DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/18/2024 and 07/01/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “communication control unit” of claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Also “communication control unit” of claims 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The “communication control unit” of claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, is shown in Fig. 3 as block 155, implemented (for example) as the wireless communication interface 963 of Fig. 26. Refer to instant application publication [0356]-[0358], [0360].
The “communication control unit” of claims 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 is shown in Fig. 2 as block 55, implemented (for example) as the wireless communication interface 913 of Fig. 24. Refer to instant application publication [0070],[0072], [0326], [0316], [0319].
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 16, line 4 the recited “a PHY” should be “a physical (PHY)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 14-18 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and claim 10) is (are) generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with idiomatic errors.
Claim 1, lines 3-4 recite “processing of receiving signals to be subjected to
coordinated transmission”. It is unclear what type of signals the “receiving signals” attempts to claim. It is not clear what Applicant intends to claim when claiming “receiving signals to be subjected to coordinated transmission”. If the receiving signals are received or reception signals how are they “to be subjected to” coordinated transmission?
Dependent claims 2-9 are also rejected since they depend on rejected claim 1.
Method claim 10 recites limitations corresponding to those recited by apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected based on the reasoning used to reject claim 1.
Claim 14, lines 6-10 recite “another terminal that is difficult to perform the coordinated transmission with a terminal desired…”.
The term “is difficult” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree (of what is considered “difficult”), and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claimed “another terminal that is difficult to perform the coordinated transmission with a terminal desired…” has been rendered indefinite.
Dependent claims 15-16 are also rejected since they depend on rejected claim 14.
Claim 17, line 5 the recited “the coordinated transmission of the data signal” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. Claim 11 and 17 do not previously claims coordinated transmission of a data signal.
Dependent claim 18 is also rejected since it depends on rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-13, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0244338)(reference cited in the 07/01/2025 IDS).
With respect to claim 1, as best understood, Raghavan et al. disclose: a communication control unit (e.g. blocks 910, 920, 930, 935, and 940 of Fig. 9 [0183]-[0190] correspond to the claimed communication control unit and included in the UE 115-c of Fig. 4) that controls processing of receiving signals to be subjected to coordinated transmission by a plurality of communication devices (refer to COMP transmissions 425 out of base station105-e and base station 105-f received and processed by the communication control unit of the UE, [0139] and refer to UE device 905 of Fig. 9 (for example), [0183]-[0190] and lines 6-8 of [0057] the UE determines “…a matched filtering beam estimate for coordinated reception…”, [0139]), and processing related to communication (Fig. 4, e.g. reception 415 of beam training signals and/or optionally step 420) on a basis of a training signal prepared for each piece of coordinated transmission information (training signal out of 105-e or 105-f, prepared for each piece of coordinated transmission information: combined beams f1 and f2, [0137]) that is information regarding the coordinated transmission (information regarding to base stations105-e and 105-f to perform 425, [0137] and lines 1-3 of [0139]).
With respect to claim 2, Raghavan et al. disclose: wherein the coordinated transmission information includes at least one of information indicating a coordination scheme (indicates a coordination scheme that uses the combined beams f1 and f2) or information indicating a destination terminal.
With respect to claim 9, Raghavan et al. disclose: wherein the training signal is transmitted by applying a transmission weight prepared for each piece of the coordinated transmission information (each of the combined beams f1 (used by 105-e) and f2 (used by 105-f), [0137] and refer to the f1 and f2 of Fig. 2. Each of the combined beams is generated based on beam weights, lines 3-7, 9-end of [0134]).
Method claim 10 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject apparatus claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 11, Raghavan et al. disclose: a communication control unit of (
(e.g. blocks 1310, 1320, 1330, 1335, and 1340 of Fig. 13 [0216]-[0224] correspond to the claimed communication control unit and included in base station 105-e (or 105-4) of Fig. 4) that controls processing of performing coordinated transmission (e.g. Fig. 13, [0216], [0221]-[0222], [0224] and Fig. 4 at least step 425, [0139]) with another communication device (other base station 105-f of Fig. 4, [0139]), and processing of transmitting a training signal (training signal prepared in the joint beam training 415 based on the coordination 410, [0137]) prepared for each piece of coordinated transmission information (each piece of coordinated transmission information: e.g. the combined beam f1 or the combined beams f1 and f2, [0137]) that is information regarding the coordinated transmission to a terminal (f1 is information regarding the coordinated transmission to a terminal, or f1 and f2 is information regarding the coordinated transmission performed by base stations105-e and 105-f to perform COMP transmission 425)).
With respect to claim 12, Raghavan et al. disclose:
wherein the coordinated transmission information includes at least one of information indicating a coordination scheme (indicates a coordination scheme that uses the combined beams f1 and f2) or information indicating a destination terminal
With respect to claim 13, Raghavan et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit requests ([0136] refer to description of step 410 communication via backhaul to coordinate coordinated beam training, interpreted to corresponding to the claimed request) the another communication device to perform coordinated transmission of the training signal.
With respect to claim 17, as best understood, Raghavan et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit performs control to transmit the training signal at a timing different from the coordinated transmission of the data signal (Fig. 4 the training signal is transmitted out of base station 105-e at a different time than the COMP transmission out of 105-e).
With respect to claim 19, Raghavan et al. disclose: wherein the training signal is transmitted by applying a transmission weight prepared for each piece of the coordinated transmission information (combined beam f1 is generated based on beam weights of each of the combined beams used by 105-e and 105-f to transmit the training signal (the joint beam training signal) are generated based on beam weights, lines 3-7, 9-end of [0134]).
Method claim 20 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject apparatus claim 11 above.
Claims 10-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275).
With respect to claim 10, as best understood, Liu et al. disclose: controlling, by a
communication control device (one of the stations (STAs) participating in the method of Fig. 1, also refer to Fig. 3, [0005]), processing of receiving signals to be subjected to coordinated transmission by a plurality of communication devices (Fig. 1, step 105, [0027], last sentence of [0028] “…AP2 and AP3…and jointly transmit a data packet on the first channel” and for example Fig. 10 where STA1 (for example) performs processing of receiving signals (beamformed and jointly transmitted by AP2 and AP3, [0047]). Alternatively refer to the processing of receiving signals (the processing of the joint stacked LTFs of the joint sounding packet) to be subjected to coordinated transmission (coordinated transmission of the stacked LTFs by AP2 and AP3), and processing related to communication on a basis of a training signal (Fig.3, prior to the joint data transmission, STA1 for example processes the joint training packet and sends sounding feedback 304. Also refer to Fig. 1, steps 102-104, lines 1-8 of [0028], approximate second half of [0033] and approximate second half of [0034]. Alternative refer to the generation of the CSI feedback on the basis of the training signal (stacked LTFs) prepared for each identified APs and/or STAs participated in the coordinated sounding and data transmission) prepared for each piece of coordinated transmission information ([0030] and for example refer to the approximate first half of [0033] refer to at least the sounding announcement frame “The sounding announcement frame is used to…and identify the receive APs and/or STAs.” Alternatively refer to the second to last sentence of [0036] “…the global indices of the virtual antenna array may be contained in the sounding announcement frame…” each of the global indices corresponds to the each piece of coordinated transmission information) that is information regarding the coordinated transmission (information in the sounding announcement frame identifies the STAs (pieces of coordinated transmission information) participating in the sounding and are receivers in the joint data transmission. [0036] the information of the global indices in the sounding announcement frame, is information regarding the coordinated transmission (information regarding the antennas of the APs which (will) participate in the coordinated transmission of the data packet of step 105, lines 9-13 of [0033], lines 1-2 of [0035] and [0036]).
With respect to claim 11, Liu et al. disclose: a communication control unit (within AP2 (for example), refer to Fig. 12 [0024], [0051], 1220, 1230 and 1270 correspond to the claimed communication control unit, described in more detail in [0052]-[0055]) that controls processing of performing coordinated transmission with another communication device (Fig. 1, step 105, [0027], last sentence of [0028], approximate second half of [0030], [0033] including the description of step 105), optionally refer to Fig. 10 (joint data transmission out of AP2 and AP1), and [0047]) and processing of transmitting a training signal (Fig. 1, refer to step 102, lines 1-13 of [0033], lines 1-10 of [0028], and Fig. 3-4 (for example), [0034], [0036]) prepared for each piece of coordinated transmission information (training signal (of Fig. 4 comprising the stacked LTFs) prepared for each of STA1 and STA2 identified in the sounding announcement frame, lines 1-13 of [0033], [0036] or each of the antennas of AP2 used for sounding and included in the sounding announcement frame and “…AP antennas that will participate in the subsequent joint data transmission” , second to last sentence of [0036]) that is information regarding the coordinated transmission to a terminal (regarding the coordinated transmission of step 105 and refer to lines 9-13 of [0033], second to last sentence of [0036], lines 4-7 of [0033] and [0022], target STAs, [0047]).
With respect to claim 12, Liu et al. disclose: wherein the coordinated transmission information (included in the sounding announcement frame of [0033], also at the end of [0036]) includes at least one of information indicating a coordination scheme (e.g. for the simultaneous sounding [0033]) or information indicating a destination terminal (informs the APs and identifies the STAs (destination terminals)).
With respect to claim 13, Liu et al. disclose:
wherein the communication control unit requests (second half of [0030] interpreted as disclosing AP2 being configured as a coordinating AP for the group (AP1 and AP2), and Fig. 3 and [0034], [0033], refer to the transmission of the sounding announcement frame and the sounding trigger frame (includes a sounding synchronization indication) triggering (or requesting)) the another communication device (AP1) to perform coordinated transmission of the training signal (to perform step 102, lines 7-13 of [0033]).
With respect to claim 17, as best understood, Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of AP2) performs control to transmit the training signal at a timing different from the coordinated transmission of the data signal (Fig. 1, the timing of steps 102 and 105 is different, also refer to Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 18, Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of AP2) transmits, to the terminal, an announcement signal (second half of [0030], lines 1-9 of [0033] refer to the sounding announcement frame and optionally refer to the second to last sentence of [0036]) and notifying of transmission of the training signal in advance (at least lines 1-9 of [0033], the training signal (joint sounding packet Fig. 1, step 102) is transmitted in advance of the joint transmission of the data packet (Fig. 1 step 105)).
With respect to claim 19, Liu et al. disclose: wherein the training signal is transmitted by applying a transmission weight ([0037-[0038]] refer to the transmission weights of the P matrix) prepared for each piece (each AP and/or antenna of the global antennas) uses a weights of the P matrix [0038]) of the coordinated transmission information.
Claim 20 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject apparatus claim 11 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275).
With respect to claim 14, as best understood, Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of AP2) transmits a signal (sounding announcement frame and sounding trigger frame of [0033], [0034]) requesting coordinated transmission of the training signal (refer to at least the identified APs and STAs for the sounding operation [0033] and optionally the global indices of [0036]) by including, in the signal, information regarding another terminal that is (e.g. STA3 or STA2 of Fig. 10, identified in addition to STA1) to perform the coordinated transmission with a terminal desired as a transmission destination (STA1) of the coordinated transmission.
Although Liu et al. do not expressly disclose: that is difficult to perform the coordinated transmission, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the reception of the CSI from each of the STAs, and the beam-forming that is performed based on the received CSI, by AP2 to perform the coordinated data packet transmission, as disclosed in at least [0033]-[0044], [0046]-[0047] of Liu et. at least implies that STA2 (in Fig. 10 or Fig. 3 for example) is another terminal that is difficult to perform the coordinated transmission (requires channel status information (CSI) and beam-forming) with terminal STA1 (a terminal desired as transmission destination of the coordinated transmission).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275) in view of Bhanage et al. (US 2021/0022156).
With respect to claim 15, Liu et al. do not disclose: wherein
the communication control unit includes the training signal in a data signal to be subjected to the coordinated transmission.
Implementing coordinated data transmission, Bhanage et al. disclose: a communication control unit (e.g. signal processor(s) 1508 of Fig. 15, [0084] [0087]) includes a training signal in a data signal (lines 3-end [0039] and Fig.3 and Fig. 5. Each data signal (PPDU includes data field 318, lines 1-2 of [0040]) includes a training signal (LTF)) to be subjected to a coordinated transmission (the coordinated transmission of 506A and 506B, and lines 5-6 of [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu et al. based on the cited teachings of Bhanage et al. regarding including a training signal (LTF) in a data signal (PPDU) to be subjected to coordinated transmission, to include the training signal (stacked LTF(s)) in a data signal (PPDU) transmitted by AP2 (and AP1), because as taught by Bhanage it is known and suitable to include a training signal in a data signal to be subjected to coordinated transmission, and use the training signal to perform channel estimation and design beamforming for subsequent coordinated (data) transmission.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275) in view of Bhanage et al. (US 2021/0022156) and further in view of Merlin et al. (US 2016/0262050).
With respect to claim 16, modified Liu et al., Bhanage et al. do not disclose:
wherein the communication control unit adds information requesting measurement of communication quality to a PHY header of the data signal.
Implementing a physical header signal, Merlin et al. disclose: adds information requesting measurement of communication quality to a PHY header of the data signal (device which generates header frame 900, [0087], 920 HE-SIG-C is added,“HE-SIG-C 920 may also comprise information necessary to facilitate the transmission of a request for sounding information (e.g., CSI) from wireless STAs” and [0056] discloses: CSI comprises a received signal strength (corresponding to measurement of communication quality)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu et al. based on the cited teachings of Merlin et al to add information (HE-SIG-C) requesting measurement of communication quality (the CSI of Liu et al. that comprises the channel response and SNR) to a PHY header (HE-SIG-C) of the data signal (HE MU PPDUS), to “facilitate the transmission of a request for sounding information (e.g., CSI) from wireless STAs.” ([0087] of Merlin et al.).
Claims 1-2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275) in view of Feng et al. (US 2021/0126686).
The limitations of claim 1 are rejected based on the reasoning and portions of Liu et al. used to reject method claim 10 above.
Liu et al.do not disclose: a communication control unit (instead discloses a STA that performs the claimed “controls processing…” and the “processing related to…”).
In the same field of endeavor, coordinated transmissions, Feng et al. disclose: a communication control unit (Fig. 8, e.g. refer to apparatus 820 (STA per [0096] and refer to communication control unit comprising processor 822 [0099] and optionally transceiver 826 [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the STA of Liu et al. to have the specific components disclosed by Feng disclosed to implement the STA of Liu et al. to be a smartphone (out of the listed STA devices of: smartphone, smart watch, a personal digital assistant, a digital camera, or a computing equipment such as a tablet computer, a laptop computer or a notebook computer [0097] of Feng) used in the system of Liu et al. that has increased transmission efficiency, enhanced network performance, efficient sounding mechanism and minimal overhead information transmission (Liu et al. [0005]-0007]).
Claims 2, 9 are rejected based on the reasoning used to reject claims 12 and 19 above.
19. Claims 3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275) in view of Feng et al. (US 2021/0126686) and further in view of Schober et al. (US 2021/0212165).
With respect to claim 3, modified Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of the STA) performs control to generate communication (channel) information (CSI of steps 103 also [0033]-[0034]) that is information indicating communication (channel response or channel status per [0033]-[0034]) based on the training signal (the joint sounding signal) and transmit the communication (channel) information to another communication device (CSI to AP2 and AP3 (one of which is the another communication device), lines 13-16 of [0033]).
Modified Liu et al., Feng et al. do not disclose: communication quality information.
Implementing CSI determination and reporting, Schober et al. disclose: communication quality information ([0135] CSI comprises channel coefficients such as channel impulse response and SNR (channel quality information) also refer to lines 1-7 of [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI of Liu et al. based on the cited teachings of Schober et al. to comprise communication quality information (e.g. signal to noise ratio) in addition to the channel response, to help optimize parameters of the communication links of the system of Liu et al. (at least lines 1-7 of [0070] of Schober et al.).
With respect to claim 5, as best understood, modified Liu et al. disclose: wherein in a case where the training signal transmitted at a timing different from the coordinated transmission of the data signal is received (as shown in Fig. 3 of Liu et al., also disclosed in Fig. 1), the communication control unit (of the STA) selects the training signal of a predetermined position (e.g. STA1 selects the training signal of a predetermined position (in the position(s) of the stacked LTFs of Fig. 4 in the sounding (training) packet) and measures communication quality (determines the CSI (that includes SNR), [0034], [0039]).
With respect to claim 6, modified Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of the STA) selects the training signal of the predetermined position on a basis of (e.g. refer to the sounding announcement frame of Fig, 3, also Fig. 1 [0033]) information (identifies the APs and STAs [0033] and starts the process of Fig. 1 which includes the reception of the stacked LTFs and measurement of the CSI) included in an announcement signal received in advance (received by the APs).
With respect to claim 7, modified Liu et al. disclose:
wherein the communication control unit (of the STA) selects the training signal of the predetermined position (selects it for determining communication quality information (CSI and SNR)) on a basis of header information of the training signal (after the preamble 411 information and/or STFs 412 information is/are received).
With respect to claim 8, modified Liu et al. disclose: wherein the communication control unit (of the STA) performs control to transmit the communication quality information for each piece of the coordinated transmission information (the CSI (channel response and SNR) is transmitted to each of the APs participating in the joint (data packet), [0033]-[0034]) transmission) corresponding to the training signal (each of the APs jointly transmit the training signal (Fig.4, at least the stacked LTFs).
20. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0037275) in view of Feng et al. (US 2021/0126686), Schober et al. (US 2021/0212165) and further in view of Bhanage et al. (US 2021/0022156).
With respect to claim 4, modified Liu et al. disclose:
wherein the communication control unit (of the STA) performs control to include the communication quality information (the CSI comprising the channel response and SNR) in a response signal (sounding feedback) and transmit the response signal (to AP2 and AP3).
Modified Liu, Feng et al., Schober et al. do not disclose:
in a case where the training signal is included in a data signal to be subjected to the coordinated transmission.
Implementing coordinated data transmission, Bhanage et al. disclose: a training signal is included in a data signal (lines 3-end [0039] and Fig.3 and Fig. 5. Each data signal (PPDU includes data field 318, lines 1-2 of [0040]) includes a training signal (LTF)) to be subjected to a coordinated transmission (the coordinated transmission of 506A and 506B, and lines 5-6 of [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu et al. based on the cited teachings of Bhanage et al. regarding including a training signal (LTF) in a data signal (PPDU) to be subjected to coordinated transmission, to include the training signal (stacked LTF(s)) in a data signal (PPDU) transmitted by AP2 (and AP1), because as taught by Bhanage it is known and suitable to include a training signal in a data signal to be subjected to coordinated transmission, and use the training signal to perform channel estimation and design beamforming for subsequent coordinated (data) transmission.
Conclusion
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (US 11,641,633) entire document is relevant, and refer to the method of Fig. 7.
Vermani et al. (US 2021/0067214) refer to Fig. 5 and Fig. 19.
Jiang et al. (US 2021/0044333) entire document is relevant and refer to Fig. 4 and 5 disclosing formats of an NPDA and a trigger frame and at least [0011]-[0012], [0016], [0018].
Xia et al. (US 2015/0295629) refer to at least Fig. 8. Fig. 16, Fig. 25 disclose examples of coordinated transmission performed by an AP1 and an AP2.
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 08/05/2026