DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10, 12-15, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You (US 2023/0119824 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 19 and 21, You teaches a method for configuring an uplink positioning reference signal, performed by a terminal (figs. 1, 4, ¶ [0176]), comprising: receiving a message for configuring the uplink positioning reference signal (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0033], the terminal device receives the configuration information of the SRS transmitted by the network device); wherein the message comprises an uplink positioning reference signal configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0033], the terminal device receives the configuration information of the SRS transmitted by the network device), and at least one of: a valid range or a valid time associated with the uplink positioning reference signal configuration (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0090], the validity information includes at least one of a validity period of the configuration information, or valid-area information of the configuration information); the valid range indicates an area range in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0090], ¶ [0095], the granularity of the valid area may be cell, RAN area, tracking area, or SRS-specific area, etc.¶ [0096], ¶ [0098]), and the valid time indicates a period of time in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid.
Regarding claims 12, 20 and 23, You teaches a method for configuring an uplink positioning reference signal, performed by a network device (figs. 1, 5, 6, where it is implicit that the network device comprises a processor and a memory. ¶ [0177]), comprising: sending a message for configuring the uplink positioning reference signal to a terminal (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0032], a network device transmits configuration information of the SRS to a terminal device); wherein the message comprises an uplink positioning reference signal configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal, and at least one of: a valid range or a valid time associated with the uplink positioning reference signal configuration (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0090], the validity information includes at least one of a validity period of the configuration information, or valid-area information of the configuration information); the valid range indicates an area range in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0090], ¶ [0095], the granularity of the valid area may be cell, RAN area, tracking area, or SRS-specific area, etc.¶ [0096], ¶ [0098]), and the valid time indicates a period of time in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid.
Regarding claim 2, You teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the valid range comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a radio access network (RAN) area identifier; or a system message area identifier (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0091], ¶ [0096], the valid-area information includes at least one of at least one cell ID, at least one RAN area ID, at least one tracking area ID, or an SRS-specific area ID. ).
Regarding claim 3, You teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the valid time comprises at least one of: a valid period of time, wherein the valid period of time comprises a valid starting moment and a valid duration; or a valid cut-off moment (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid time). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that You teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0093], Optionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a timer may be set, and the duration of the timer may be set to be the validity period of the configuration information. After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, You teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0060], the SRS configuration information may be added to the RRC release message in the existing communication protocol, or, added to the SRS configuration information element (that is, SRS-config) in the existing communication protocol. ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, You teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid range; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within the valid range (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0099], If the terminal device is not in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is invalid and the transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped.).
Regarding claim 6, You teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the valid range comprises a plurality of forms; and releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within the valid range comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that a current range is not within any of the plurality of forms (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0096], the valid-area information includes at least one of at least one cell ID, at least one RAN area ID, at least one tracking area ID, or an SRS-specific area ID. ¶ [0098], if multiple valid areas are indicated in the valid-area information ¶ [0099], the terminal device may determine, based on a system message, whether the terminal device is in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information. If the terminal device is in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is valid and the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. If the terminal device is not in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is invalid and the transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped).
Regarding claim 7, You teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid time; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that a current moment is not within the valid time (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid time). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that You teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0093], Optionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a timer may be set, and the duration of the timer may be set to be the validity period of the configuration information. After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. Where it is implicit that the terminal determines whether a current moment is within or after the duration of the timer (i.e., before the timer expires or after the timer expires) to determine to whether or not the SRS should be transmitted/stopped, ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, You teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that the current moment is not within the valid time comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that the current moment meets at least one of: the current moment not within the period of time indicated by the valid starting moment and the valid duration; or the current moment exceeding the valid cut-off moment (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid time). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that You teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0093], Optionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a timer may be set, and the duration of the timer may be set to be the validity period of the configuration information. After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 9, You teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising: starting a timer at the valid starting moment, and setting a duration of the timer to the valid duration; and releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the timer expires (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid time). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that You teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0093], Optionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a timer may be set, and the duration of the timer may be set to be the validity period of the configuration information. After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information.).
Regarding claim 10, You teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid range and the valid time; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within at least one of: the valid range or the valid time (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0090], the validity information includes at least one of a validity period of the configuration information, or valid-area information of the configuration information. ¶ [0093], After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. ¶ [0099], If the terminal device is not in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is invalid and the transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped).
Regarding claim 13, You teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the valid range comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a radio access network (RAN) area identifier; or a system message area identifier (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0091], ¶ [0096], the valid-area information includes at least one of at least one cell ID, at least one RAN area ID, at least one tracking area ID, or an SRS-specific area ID).
Regarding claim 14, You teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the valid time comprises at least one of: a valid period of time, wherein the valid period of time comprises a valid starting moment and a valid duration; or a valid cut-off moment (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid time). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that You teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0093], Optionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a timer may be set, and the duration of the timer may be set to be the validity period of the configuration information. After the timer expires, the configuration information is considered invalid, and transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped. Before the timer expires, the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, You teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0060], the SRS configuration information may be added to the RRC release message in the existing communication protocol, or, added to the SRS configuration information element (that is, SRS-config) in the existing communication protocol. ¶ [0062]).
5. Claims 1-10, 12-15, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quan et al. (US 2023/0300942 A1, hereinafter “Quan”).
Regarding claims 1, 19 and 21, Quan teaches a method for configuring an uplink positioning reference signal, performed by a terminal (figs. 1, 11, 14, ¶ [0364]), comprising: receiving a message for configuring the uplink positioning reference signal (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0182], when the base station transmits the RRC connection release message to the UE, the RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information, ¶ [0184], ¶ [0195]); wherein the message comprises an uplink positioning reference signal configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0182], the RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information ¶ [0185], ¶ [0188], a valid positioning area), and at least one of: a valid range or a valid time associated with the uplink positioning reference signal configuration (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0185], ¶ [0186] a valid duration configured for the SRS resource; ¶ [0187] absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS); the valid range indicates an area range in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid, and the valid time indicates a period of time in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0223], ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0225]-¶ [0226]).
Regarding claims 12, 20 and 23, Quan teaches a method for configuring an uplink positioning reference signal, performed by a network device (figs. 1, 10, 12, 13, ¶ [0342]), comprising: sending a message for configuring the uplink positioning reference signal to a terminal (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0182], when the base station transmits the RRC connection release message to the UE, the RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information, ¶ [0184]. ¶ [0195]); wherein the message comprises an uplink positioning reference signal configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal, and at least one of: a valid range or a valid time associated with the uplink positioning reference signal configuration (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0182], the RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information ¶ [0185], ¶ [0186] a valid duration configured for the SRS resource; ¶ [0187] absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS); the valid range indicates an area range in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid, and the valid time indicates a period of time in which the uplink positioning reference signal configuration is valid (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0223], ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0225]-¶ [0226]).
Regarding claim 2, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the valid range comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a radio access network (RAN) area identifier; or a system message area identifier (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid range). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that Quan teaches the optional limitation. See figs.1, 5, ¶ [0188], a valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource, such as any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or a radio access network notification area).
Regarding claim 3, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the valid time comprises at least one of: a valid period of time, wherein the valid period of time comprises a valid starting moment and a valid duration; or a valid cut-off moment (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], [0241]. ¶ [0223], the UE determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when determines the valid duration is invalid. ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. [0225] When the timer runs out of time, the UE stops transmitting the SRS).
Regarding claim 4, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0184]).
Regarding claim 5, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid range; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within the valid range (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid range). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that Quan teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], the determining that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached, includes: [0241] determining that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when the UE determines that any one of the following conditions is met: the valid duration being invalid, leaving the valid positioning area or the SRS resource being used up to the quantity of using times. ¶ [0246]).
Regarding claim 6, Quan teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the valid range comprises a plurality of forms; and releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within the valid range comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that a current range is not within any of the plurality of forms (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid range). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that Quan teaches the optional limitation. See figs. 1, 5, the determining that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached, includes: [0241]. ¶ [0246], The UE, when moving beyond the valid positioning area, stops transmitting the SRS).
Regarding claim 7, Quan teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid time; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that a current moment is not within the valid time (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], [0241]. ¶ [0223], the UE determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when determines the valid duration is invalid. ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0225] When the timer runs out of time, the UE stops transmitting the SRS. ¶ [0226], ¶ [0227] a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit the SRS, such as 500 milliseconds, 30 seconds, 40 minutes, 1 hour, etc., that is, the UE starts timing from the moment when it starts to transmit the SRS, and stops transmitting the SRS when a timing duration reaches the duration. Where it is implicit that the terminal determines whether a current moment is within or after the duration of the timer (i.e., before the timer expires or after the timer expires) to determine to whether or not the SRS should be transmitted/stopped).
Regarding claim 8, Quan teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that the current moment is not within the valid time comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal determines that the current moment meets at least one of: the current moment not within the period of time indicated by the valid starting moment and the valid duration; or the current moment exceeding the valid cut-off moment (See figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], [0241]. ¶ [0223], the UE determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when determines the valid duration is invalid. ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0225] When the timer runs out of time, the UE stops transmitting the SRS. ¶ [0226], ¶ [0227] a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit the SRS, such as 500 milliseconds, 30 seconds, 40 minutes, 1 hour, etc., that is, the UE starts timing from the moment when it starts to transmit the SRS, and stops transmitting the SRS when a timing duration reaches the duration).
Regarding claim 9, Quan teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising: starting a timer at the valid starting moment, and setting a duration of the timer to the valid duration; and releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the timer expires (See figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], [0241]. ¶ [0223], the UE determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when determines the valid duration is invalid. ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0225] When the timer runs out of time, the UE stops transmitting the SRS. ¶ [0226], ¶ [0227] a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit the SRS, such as 500 milliseconds, 30 seconds, 40 minutes, 1 hour, etc., that is, the UE starts timing from the moment when it starts to transmit the SRS, and stops transmitting the SRS when a timing duration reaches the duration).
Regarding claim 10, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the uplink positioning reference signal comprises the valid range and the valid time; and the method further comprises: releasing the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal is not within at least one of: the valid range or the valid time (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], ¶ [0241], determining that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached, includes: [0241] determining that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when the UE determines that any one of the following conditions is met: the valid duration being invalid, leaving the valid positioning area).
Regarding claim 13, Quan teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the valid range comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a radio access network (RAN) area identifier; or a system message area identifier (Note: the claim further limits the optional limitation (i.e., valid range). However, in the interest of compact prosecution examiner provides that Quan teaches the optional limitation. See figs.1, 5, ¶ [0188], a valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource, such as any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or a radio access network notification area).
Regarding claim 14, Quan teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the valid time comprises at least one of: a valid period of time, wherein the valid period of time comprises a valid starting moment and a valid duration; or a valid cut-off moment (See figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0240], [0241]. ¶ [0223], the UE determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached when determines the valid duration is invalid. ¶ [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. [0225] When the timer runs out of time, the UE stops transmitting the SRS).
Regarding claim 15, Quan teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0184]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You in view of Rao et al. (US 2025/0151012 A1, hereinafter “Rao”).
Regarding claim 11, You teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to the terminal receiving the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via a radio resource control (RRC) message, and the uplink positioning reference signal is a periodic reference signal, starting to send the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal enters an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0040], the periodic SRS may indicate a first periodicity of transmitting the SRS. ¶ [0041], ¶ [0062], the first dedicated signaling may be a radio resource control (RRC) signaling. ¶ [0063], ¶ [0065], the terminal device can transmit the SRS in the non-connected state according to the received SRS configuration. Thus the terminal device can transmit the SRS in the idle state or the inactive state.).
You does not explicitly teach terminal receiving the uplink positioning reference signal configuration to the terminal via an RRC reconfiguration message.
However, it is well known in the art to receive the uplink reference signal configuration, at the terminal, via an RRC reconfiguration message, as evidenced by ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067] ¶ [0130] (of provisional application 63/308,405) of Rao.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, at the terminal, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message in the system of You to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claim 16, You teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising: in response to the network device sending the uplink positioning reference signal configuration to the terminal via a radio resource control (RRC) message, and the uplink positioning reference signal is a periodic reference signal, receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal when the terminal enters an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0096], the valid-area information includes at least one of at least one cell ID, at least one RAN area ID, at least one tracking area ID, or an SRS-specific area ID. ¶ [0098], if multiple valid areas are indicated in the valid-area information ¶ [0099], the terminal device may determine, based on a system message, whether the terminal device is in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information. If the terminal device is in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is valid and the SRS may be transmitted according to the configuration information. If the terminal device is not in the valid area indicated by the valid-area information, the configuration information is invalid and the transmission of the SRS according to the configuration information will be stopped).
You does not explicitly teach sending the uplink positioning reference signal configuration to the terminal via an RRC reconfiguration message.
However, it is well known in the art to send, to the terminal, the uplink reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message, as evidenced by ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067] ¶ [0130] (of provisional application 63/308,405) of Rao.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send, to the terminal, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message in the system of You to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
9. Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Rao.
Regarding claim 11, Quan teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to the terminal receiving the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via a radio resource control (RRC) message, and the uplink positioning reference signal is a periodic reference signal, starting to send the uplink positioning reference signal when the terminal enters an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0185]-¶ [0188], ¶ [0191], [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0244], when the UE currently is in the inactive state, and determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached).
Quan does not explicitly teach terminal receiving the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message.
However, it is well known in the art to receive the uplink reference signal configuration at the terminal via an RRC reconfiguration message, as evidenced by ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067] ¶ [0130] (of provisional application 63/308,405) of Rao.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, at the terminal, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message in the system of Quan to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Quan teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising: in response to the network device sending the uplink positioning reference signal configuration to the terminal via a radio resource control (RRC) message, and the uplink positioning reference signal is a periodic reference signal, receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal when the terminal enters an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (figs. 1, 5, ¶ [0185]-¶ [0188], ¶ [0191], [0224] The SRS configuration information contains the valid duration, the UE enables a timer when entering the idle state, and a timing length of the timer is the valid duration length. Before the timer runs out of time, the UE transmits the SRS according to the configured SRS cycle. ¶ [0244], when the UE currently is in the inactive state, and determines that the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached).
Quan does not explicitly teach sending the uplink positioning reference signal configuration to the terminal via an RRC reconfiguration message.
However, it is well known in the art to send, to the terminal, the uplink reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message, as evidenced by ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067] ¶ [0130] (of provisional application 63/308,405) of Rao.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send, to the terminal, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration via an RRC reconfiguration message in the system of Quan to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477