Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the two TRP sets" in lines 2 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The same remarks apply to claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Valasquez et al. (US 20250240072).
Regarding claim 1, Valasquez discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 1B, WTRU 102; [0012]), comprising:
receiving a message scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (WTRU may receive a grant for mTRP PUSCH; [0115]);
determining that a quantity of resources allocated for channel state information (CSI) reporting via the PUSCH is insufficient for transmitting a CSI report for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) associated with a plurality of transmit and receive points (TRPs) (WTRU configured to report different CSI component granularities for coherent JT TRPs. WTRU determines CSI for each TRP. The WTRU determines that the set of resources is below a threshold (e.g., the amount of resources in the set of resources is insufficient); [0076-0077].
WTRU may report CSI for a TRP on the PUSCH transmission associated to the same TRP; [0115]),
each TRP of the plurality of TRPs associated with a set of CSI components from a plurality of CSI components of the CSI report (WTRU to report CSI components, for example, assuming C-JT transmission from more than one TRP; [0168]);
prioritizing the plurality of CSI components based on a TRP priority rule (WTRU may indicate the selected pair subsets, for example, through a bitmap in the CSI report (e.g., where the WTRU reports a 1 if the activated pair is included). The WTRU may order the CSI reports according to the ordering in the bitmap. The WTRU may determine the subset of pairs based on one or more of the following: a WTRU received signal quality measurement (e.g., a WTRU may measure the RSRP for each TRP, and the WTRU may determine to report the CSI for pairs which include TRPs with an RSRP above a threshold); [0178].
WTRU may select CSI reports based on a priority between C-JT and other hypotheses. a WTRU may select CSI reports (e.g., different CSI reports) to include in a CSI report, for example, based on a priority between C-JT measurements and other hypotheses. For example, a WTRU may determine to include C-JT with co-phasing as higher priority over a single TRP CSI, or vice-versa; [0191-0192]);
omitting one or more CSI components from the prioritized plurality of CSI components based on determining the quantity of resources is insufficient (if the grant for CSI reporting (e.g., UCI) does not include (e.g., have) sufficient resources to accommodate the pairs (e.g., all pairs), a WTRU may include CSI for a subset of pairs. The WTRU may report CSI for the selected subset; [0178]); and
transmitting, to one or more TRPs, the CSI report comprising remaining CSI components of the plurality of CSI components based on omitting the one or more CSI components (WTRU may determine the priority, for example, based on enhancing the CSI priority value with a priority index for C-JT or based on the ordering of CSIs in the CSI report. WTRU may include C-JT with high priority and may drop CSIs for other hypotheses if they do not fit in the grant for the CSI report. If the WTRU determines a CSI for more than one TRP pair, a WTRU may drop some of the pairs from the CSI report. The WTRU WTRU may determine the high priority TRPs or TRP pairs (e.g., based on received signal quality measurement. WTRU may receive UCI grants (e.g., separate UCI grants) for a (e.g., each) TRP. The WTRU may report per TRP C-JT CSI components on the respective grants. A WTRU (e.g., alternatively) may include C-JT CSI components (e.g., all C-JT CSI components) in a CSI report (e.g., single CSI report) and may send it to a (e.g., one) TRP; [0192-0195]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Valasquez discloses a method for wireless communication by a network node (base station 114a; [0020]), comprising:
transmitting a message scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (WTRU may receive a grant for mTRP PUSCH; [0115]);
transmitting one or more channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RSs) for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) associated with a plurality of transmit and receive points (TRPs), the network node is one TRP of the plurality of TRPs (WTRU may determine the PMI information based on receiving and/or measuring RSs (e.g., CSI-RSs) The PMI information may include a channel quality indicator (CQI) value. WTRU configured to report different CSI component granularities for coherent JT TRPs. WTRU determines CSI for each TRP; [0073, 0076-0077]);
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a CSI report based on transmitting the one or more CSI-RSs, each TRP of the plurality of TRPs associated with a set of CSI components from a plurality of CSI components of the CSI report (WTRU to report CSI components, for example, assuming C-JT transmission from more than one TRP; [0168]);
determining that a quantity of resources allocated for CSI reporting via the PUSCH was insufficient for the CSI report (The WTRU determines that the set of resources is below a threshold (e.g., the amount of resources in the set of resources is insufficient); [0076-0077]);
determining one or more CSI components from a prioritized plurality of CSI components were omitted from the CSI report based on determining the quantity of resources was insufficient, the plurality of CSI components being prioritized based on a TRP priority rule (WTRU may indicate the selected pair subsets, for example, through a bitmap in the CSI report (e.g., where the WTRU reports a 1 if the activated pair is included). The WTRU may order the CSI reports according to the ordering in the bitmap. The WTRU may determine the subset of pairs based on one or more of the following: a WTRU received signal quality measurement (e.g., a WTRU may measure the RSRP for each TRP, and the WTRU may determine to report the CSI for pairs which include TRPs with an RSRP above a threshold. if the grant for CSI reporting (e.g., UCI) does not include (e.g., have) sufficient resources to accommodate the pairs (e.g., all pairs), a WTRU may include CSI for a subset of pairs. The WTRU may report CSI for the selected subset; [0178].
WTRU may select CSI reports based on a priority between C-JT and other hypotheses. a WTRU may select CSI reports (e.g., different CSI reports) to include in a CSI report, for example, based on a priority between C-JT measurements and other hypotheses. For example, a WTRU may determine to include C-JT with co-phasing as higher priority over a single TRP CSI, or vice-versa; [0191-0192]); and
transmitting a precoded message based on determining the one or more CSI components were omitted from the prioritized plurality of CSI components, the precoding being determined based on remaining CSI components (WTRU may determine the priority, for example, based on enhancing the CSI priority value with a priority index for C-JT or based on the ordering of CSIs in the CSI report. WTRU may include C-JT with high priority and may drop CSIs for other hypotheses if they do not fit in the grant for the CSI report. If the WTRU determines a CSI for more than one TRP pair, a WTRU may drop some of the pairs from the CSI report. The WTRU WTRU may determine the high priority TRPs or TRP pairs (e.g., based on received signal quality measurement. WTRU may receive UCI grants (e.g., separate UCI grants) for a (e.g., each) TRP. The WTRU may report per TRP C-JT CSI components on the respective grants. A WTRU (e.g., alternatively) may include C-JT CSI components (e.g., all C-JT CSI components) in a CSI report (e.g., single CSI report) and may send it to a (e.g., one) TRP; [0192-0195]).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-7, 12, 15-17, 22, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valasquez et al. (US 20250240072) in view of Chung et al. (US 20220303812).
Regarding claim 2, Valasquez does not expressly disclose prioritizing the plurality of CSI components based on the TRP priority rule comprises: assigning one or more first CSI components from the plurality of CSI components to a high priority group; and assigning one or more second CSI components from the plurality of CSI components to a low priority group; and omitting the one or more CSI components comprises omitting each CSI component of the low priority group prior to omitting each CSI component of the high priority group.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses prioritizing the plurality of CSI components based on the TRP priority rule comprises: assigning one or more first CSI components from the plurality of CSI components to a high priority group; and assigning one or more second CSI components from the plurality of CSI components to a low priority group; and omitting the one or more CSI components comprises omitting each CSI component of the low priority group prior to omitting each CSI component of the high priority group (UCI omission for one of the two groups may be performed by dividing linear combination coefficients (LCCs) to be transmitted and LC coefficients to be dropped into two groups (e.g., G1 and G2). in a situation in which UCI omission is performed. UCI omission for one of the two groups may be performed by dividing it into two groups (e.g., G1 and G2). For example, one group may be dropped/omitted according to the priority of the group. In this case, a priority level for determining which group a specific LC coefficient belongs to may be expressed as in Equation 9. The priority level may also be expressed as a priority value. LC coefficients are included in the group with low priority (e.g., G2). Here, K.sub.NZ.sup.TOT is the total number of non-zero LC coefficients of {tilde over (W)}.sub.2. When performing the omission for CSI, a group having a lower priority may be omitted first. As an example, G2 including LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted earlier than G1. In other words, LC coefficients with high priority are reported, and LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted; [0395-0398]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chung into the system of Valasquez in order to enable accurate and efficient channel state information feedback (Chung; [0332]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Valasquez and Chung, particularly Valasquez discloses the one or more first CSI components comprise a frequency domain (FD) basis for the plurality of TRPs and corresponding layers, a reference inter-TRP co-amplitude for the plurality of TRPs and the corresponding layers, highest priority non-zero coefficients (NZCs) associated with the plurality of TRPs and the corresponding layers, and/or highest priority NZC selection bits associated with the plurality of TRPs and the corresponding layers (WTRU may report a basis set (e.g., spatial basis set, frequency basis set, time basis set, etc.) for a coherent JT TRP. The WTRU may be configured to report a compressed basis set. The WTRU may be configured to report a compressed basis set shared for multiple coherent JT TRPs. The WTRU may be configured to report coefficient sets. The WTRU may be configured to report coefficient sets per TRP; [0074]); and
Chung discloses the one or more second CSI components comprise lowest priority NZCs associated with the plurality of TRPs and the corresponding layers, and/or lowest priority NZC selection bits associated with the plurality of TRPs and the corresponding layers (LC coefficients are included in the group with low priority (e.g., G2). Here, K.sub.NZ.sup.TOT is the total number of non-zero LC coefficients of {tilde over (W)}.sub.2. When performing the omission for CSI, a group having a lower priority may be omitted first. As an example, G2 including LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted earlier than G1. In other words, LC coefficients with high priority are reported, and LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted; [0397]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chung into the system of Valasquez in order to enable accurate and efficient channel state information feedback (Chung; [0332]).
Regarding claim 6, Valasquez does not expressly disclose omitting the one or more CSI components comprises omitting one or more non-zero coefficients (NZCs) of a low priority group prior to omitting the one or more NZCs of a high priority group.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses omitting the one or more CSI components comprises omitting one or more non-zero coefficients (NZCs) of a low priority group prior to omitting the one or more NZCs of a high priority group (LC coefficients are included in the group with low priority (e.g., G2). Here, K.sub.NZ.sup.TOT is the total number of non-zero LC coefficients of {tilde over (W)}.sub.2. When performing the omission for CSI, a group having a lower priority may be omitted first. As an example, G2 including LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted earlier than G1. In other words, LC coefficients with high priority are reported, and LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted; [0397]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chung into the system of Valasquez in order to enable accurate and efficient channel state information feedback (Chung; [0332]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Valasquez and Chung, particularly Chung discloses prioritizing the plurality of CSI components based on the TRP priority rule comprises prioritizing a plurality of NZCs associated with the plurality of CSI components; a first set of NZCs of the plurality of NZCs are in the high priority group based on a priority associated with each NZC of the first set of NZCs (G2 including LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted earlier than G1. In other words, LC coefficients with high priority are reported, and LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted; [0397]); and
a second set of NZCs of the plurality of NZCs are in the low priority group based on a priority associated with each NZC of the second set of NZCs (LC coefficients are included in the group with low priority (e.g., G2). Here, K.sub.NZ.sup.TOT is the total number of non-zero LC coefficients of {tilde over (W)}.sub.2. When performing the omission for CSI, a group having a lower priority may be omitted first; [0398]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chung into the system of Valasquez in order to enable accurate and efficient channel state information feedback (Chung; [0332]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 22.
Claim(s) 8, 18, 23-24, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valasquez et al. (US 20250240072) in view of Chung et al. (US 20220303812) and in view of Wu et al. (US 20220352949).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Valasquez and Chung does not expressly disclose a first quantity of NZCs in the first set of NZCs is equal to half of a total quantity of NZCs in the plurality of NZCs; and a second quantity of NZCs in the second set of NZCs is equal to half of the total quantity of NZCs in the plurality of NZCs.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses a first quantity of NZCs in the first set of NZCs is equal to half of a total quantity of NZCs in the plurality of NZCs (first NZC group 305 and the second NZC group 310 may be based on the first portion (e.g., half) of the total NNZC and second portion (e.g., half) of the total NNZC. The first half and second half may be divided in terms of association of SD basis, FD basis, a polarization metric, layer, a strength metric, or the like; [0106]); and
a second quantity of NZCs in the second set of NZCs is equal to half of the total quantity of NZCs in the plurality of NZCs (bitmap group 405 and bitmap group 410 may be based on SD basis (e.g., the first half of the total NNZCs and second half of the total NNZC), FD basis (e.g., the first half of the total NNZCs and second half of the total NNZC), a polarization metric, layer (e.g., the first half of the total NNZCs and second half of the total NNZC), or a strength metric; [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wu into the system of Valasquez and Chung in order to provide for improved overhead savings and improve communications efficiency such as when a relatively large number of beam coefficients may be reported (Wu; [0095]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Valasquez and Chung does not expressly disclose the one or more first CSI components are associated with a first TRP set of the two TRP sets; the one or more second CSI components are associated with the first TRP set and a second TRP set of the two TRP sets; and the first TRP set is associated with a greater quantity of non-zero coefficients (NZCs) in comparison to a quantity of NZCs associated with the second TRP set.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses the one or more first CSI components are associated with a first TRP set of the two TRP sets; the one or more second CSI components are associated with the first TRP set and a second TRP set of the two TRP sets; and the first TRP set is associated with a greater quantity of non-zero coefficients (NZCs) in comparison to a quantity of NZCs associated with the second TRP set (first CSI omission configuration may include dividing a total number of beam coefficients (e.g., non-zero coefficients (NZCs)) into groups (e.g., two groups) and dropping the NZCs in a second group. A second CSI omission configuration may include dropping the beam coefficients of the second group and also dropping bits from the corresponding bitmap of the coefficients, frequency domain (FD), spatial domain (SD) basis information. UE 115-a may omit portions of the CSI payload using the first or second CSI omission configuration and transmit the updated CSI report 220 to base station 105-a; [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wu into the system of Valasquez and Chung in order to provide for improved overhead savings and improve communications efficiency such as when a relatively large number of beam coefficients may be reported (Wu; [0095]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Valasquez, Chung, and Wu, particularly Valasquez discloses the one or more first CSI components comprise a first frequency domain (FD) basis for TRPs in the first TRP set, a first reference inter-TRP co-amplitude for TRPs in the first TRP set, a first half of non-zero coefficients (NZCs) associated with the first TRP set, and/or a first half of NZC selection bits associated with the first TRP set (WTRU may report a basis set (e.g., spatial basis set, frequency basis set, time basis set, etc.) for a coherent JT TRP. The WTRU may be configured to report a compressed basis set. The WTRU may be configured to report a compressed basis set shared for multiple coherent JT TRPs. The WTRU may be configured to report coefficient sets. The WTRU may be configured to report coefficient sets per TRP; [0074]).
Chung discloses the one or more second CSI components comprise a second half of NZCs associated with the first TRP set, a second half of NZC selection bits associated with the first TRP set, a second FD basis for TRPs in the second TRP set, a second reference inter-TRP co-amplitude for TRPs in the second TRP set, NZCs associated with the second TRP set, and/or NZC selection bits associated with the second TRP set (LC coefficients are included in the group with low priority (e.g., G2). Here, K.sub.NZ.sup.TOT is the total number of non-zero LC coefficients of {tilde over (W)}.sub.2. When performing the omission for CSI, a group having a lower priority may be omitted first. As an example, G2 including LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted earlier than G1. In other words, LC coefficients with high priority are reported, and LC coefficients with low priority may be omitted; [0397]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chung into the system of Valasquez and Wu in order to enable accurate and efficient channel state information feedback (Chung; [0332]).
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 23.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9-10, 13-14, 19-20, 25, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Damnjanovic et al. (US 20160112892), “CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCEDURE FOR ENHANCED COMPONENT CARRIERS.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413