DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 9/17/2024.
The IDS filed on 12/18/2024 is considered.
Claims 1-18, 21-22 are amended.
Claims 19-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 13 recites in part: “…cause the first UE to: determine not to transmit/process inter-UE coordination information based on a determination that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; and transmit a negative acknowledgement message to the second UE, the negative acknowledgement message comprising a request for retransmission, to the first UE, of the sidelink data message multiplexed with other data”.
Here the underlined limitation is unclear because, the UE determines not to “transmit/process inter-UE coordination information” due to decoding failure of the sidelink message, however, in claim 1/claim 11 (that this claim 3 and claim 13 depend on respectively), the inter-UE coordination information and sidelink data are part of the sidelink message, and hence transmitted together, without waiting for data decoding, making this limitation unclear and hence indefinite.
Claims 5, 15 recite in part: “… to cause the first UE to: determine that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; transmit/process, based on successfully receiving the sidelink control message with the request, inter-UE coordination information to the second UE; and transmit an acknowledgement message to the second UE, the acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt and processing of the request.”
The underlined claim limitation is unclear, regarding transmission of ack message, despite decoding failure of the sidelink data message, making this limitation unclear and hence indefinite. Additionally, it is not clear what is exactly meant by the limitation “…the acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt and processing of the request “
For the sake of comparison with prior art, the entire limitation will be interpreted as: a sidelink receiver UE is configured to send either a positive acknowledgement (ACK), if it successfully receives the SCI and payload data from the PSCCH and PSSCH; and a NACK, if it successfully decodes the SCI but fails in decoding the data payload.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 11-12, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2100518, e-Meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021, hereinafter ”3GPP”, from IDS.
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches a first user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from a second UE, one or more sidelink messages comprising a request for inter-coordination between the first UE and the second UE, the one or more sidelink messages comprising one or both of a sidelink control message or a sidelink data message, the sidelink control message comprising sidelink control information (SCI) and the sidelink data message comprising a medium access control-control element (MAC- CE) (see Q-A2, UE-A sends ”A set of resources” to UE-B … UE-A can transmit the inter-UE coordination information when the UE-A has selected resources to be used for PSCCH (SCI)/PSSCH transmission; also see Q-A4, The candidates for the inter-UE coordination information are new SCI formats, and PSSCH (MAC CE);
process the request based on a determination of whether the sidelink data message can be decoded (see Q-A2, UE-A can count the number of decoding failure of PSSCH from UE-B); and
transmit, to the second UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message indicating a status of the decoding of the sidelink data message (see Q2, when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time).
Regarding claims 2, 12, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to transmit inter-UE coordination information to the second UE based on a priority indication for the inter-UE coordination information (see proposal 6, For the condition of transmitting the inter-UE coordination information, UE-A would need to check congestion level. In other words, depending on the congestion, the UE-A may or may not transmit the inter-UE coordination information. For instance, if the measured channel busy ratio (CBR) is high at UE-A side, and if the priority value of the inter-UE coordination information is large, the UE-A could skip the transmission of the inter-UE coordination information. On the other hand, if the measure CBR is small at UE-A side, and if the priority value of the inter-UE coordination information is small, the UE-A could perform the transmission of the inter-UE coordination information).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to: an inter-UE message inter-UE coordination information; and determine whether to transmit the inter-UE coordination message based on whether the sidelink data message is successfully decoded (see Q-A4, Observation 20, the RX UEs may need to decode all the PSSCH even though L1-destination ID in the received SCI is not matched to achieve the inter-UE coordination information. In this case, instead of L1-source or L1-destination ID, another field in the SCI can be used to indicate whether UE-B needs to decode a TB to get the inter-UE coordination information).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches a first user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor and the transceiver cause UE at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from a second UE, one or more sidelink messages comprising a response to a request from the first UE to the second UE for inter-coordination between the first UE and the second UE (see Q-A2, UE-B sends request, and the UE-A transmits the inter-UE coordination information upon the received request), the one or more sidelink messages comprising one or both of a sidelink control message or a sidelink data message, the sidelink control message comprising sidelink control information (SCI) and the sidelink data message comprising a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (see Q-A2, UE-A sends ”A set of resources” to UE-B … UE-A can transmit the inter-UE coordination information when the UE-A has selected resources to be used for PSCCH (SCI)/PSSCH transmission; also see Q-A4, The candidates for the inter-UE coordination information are new SCI formats, and PSSCH (MAC CE);
process the response based on a determination of whether the sidelink data message can be decoded (see Q-A2, UE-A can count the number of decoding failure of PSSCH from UE-B); and
transmit, to the second UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message indicating a status of the decoding of the sidelink data message (see Q2, when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time).
Regarding claim 21, 3GPP teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
receive, at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, one or more sidelink messages comprising a request for inter-coordination between the first UE and the second UE, the one or more sidelink messages comprising one or both of a sidelink control message or a sidelink data message, the sidelink control message comprising sidelink control information (SCI) and the sidelink data message comprising a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (see Q-A2, UE-A sends ”A set of resources” to UE-B … UE-A can transmit the inter-UE coordination information when the UE-A has selected resources to be used for PSCCH (SCI)/PSSCH transmission; also see Q-A4, The candidates for the inter-UE coordination information are new SCI formats, and PSSCH (MAC CE);
process the request based on a determination of whether the sidelink data message can be decoded (see Q-A2, UE-A can count the number of decoding failure of PSSCH from UE-B); and
transmit, to the second UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message indicating a status of the decoding of the sidelink data message (see Q2, when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time).
Regarding claim 22, 3GPP teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
receive, at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, one or more sidelink messages comprising a response to a request from the first UE to the second UE for inter-coordination between the first UE and the second UE (see Q-A2, UE-B sends request, and the UE-A transmits the inter-UE coordination information upon the received request), the one or more sidelink messages comprising one or both of a sidelink control message or a sidelink data message, the sidelink control message comprising sidelink control information (SCI) and the sidelink data message comprising a medium access control-control element (MAC- CE) (see Q-A2, UE-A sends ”A set of resources” to UE-B … UE-A can transmit the inter-UE coordination information when the UE-A has selected resources to be used for PSCCH (SCI)/PSSCH transmission; also see Q-A4, The candidates for the inter-UE coordination information are new SCI formats, and PSSCH (MAC CE);
process the response based on a determination of whether the sidelink data message can be decoded (see Q-A2, UE-A can count the number of decoding failure of PSSCH from UE-B); and
transmit, to the second UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message indicating a status of the decoding of the sidelink data message (see Q2, when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Park (US 20240080937 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 1 and teaches inter-UR coordination information included in the sidelink message.
3GPP does not teach details regarding: cause the first UE to: determine that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; transmit, based on the request, inter-UE coordination information to the second UE; and transmit a negative acknowledgement message to the second UE, the negative acknowledgement message comprising a request for retransmission, to the first UE, of the sidelink data message multiplexed with other data.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation “… transmit, based on the request, inter-UE coordination information to the second UE; and transmit a negative acknowledgement message to the second UE, the negative acknowledgement message comprising a request for retransmission, to the first UE, of the sidelink data message multiplexed with other data…” is interpreted as: “retransmission occurs based on a retransmission resource, i.e., based on SCI”.
Based on this interpretation, see Park, paras 191-192, the information related to whether a PUCCH resource is configured and the information related to resource allocation mode is received through sidelink control information (SCI)… the first device receives, from the second device, physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including SCI for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); determine decoding failure for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted, from the second device, through the PSSCH; transmit, to the second device, HARQ negative acknowledge (NACK) related to the MAC PDU through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) related to the PSSCH, based on the decoding failure; and receive, from the second device, a retransmission of the MAC PDU based on a retransmission resource.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding including retransmission request based on NACK failure as taught by Park, the motivation being, sidelink communication is under consideration as a solution to the overhead of an eNB caused by rapidly increasing data traffic (see Park, para 2).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 1 and teaches:
determine not to transmit inter-UE coordination information based on the determination that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded (see Observation 12, UE-A may not detect resource collision at UE-B side since UE-A fails to decode the corresponding PSCCHs when the PSCCHs are overlapped with PSSCH or when the PSCCHs use the same OCC… UE-A transmits NACK on behalf of the target RX UE when the UE-A observes resource conflict at the RX UE side. To do this, at least the UE-A needs to successfully decode 2nd SCI since the L1-source ID is used to determine PSFCH resource.
3GPP does not teach details regarding: transmit a negative acknowledgement message to the second UE, the negative acknowledgement message comprising a request for retransmission, to the first UE of the sidelink data message not multiplexed with other data.
Park teaches this limitation: see paras 191-192, the information related to whether a PUCCH resource is configured and the information related to resource allocation mode is received through sidelink control information (SCI)… the first device receives, from the second device, physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including SCI for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); determine decoding failure for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted, from the second device, through the PSSCH; transmit, to the second device, HARQ negative acknowledge (NACK) related to the MAC PDU through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) related to the PSSCH, based on the decoding failure; and receive, from the second device, a retransmission of the MAC PDU based on a retransmission resource/i.e., representing a separate resource without multiplexing data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding including retransmission request based on NACK failure as taught by Park, the motivation being, sidelink communication is under consideration as a solution to the overhead of an eNB caused by rapidly increasing data traffic (see Park, para 2).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 11 and teaches inter-UR coordination information included in the sidelink message.
3GPP does not teach details regarding: to cause the first UE to: determine that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; process, based on successfully receiving the sidelink control message with the response, inter-UE coordination information received as part of the response; and transmit an acknowledgement message to the second UE, the acknowledgement message requesting retransmission, to the first UE, of the sidelink data message multiplexed with other data.
Park teaches this limitation: see paras 191-192, the information related to whether a PUCCH resource is configured and the information related to resource allocation mode is received through sidelink control information (SCI)… the first device receives, from the second device, physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including SCI for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); determine decoding failure for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted, from the second device, through the PSSCH; transmit, to the second device, HARQ negative acknowledge (NACK) related to the MAC PDU through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) related to the PSSCH, based on the decoding failure; and receive, from the second device, a retransmission of the MAC PDU based on a retransmission resource.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding including retransmission request based on NACK failure as taught by Park, the motivation being, sidelink communication is under consideration as a solution to the overhead of an eNB caused by rapidly increasing data traffic (see Park, para 2).
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is and the transceiver are configured to cause the first UE to: determine that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; process, based on successfully receiving the sidelink control message with the response, inter-UE coordination information received as part of the response (see Observation 12, UE-A may not detect resource collision at UE-B side since UE-A fails to decode the corresponding PSCCHs when the PSCCHs are overlapped with PSSCH or when the PSCCHs use the same OCC… UE-A transmits NACK on behalf of the target RX UE when the UE-A observes resource conflict at the RX UE side. To do this, at least the UE-A needs to successfully decode 2nd SCI since the L1-source ID is used to determine PSFCH resource).
3GPP does not teach details regarding; transmit a negative acknowledgement message to the second UE, the negative acknowledgement message comprising a request for retransmission, to the first UE of the sidelink data message not multiplexed with other data.
Park teaches this limitation: see paras 191-192, the information related to whether a PUCCH resource is configured and the information related to resource allocation mode is received through sidelink control information (SCI)… the first device receives, from the second device, physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including SCI for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); determine decoding failure for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted, from the second device, through the PSSCH; transmit, to the second device, HARQ negative acknowledge (NACK) related to the MAC PDU through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) related to the PSSCH, based on the decoding failure; and receive, from the second device, a retransmission of the MAC PDU based on a retransmission resource/i.e., representing a separate resource without multiplexing data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding including retransmission request based on NACK failure as taught by Park, the motivation being, sidelink communication is under consideration as a solution to the overhead of an eNB caused by rapidly increasing data traffic (see Park, para 2).
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Ji (US 20240014978 A1, hereinafter “Ji”).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 1 and teaches inter-UR coordination information included in the sidelink message.
3GPP does not teach details regarding the first UE to: determine that the sidelink data message cannot be decoded; transmit, based on successfully receiving the sidelink control message with the request, inter-UE coordination information to the second UE; and transmit an acknowledgement message to the second UE, the acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt and processing of the request.
Examiners Note: please refer to the interpretation of this claim above in the 112(b) rejection.
Based on this interpretation, see Ji, para 79, According to a second HARQ mode, a sidelink receiver UE may be configured to send either a positive acknowledgement (ACK), if it successfully receives the SCI and payload data from the PSCCH and PSSCH; a NACK, if it successfully decodes the SCI but fails in decoding the data payload.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding including sending NACK is the receiver UE successfully decodes the SCI, but fails to decode the data payload as taught by Ji, the motivation being, each of the sidelink receiver UEs may send their feedback over dedicated feedback resource(s), for example on the PSFCH (see Ji, para 79), and to providing feedback with an adaptive acknowledgement mode (see Ji, Technical Field).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Li (US 20220346015 A1).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 7, and teaches
3GPP does not teach details regarding: the first UE to initiate a timer based on receiving the request; and determine whether to transmit the inter-UE coordination message based on whether the sidelink data message is successfully decoded prior to expiry of the timer.
Li teaches this limitation: see para 76, A sidelink on duration Timer may indicate an amount of time during which the UE monitors for communication from other UEs on sidelink or PC5 interface when the UE wakes up from the OFF duration in DRX Cycle. For example, the On-duration Timer may give the number of consecutive subframe(s) or slot(s) (e.g., physical slot(s) or logical slot(s), where the logical slots are the slots available for sidelink communications with data) be monitored/decoded when the UE wakes up from the OFF duration in DRX Cycle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of 3GPP to include details regarding monitoring a timer to decode sidelink data as taught by Li, the motivation being to facilitate low power operations and/or reduce power consumption (see Li, para 7).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Li* (WO 2020/033088 A1, from IDS).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 7 and teaches generate the inter-UE coordination message based on a priority value for the request being above a threshold priority value (see proposal 6).
3GPP does not teach details regarding: cause the first UE to: initiate a timer based on receiving the request; determine that the sidelink data message is successfully decoded after expiry of the timer
Li teaches this limitation: see paras 430-431, a UE checks if it is timed out by a LBT timer, and if the UE has timed out, and if pre-emption parameter is enabled … If the UE is able to pre-empt other UEs scheduled or reserved resource for its emergency data transmission/i.e., high priority message, the UE performs a pre-emption transmission, using resources for low priority, high latency or low reliability, so that high priority emergency data transmission can be performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the inter-UE coordination message for high priority transmission of 3GPP to include decoding of high priority data after timer expiry, as taught by Li*, the motivation being emergency data decoding and transmission, by preempting resources even after timer expiry (see Li*, para 431).
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Liu (US 20220353945 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 18, 3GPP teaches: to cause the first UE to ignore the request based on a determination that information in the sidelink control message does not match information in the sidelink data message (see Observation 20, for the simultaneous transmission of the inter-UE coordination information and UE-A’s other data, the intended receiver of the inter-UE coordination information and the data needs to be the same).
3GPP does not teach details regarding: ignore the request based on information mismatch.
Liu teaches this limitation: see para 204, the first communication signal may include SCI and data, where the SCI indicates a destination ID truncated from a full destination ID and the data indicates the full destination ID. The full destination ID may be a MAC ID. Since the truncated destination ID in the SCI includes a portion of the full destination ID, there is a probability that the truncated destination ID the SCI matches a portion of the first UE's MAC ID, but the full destination ID in the data does not match the first UE's MAC ID completely. In some instances, the first UE may start a DRX-inactivity timer in response to receiving the SCI (e.g., based on the truncated destination ID in the SCI matching a portion of the first UE's MAC ID. If the first UE determines that the full destination ID in the data fails to match the first UE's MAC ID, the first UE may refrain from transmitting an ACK/NACK feedback for the data/i.e., representing ignoring the request by not sending a response.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the inter-UE coordination of 3GPP to ignore the request based on a determination that information in the sidelink control message does not match information in the sidelink data message, as taught by Liu, the motivation being reduce signaling and power saving.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Farag (US 20220095280 A1).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP teaches the first UE of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to: process, based on successfully receiving the sidelink control message with the response, inter-UE coordination information received as part of the response; perform, based on the inter-UE coordination information, one or more of resource selection, resource reselection, or resource exclusion (see Q-A5, UE-B will use the received inter-UE coordination information after the UE-B triggers resource (re)selection procedure for its own transmission. Moreover, the inter-UE coordination information needs to be valid for UE-B’s resource (re)selection procedure. In other words, the resource set provided by the inter-UE coordination information needs to be related to the resources within UE-B’s resource selection window; also see Q-A5, Proposal 10); and
3GPP does not teach details regarding: determine, based on whether the sidelink data message is successfully decoded, whether to transmit an indication of a preferred resource set to a higher layer of the first UE.
Farag teaches these details: see paras 89-91, sensing for resource reselection includes decoding first stage/part SCI and measuring SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be measured on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS. Candidate resources are resources that belong to a resource pool, but exclude resources that were previously reserved, or potentially reserved by other UEs… in the resource (re-)selection procedure, a UE monitors slots in a sensing window belonging to a corresponding sidelink resource pool that are not used for the UE's own transmission. Sensing includes: decoding the first stage/part SCI on PSCCH and measuring the SL RSRP. To determine a candidate single-slot resource set to report to higher layers, a UE excludes the slot resources that are not monitored within a resource selection window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the inter-UE coordination of 3GPP to include preferred set (candidate set) to higher layers based on decoding the PSSCH, as taught by Farag, the motivation being inter user equipment (UE) coordination signaling (see Farag, Technical Field).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hosseini (US 20220046626 A1) teaches resource selection for sidelink coordination information requests… at paragraph 38, enable selection of requesting resources that are to be used for transmitting sidelink inter-UE coordination information requests, and specifically, to minimize blind decoding attempts of requesting resources, reduce collision in requesting resources. For example, a UE may select requesting resources by sensing channel availability, may select requesting resources at random, may select requesting resources according to an indexing of the requesting resources and based at least in part on an identifier of the UE or an identifier of a UE that is to receive the request, and/or may select requesting resources according to a resource assignment. In this way, a performance of requests for sidelink inter-UE coordination information may be improved by reducing collision in requesting resources, wireless resources may be conserved, UE power consumption may be reduced.
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472