained within the available structural volume of a load-bearing vehicle structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the bonded cylindrical-cell battery structure of Lavender-Moore between the structural skins taught by Eller because doing so would have provided an efficiently packaged battery assembly retained within the available structural volume of a load-bearing vehicle structure. Please note when Lavender-Moore’s cylindrical cell battery is installed as Eller’s battery, the cylindrical cells are arranged within housing 200.
Eller illustrates the flange attachment at the first, upper layer but not at the second, lower layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate Eller’s flange-and-fastener attachment at the opposite end of housing 200 in a reversed or mirrored orientation, thereby rigidly fixing the housing to both the first and second layers of the body by a surrounding flange rigidly fixed to the body because duplicating Eller’s known attachment at the opposed, structurally corresponding location would restrain both ends of the housing, distribute battery loads between both wing skins, and increase the rigidity of the battery-to-body connection and since mere duplication of a known part lacks patentable significance absent a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
b. Regarding claim 9, Lavender-Moore in view of Eller teaches (references to Eller) the method of manufacture of claim 8 wherein the mechanically fixing is one of bolting and riveting [As illustrated, the flanged cover 300 may be disposed on top of and/or around the second half of the housing 200 [0019]; flanged cover 300 may comprise the plurality of holes 210 operable to be utilized in fastening the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100. Any suitable fasteners may be utilized through the plurality of holes 210 to couple the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100 [0019]; FIGS. 2–5B].
11. Claims 10-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655) and Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434).
a. Regarding claim 10, Lavender-Moore teaches battery 200 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 100 held together by a bonding material in a hexagonal pattern in a same plane and bonding a surface of a cell 100 to an adjacent surface of an adjacent cell 100 with triangular gaps formed therebetween [FIG. 2 shows a block 200 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 100 mechanically joined together via an adhesive on the cylindrical surfaces of the cells 100 [0047]] wherein a first end of each cylindrical cell of the battery is connected to a first electrical end plate to electrically connect the plurality of cylindrical cells in parallel [when the blocks 200 are assembled to form part of a battery module, the cells within each block will all be electrically connected together in parallel [0049]; a busbar assembly is provided that connects the cells 100 within a given one of the groups 200 in parallel, and that also connects each group in series with one or more other groups [0064]].
Lavender-Moore does not specifically teach at least one channel to direct coolant flow across the first electrical end plate to cool the first end of each cylindrical cell of the battery.
Zimmermann teaches at least one channel 7 to direct coolant flow across first electrical end plate 5 to cool the first end of each cylindrical cell 1 [a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 and signal conducting layers 9 which are each separated from one another and from the cooling plate layer 4 via electrical insulating layers 11. The cooling plate layers 4 have a multiplicity of fluid ducts 7 which are designed for the passage of a fluid, i.e. a gas and/or a liquid [0040]] for the purpose of providing for removing heat generated by the densely packed cells in a vehicle and maintaining the cells within a desired operating temperature range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by Lavender-Moore to include at least one channel to direct coolant flow across the first electrical end plate to cool the first end of each cylindrical cell of the battery as taught by Zimmermann because doing so would have provided for removing heat generated by the densely packed cells in a vehicle and maintaining the cells within a desired operating temperature range.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann does not specifically teach cylindrical cells arranged within a cuboidal container comprising a surrounding flange for rigidly fixing the cuboidal container to first and second layers of a monocoque structure of a vehicle.
Eller teaches cells arranged within cuboidal container 200 [batteries 110 may comprise the housing 200; the general shape of the one of the one or more batteries 110 of the second grouping 112 may be rectangular [0023]] comprising surrounding flange 300 [flanged cover 300 [0023]] for rigidly fixing cuboidal container 200 to a first layer of a monocoque structure of vehicle 100 [As illustrated, the flanged cover 300 may be disposed on top of and/or around the second half of the housing 200 [0019]; flanged cover 300 may comprise the plurality of holes 210 operable to be utilized in fastening the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100. Any suitable fasteners may be utilized through the plurality of holes 210 to couple the bottom portion 116 to the vehicle 100 [0019]; FIGS. 2–5B]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann to include cells arranged within a cuboidal container comprising a surrounding flange rigidly fixing the cuboidal container to a first layer of a monocoque structure of a vehicle as taught by Eller because doing so would have provided housing protects the cells and permits the battery to be structurally integrated within the vehicle body.
Eller illustrates the flange attachment at the first, upper layer but not at the second, lower layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate Eller’s flange-and-fastener attachment at the opposite end of housing 200 in a reversed or mirrored orientation, thereby rigidly fixing the housing to both the first and second layers of the body by a surrounding flange rigidly fixed to the body because duplicating Eller’s known attachment at the opposed, structurally corresponding location would restrain both ends of the housing, distribute battery loads between both wing skins, and increase the rigidity of the battery-to-body connection and since mere duplication of a known part lacks patentable significance absent a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
b. Regarding claim 11, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 10. Zimmermann teaches first coolant end plate 4 adjacent to first electrical end plate 5 and the at least one channel 7 formed in first coolant end plate 4 [a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 and signal conducting layers 9 which are each separated from one another and from the cooling plate layer 4 via electrical insulating layers 11. The cooling plate layers 4 have a multiplicity of fluid ducts 7 which are designed for the passage of a fluid, i.e. a gas and/or a liquid [0040]] for the purpose of providing for removing heat generated by the densely packed cells in a vehicle and maintaining the cells within a desired operating temperature range.
c. Regarding claim 12, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 11.
Zimmermann teaches first electrically insulating membrane 11 sandwiched between first electrical end plate 5 [current collector layers 5 [0040]] and coolant end plate 4 [a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 and signal conducting layers 9 which are each separated from one another and from the cooling plate layer 4 via electrical insulating layers 11. [0040]] for the purpose of providing for preventing current flow between the electrically conductive electrical end plate and the coolant end plate while permitting heat generated at the electrical connections of the battery cells to be transferred to the coolant end plate for cooling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller to include a first electrically insulating membrane sandwiched between the first electrical end plate and the first coolant end plate as taught by Zimmermann because doing so would have provided for preventing current flow between the electrically conductive electrical end plate and the coolant end plate while permitting heat generated at the electrical connections of the battery cells to be transferred to the coolant end plate for cooling.
d. Regarding claim 18, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 10.
Zimmermann teaches a second end of each cylindrical cell 1 of battery 10 is connected to a second electrical end plate 5 [battery arrangement 10 comprises a multiplicity of batteries 1 (for example individual lithium-ion battery cells) which are held between two supporting, multi-layered structural laminates 2 on both sides via battery holders 3; multi-layered structural laminate 2 comprises a core comprising or consisting of a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 [0040], claim 1; FIG. 2].
e. Regarding claim 19, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 18.
Zimmermann teaches at least one channel 7 to direct coolant flow across second electrical end plate 5 [The cooling plate layers 4 have a multiplicity of fluid ducts 7 which are designed for the passage of a fluid, i.e. a gas and/or a liquid [0040]] to cool the second end of each cylindrical cell 1 of the battery 10 [battery arrangement 10 comprises a multiplicity of batteries 1 (for example individual lithium-ion battery cells) which are held between two supporting, multi-layered structural laminates 2 on both sides via battery holders 3; multi-layered structural laminate 2 comprises a core comprising or consisting of a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 [0040], claim 1; FIG. 2].
f. Regarding claim 20, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 19.
Zimmermann teaches a second coolant end plate 4 adjacent second electrical end plate 5 [battery arrangement 10 comprises a multiplicity of batteries 1 (for example individual lithium-ion battery cells) which are held between two supporting, multi-layered structural laminates 2 on both sides via battery holders 3; multi-layered structural laminate 2 comprises a core comprising or consisting of a cooling plate layer 4 which is surrounded by current collector layers 5 [0040], claim 1; FIG. 2], the at least one channel 7 being formed in second coolant end plate 4 [The cooling plate layers 4 have a multiplicity of fluid ducts 7 which are designed for the passage of a fluid, i.e. a gas and/or a liquid [0040]].
13. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655), Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434), and Morse et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0248134).
a. Regarding claim 13, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches (references to Zimmermann) the battery of claim 10 having channel 7 [cooling plate layers 4 have a multiplicity of fluid ducts 7 which are designed for the passage of a fluid, i.e. a gas and/or a liquid [0040]].
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach at least one channel configured to create turbulent flow of coolant therein.
Morse teaches channel configured to create turbulent flow of coolant therein [FIG. 10A illustrates an exemplary turbulator design included in a flow channel of a cooling plate [0021]; FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate exemplary turbulator designs included in a flow channel of a cooling plate 402 consistent with embodiments disclosed herein. In some embodiments, flow channels may comprise one or more areas incorporating turbulators. A turbulator may comprise one or more features defined by the flow channels configured to create more turbulent flow of coolant through the flow channels during operation, thereby improving thermal performance of the cooling system [0046]] for the purpose of providing for configuring the channel to create turbulent flow of coolant therein, in order to increase turbulence of coolant flowing through the channel and thereby enhance heat transfer between the coolant and the cooling plate/battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller to include the at least one channel configured to create turbulent flow of coolant as taught by Morse because doing so would have provided for configuring the channel to create turbulent flow of coolant therein, in order to increase turbulence of coolant flowing through the channel and thereby enhance heat transfer between the coolant and the cooling plate/battery cells.
14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655), Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434), and Yoon (US Patent Publication 2023/0059541).
a. Regarding claim 14, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 10.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach at least one channel has at least one sharp edge.
Yoon teaches channel has at least one sharp edge 2 [Referring to FIG. 4, and FIGS. 5A to 5D, the vortex generator 11 is composed of a plate 1 and a protrusion 2 [0059]; when the protrusion 2 is configured as a triangular column having a triangular cross section, the degree of sharpness of the protrusion 2 may be adjusted depending on the interior angle of the cross-sectional triangle corresponding to the location of the end thereof [0062]] for the purpose of providing for generating vortices in the coolant flow, breaking the heat boundary layer between the coolant and the battery, and thereby improving cooling efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller to include a channel having at least one sharp edge as taught by Yoon because doing so would have provided for generating vortices in the coolant flow, breaking the heat boundary layer between the coolant and the battery, and thereby improving cooling efficiency.
15. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655), Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434), and Collins (US Patent Publication 2020/0153062).
a. Regarding claim 15, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 10.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach the at least one channel has a zigzag form.
Collins teaches interior coolant channel 31 [a multi-path interior coolant channel 31 extending between the inlet port 21 and outlet port 22 to absorb heat from the cooling surfaces 15 and 16 [0033]] has a zigzag form [coolant channel 31 is formed in a multi-path pattern defined by multiple channel sections 32-38 that flow one into the other to form a serpentine counter flow pattern through the interior chamber 30 of the cold plate 14 [0033]; As the coolant flows along this tortuous path, the coolant receives heat from each or both of the cooling surfaces 15 and 16 to draw and remove heat from the individual battery cells 23 [0039]] for the purpose of providing a coolant flow path through the cold plate that improves dissipation of heat from the battery cells and provides a more uniform temperature gradient across the cold plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the at least one coolant channel taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller as a zigzag or serpentine channel as taught by Collins, in order to provide a coolant flow path through the cold plate that improves dissipation of heat from the battery cells and provides a more uniform temperature gradient across the cold plate.
16. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655), Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434), and Shaaia et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0043454).
a. Regarding claim 21, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches the battery of claim 10.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach a first and second water-proof layer either side of channel configured to prevent coolant flowing through the triangular gaps formed between adjacent cells.
Shaaia teaches first 180 and second 190 water-proof layers either side of channel 200 [the first film 180, and the second film 190 cooperate to form at least one conduit 200; The coupling between the first film 180 and the first surface 120 and the coupling between the second film 190 and the second surface 130 can each be substantially fluid-tight, where the resulting conduit 200 is effectively sealed to prevent leakage of coolant between the respective films 180, 190 and the plate 110 [0019]; In the configuration shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a coolant can flow from the inlet 150 to the outlet 160 through the conduit 200 [0020]; As shown in FIG. 2, first film 180 is positioned on a first side of coolant conduit 200 and second film 190 is positioned on the opposite, second side of coolant conduit 200] for the purpose of providing for sealing the coolant channel and preventing leakage of coolant from the cooling plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the coolant channel taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller with a first waterproof layer positioned on a first side of the channel and a second waterproof layer positioned on a second side of the channel, as taught by Shaaia, in order to seal the coolant channel and prevent leakage of coolant from the cooling plate through triangular gaps between adjacent cells.
17. Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavender-Moore et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0113398) in view of Zimmermann (US Patent Publication 2019/0252655), Eller et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0054434), and Wang (US Patent Publication 2020/0161728).
a. Regarding claim 22, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches a battery pack comprising a first battery in combination with a second battery according to claim 10.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach an interface plate to connect the at least one channel provided to direct coolant flow across the first electrical end plate of the first battery and across the first electrical end plate of the second battery, wherein the interface plate comprises at least one fluid path for the flow of coolant between the first and second battery respectively, the at least one fluid path having a first end in fluid communication with the at least one channel of the first battery and a second end in fluid communication with the at least one channel of the second battery.
Wang teaches interface plate 600 [distribution plate 600 [0082]] to connect channel 710 provided to direct coolant flow across the cold plate 310 of first battery 210 and across cold plate 310 of second battery 210, wherein interface plate 600 comprises at least one fluid path 1110 or 1115 for the flow of coolant between the first and second battery 210 respectively, the at least one fluid path 1110 or 1115 having a first end in fluid communication with channel 710 of first battery 210 and second end in fluid communication with the at least one channel 710 of second battery 210 [cold plate 310 can define or have at least one channel 710 to circulate the coolant through the cold plate 310; As the cold plate 310 is thermally coupled with at least one battery module 210, the coolant in the channel 710 can evacuate, remove, or otherwise transfer heat away from the battery module 210 [0057]; The top surface 1100 of the distribution plate 600 can define at least one intake channel 1110 and at least one outtake channel 1115 to circulate the coolant through the housing 110 [0082]; FIG. 12 depicts an isometric view of the distribution plate 600; Via the coupling with the intake channel 1110, the intake conduit 1000 can be fluidly coupled with the inlet ports 900 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the inlets 700 defined on each cold plate 310 to distribute the coolant to the cold plates 310 housed in the cavity 200; Via the coupling with the outtake channel 1115, the outtake conduit 1005 can be fluidly coupled with the outlet ports 905 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the outlets 705 defined on each cold plate 310 to receive coolant received from the cold plates 310 [0074]] for the purpose of providing for distributing coolant among the cooling structures of multiple battery modules while reducing the use of separate coolant pipes, joints, and seals and thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage within the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first battery and a second battery taught by Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller to include the interface plate comprising at least one fluid path fluidly communicating with the coolant channels of the first and second batteries as taught by Wang in order to distribute coolant among the cooling structures of multiple battery modules while reducing the use of separate coolant pipes, joints, and seals and thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage within the battery pack.
b. Regarding claim 23, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann, Eller, and Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 22.
Wang further teaches interface plate 600 [distribution plate 600 [0082]] connects channel 710 [FIG. 12 depicts an isometric view of the distribution plate 600; Via the coupling with the intake channel 1110, the intake conduit 1000 can be fluidly coupled with the inlet ports 900 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the inlets 700 defined on each cold plate 310 to distribute the coolant to the cold plates 310 housed in the cavity 200; Via the coupling with the outtake channel 1115, the outtake conduit 1005 can be fluidly coupled with the outlet ports 905 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the outlets 705 defined on each cold plate 310 to receive coolant received from the cold plates 310 [0074]] to direct coolant flow across end plate 310 of first battery 210 with channel 710 to direct coolant flow across the end plate 310 of second battery 210 [cold plate 310 can define or have at least one channel 710 to circulate the coolant through the cold plate 310; As the cold plate 310 is thermally coupled with at least one battery module 210, the coolant in the channel 710 can evacuate, remove, or otherwise transfer heat away from the battery module 210 [0057]] for the purpose of providing for distributing coolant among the cooling structures of multiple battery modules while reducing the use of separate coolant pipes, joints, and seals and thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage within the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the interface plate of the battery pack such that the interface plate connects the channel directing coolant across the first electrical end plate of the first battery with the corresponding channel of the second battery, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a common coolant distribution path among multiple battery cooling structures while minimizing separate internal coolant piping, joints, and seals, thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage.
c. Regarding claim 24, Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller teaches a first battery in combination with a second battery, each battery according to claim 18.
Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller does not specifically teach a second interface plate to connect at least one channel to direct coolant flow across the second electrical end plate of the first battery with at least one channel to direct coolant flow across the second electrical end plate of the second battery, the second interface plate comprises at least one fluid path for flow of coolant between the first and second battery, at least one fluid path having a first end in fluid communication with at least one channel of the first battery, and a second end in fluid communication with at least one channel of the second battery.
Wang teaches interface plate 600 [distribution plate 600 [0082]] to connect channel 710 provided to direct coolant flow across cold plate 310 associated with first battery module 210 with channel 710 provided to direct coolant flow across cold plate 310 associated with second battery module 210, wherein interface plate 600 comprises at least one fluid path 1110 or 1115 for the flow of coolant between the first and second battery, fluid path 1110 or 1115 having a first end in fluid communication with channel 710 of first battery 210 and a second end in fluid communication with channel 710 of second battery 210 [cold plate 310 can define or have at least one channel 710 to circulate the coolant through the cold plate 310; As the cold plate 310 is thermally coupled with at least one battery module 210, the coolant in the channel 710 can evacuate, remove, or otherwise transfer heat away from the battery module 210 [0057]; The top surface 1100 of the distribution plate 600 can define at least one intake channel 1110 and at least one outtake channel 1115 to circulate the coolant through the housing 110 [0082]; FIG. 12 depicts an isometric view of the distribution plate 600; Via the coupling with the intake channel 1110, the intake conduit 1000 can be fluidly coupled with the inlet ports 900 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the inlets 700 defined on each cold plate 310 to distribute the coolant to the cold plates 310 housed in the cavity 200; Via the coupling with the outtake channel 1115, the outtake conduit 1005 can be fluidly coupled with the outlet ports 905 defined along the bottom panel 205 and the outlets 705 defined on each cold plate 310 to receive coolant received from the cold plates 310 [0074]] for the purpose of providing for distributing coolant among the cooling structures of multiple battery modules while reducing the use of separate coolant pipes, joints, and seals and thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage within the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second batteries of Lavender-Moore in view of Zimmermann and Eller with a second instance of Wang’s interface plate comprising at least one fluid path having a first end in fluid communication with the coolant channel directing coolant across the second electrical end plate of the first battery and a second end in fluid communication with the corresponding coolant channel of the second battery in order to provide a common coolant distribution path between the corresponding cooling structures of multiple batteries while reducing separate coolant piping, joints, and seals and thereby reducing the likelihood of coolant leakage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Combs (US 10,559,792), Kobayashi (US 2018/0194213), and Lovelace (US 2021/0296715).
/J. R. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612