DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18,37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US Application 2020/0145921, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 1, 37,38,Zhang discloses a communication method, device, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Figs. 1-11), performed by a terminal device (11b) in a connected state, wherein the terminal device comprises a first receiver (120) and a second receiver(122), the communication method comprising:
an antenna(122); a memory(130,132); and a processor(118), communicatively connected respectively to the antenna and the memory, and configured to execute computer executable instructions stored in the memory to control transmission and reception of the antenna and reception of the antenna and be capable of implementing the communication([0163], which recites WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) method according:
receiving a wake-up signal via the first receiver(Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125], which recites the wireless communications device may wake up the first receiver before an on duration of the DRX cycle to synchronize timing with the gNB); and
waking up the second receiver in response to the wake-up signal(Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125], which recites (Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125], which recites the wireless communications device may wake up the first receiver before an on duration of the DRX cycle to synchronize timing with the gNB); device may wake up the first receiver before an on duration of the DRX cycle to synchronize timing with the gNB).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before receiving the wake-up signal via the first receiver, the method further comprises: monitoring the wake-up signal via the first receiver(Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein monitoring the wake-up signal via the first receiver comprises: monitoring the wake-up signal on a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time-frequency resource is configured per terminal device by a network device, or the first time-frequency resource is configured per terminal device group by the network device(Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the wake-up signal is scrambled with a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) in response to determining that, and the first time-frequency resource is configured per terminal device by the network device; or the wake-up signal is scrambled with a terminal device group-radio network temporary identifier (group-RNTI) in response to determining that, and the first time- frequency resource is configured per terminal device group by the network device([0096],[0145]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of second receivers, wherein waking up the second receiver in response to the wake-up signal comprises: waking up at least one of the plurality of second receivers in response to the wake- up signal(Abstract, [0010],[0073],[0125]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after waking up the second receiver in response to the wake-up signal, the method further comprises: making a synchronization with a network device; or monitoring at least one of scheduling information for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [[and/]]or scheduling information for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) via the second receiver(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein making the synchronization with the network device comprises: receiving a synchronization signal from the network device via the first receiver, wherein the synchronization signal is the wake-up signal; or receiving the synchronization signal from the network device via the second receiver, wherein the synchronization signal is one of the wake-up signal, a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a tracking reference signal(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver comprises: determining that no connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) parameters are configured by the network device; and monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver comprises: periodically monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver according to connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) parameters configured by the network device(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein periodically monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver comprises: monitoring, in a case that the second receiver is configured with downlink control information of power saving (DCP), the DCP via the second receiver; or monitoring, in a case that the second receiver is not configured with the DCP, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) via the second receiver during a discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration; or monitoring, in a case that the second receiver is awakened after time of receiving the DCP, the PDCCH via the second receiver during a current DRX on duration; or monitoring, in a case that a DRX on duration timer is not started when the second receiver is awakened, the PDCCH via the second receiver during a next DRX on duration; or monitoring, in a case that the DRX onduration timer has not timed out when the second receiver is awakened, the PDCCH via the second receiver during the current DRX on duration; or monitoring, in a case that the DRX on duration timer has timed out when the second receiver is awakened, the PDCCH via the second receiver during the next DRX on duration(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver comprises: aperiodically monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH and/or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver according to connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) parameters configured by the network device(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein in response to aperiodically monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver, no discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration timer is configured(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11 [[or 12]], wherein the C-DRX parameters exclude at least one of the following: a discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration timer, short DRX cycle parameters, or long DRX cycle parameters(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein aperiodically monitoring at least one of the scheduling information for the PDSCH or the scheduling information for the PUSCH via the second receiver comprises: starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer when the second receiver is awakened; and monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) via the second receiver during a duration of the DRX inactivity timer(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving an uplink grant or a downlink grant from the network device; and extending a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer in response to the uplink grant or the downlink grant(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein extending the duration of the DRX inactivity timer comprises: starting the DRX inactivity timer(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: stopping monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) via the second receiver when a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer times out; or stopping monitoring the PDCCH via the second receiver when a media access control-control unit (MAC CE) is received from the network device(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: shutting down the second receiver when a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer times out; or shutting down the second receiver when a media access control-control unit (MAC CE) is received from the network device(Abstract, [0010],[0063],[0073]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418