Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-11 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: "lighting means for illuminating" in claim 1, Lines 2-3 from bottom.
Because this claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the region" in line 14 and “the building space side” in line 1 from bottom. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear which or where the items are pointed out. Claim 1 is indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the distance" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear which or where the item is pointed out. Claim 5 is indefinite.
Claims 2-7 depending on claim 1 are rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Higashi et al. (US 8, 163,224).
Regarding claim 1, Higashi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, a calibration system for calibrating a building platform system arranged in a building space (e.g., item 2, Fig. 1(a) (i.e., the powder layer forming unit has the building space (col. 2, lines 60-67 and col. 3, lines 1-11))) of an additive manufacturing device (ABSTRACT), wherein the additive manufacturing device has a controllable laser for consolidating material during additive manufacturing on the building platform system (col. 3, lines 12-27 (e.g., items 31, 32, 33 and 34)), and wherein the calibration system comprises a calibration plate (item 4, Fig. 1(a) or 1(b) (i.e., a correction target (col. 3, line 24))) fixable on the building platform system and an optics module (col. 3, lines 12-27 (e.g., items 5, 51 and 52)), characterized in that
- the calibration plate consists of a predetermined base material (e.g., for the correction target 4, an acrylic or a thin steel plate may be used (col. 7, lines 22-24)), the calibration plate having a visible surface on one of its two flat plate sides, which is provided with a surface layer that contrasts in color with the base material (e.g., due to an oxidation process to the surface of the correction target), and
- the optics module comprises an optical detection unit (e.g., item 5, Fig. 1(a) or 1(b) (i.e., an imaging camera (col. 3, lines 22-23))), an optics holder and a support plate for covering the building space of the additive manufacturing device (i.e., as illustrated in Fig. 1(a) or 1(b), the x-y driving mechanism 51 moves the camera 5 to the positions (col. 3, lines 24-26)), wherein the optical detection unit is fastened by means of the optics holder to the support plate in the region of a light passage recess in the support plate for optical image capture of the calibration plate fixed on the building platform system, and wherein lighting means for illuminating the building space are attached to the support plate on the building space side (as shown in Figs. 7(a), 7(b) and 8; the equipment for metal-laser sintering process 1 comprises an illumination unit 8, and takes an image of the correction mark 7 with illumination by the illuminating unit 8. The illumination unit 8 is an incandescent lamp or LEDs (col. 5, lines 49-53)).
Regarding claim 5, Higashi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, the equipment for metal-laser sintering process 1 comprises an imaging camera 5 which takes image of a correction mark formed at a position of a correction target 4 (i.e., the calibration plate), an x-y driving mechanism 51 which moves the imaging camera 5 to positions at which it takes images, and an image processor 52 which processes the images taken by the imaging camera 5 (col. 3, lines 21-27).
Because the imaging camera in the teachings of Higashi is capable of determining the positions of the correction mark formed at the position of the correction target 4, the distance between the correction mark in the correction target and the imaging camera (as a distance sensor) will be determined a swell. Thus, Higashi discloses that, the optics module (i.e., including the imaging camera 5) has one or more sensors, wherein at least one of the sensors is a distance sensor (e.g., a camera) for detecting the distance of the calibration plate fixed on the building platform system to the optical detection unit attached to the building space.
Regarding claim 6, Higashi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, one or more reference mark carriers (item 41a or 41b, Fig. 5(a) or 5(b) (i.e., a counter bore 41a and a through hole 41b (col. 5, lines 7-8))), each with a reference marking (item 7, Fig. 5(a) or 5(b) (i.e., the correction mark 7 (col. 5, lines 2-4))), wherein the reference mark carriers can be fixed in a precise position on the building platform system, and wherein the calibration plate has reference mark recesses which, when the calibration plate is fastened to the building platform system, enable the optical detection unit to view the reference markings of the reference mark carriers fixed to the building platform system (as shown in Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 7, Higashi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, the calibration system has a calibration platform (item 41, Fig. 5(a) or 5(b) (i.e., correction plate 41 (col. 5, lines 5-6))) for fixing the calibration plate to the building platform system, wherein the reference mark carriers (i.e., item 41a or 41b) are installed in a precisely positioned manner on the calibration platform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashi et al. (US 8, 163,224) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-3, Higashi discloses that, for the correction target 4 (i.e., the equivalence to the calibration plate), an acrylic or a thin steel plate may be used (col. 7, lines 22-24). However, Higashi does not explicitly disclose the surface layer on the visible side of the calibration plate is an oxidic conversion layer or a burnished layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the surface layer on the visible side of the calibration plate is an oxidic conversion layer (e.g., due to the exposure of the steel plate (i.e., the calibration plate) to air) or a burnished layer in the calibration plate of Higashi thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the coating layer will provide the desired characteristics to the calibration plate.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashi et al. (US 8, 163,224) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Auyeung et al. (US 9,685,102).
Regarding claim 4, Higashi discloses that, the equipment for metal-laser sintering process 1 comprises an illumination unit 8, and takes an image of the correction mark 7 with illumination by the illuminating unit 8. The illumination unit 8 is an incandescent lamp or LEDs (col. 5, lines 49-53). As illustrated in Fig. 8, the illumination unit 8 is disposed in the building space above the substrate 23. At least, like the imaging camera 5, the illumination unit 8 is capable of being attached to the support plate of the driving mechanism 51 (as shown in Fig. 1).
However, Higashi does not explicitly disclose that the emitting diodes of the LEDs in the illumination unit 8 are uniformly distributed.
In the same field of endeavor, LED lighting with uniform output, Auyeung discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 4A, the LEDs and optical elements are configured such that light from each LED is directed towards an area to be illuminated in a uniform pattern covering the aera (ABSTRACT, lines 1-3 from bottom).
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Higashi to have LED lighting as Auyeung teaches that it is known to have the emitting diodes of the LEDs in the illumination unit are uniformly distributed (e.g., as shown in Fig. 4A). It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741