DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 44, 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHU (US 2024/0064635 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses a method of operating a communications device for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a wireless communications network formed by one or more non-terrestrial network apparatus and one or more non-terrestrial network gateways (satellite, see ¶ 0005-0008), the method comprising
operating in an in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network, wherein in the in-coverage mode of operation the communications device is configured to transmit signals to and/or receive signals from the wireless communications network whilst being within coverage of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is within coverage of the wireless communications network when the communications device is located in a coverage area of one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus which is within coverage of one of the non-terrestrial network gateways (according to configuration information, an entrance of the terminal into a power-saving state, wherein the configuration information is determined based on a coverage state of a service satellite of the terminal, see ¶ 0007),
determining that the communications device will become out of coverage of the wireless communications network at a first time (determining outside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
determining a second time, later than the first time, at which the communications device will next be in coverage of the wireless communications network (determining inside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
transitioning into an out-of-coverage mode of operation at the first time (if the terminal is outside the coverage range of the service satellite, it enters the sleep state, see ¶ 0059), and
transitioning back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network at the second time (If the terminal is within the coverage range of the service satellite, it switches between states according to the cycle, the duration, etc. in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 2, ZHU discloses receiving, from the wireless communications network, an indication of ephemeris information of at least one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus, and calculating the second time based on the indicated ephemeris information (according to the protocol, the terminal itself can determine the above configuration information based on ephemeris information when obtaining the ephemeris information and other information of the service satellite. For example, the time when the terminal enters the power-saving state is determined based on the ephemeris information, see ¶ 0045, 0061, 0062, 0103).
Regarding claim 3, ZHU discloses transmitting, to the wireless communications network, an indication of the second time (according to the protocol, the terminal itself can determine the above configuration information based on ephemeris information when obtaining the ephemeris information and other information of the service satellite. For example, the time when the terminal enters the power-saving state is determined based on the ephemeris information, see ¶ 0045, 0061, 0062, 0103).
Regarding claim 4, ZHU discloses receiving, from the wireless communications network, an indication of the second time, the second time having been calculated by the wireless communications network based on ephemeris information of at least one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus (according to the protocol, the terminal itself can determine the above configuration information based on ephemeris information when obtaining the ephemeris information and other information of the service satellite. For example, the time when the terminal enters the power-saving state is determined based on the ephemeris information, see ¶ 0045, 0061, 0062, 0103).
Regarding claim 5, ZHU discloses receiving, from the wireless communications network, a configuration of a coverage interrupted timer configured to start upon the communications device transitioning into the out-of-coverage mode of operation and to expire at the second time, and transitioning back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network when the coverage interrupted timer expires (the terminal can determine based on the above configuration information the time information for the entrance of the terminal into the power-saving state, such as a starting time, an ending time, or a duration, etc. for the entrance into the power-saving state, The terminal can determine when to enter the power-saving state and when to end the power-saving state based on the above time information, see ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 6, ZHU discloses the communications device becomes out of coverage and in coverage in accordance with a set period, the set period being based on orbit of the one or more non-terrestrial network apparatus (in some embodiments, in the power-saving state, if the terminal is outside the coverage range of the service satellite, it enters the sleep state. If the terminal is within the coverage range of the service satellite, it switches between states according to the cycle, the duration, etc. in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 7, ZHU discloses operating in accordance with a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation comprising a DRX on period during which the communications device operates in the in-coverage mode of operation and a DRX off period during which the communications device operates in the out-of-coverage mode of operation, wherein operating in accordance with the DRX mode of operation comprises switching between the DRX on period and the DRX off period in accordance with the set period (in some embodiments, in the power-saving state, if the terminal is outside the coverage range of the service satellite, it enters the sleep state. If the terminal is within the coverage range of the service satellite, it switches between states according to the cycle, the duration, etc. in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 44, ZHU discloses a communications device comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network formed by one or more non-terrestrial network apparatus and one or more non-terrestrial network gateways, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry to
to operate in an in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network, wherein in the in-coverage mode of operation the communications device is configured to transmit signals to and/or receive signals from the wireless communications network whilst being within coverage of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is within coverage of the wireless communications network when the communications device is located in a coverage area of one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus which is within coverage of one of the non-terrestrial network gateways (according to configuration information, an entrance of the terminal into a power-saving state, wherein the configuration information is determined based on a coverage state of a service satellite of the terminal, see ¶ 0007),
to determine that the communications device will become out of coverage of the wireless communications network at a first time (determining outside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
to determine a second time, later than the first time, at which the communications device will next be in coverage of the wireless communications network (determining inside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
to transition into an out-of-coverage mode of operation at the first time (if the terminal is outside the coverage range of the service satellite, it enters the sleep state, see ¶ 0059), and
to transition back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network at the second time (If the terminal is within the coverage range of the service satellite, it switches between states according to the cycle, the duration, etc. in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 87, ZHU discloses an infrastructure equipment forming part of a wireless communications network formed by one or more non-terrestrial network apparatus and one or more non-terrestrial network gateways, the infrastructure equipment comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device via a first of the non-terrestrial network apparatus, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry
to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from communications device while the communication device is operating in an in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network, wherein in the in-coverage mode of operation the communications device is configured to transmit signals to and/or receive signals from the wireless communications network whilst being within coverage of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is within coverage of the wireless communications network when the communications device is located in a coverage area of one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus which is within coverage of one of the non-terrestrial network gateways (according to configuration information, an entrance of the terminal into a power-saving state, wherein the configuration information is determined based on a coverage state of a service satellite of the terminal, see ¶ 0007),
to determine that the communications device will become out of coverage of the wireless communications network at a first time (determining outside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
to determine a second time, later than the first time, at which the communications device will next be in coverage of the wireless communications network (determining inside of the coverage based on the service satellite according to a cycle, a duration, in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059, 0100, 0101, 0121),
to transition into an out-of-coverage mode of operation at the first time (if the terminal is outside the coverage range of the service satellite, it enters the sleep state, see ¶ 0059), and
to transition back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network at the second time (If the terminal is within the coverage range of the service satellite, it switches between states according to the cycle, the duration, etc. in the DRX configuration, see ¶ 0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SHRESTHA (US 2023/0043459 A1), hereinafter SHRESTHA.
Regarding claim 8, ZHU fails to disclose wherein the out-of-coverage mode of operation is a power saving mode, and wherein the communications device is configured, while in the power saving mode, to stop all communication with the wireless communications network via the access stratum layer.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA discloses if the UE is exiting the power saving state from a PSM, the in-coverage indication may include a tracking area update request, which may be handled by an access stratum (AS) layer and/or a non-access stratum (NAS) layer. For certain aspects, the network may release the UE from a connected state before the coverage gap to trigger the UE into a power saving state during the coverage gap (see ¶ 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SHRESTHA’s teaching in the network taught by ZHU to notify the network the status of the UE -in order to properly service the UE by the serving node NTN 140.
Regarding claim 9, SHRESTHA discloses receiving, from a core network based on the core network being aware of ephemeris information of at least one of the non-terrestrial network apparatus and/or the core network being aware that the communications device will become out of coverage at the first time and remain out of coverage until the second time, non-access stratum, NAS, signalling comprising a configuration of the power saving mode (if the UE is exiting the power saving state from a PSM, the in-coverage indication may include a tracking area update request, which may be handled by an access stratum (AS) layer and/or a non-access stratum (NAS) layer. For certain aspects, the network may release the UE from a connected state before the coverage gap to trigger the UE into a power saving state during the coverage gap, see ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 10, ZHU discloses receiving, from the wireless communications network, access stratum, AS, signalling comprising a configuration of the power saving mode (if the UE is exiting the power saving state from a PSM, the in-coverage indication may include a tracking area update request, which may be handled by an access stratum (AS) layer and/or a non-access stratum (NAS) layer. For certain aspects, the network may release the UE from a connected state before the coverage gap to trigger the UE into a power saving state during the coverage gap, see ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 11, ZHU fails to explicitly disclose transmitting to the wireless communications network, upon transitioning back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network at the second time, an indication that the communications device has transitioned back into the in-coverage mode of operation.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA discloses the at step 812, the UE 104 may send, to the NTN 140, an indication that the UE 104 is in the in-coverage state with the NTN 140. In aspects, the indication may include a radio resource control (RRC) connection request, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE), a tracking area update (TAU) request, and/or a random access channel (RACH) preamble or resource, as further described herein. The indication may inform the NTN 140 of when the communications with the UE 104 can resume (see ¶ 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SHRESTHA’s teaching in the network taught by ZHU to notify the network the status of the UE -in order to properly service the UE by the serving node NTN 140.
Regarding claim 12, SHRESTHA discloses the indication that the communications device has transitioned back into the in-coverage mode of operation comprises an indication of an identifier associated with the communications device (an indication that the UE 104 is in the in-coverage state with the NTN 140. In aspects, the indication may include a radio resource control (RRC) connection request, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE), a tracking area update (TAU) request, and/or a random access channel (RACH) preamble or resource, as further described herein, see ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 13, SHRESTHA discloses the identifier associated with the communications device is a contention free random access, CFRA, preamble, the CFRA preamble having been indicated to the communications device by the wireless communications network in advance of the first time (an indication that the UE 104 is in the in-coverage state with the NTN 140. In aspects, the indication may include a radio resource control (RRC) connection request, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE), a tracking area update (TAU) request, and/or a random access channel (RACH) preamble or resource, as further described herein, see ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 14, SHRESTHA discloses the indication is comprised within a feedback signal transmitted by the communications device to the wireless communications network in response to downlink data received by the communications device before transitioning into the out-of-coverage mode of operation at the first time (the UE 104 may detect the out-of-coverage state based on the discontinuous coverage information received at step 802. In certain cases, the UE 104 may detect the out-of-coverage state based on the lack of communications with the NTN 140, such as the absence of one or more reference signals (e.g., a synchronization signal) from the NTN 140 and/or the absence of paging from the NTN 140 during a certain number of paging occasions, see ¶ 0065).
Regarding claim 15, SHRESTHA discloses the indication is comprised within a header of an uplink signal transmitted by the communications device to the wireless communications network (the indication may include a radio resource control (RRC) connection request, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE), a tracking area update (TAU) request, and/or a random access channel (RACH) preamble or resource, as further described herein, see ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 16, SHRESTHA discloses the indication is comprised within a buffer status report, BSR, indicating a current status of a buffer of the communications device transmitted by the communications device to the wireless communications network (the PUSCH carries data, and may additionally be used to carry a buffer status report (BSR), a power headroom report (PHR), and/or UCI, see ¶ 0207).
Regarding claim 17, ZHU fails to disclose receiving, from the wireless communications network after the second time, a paging message indicating that the communications device is to transition back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA discloses when a UE is in a power saving state (e.g., discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, power saving mode (PSM), or mobile initiated connection only (MICO) mode), the UE may wake up to monitor a certain number of paging occasions (or establish a connection) during an in-coverage state (e.g., at the start of an in-coverage period). As used herein, a power saving state of the UE may refer to a mode in which the UE is using a reduced amount of power such as a DRX cycle (e.g., extended DRX cycle), PSM, or MICO mode, see ¶ 0024.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SHRESTHA’s teaching in the network taught by ZHU to continue proving services to the UE when the UE transit back from out-of-coverage state to in-coverage state.
Regarding claim 18, ZHU fails to disclose determining, while in the out-of-coverage mode of operation, that the communications device has uplink data to transmit to the wireless communications network, storing, while in the out-of-coverage mode of operation, the uplink data in a buffer of the communications device, and transmitting, after transitioning back into the in-coverage mode of operation with the wireless communications network at the second time, the uplink data to the wireless communications network.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA discloses at step 906, the UE 104 may detect that the out-of-coverage state will occur during the remainder of the uplink transmission. For example, the UE 104 may determine that the UE cannot complete the uplink transmission before the coverage gap begins based on the discontinuous coverage information received at step 902 and the remaining uplink data in a buffer( see ¶ 0073); and at step 916, the UE 104 may resume communications with the NTN 140 after exiting the power saving state. For example, if the uplink transmission was interrupted by the coverage gap, the UE 104 may resume transmitting the data to the NTN 140 after exiting the power saving state (see ¶ 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SHRESTHA’s teaching in the network taught by ZHU to continue proving services to the UE when the UE transit back from out-of-coverage state to in-coverage state.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412