Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent of claims 18, 19. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 20 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4 line 4 cite “can”, the limitation after “can” is unclear if it is performing or not.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 9, 10, 18-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18848138 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link device comprising:
a first station comprising a transmitter and a receiver and being configured to communicate with a first station of a second multi-link device on a first link (claim 1);
a second station comprising a receiver but no transmitter and being configured to receive data from another first station of the second multi-link device on a second link different from the first link (claim 1); and
circuitry configured to control the first and second stations, wherein the second station is configured to provide the received data to the circuitry and/or the first station (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the first or second station is configured to collect configuration information from the second multi-link device (claim 2, 9) and
wherein the circuitry is configured to configure the second station, based on the collected configuration information, to receive data from a link provided by the second multi-link device and not used by the first station (claim 2, 9).
Regarding claim 3, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first station is configured to
advertise the existence of the second station and its parameters and capabilities to the second multi-link device (claim 10) and
participate in establishing or establish agreements with the second multi-link de- vice on one or more of acknowledgements, encryption parameters and traffic identifiers to link mapping (claim 10).
Regarding claim 4, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 3, wherein said agreements are valid for the second link to the second station of first multi-link device and/or wherein said agreements can be same as on the first link or can be individually set for the second link (claim 11).
Regarding claim 9, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the receiver of the second station supports physical layer data units of only legacy modulation and coding format (claim 12).
Regarding claim 10, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches second multi-link device comprising:
two or more first stations, each comprising a transmitter and a receiver and each being configured to communicate with a first station or a second station of a first multi-link device (claim 1), wherein one of the first stations communicates with a first station of the first multi- link device on a first link and another one of the first stations transmits to a second station of the first multi-link device on a second link, the second station of the first multi-link device comprising a receiver but no transmitter (claim 1); and
circuitry configured to control the two or more first stations (claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches first multi-link method of a first multi-link device comprising:
communicating, by a first station comprising a transmitter and a receiver, with a first station of a second multi-link device on a first link (claim 1);
receiving, by a second station comprising a receiver but no transmitter, data from another first station of the second multi-link device on a second link different from the first link (claim 1); and
controlling the first and second stations (claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches second multi-link method of a second multi-link device comprising:
communicating, by two or more first stations, each comprising a transmitter and a receiver, with a first station or a second station of a first multi-link device (claim 1), wherein one of the first stations communicates with a first station of the first multi-link device on a first link and another one of the first stations transmits to a second station of the first multi-link de- vice on a second link, the second station of the first multi-link device comprising a receiver but no transmitter (claim 1); and
controlling the two or more first stations (claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, the copending Application No. 18848138 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed by a processor, causes the method according to claim 18 or 19 to be performed (claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685).
Regarding claim 1, STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches a first multi-link device comprising:
a first station comprising a transmitter and a receiver and being configured to communicate with a first station of a second multi-link device on a first link (fig. 1, col. 2 lines 26-42, col. 3 lines 39-50, aircraft subsystem 100 may include HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver (ex.—data radio) 130, configured to transmit and receive (via antenna/coupler 110) HFDL data packets 194 on identified HFDL frequencies 190 assigned to known HFDL ground stations 150…aircraft HFDL subsystem 100 may monitor known HFDL ground stations 150 and receive an HDR frequency 192 from HDR-enabled ground station 150. In embodiments, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 of ground station 150 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 via HFDL squitter 194a (zero slot of HFDL slot structure 194) on HFDL frequency 190… HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency);
a second station comprising a receiver but no transmitter and being configured to receive data from another first station of the second multi-link device on a second link different from the first link (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 10-15, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184); and
circuitry configured to control the first and second stations, wherein the second station is configured to provide the received data to the circuitry and/or the first station (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 10-23, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190).
Regarding claim 2, STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the first or second station is configured to collect configuration information from the second multi-link device (col. 2 lines 34-36, HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver 130 can provide HDR downlink capability via HDR frequency 192) and
wherein the circuitry is configured to configure the second station, based on the collected configuration information, to receive data from a link provided by the second multi-link device and not used by the first station (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 10-23, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184).
Regarding claim 5, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the second station is configured to propagate reception status information, indicating the reception status of one or more second data units received from the second multi-link device on the second link, to the first station (col. 3 lines 10-39, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184…HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may acknowledge receipt of an HDR data packet) and
wherein the first station is configured to transmit, upon receipt of the reception status information, a second acknowledgement of receipt of the one or more second data units to the second multi-link device on the first link (col. 3 lines 5-39, HDR system control 186 may then forward the assigned HDR frequency 192 to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission to aircraft 100 via the assigned HFDL frequency 190 of ground station 150…HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184…HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may acknowledge receipt of an HDR data packet).
Regarding claim 8, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1, comprising:
one or more first stations, each configured to communicate with one or more first stations of other multi-link devices and/or other communication devices on different links (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 20-30, 35-45, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190…HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may demodulate or decode HDR data packets or HDR data streams received from multiple aircraft…HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency.); and
one or more second stations, each configured to receive data from one or more first stations of other multi-link devices and/or other communication devices on a link that is different from a link used by one of the first stations of the first multi-link device (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 20-30, 35-45, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190…HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may demodulate or decode HDR data packets or HDR data streams received from multiple aircraft…HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency.).
Regarding claim 9, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the receiver of the second station supports physical layer data units of only legacy modulation and coding format (HFDL-HDR system 200 may include HDR uplink capability as well as downlink capability. In embodiments, propagation conditions may allow aircraft subsystem 100 to receive (ex.—decode, demodulate) HDR packets transmitted via HDR frequency 192 by ground station 150… legacy HFDL transmissions via assigned HFDL frequency 190).
Regarding claim 10, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches second multi-link device comprising:
two or more first stations, each comprising a transmitter and a receiver and each being configured to communicate with a first station or a second station of a first multi-link device (fig. 1,2, aircraft subsystem 100 may include HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver (ex.—data radio) 130, configured to transmit and receive (via antenna/coupler 110) HFDL data packets 194 on identified HFDL frequencies 190 assigned to known HFDL ground stations 150…aircraft HFDL subsystem 100 may monitor known HFDL ground stations 150 and receive an HDR frequency 192 from HDR-enabled ground station 150. In embodiments, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 of ground station 150 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 via HFDL squitter 194a (zero slot of HFDL slot structure 194) on HFDL frequency 190… HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency), wherein one of the first stations communicates with a first station of the first multi- link device on a first link and another one of the first stations transmits to a second station of the first multi-link device on a second link, the second station of the first multi-link device comprising a receiver but no transmitter (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184); and
circuitry configured to control the two or more first stations (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190).
Regarding claim 18, STUDENBERG, Jr. teaches first multi-link method of a first multi-link device comprising:
communicating, by a first station comprising a transmitter and a receiver, with a first station of a second multi-link device on a first link (fig. 1, aircraft subsystem 100 may include HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver (ex.—data radio) 130, configured to transmit and receive (via antenna/coupler 110) HFDL data packets 194 on identified HFDL frequencies 190 assigned to known HFDL ground stations 150…aircraft HFDL subsystem 100 may monitor known HFDL ground stations 150 and receive an HDR frequency 192 from HDR-enabled ground station 150. In embodiments, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 of ground station 150 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 via HFDL squitter 194a (zero slot of HFDL slot structure 194) on HFDL frequency 190… HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency);
receiving, by a second station comprising a receiver but no transmitter, data from another first station of the second multi-link device on a second link different from the first link (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184); and
controlling the first and second stations (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190).
Regarding claim 19, STUDENBERG, Jr. teaches second multi-link method of a second multi-link device comprising:
communicating, by two or more first stations, each comprising a transmitter and a receiver, with a first station or a second station of a first multi-link device (fig. 1,2, aircraft subsystem 100 may include HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver (ex.—data radio) 130, configured to transmit and receive (via antenna/coupler 110) HFDL data packets 194 on identified HFDL frequencies 190 assigned to known HFDL ground stations 150…aircraft HFDL subsystem 100 may monitor known HFDL ground stations 150 and receive an HDR frequency 192 from HDR-enabled ground station 150. In embodiments, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 of ground station 150 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 via HFDL squitter 194a (zero slot of HFDL slot structure 194) on HFDL frequency 190… HDR system control 186 may select (and forward to HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 for transmission) an alternate HDR downlink frequency 192 based on alternate selection parameters, including unexpected interference on the current downlink frequency or reports of HFDL-HDR downlink interference with another assigned use of the current frequency), wherein one of the first stations communicates with a first station of the first multi-link device on a first link and another one of the first stations transmits to a second station of the first multi-link de- vice on a second link, the second station of the first multi-link device comprising a receiver but no transmitter (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184); and
controlling the two or more first stations (fig. 1, HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184… HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190).
Regarding claim 20, STUDENBERG, Jr. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed by a processor, causes the method according to claim 18 or 19 to be performed (col. 4 lines 52-57, hardware, software, and/or firmware).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) in view of SEVIN et al. (US 20240381466 with foreign app. GB 2113205.5 filed on 09/15/2021).
Regarding claim 3, STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first station is configured to
the existence of the second station and its parameters and capabilities to the second multi-link device (HFDL-HDR system 200 may include HDR uplink capability as well as downlink capability) and
participate in establishing or establish agreements with the second multi-link de- vice on one or more of acknowledgements, encryption parameters and traffic identifiers to link mapping (fig. 1, col. 2 lines 40-50, col. 3 lines 10-23, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 at intervals of 32 seconds. In embodiments, HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver 130 may log into a transmitted HDR frequency 192 rather than the standard HFDL frequency 190… HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184).
However, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach advertise.
But, SEVIN et al. (US 20240381466) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches advertise the existence of the second station and its parameters and capabilities to the second multi-link device (par. 58-60, receiving, from a requesting MLD, e.g. a non-AP MLD, a capability declaration that the requesting MLD supports Enhanced Multi-Link, EML, operations…if the capability declares the non-AP MLD supports EMLSR operations or activating an EML Multi-Radio, EMLMR, OM with the requesting MLD if the capability declares the non-AP MLD supports EMLMR operations);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by SEVIN in the system of STUDENBERG to advertise the capacity.
The motivation would have been to provide quick communication setup and compatible communication between devices.
Regarding claim 4, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 3, wherein said agreements are valid for the second link to the second station of first multi-link device and/or wherein said agreements can be same as on the first link or can be individually set for the second link (fig. 1, col. 2 lines 40-50, col. 3 lines 10-23, HFDL receiver/transceiver 182 may broadcast the HDR frequency 192 at intervals of 32 seconds. In embodiments, HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver 130 may log into a transmitted HDR frequency 192 rather than the standard HFDL frequency 190… HDR receiver 184 may then receive HDR packets transmitted by HFDL-HDR receiver/transceiver via the HDR downlink frequency 192 assigned by HDR system control 186 to HDR receiver 184).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) in view of MEHTA (US 20140269461).
Regarding claim 6, TUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) teaches first multi-link device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first station is configured to transmit, after it has received one or more first data units from the second multi-link device on the first link, the second acknowledgement receipt of the one or more first data units (col. 3 lines 20-30, HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may receive and merge simultaneous downlink streams on HDR frequency 192 and HFDL frequency 190… R-HFDL ground station 150 may acknowledge receipt of an HDR data packet).
However, TUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach the second acknowledgement along with a first acknowledgement of receipt of the one or more first data units or to combine the first and second acknowledgements into a single acknowledgement.
But, MEHTA (US 20140269461) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the second acknowledgement along with a first acknowledgement of receipt of the one or more first data units or to combine the first and second acknowledgements into a single acknowledgement (par. 66, 67, first WLAN subsystem 226 and second WLAN subsystem 232 may send acknowledgment messages with regard to the received first portion of frames and the received second portion of frames within a block acknowledgment window in 706).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by MEHTA in the system of STUDENBERG to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and improve throughput.
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STUDENBERG, Jr. et al. (US 9596685) in view of FRASER (US 20200112514).
Regarding claim 11, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 10, wherein a first station is configured, before transmitting a data unit on the second link to the second station requiring a response from the first multi-link device,
wait for reception of a response from the first station on the first link and, once the response is received, initialize its contention window value with a minimum contention value, or
initiate a further transmission and increment its contention window value.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first station is configured, before transmitting a data unit on the second link to the second station requiring a response from the first multi-link device (par. 149, waiting for every acknowledgement before sending the next message),
wait for reception of a response from the first station on the first link and, once the response is received, initialize its contention window value with a minimum contention value (par. 73, the window used by the sender is the minimum of the window the sender would like to set using the TCP (or other protocol) algorithm (of increasing the window size until a packet is dropped, at which point the server's window is halved) and the window size indicated in the acknowledgment sent by the receiver as the maximum amount of data the router (e.g., any one of routers 112a-n) can accept or would like to accept ), or
initiate a further transmission and increment its contention window value (par. 73, the window used by the sender is the minimum of the window the sender would like to set using the TCP (or other protocol) algorithm (of increasing the window size until a packet is dropped, at which point the server's window is halved) and the window size indicated in the acknowledgment sent by the receiver as the maximum amount of data the router (e.g., any one of routers 112a-n) can accept or would like to accept).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 12, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 10, wherein a first station is configured to transmit low-latency data to the second station of the first multi-link device on the second link, irrespective of the state of the first link.
But FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first station is configured to transmit low-latency data to the second station of the first multi-link device on the second link, irrespective of the state of the first link (par. 54, interactive or real-time applications, such as video games, Voice over IP (VOIP), streaming video, etc).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send low latency data.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 13, STUDENBERG, Jr. does teaches second multi-link device as claimed in claim 10, wherein a first station is configured to transmit one or more data units to the second station of the first multi-link device that require no response or that require a response expected to be received via the first link (HDR-HFDL ground station 150 may acknowledge receipt of an HDR data packet).
However, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not teach that require no response.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first station is configured to transmit one or more data units to the second station of the first multi-link device that require no response or that require a response expected to be received via the first link (par. 84, 99, 106, 107, if the receiver receives messages 1, 2, 3, and 5, but has not received message 4, assuming that the receiver ordinarily sends an acknowledgement after every three messages, upon receiving message 3, an acknowledgment of receiving message 3 may be sent).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 14, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 13, wherein said first station is configured to assume said one or more data units that require a response to be lost if a response was received that does not include reception status information of at least one of said one or more data units.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein said first station is configured to assume said one or more data units that require a response to be lost if a response was received that does not include reception status information of at least one of said one or more data units (par. 84, 99, 106, 107, if the receiver receives messages 1, 2, 3, and 5, but has not received message 4, assuming that the receiver ordinarily sends an acknowledgement after every three messages, upon receiving message 3, an acknowledgment of receiving message 3 may be sent).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 15, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 14, wherein said first station is configured to assume said one or more data units to be lost if a response was transmitted by the first station of the first multi-link device with a delay, after the transmission of the one or more data units ended, that is larger than a reception status propagation delay indicating a delay of propagating the reception status information from the second station to the first station of the first multi-link device.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein said first station is configured to assume said one or more data units to be lost if a response was transmitted by the first station of the first multi-link device with a delay, after the transmission of the one or more data units ended, that is larger than a reception status propagation delay indicating a delay of propagating the reception status information from the second station to the first station of the first multi-link device (par. 71, 84, If the acknowledgement does not arrive within a certain time period, the assumption upon which the TCP based software is configured is that messages may be lost, and that the sender automatically retransmits the messages (e.g., if not acknowledgement of the message is received within a predetermined amount of time) in case the message was lost ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 16, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 10, wherein a first station that communicates with the first station of the first multi-link device, is configured to extend its transmission by padding a last data unit transmitted to the first station of the first multi-link device or by transmitting one or more further data units to the first station of the first multi-link device.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first station that communicates with the first station of the first multi-link device, is configured to extend its transmission by padding a last data unit transmitted to the first station of the first multi-link device or by transmitting one or more further data units to the first station of the first multi-link device (par. 87, 91, The window is the maximum amount of data, a device compliant with TCP (or a similar protocol) will send without receiving an acknowledgement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Regarding claim 17, STUDENBERG, Jr. does not explicitly teach second multi-link device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the first station is configured to determine the length of the extension based on a signaled reception status propagation delay indicating a delay of propagating the reception status information from the second station to the first station of the first multi-link device.
But, FRASER (US 20200112514) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first station is configured to determine the length of the extension based on a signaled reception status propagation delay indicating a delay of propagating the reception status information from the second station to the first station of the first multi-link device (par. 80, 81, the round trip time is approximately the time from sending the response to receiving the acknowledgement of the response or the time between sending and acknowledgement and receiving the next message… a window size of window=rate*round-trip-time,).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by FRASER in the system of STUDENBERG, Jr. to send acknowledges.
The motivation would have been to reduce delay for waiting for acknowledgement and improve throughput by control flow of transmission using transmission window.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HUANG et al. (US 20210112615) teaches MPDU of the TID with following SN can be sent on the link for which an acknowledgement of SN x has not been received, if specific conditions are satisfied. One condition can be that a certain amount of time has passed. This time can be the processing delay of the link getting acknowledgement. This time can be explicitly indicated by the multi-link logical entity (par. 82).
AIO et al. (US 20250338186) teaches The EMLSR Delay is information regarding a transition time when the eMLSR mode is performed. In other words, the EMLSR Delay can be said to be information regarding the switching time required for the switching processing for switching from the small PHY unit to the PHY unit. The value of EMLSR Delay is used to determine the padding time of the MU-RTS (par. 117, 191).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 09/27/2026