Claims 1-5,7, 9-13, and 15-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) in view of Qualcomm (2021/0243632).
For independent claim 1, Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) discloses
a user device that communicates with a network entity of a non-terrestrial network, the user device comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to: measure or estimate one or more channel state information quantities for a cell of the non-terrestrial network that is associated with a location that includes the user device. Qualcomm discloses a user device (UEs 406A, 406B, 406C, and 406D, fig. 4A; para [0054] "FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network.") that communicates with a network entity (404A, fig. 4A; fig. 3, para [0054] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network.") of a non-terrestrial network (fig. 4A; para [0065] "Figs 4A and 4B illustrate example wireless communication environments 400 and 450 with a satellite. As illustrated in FIG. 4A, a satellite 402 may be an intermediary for communication between a base station 404A and a group of UEs 408 including one or more UEs 406A, 406B, 406C, and 406D."), the user device comprising: a processor (para [0058] "The data and control signals are then provided to the controller/processor 359, which implements layer 3 and layer 2 functionality."); and a memory coupled with the processor (para [0057] "The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data."), the processor configured to: measure or estimate one or more channel state information quantities (para [0059] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the base station 310 may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes, and to facilitate spatial processing.") for a cell of the non-terrestrial network that is associated with a location that includes the user device (para [0069] In some aspects, the UEs in the group of UE 502 may determine the occurrence of a trigger event 514 based on any of a variety of parameters such as 1) measurement events related to cell quality or propagation delay (e.g., when a measured quality is below a threshold or a delay is above a threshold), 2) location of the UEs and the satellite, 3) one or more timers that are configured in accordance with serve time and expected movement of the satellite, or 4) elevation angles of source and target cells.").
Qualcomm '6486 does not disclose: the estimate values assisting prediction; configures with the predicted values or parameters assisting values predicted. Qualcomm '3632 discloses: the estimate values assisting prediction (para [0065] "For example, machine learning (ML) techniques may be used to estimate (e.g., predict) channel characteristics of the second frequency band based on the RS measurements in the preferred measurement frequency band, and the estimated channel characteristics can be used for the procedures in the second frequency band."; para [0052] "In some examples, the ML techniques involve training a model, such as a predictive ML model. The model may be used to predict the channel characteristics in the second band based on the measurements in the first band. The model may be trained based on training data (e.g., training information), which may include feedback, such as feedback associated with the measurements in the first band compared to measurements in the second band."); configures with the predicted values or parameters assisting values predicted (para [0065] "For example, machine learning (ML) techniques may be used to estimate (e.g., predict) channel characteristics of the second frequency band based on the RS measurements in the preferred measurement frequency band, and the estimated channel characteristics can be used for the procedures in the second frequency band. In some examples, the UE can indicate the preferred measurement frequency band to a base station (BS), and the BS can configure the UE with resources for the preferred measurement frequency band."). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use configure UEs in the network of Qualcomm '6486 based on predicted parameters as per Qualcomm '3632 since it allows to determine the requirements of UE without measurements in the same domain, for example a different band or parameter (para [0065], Qualcomm '3632).
For independent claims 11,15,and 21 are rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
For independent claims 2-5,7, 9-10, 12,13, and 16-20, Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) also discloses wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to the multiple user devices over a radio resource control signaling channel (para [0071] "In some aspects, as part of the handover acknowledgment 522 or the group hand over messages 524, the base station 504A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration with synchronization message in a PDSCH that includes group handover messages, or group handover commands, to the group of UEs 502.") between the group of multiple user devices and the base station (RRC reconfiguration message, para [0071] "For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration.");
Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the base station of claim 1, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to the multiple user devices over a Downlink Control Information (DCI) channel between the group of multiple user devices and the network entity (provide common signal such as adjustment to TA to the group over DCI, para [0078] "In some aspects, if timing advance (TA) would be different for the target base station 504B compared with the base station 504A, the base station 504A may provide adjustment to TA using UE specific or group specific indication (e.g., DCI using group RNTI) to adjust the feeder link propagation delay which is common to each UE in the group of UEs in the group of UEs 502."). Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the network entity of claim 1, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the network entity transmits information that identifies an incremental change to apply to a value of one of the quantities that define the channel properties of the non-terrestrial network (new round trip delay, para [0077] "A new feeder link to a new base station may lead to a different time delay for communication. In some aspects, the group handover message may include a new round trip delay (RTD) value between satellite and gateway (i.e., the target base station 504B). The new RTD value may be used by each UE in the group of UEs 502 for uplink pre-compensation, such as in uplink transmissions in 526, 530, and 532. The new RTD value may be included in a system information block (SIB)."). Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the network entity of claim 1, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the one or more quantities that define the channel properties of the non-terrestrial network include channel state information (CSI) quantities (para [0050] "As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE. The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS) (indicated as R for one particular configuration, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE. The RS may also include beam measurement RS (BRS), beam refinement RS (BRRS), and phase tracking RS (PT-RS).") for a cell of the non-terrestrial network (para [0069] For example, the base station 504A may determine to initiate the group handover based on measurement-based triggering where cell quality for the group of UEs 502 has exceeded or fallen below a configured threshold.") that is associated with a location that includes the group of devices (para [0069] In some examples, the occurrence of the event may be determined at the base station, e.g., based on measurement information from one or more of the UEs in the group of UEs 502, one or more timers, a location of the satellite or the UEs, etc."). Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the network entity of claim 1, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the network entity groups multiple user devices that share common Downlink Control Information (DCI) (para [0078] "In some aspects, if timing advance (TA) would be different for the target base station 504B compared with the base station 504A, the base station 504A may provide adjustment to TA using UE specific or group specific indication (e.g., DCI using group RNTI) to adjust the feeder link propagation delay which is common to each UE in the group of UEs in the group of UEs 502.").
Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the method of claim 11, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to the multiple user devices over a radio resource control signaling channel (para [0071] "In some aspects, as part of the handover acknowledgment 522 or the group hand over messages 524, the base station 504A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration with synchronization message in a PDSCH that includes group handover messages, or group handover commands, to the group of UEs 502.") between the group of multiple user devices and the base station (RRC reconfiguration message, para [0071] "For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration."). Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 discloses the method of claim 11, and Qualcomm '6486 further discloses: wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to the multiple user devices over a Downlink Control Information (DCI) channel between the group of multiple user devices and the base station (provide common signal such as adjustment to TA to the group over DCI, para [0078] "In some aspects, if timing advance (TA) would be different for the target base station 504B compared with the base station 504A, the base station 504A may provide adjustment to TA using UE specific or group specific indication (e.g., DCI using group RNTI) to adjust the feeder link propagation delay which is common to each UE in the group of UEs in the group of UEs 502.").
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) in view of Qualcomm (2021/0243632) and further in view of Qualcomm (2021/0045056).
For claim 6, Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) in view of Qualcomm (2021/0243632) Neither of them discloses user devices at a common location; groups the user devices that exhibit a similar change in the quantity based on the prediction. Qualcomm '5056 discloses: user devices at a common location (UE1, UE2, and UE3 are in common geographical location, UE4 and UE5 are in a different common geographical location, para [0079] "In example scenario 600, the base station 102 is providing signals 602, 604 (which may be beams) to WU-group 1 (featuring UE1, UE2, and UE3) and WU-group 2 (featuring UE4 and UE5). WU-group 1 is in a different geographical location 606 from the geographic location 608 of WU-group 2.") groups the user devices (UE3 moved to different group; para [0032] "The present disclosure provides apparatus and methods of dynamically reconfiguring the group wake-up configuration of the UE, either to alter wake-up parameters associated with how the UE operates with a current group or to move the UE into a new group. Additionally, the present disclosure enables this dynamic wake-up group reconfiguration using efficient signaling, such as Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, as opposed to using Layer 3 or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling."; para [0083] "Referring to FIG. 7, an example of dynamically reconfiguring wake-up signals (e.g., wake-up DCIs) 702 and 704 with static mapping based on UE3 changing wake-up groups is described with reference to the example scenario 600 (see FIG. 6). Referring back to FIG. 6, WU-group 1 includes UE1, UE2, and UE3, and WU-group 2 includes UE4 and UE5. In FIG. 7, the first wake-up DCI 702 of WU-group 1 features three wake-up indicators, each followed by a wake-up field associated with the respective UE. The first wake-up DCI 712 of WU-group 2 features two wake-up indicators and fields, followed by a reserved wake-up indicator and field. When UE3 moves from the geographical location 606 associated with WU-group 1 to the geographical location 608 associated with WU- group 2, UE3 transmits a signal to the base station 102 requesting a new grouping configuration. In response to receiving the signal, the base station 102 generates new wake-up DCIs. In this example, the third indicator and third field-in the wake-up DCI 702 of WU-group 1 becomes reserved, thereby defining a second wake-up DCI 704 of WU-group 1, and the third indicator and third field in the wake-up DCI 712 of WU-group 2 is assigned to UE3, thereby defining a second wake-up DCI 714 of WU-group 2. During this process, UE3 is signaled with a new PS-RNTI (i.e., the PS-RNTI of WU-group 2) and UE3 is signaled with the position of WU-information field in Group 2's wake-up DCI (see the second wake-up DCI 714 in WU-group 2). Referring to the second wake-up DCI 704 of WU-group 1, the third field is reserved for a potential new UE.") that exhibits a similar change in the quantity based on the prediction (para [0031] "The present aspects generally relate to dynamic group wake-up reconfiguration. In some cases, a UE may be assigned a group wake-up configuration, which includes a wake-up signal and discontinuous reception operation that is aligned with a group of other UEs having similar configurations. Due to a change in traffic status, operational mode (e.g., connected, idle, inactive), or mobility, the UE may need to have its wake-up configuration. Changed."). Thus, It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art group users that exhibit a similar change in the quantity in the system of Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 as per Qualcomm '5056 since it allows the said system to modify group association of users as per needed (para [0083], Qualcomm '5056).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) in view of Qualcomm (2021/0243632) and further in view of Shinya ( 2011/0158355).
For claim 8, Incorporated ( 2022/0046486) in view of Qualcomm (2021/0243632) Neither of them discloses and assigns a group ID to the group of multiple user devices; and wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to user devices assigned the group ID. SHINYA discloses assigns a group ID to the group of multiple user devices (para [0016] "The PLP search process above is explained below in more detail by reference to FIGS. 2 through 4. As shown in FIG. 2, suppose that PLPID=4 is designated by a user's operation as the ID for the target service information (PLPID). In this case, a search is made starting from the first PLPID=0, until a Data PLP is found in a fifth PLPID=4 coinciding with the designated PLPID. Because GroupID=2 is allotted to the Data PLP's of PLPID=4, another search is made for a Common PLP which follows PLPID=4 and to which GroupID=2 is allotted. Then a Common PLP for a sixth PLPID=5 from the beginning is found, whereby the PLP information applicable to PLPID=5 is identified.") and wherein the network entity transmits the common signal to user devices assigned the group ID (para [0011] DVB-T2 adopts a method called M-PLP (Multiple PLP (Physical Layer Pipe)). According to the M-PLP method, data is transmitted using packet sequences (data packet sequences) constituted by a plurality of Data PLP's composed of the packets left behind after extracting from a plurality of original transport streams (TS's) those packets (information) common to all TS's, and packet sequences (common packet sequences) called Common PLP's constituted by the packets common to the TS's. In other words, a Common PLP is composed of packets common to a plurality of TS's, and a Data PLP is constituted by packets unique to each of a plurality of TS's. On the receiving side, a single original TS is restored from a Common PLP and Data PLP's."). Thus, It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to assign group IDs and signal based on the said group IDs as per SHINYA in the system of Qualcomm '6486 as modified by Qualcomm '3632 since it allows the base station/UEs to determine the correct recipient for the transmitted common signal (para [0016], SHINYA).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taghizadch et al. (2026/0239061) is cited to show a system which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention.
/DANG T TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /D.T.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476