2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/848,055 filed on 9/17/24. Claims 1 – 30 has been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1 - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. (US 2022/0038927, Manolakos hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Manokalos teaches A method of wireless positioning performed by a network entity, the method comprising (please refer to paragraphs 111 - 117):
determining that a positioning reference signal (PRS) processing load for a user equipment (UE) exceeds a PRS processing capacity of the UE (the UE 404 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 470 at stage 410 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message). At stage 420, the UE 404 provides its positioning capabilities to the LMF 470 relative to the LPP protocol by sending an LPP Provide Capabilities message to LMF 470 indicating the position methods and features of these position methods that are supported by the UE 404 using LPP; paragraph 96; here are various UE capabilities related to the processing and buffering requirements of DL-PRS. DL-PRS can be configured and scheduled to match the processing capabilities of the UE that will be measuring the DL-PRS, or the UE may only be expected to measure the portion of the DL-PRS that it is capable of measuring. One parameter of a DL-PRS that may be configured based on UE capability includes a limit on the maximum number of DL-PRS resources configured to the UE for all TRPs within a measurement window. Another is the duration of DL-PRS symbols (in units of milliseconds) that a UE can process every T ms, assuming a maximum PRS bandwidth. These parameters are illustrated below in Table 3 for LTE and NR.; so limit or make sure they are not exceeded, paragraph 137); and
sending, to the UE, assistance data that reduces the PRS processing load for the UE (Upon reception of the LPP Provide Capabilities message, at stage 420, the LMF 470 determines to use a particular type of positioning method (e.g., DL-TDOA, RTT, E-CID, etc.) based on the indicated type(s) of positioning the UE 404 supports and determines a set of one or more transmission-reception points (TRPs) from which the UE 404 is to measure downlink positioning reference signals or towards which the UE 404 is to transmit uplink positioning reference signals, paragraph 96 - 97).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, Manokalos further teaches wherein determining that the PRS processing load for the UE exceeds the PRS processing capacity of the UE comprises:
receiving, from the UE, capability information associated with the PRS processing capability of the UE (the UE 404 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 470 at stage 410 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message). At stage 420, the UE 404 provides its positioning capabilities to the LMF 470 relative to the LPP protocol by sending an LPP Provide Capabilities message to LMF 470 indicating the position methods and features of these position methods that are supported by the UE 404 using LPP; paragraph 96); and
determining that the PRS processing load for the UE exceeds the PRS processing capacity of the UE based on the capability information (the UE 404 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 470 at stage 410 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message). At stage 420, the UE 404 provides its positioning capabilities to the LMF 470 relative to the LPP protocol by sending an LPP Provide Capabilities message to LMF 470 indicating the position methods and features of these position methods that are supported by the UE 404 using LPP; paragraph 96; here are various UE capabilities related to the processing and buffering requirements of DL-PRS. DL-PRS can be configured and scheduled to match the processing capabilities of the UE that will be measuring the DL-PRS, or the UE may only be expected to measure the portion of the DL-PRS that it is capable of measuring. One parameter of a DL-PRS that may be configured based on UE capability includes a limit on the maximum number of DL-PRS resources configured to the UE for all TRPs within a measurement window. Another is the duration of DL-PRS symbols (in units of milliseconds) that a UE can process every T ms, assuming a maximum PRS bandwidth. These parameters are illustrated below in Table 3 for LTE and NR.; so limit or make sure they are not exceeded, paragraph 137).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 2, Manokalos further teaches wherein receiving the capability information associated with the PRS processing capability of the UE comprises receiving at least one of:
a first duration in time N of PRS symbols that can be processed every second duration in time T (please see Table 3, paragraph 137,138; A UE may report the following parameters (e.g., in an LPP Provide Capabilities message as at stage 420 of FIG. 4) to indicate its DL-PRS processing capabilities; also paragraph 139); or
a third number N' of PRS resources that can be processed during a slot (paragraph 140, N’).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 2, Manokalos further teaches wherein determining that the PRS processing load for the UE exceeds the PRS processing capability of the UE based on the capability information comprises calculating a PRS processing load coefficient as a function of a maximum number of PRS resources per slot in a positioning frequency layer (PFL), a periodicity of PRS resources available within a measurement gap for the PFL, a time duration of PRS resources available in the PFL, and the capability information associated with the PRS processing capability of the UE (positioning frequency layer, paragraph 151, also refer to table 4, paragraphs 150 – 159; shows measurement gaps, time duration and the capability information).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 4, Manokalos further teaches wherein determining that the PRS processing load for the UE exceeds the PRS processing capability of the UE based on the capability information comprises determining that the PRS processing load coefficient exceeds a first threshold value (paragraph 97 – 98, 137, 150-159; as mentioned above in claim 3 – 4).
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein sending, to the UE, assistance data that reduces the PRS processing load for the UE comprises sending assistance data that:
decreases a number of positioning frequency layers (PFLs) that the UE is requested to monitor (while frequency layers are used by several (usually three or more) base stations to transmit PRS. A UE may indicate the number of frequency layers it can support when it sends the network its positioning capabilities, such as during an LTE positioning protocol (LPP) session. For example, a UE may indicate whether it can support one or four positioning frequency layers, so it will be adjusted (increased or lowered) to fit in, paragraph 119, 138);
decreases a number of PRS resources per slot (The downlink PRS bandwidth may have a granularity of four PRBs, with a minimum of 24 PRBs and a maximum of 272 PRBs. Currently, up to four frequency layers have been defined, and up to two PRS resource sets may be configured per TRP per frequency layer, paragraph 118, 127 – 128; table 2);
decreases a time duration for PRS in each measurement gap (Note that the time duration spanned by one DL-PRS resource set containing repeated DL-PRS resources, as illustrated in FIG. 7, should not exceed the PRS periodicity. In addition, UE receive beam sweeping, for receiving/measuring the DL-PRS resource set, is not specified, but rather, depends on UE implementation, paragraph 136; 137);
increases a period of PRS resources within the measurement gap for each PFL (usually three or more) base stations to transmit PRS. A UE may indicate the number of frequency layers it can support when it sends the network its positioning capabilities, such as during an LTE positioning protocol (LPP) session. For example, a UE may indicate whether it can support one or four positioning frequency layers, so it will be adjusted (increased or lowered) to fit in, paragraph 119, 138);
matches a measurement gap periodically and a PRS periodically to a processing time for PRS symbols for each PFL (The above parameters are reported assuming a configured measurement gap and a maximum ratio of measurement gap length (MGL) to measurement gap repetition period (MGRP) of no more than some ‘X’ percent. A measurement gap is a configured period of time during which the serving cell refrains from transmitting to the UE so that the UE can receive transmissions (e.g., downlink reference signals) from other cells, paragraph 142, 150 – 159, table 4);
or a combination of thereof.
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, to the UE, a location request (Note that in some implementations, the LPP Provide Assistance Data message sent at stage 430 may be sent after the LPP Request Location Information message at 440 if, for example, the UE 404 sends a request for assistance data to LMF 470 (e.g., in an LPP Request Assistance Data message, not shown in FIG. 4) after receiving the request for location information at stage 440, paragraph 100), the location request indicating a reduced number of samples to be taken for each PRS resource (paragraph 130-132), a reduced receive beam sweeping factor, or a combination thereof (The MGRP is the measurement gap period as configured by RRC. CSSF is the carrier-specific scaling factor for measurement with gap sharing with other RRM measurements. N.sub.Rx,beam is the UE receive (Rx) beam sweeping factor for FR2. N.sub.sample is s the basic number of PRS occasions needed to meet the accuracy requirement(s) for the positioning session, paragraph 152).
Regarding claim 15, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 16, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 4, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 19, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 5, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 20, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 6, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 21, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 7, thus the same rejection is applicable.
5. Claim(s) 8 - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. (US 2022/0046444, Manolakos hereafter).
Regarding claim 8, A method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (method of Fig. 4):
determining, based on information received from a network entity, that one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) measurements is associated with a low-latency location request (At stage 440, the LMF 470 sends a request for location information to the UE 404. The request may be an LPP Request Location Information message. This message usually includes information elements defining the location information type, desired accuracy of the location estimate, and response time (i.e., desired latency). Note that a low latency requirement allows for a longer response time while a high latency requirement requires a shorter response time, paragraph 97 - 98);
modifying one or more parameters associated with the one or more PRS measurements to reduce measurement latency (please refer to paragraphs 116 – 117, 130 – 135, parameters such as positioning frequency layer, number of resources, ARFCM, etc.); and
performing the one or more PRS measurements associated with the low-latency location request according to the modified one or more parameters (At stage 450, the UE 404 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 430 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 440 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS, transmission of UL-PRS, etc.) for the selected positioning method, paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the one or more PRS measurements is associated with a low-latency location request comprises determining that a positioning frequency layer (PFL) in which the one or more PRS measurements are to be made is a low-latency PFL (“positioning frequency layer” (also referred to simply as a “frequency layer”) is a collection of one or more PRS resource sets across one or more TRPs that have the same values for certain parameters. Specifically, the collection of PRS resource sets has the same subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix (CP) type (meaning all numerologies supported for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) are also supported for PRS), the same Point A, the same value of the downlink PRS bandwidth, the same start PRB (and center frequency), and the same comb-size, paragraph 116 - 117).
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 9, wherein determining that the PFL in which the one or more PRS measurements are to be made is a low-latency PFL comprises receiving, from the network entity, an indication that the PFL is a low-latency PFL (At stage 440, the LMF 470 sends a request for location information to the UE 404. The request may be an LPP Request Location Information message. This message usually includes information elements defining the location information type, desired accuracy of the location estimate, and response time (i.e., desired latency). Note that a low latency requirement allows for a longer response time while a high latency requirement requires a shorter response time, paragraph 97 – 98, 116 - 117).
Regarding claim 11, The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the one or more PRS measurements is associated with a low-latency location request comprises receiving, from the network entity, assistance data that results in a PRS processing load for the UE that does not exceed a PRS processing capacity of the UE (There are various UE capabilities related to the processing and buffering requirements of DL-PRS. DL-PRS can be configured and scheduled to match the processing capabilities of the UE that will be measuring the DL-PRS, or the UE may only be expected to measure the portion of the DL-PRS that it is capable of measuring. One parameter of a DL-PRS that may be configured based on UE capability includes a limit on the maximum number of DL-PRS resources configured to the UE for all TRPs within a measurement window, paragraph 135, also see table 3).
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 11, wherein receiving the assistance data that results in a PRS processing load for the UE that does not exceed a PRS processing capacity of the UE comprises receiving assistance data that:
decreases a number of positioning frequency layers (PFLs) that the UE is requested to monitor (while frequency layers are used by several (usually three or more) base stations to transmit PRS. A UE may indicate the number of frequency layers it can support when it sends the network its positioning capabilities, such as during an LTE positioning protocol (LPP) session. For example, a UE may indicate whether it can support one or four positioning frequency layers so it will be adjusted (increased or lowered) to fit in, paragraph 117);
decreases a number of PRS resources per slot (The downlink PRS bandwidth may have a granularity of four PRBs, with a minimum of 24 PRBs and a maximum of 272 PRBs. Currently, up to four frequency layers have been defined, and up to two PRS resource sets may be configured per TRP per frequency layer, paragraph 116, Table 2);
decreases a time duration for PRS in each measurement gap (Note that the time duration spanned by one DL-PRS resource set containing repeated DL-PRS resources, as illustrated in FIG. 7, should not exceed the PRS periodicity. In addition, UE receive beam sweeping, for receiving/measuring the DL-PRS resource set, is not specified, but rather, depends on UE implementation, paragraph 134 – 135, Table 3);
increases a period of PRS resources within the measurement gap for each PFL (A UE may indicate the number of frequency layers it can support when it sends the network its positioning capabilities, such as during an LTE positioning protocol (LPP) session. For example, a UE may indicate whether it can support one or four positioning frequency layers so it will be adjusted (increased or lowered) to fit in, paragraph 117));
matches a measurement gap periodicity and a PRS periodicity to a processing time for PRS symbols for each PFL (The above parameters are reported assuming a configured measurement gap and a maximum ratio of measurement gap length (MGL) to measurement gap repetition period (MGRP) of no more than some ‘X’ percent. A measurement gap is a configured period of time during which the serving cell refrains from transmitting to the UE so that the UE can receive transmissions (e.g., downlink reference signals) from other cells, paragraph 140 – 142, 153);
or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 13, The method of claim 8, wherein determining, based on the information received from the network entity, that the one or more PRS measurements is associated with a low-latency location request comprises receiving, from a network entity, a location request, the location request indicating a reduced number of samples to be taken for each PRS resource, a reduced receive beam sweeping factor, or a combination thereof (paragraph 97, and location request, PRS resources, beam sweeping factor, paragraph 130 - 135).
Regarding claim 14, The method of claim 8, wherein modifying one or more parameters associated with the one or more PRS measurements to reduce measurement latency comprises:
setting a carrier-specific scaling factor (CSSF) to avoid sharing measurement gaps with other measurements (Currently, the prioritizing of LTE PRS using the carrier-specific scaling factor (CSSF) is being reused for gap sharing between NR PRS and RRM. When set to ‘1,’ the CSSF indicates that a UE is expected to prioritize PRS in a measurement gap, paragraph 153);
reducing a receive beam sweeping factor (beam sweeping factor, paragraph 134); or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 22, the network entity of claim 15, wherein the network entity comprises a location server, a base station, or a combination thereof (base station, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 8, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 24, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 9, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 25, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 10, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 26, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 11, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 27, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 12, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 28, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 13, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 29, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 14, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 30, the network substantially has same limitations as claim 22, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/TANMAY K SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632