DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,683,230 to Karppinen in view of U. S. Patent 9,341,183 to Carruth.
Referring to claim 1, Karppinen teaches a pressure medium powered device configured to generate a reciprocating motion, the pressure medium powered device comprising:
a body (2), a primary piston (3) fitted inside the body (2), a control valve assembly (8, 9) which is configured to move the primary piston (3) back and forth, and at least one secondary piston (14, 15) attached to the primary piston (3) via a connector (“threaded screw-type connection”) (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25),
wherein the primary piston (3) includes a first threaded surface and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) includes a corresponding second threaded surface, the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) being aligned to each other, and wherein the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are immovably attached to each other (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), but is silent as to the details of this connector. Carruth teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
a primary piston (94) includes a first conical surface (100) and at least one secondary piston (12) includes a corresponding second conical surface (84), the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) being aligned to each other via the first conical surface (100) and the second conical surface (84), a connector (90, 98) that attaches the at least one secondary piston (12) to the primary piston (94) being separate from the first (100) and second (84) conical surfaces that align the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) to each other (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify threaded connection taught by Karppinen with the threaded connection (connector) taught by Carruth in order to use a connection that will pull tight and align the connection when screwed together, and because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the connection and taper of Carruth, for another, the connection of Karppinen, to obtain predictable results, a secure connection, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 2, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
a central axis of the primary piston (3) and a central axis of the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are on a same axis line (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Referring to claim 3, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the end of the at least one secondary piston (12) is fitted inside the primary piston (94), such that the conical surface of the primary piston (94) is the inner surface of a cone and the conical surface of the at least one secondary piston (12) is the outer surface of the cone (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 4, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
a front surface of the primary surface piston (3) facing the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) does not touch the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) (Figures 1-3, wherein Fig. 2 shows surfaces of the primary piston 3, comprising 12 and 7, which are radially larger than the secondary pistons and therefore not touch the at least one secondary piston 14, 15; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Referring to claim 5, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are attached to each other by a thread connection (Fig. 2; col. 2 lines 20-21).
Referring to claim 6, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is at least 1:20 (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 7, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is no more than 1:1 (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 8, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but do not teach the use as a booster pump. However, it has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). The recitation of the device used as a booster pump is a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
Referring to claim 9, Karppinen teaches a pump configured to generate a reciprocating motion, the pump comprising:
a body (2), a primary piston (3) fitted inside the body (2), a control valve assembly (8, 9) configured to move the primary piston (3) back and forth, and at least one secondary piston (14, 15) attached to the primary piston (3) via a connector (“threaded screw-type connection”) (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25),
wherein the primary piston (3) includes a first surface and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) includes a corresponding second surface, the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) being aligned to each other (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25), and
wherein a front surface of the primary surface piston (3) facing the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) does not touch the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) (Figures 1-3, wherein Fig. 2 shows surfaces of the primary piston 3, comprising 12 and 7, which are radially larger than the secondary pistons and therefore not touch the at least one secondary piston 14, 15; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), but is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
a primary piston (94) includes a first conical (100) and at least one secondary piston (12) includes a corresponding second conical surface (84), the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) being aligned to each other via the first conical surface (100) and the second conical surface (84), a connector (90, 98) that attaches the at least one secondary piston (12) to the primary piston (94) being separate from the first (100) and second (84) conical surfaces that align the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) to each other (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify threaded connection taught by Karppinen with the threaded connection taught by Carruth in order to use a connection that will pull tight and align the connection when screwed together, and because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the connection and taper of Carruth, for another, the connection of Karppinen, to obtain predictable results, a secure connection, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 10, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
a central axis of the primary piston (3) and a central axis of the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are on a same axis line (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Referring to claim 11, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the end of the at least one secondary piston (12) is fitted inside the primary piston (94), such that the conical surface of the primary piston (94) is the inner surface of a cone and the conical surface of the at least one secondary piston (12) is the outer surface of the cone (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 12, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are attached to each other by a thread connection (Fig. 2; col. 2 lines 20-21).
Referring to claim 13, Karppinen teaches a pressure medium powered device configured to generate a reciprocating motion, the pressure medium powered device comprising:
a body (2), a primary piston (3) fitted inside the body (2), a control valve assembly (8, 9) configured to move the primary piston (3) back and forth, and at least one secondary piston (14, 15) attached to the primary piston (3) (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25),
wherein the primary piston (3) includes a first threaded surface and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) includes a corresponding second threaded surface, the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) being aligned to each other (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), but is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
a primary piston (94) includes a first conical (100) and at least one secondary piston (12) includes a corresponding second conical surface (84), the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) being aligned to each other via the first conical surface (100) and the second conical surface (84), a connector (90, 98) that attaches the at least one secondary piston (12) to the primary piston (94) being separate from the first (100) and second (84) conical surfaces that align the primary piston (94) and the at least one secondary piston (12) to each other, wherein the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is at least 1:20 or the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is no more than 1:1 (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify threaded connection taught by Karppinen with the threaded connection taught by Carruth in order to use a connection that will pull tight and align the connection when screwed together, and because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the connection and taper of Carruth, for another, the connection of Karppinen, to obtain predictable results, a secure connection, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 14, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
a central axis of the primary piston (3) and a central axis of the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are on a same axis line (Figures 1-3; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Referring to claim 15, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the end of the at least one secondary piston (12) is fitted inside the primary piston (94), such that the conical surface of the primary piston (94) is the inner surface of a cone and the conical surface of the at least one secondary piston (12) is the outer surface of the cone (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 16, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
the primary piston (3) and the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) are attached to each other by a thread connection (Fig. 2; col. 2 lines 20-21).
Referring to claim 17, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and Karppinen further teaches wherein:
wherein a front surface of the primary surface piston (3) facing the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) does not touch the at least one secondary piston (14, 15) (Figures 1-3, wherein Fig. 2 shows surfaces of the primary piston 3, comprising 12 and 7, which are radially larger than the secondary pistons and therefore not touch the at least one secondary piston 14, 15; col. 2 line 8-col. 3 line 25).
Referring to claim 18, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is at least 1:20 (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Referring to claim 19, Karppinen and Carruth teach a pressure medium powered device comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and while Karppinen teaches that the pistons are attached by threaded surfaces (col. 2 lines 20-21), Karppinen is silent as to the details of the threaded surfaces. Carruth further teaches threaded surfaces wherein:
the conical ratio of the conical surfaces is no more than 1:1 (Fig. 7; col. 5 line 66 - col. 6 line 23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 3, 2026 have been considered but, are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746