DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 09/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 13 and 14 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/11/2025, hereinafter NFOA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HERWIG KARL-WILHELM et al. EP 3957868 A1, hereinafter Herwig, in view of Grünewald; Florian et al. US 20210320463 A1, hereinafter Grunewald, and in further view of LaBair; Richard L. US 4726282 A, hereinafter LaBair, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the argument that Herwig fails to disclose the newly added claim language is accurate. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Beales; Thomas David et al. US 20160356290 A1, hereafter Beales.
Claim interpretation
Claim 13 Ln 3 states the limitation "two housing plugs”. These two housing plugs are to be interpreted as in addition to and/or distinct from the housing plug stated in claim 1 Ln 8 (claim 1 is a parent claim to claim 13).
Claim 14 Ln 7 and states the limitations “a first housing plug… a second housing plug”. This first and second housing plug are to be interpreted as in addition to and/or distinct from the housing plug stated in claim 1 Ln 8 (claim 1 is a parent claim to claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HERWIG KARL-WILHELM et al. EP 3957868 A1, hereinafter Herwig, in view of Grünewald; Florian et al. US 20210320463 A1, hereinafter Grunewald, and in further view of LaBair; Richard L. US 4726282 A, hereinafter LaBair, in further view of Beales; Thomas David et al. US 20160356290 A1, hereinafter Beales. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (piston position sensing in fluid actuated cylinders); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (connecting a piston motion sensor exterior the cylinder). MPEP2141.01(a) I. HERWIG K et al. US 20220057477 A1 is being used as an English language equivalent and is used throughout for referencing
Regarding claim 1, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) a piston-cylinder unit comprising:
a) comprising a cylinder (2) having a cylinder head (4),
b) with a piston (7) axially movable in the cylinder and
c) a piston motion sensor (30), and
d) a collimator (57) arranged in a sensor signal channel (26),
e) wherein the piston motion sensor is arranged in a transverse hole (27) of the cylinder head having a longitudinal axis (47), and wherein:
f) the piston motion sensor is connected to a housing plug (37) through a sensor cable (the depicted cables that connect (37) to (34,35)), and
j) a sealing element (43, 44) the transverse hole is hydraulically separated from a pressure chamber (3) of the piston-cylinder unit through the sealing element [0102-0103].
Herwig fails to explicitly state that:
g) the sensor cable (43) is detachably connected to the piston motion sensor (28) and/or the housing plug (44).
Grunewald discloses (Fig. 2-2a) a piston-cylinder unit comprising:
a) a cylinder (7) having a cylinder head (7a),
b) with a piston (9) axially movable in the cylinder and
c) a piston motion sensor (10),
e) wherein the piston motion sensor is arranged in a hole (7c) of the cylinder head having a longitudinal axis (depicted centerline thereof), and wherein:
f) the piston motion sensor is connected to a housing plug (2) through a sensor cable (5);
g) the sensor cable is detachably connected to the piston motion sensor and/or the housing plug [0040].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique (providing the sensor cable as detachable from the housing plug) in the same way to the "base" device and the results (providing an electrical connection from the sensor to the exterior of the cylinder) would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the sensor cable as detachable from the housing plug in the device of Herwig to provide an electrical connection from the sensor to the exterior of the cylinder as taught by Grunewald as the is a known technique amongst similar devices ready for improvement.
Herwig further fails to explicitly state that:
h) the housing plug (44) is L-shaped with two angled legs (67, 68), wherein
a leg (68) extends in the transverse hole (27) of the cylinder head (4) and
a leg (67) extends lying externally from the cylinder head (4).
LaBair discloses (Fig. 5) a piston-cylinder unit comprising:
a) comprising a cylinder (28) having a cylinder head (14),
b) with a piston (32) axially movable in the cylinder and
c) a piston motion sensor (196),
e) wherein the piston motion sensor is arranged in a transverse hole (86) of the cylinder head having a longitudinal axis (depicted centerline thereof), and wherein:
f) the piston motion sensor is connected to a housing plug (24); and
h) the housing plug is L-shaped with two angled legs (depicted horizontal and vertical portions), wherein
a leg (depicted vertical portion) extends in the transverse hole of the cylinder head (depicted portion of (24) interfacing with (196)) and
a leg (depicted horizontal portion) extends lying externally from the cylinder head (the horizontal portion is depicted as lying externally from the cylinder head).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique (shaping the housing plug in an L-shape) in the same way to the "base" device and the results (providing an electrical connection from the sensor to the exterior of the cylinder) would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to shape the housing plug in an L-shape in the device of Herwig to provide an electrical connection from the sensor to the exterior of the cylinder as taught by LaBair as the is a known technique amongst similar devices ready for improvement.
To further clarify the modification, the exterior portion of Herwig’s plug (37) is oriented parallel to the cylinder centerline or longitudinal axis as taught by LaBair.
Herwig further fails to explicitly state that the collimator has an annular groove in which the sealing element is arranged.
Beales discloses (Fig. 1-4) a piston-cylinder unit (20) comprising:
a) a cylinder (24) having a cylinder head (depicted top end of (20)),
b) a piston (28) axially movable in the cylinder, which is pressurized with a pressurized fluid via a pressure chamber (32, [0021-0022]),
c) a piston motion sensor (26), and
d) a collimator (58) arranged in a sensor signal channel (54/64),
e) wherein the piston motion sensor is arranged in a hole (48) of the cylinder head (depicted as residing within the head) and
j) the collimator has an annular groove (depicted as residing in grooves) in which a sealing element (62, 62) is arranged, and wherein the hole is hydraulically separated from a pressure chamber (32) of the piston-cylinder unit through the sealing element [0028].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (sealing at the lens/collimator) for another (sealing at the piston motion sensor), and the results of the substitution (protect fluid leakage from the pressure chamber) would have been predictable. Because both Herwig and Beales teach optical piston motion sensors, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute sealing at the lens/collimator for the sealing at the piston motion sensor to achieve the predictable result of protecting fluid leakage from the pressure chamber.
To further clarify the modification, Beales discloses a method of sealing the bore/sensor cavity (48) from the high pressures of the pressure chamber by placing the seals on the dielectric lens or collimator that substitutes/replaces the method of sealing the bore/transverse bore (27) from the high pressures of the pressure chamber of Herwig. Stated another way, the modification substitutes/replaces seals (43,44) of Herwig with seals (62, 62) of Beales.
Regarding claim 2, the housing plug is detachably connected to the cylinder head (Herwig, Grunewald and LaBair disclose housing plugs as detachably connected to the cylinder head).
Regarding claim 3, LaBair further discloses (Fig. 5) the housing plug (24) has a flange which is screwed to the cylinder head (Col 4 Ln 26-29).
Regarding claim 4, LaBair further discloses (Fig. 4, 5) the flange can be screwed to the cylinder head in different alignments of the housing plug (24) about the longitudinal axis of the transverse hole ((86) is depicted in Fig. 4 as cylindrical and without external obstructions, therefore, LaBair’s flange can be screwed to the cylinder head in different rotational alignments of the housing plug about (86)).
Regarding claim 5, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) a housing plug (37) in the form of a) DIN plug ([0101] states the that plug may be a M12 plug, which is part of the DIN 0627 standard) or b) German plug can be connected to the sensor cable.
Regarding claim 6, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) a positioning and/or alignment element (29) is supported in the transverse hole (27) in the direction of the longitudinal axis (47) of the transverse hole, and the piston motion sensor (30) is supported on the positioning and/or alignment element in the direction of the longitudinal axis [0099-0101].
Regarding claim 7, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) the transverse hole (27) is a blind drilled hole and the positioning and/or alignment element (42) is supported on a base (47) of the blind drilled hole.
Regarding claim 8, as far as is determinate, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) a) a position of the positioning and/or alignment element (29), in the direction of the longitudinal axis (47) of the transverse hole (27), and/or b) an alignment of the positioning and/or alignment element, around the longitudinal axis of the transverse hole, is/are locked by a at least one locking element (39) [0101], wherein the locking element is a screw which extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the transverse hole or radially to the longitudinal axis of the transverse hole.
Regarding claim 9, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) the positioning and/or alignment element (29) and the piston motion sensor (30) abut one another through contact surfaces (32, 33), which restrict or predetermine an alignment of the piston motion sensor relative to the positioning and/or alignment element via a form-fit in a circumferential direction around the longitudinal axis of the transverse bore [0099-0100].
Regarding claim 10, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) the piston motion sensor (30) is retained on the positioning and/or alignment element (29) via a latching connection (such as by (38, 39) [0101]) or a permanent magnet.
Regarding claim 11, as far as is determinate, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) the piston motion sensor (30) has, on the side facing away from the positioning and/or alignment element (29), a disassembly attachment (38) which can be coupled to a disassembly tool in order to apply disassembly forces on the piston motion sensor so as to disassemble the piston motion sensor from the positioning and/or alignment element (as depicted in Fig. 12, and disclosed in [0101], (30) is releasably coupled to (29)),
the disassembly attachment being designed as an internal thread (38) of the piston motion sensor and the internal thread being designed as a threaded insert, which is injected or pressed into a sensor housing of the piston motion sensor.
Regarding claim 13, Herwig discloses (Fig. 10-17) a set comprising;
a) the piston-cylinder unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), and
b) two housing plugs, which
are designed and intended for different purposes of use,
can be inserted into the transverse hole (27), and
can be connected to the piston motion sensor (28) through the sensor cable ( [0101] states at least two housing plugs may be used to connect the sensor such as “M12 plug. However, it could also be a different connection element”, which has been interpreted as any plurality of plugs or plug types may be used depending upon the application).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Herwig discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 6. Herwig further discloses (Fig. 10-17) the transverse bore (27) is a blind-hole bore (depicted as such).
Herwig fails to explicitly state that the positioning and/or alignment element (29) is supported on a floor of the blind-hole bore. Instead, (29) is depicted as having a space between it and the blind-hole bore floor.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed structural relationship between the blind-hole bore floor and the positioning and/or alignment element. Although Herwig discloses a blind-hole bore floor and a positioning and/or alignment element, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Herwig to incorporate the details of the positioning and/or alignment element is supported on a floor of the blind-hole bore, along with the other claimed components of the piston-cylinder unit. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the independent claim.
Regarding claim 14, Herwig discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that a group of piston-cylinder units comprising:
(a) a plurality of sub-groups, each sub-group of the plurality of sub- groups including the piston-cylinder unit of claim 1 designed and intended for different purposes of use,
a) wherein the plurality of sub-groups has a first sub-group including a first housing plug,
b) wherein the plurality of sub-groups has a second sub-group including a second housing plug,
c) wherein the first housing plugs and the second housing plugs are designed and intended for different purposes of uses and
d) wherein the piston-cylinder units of the first sub-group and the piston-cylinder units of the second sub-group have identical piston motion sensors.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed groupings of piston-cylinder units. Although Herwig discloses a piston-cylinder unit, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Herwig to incorporate the details of the claimed groupings of piston-cylinder units. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the independent claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745