DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1; there appears to be typographical error “a said provided application function key” of -- a provided application function key --. Further, the steps of a method claim should be separated by semicolon. Further, the “and” in line 14 should be deleted and at the end of line 16, there should be “and”. Further, the limitation “the use of the AF” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claims 2 – 6 are dependent claims and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 3; the limitation “the concerned AF” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4; there appear to be a typographical error “the method according to claim”, and “an Home Public Land Mobile Network” of -- the method according to claim 1 -- and -- a Home Public Land Mobile Network -- respectively. Further, the limitation “the provisioning of the application function key” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 6; the limitations “the other entity”, and “the encrypting entity” lack proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7; the first occurrence of the acronym “PLMN” should be spelled out. Further, there should be a “and” at the end of line 10. Further, the limitation “the use of the AF” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8; the limitations “the result” and “the use of the AF” lack proper antecedent basis. Further, the first occurrence of the acronym “PLMN” should be spelled out.
Claim 9 is a dependent claim and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 9; there should be a “and” at end of line 17 of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: encryption/decryption module adapted to encrypt…to decrypt, a reception/transmission module adapted to send…to receive, and a processing module adapted to compare…in claims 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKARMI et al., (US 2019/0246275 A1) (hereinafter “NAKARMI”) in view of Wang et al., (US 2021/0274345 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, NAKARMI discloses; a method to enable lawful interception of activities of a user equipment UE [i.e., the operation 108 may be an operation related to a lawful interception of the UE (page 4, para 0040), (page 2, para 0022), (see figure 1), (page 5, para 0047)], while the UE is in a roaming situation with a visited Public Land Mobile Network PLMN [i.e., the UE 102 is being served by a servicing PLMN 112 other than the home PLMN 114 (see figure 1), (page 2, para 0032 – page 3, para 0035) Note; this architecture in figure 1 clearly depicts roaming situation] using a parameter [i.e., secret identifier 110 (see figure 1)] known by both UE and visited PLMN [i.e., the secret identifier is a secret that is shared (emphasis added) between the UE and network node of the servicing PLMN 112 (see ref. 202 of figure 2), (page 2, para 0033), (see figure 1) i.e., the secret identifier 110 may comprise a Global Unique Temporary Identity (GUTI) (page 3, para 0038], said visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes [i.e., the operation 108 may be an operation related to a lawful interception of the UE (page 4, para 0040), (page 2, para 0022), (see figure 1)], said method comprising the steps of, respectively, for the UE or for the visited PLMN:
sending the parameter known by both UE and visited PLMN encrypted [i.e., encrypt the secret identifier 110 (page 5, para 0047 and 0048)] with, respectively, the key or the provided key [i.e., encrypting the secret identifier with the first symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0047 and 0048)], to, respectively, the visited PLMN, and for, respectively, the visited PLMN, which received the encrypted parameter [i.e., send this public identifier, encrypted with the public key, to the network node 106 of the servicing PLMN 112 (page 5, para 0047 and 0048), (see figure 1)]:
decrypting the encrypted parameter with, respectively, the provided key or the key [i.e., decrypts the public identifier with the second symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0049) i.e., the second symmetric key is the same as the first symmetric key (page 5, para 0048)], and
comparing the decrypted parameter with the parameter as known by, respectively, the visited PLMN which received the encrypted parameter [i.e., compares the decrypted public identifier with the secret identifier (page 5, para 0047 and para 0049)],
authorizing only if the comparison shows that both parameters are the same [i.e., this comparison may result in a determination by the network node 106 that the encrypted secret identifier and the public identifier match. Such a match may indicate that the verification has succeeded (page 5, para 0047)].
NAKARMI does disclose;
with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology, said activities using an AF key, visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes, with a said provided application function key, encrypted the AF key or the provided AF key and decrypting with the provided AF key or the AF key.
However, Wang discloses;
a method to enable interception of activities of a user equipment UE with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology [i.e., authentication and key management for application (AKMA) as bootstrapping security between a UE and an application function (AF) (page 1, para 0003 – 0004) i.e., AKMA is described as an evolution of Generic Bootstrapping Architecture (GBA) (page 1, para 0004) i.e., AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) described as analogous to the Bootstrapping Server Function (BSF) in GBA (page 1, para 0006)], said activities using an AF key [i.e., KAF: The AF specific key…application key (page 1, para 0011) i.e., secure communication is established between the UE and the application based on the K_AF (page 1, para 0013)], visited PLMN having been provided, with a said provided application function key [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)], performing the AF key or the provided AF key [i.e., UE derives the same K_AF as the AAnF and AF…UE verifies integrity of AF responses using K_AF (MAC verification)…secured UE-AF communication is then established based on K_AF (page 1, para 0012) Note; performing secured application communication using the AF key].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 2, NAKARMI discloses; the method according to claim 1, wherein the parameter known by both UE and the visited PLMN is a Generic Universal Temporary Identifier GUTI [i.e., the secret identifier 110 may comprise a Global Unique Temporary Identity (GUTI) (page 3, para 0038].
Regarding claim 3, NAKARMI discloses; the method according to claim 1 [i.e., (see claim 1 above)].
NAKARMI does disclose;
wherein an application function identifier to identify the concerned AF is included in exchanges between the UE and the visited PLMN.
However, Wang discloses;
an application function identifier to identify the concerned AF is included in exchanges between the UE and the visited PLMN [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 4, NAKARMI discloses; the method according to claim, wherein the UE having an Home Public Land Mobile Network PLMN [i.e., a home PLMN for a the UE 102 (page 2, para 0032), (see figure 1)].
NAKARMI does not disclose;
the provisioning of the application function key is done by the Home PLMN.
However, Wang discloses;
provisioning of the application function key is done by the Home PLMN [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 5, NAKARMI discloses; the method according to claim 1 [i.e., (see claim 1 above)].
NAKARMI does not disclose;
wherein the bootstrapping technology implementing an Anchor Function in PLMN, said anchor function storing application function keys resulting from bootstrapping technology, the steps as performed by the visited PLMN are performed by the Anchor Function of the visited PLMN.
However, Wang discloses;
the bootstrapping technology implementing an Anchor Function in PLMN, said anchor function storing application function keys resulting from bootstrapping technology, the steps as performed by the visited PLMN are performed by the Anchor Function of the visited PLMN [i.e., AAnF is the anchor function the Home PLMN (HPLM) for key material generation (page 1, para 0006)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 6, NAKARMI discloses; the method according to claim 1, wherein the roaming situation using an access management function, the step of, for the entity which encrypts the parameter known by both UE and the visited PLMN, sending the encrypted parameter to the other entity, comprises a sub-step of, for the encrypting entity, to send the encrypted parameter to the access management function which forwards it to the other entity [i.e., this comparison may result in a determination by the network node 106 that the encrypted secret identifier and the public identifier match. Such a match may indicate that the verification has succeeded (page 5, para 0047)].
Regarding claim 7, NAKARMI discloses; a user equipment UE [i.e., UE 102] having roaming features with a visited PLMN [i.e., the UE 102 is being served by a servicing PLMN 112 other than the home PLMN 114 (see figure 1), (page 2, para 0032 – page 3, para 0035) Note; this architecture in figure 1 clearly depicts roaming situation] using a parameter [i.e., secret identifier 110 (see figure 1)] known by both UE and visited PLMN [i.e., the secret identifier is a secret that is shared (emphasis added) between the UE and network node of the servicing PLMN 112 (see ref. 202 of figure 2), (page 2, para 0033), (see figure 1) i.e., the secret identifier 110 may comprise a Global Unique Temporary Identity (GUTI) (page 3, para 0038] and having a duty to enable lawful interception of its activities [i.e., the operation 108 may be an operation related to a lawful interception of the UE (page 4, para 0040), (page 2, para 0022), (see figure 1), (page 5, para 0047)], said UE comprising:
an encryption module adapted to encrypt the parameter known by both UE and visited PLMN [i.e., encrypt the secret identifier 110 (page 5, para 0047 and 0048)] using the stored key [i.e., encrypting the secret identifier with the first symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0047 and 0048)] and/or to decrypt a received encrypted parameter using the stored AF key,
a transmission module adapted to send the encrypted parameter to the visited PLMN [i.e., send this public identifier, encrypted with the public key, to the network node 106 of the servicing PLMN 112 (page 5, para 0047 and 0048), (see figure 1)],
a processing module adapted to compare a decrypted parameter with the parameter as known by the UE in the case where the parameter is decrypted [i.e., compares the decrypted public identifier with the secret identifier (page 5, para 0047 and para 0049)], the transmission module being, in this case, further adapted to send the result of the comparison to an access management function for it to authorize only if the comparison shows that both parameters are the same [i.e., this comparison may result in a determination by the network node 106 that the encrypted secret identifier and the public identifier match. Such a match may indicate that the verification has succeeded (page 5, para 0047)].
NAKARMI does disclose;
with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology, said activities using an AF key, visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes, with a said provided application function key, encrypted the AF key or the provided AF key and decrypting with the provided AF key or the AF key.
However, Wang discloses;
a method to enable interception of activities of a user equipment UE with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology [i.e., authentication and key management for application (AKMA) as bootstrapping security between a UE and an application function (AF) (page 1, para 0003 – 0004) i.e., AKMA is described as an evolution of Generic Bootstrapping Architecture (GBA) (page 1, para 0004) i.e., AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) described as analogous to the Bootstrapping Server Function (BSF) in GBA (page 1, para 0006)], said activities using an AF key [i.e., KAF: The AF specific key…application key (page 1, para 0011) i.e., secure communication is established between the UE and the application based on the K_AF (page 1, para 0013)], visited PLMN having been provided, with a said provided application function key [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)], performing the AF key or the provided AF key [i.e., UE derives the same K_AF as the AAnF and AF…UE verifies integrity of AF responses using K_AF (MAC verification)…secured UE-AF communication is then established based on K_AF (page 1, para 0012) Note; performing secured application communication using the AF key].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 8, NAKARMI discloses; a PLMN [i.e., serving PLMN 112 (see figure 1), (page 2, para 0032)] adapted to attach a user equipment UE in a roaming situation as a visited Public Land Mobile Network PLMN [i.e., the UE 102 is being served by a servicing PLMN 112 other than the home PLMN 114 (see figure 1), (page 2, para 0032 – page 3, para 0035) Note; this architecture in figure 1 clearly depicts roaming situation] using a parameter [i.e., secret identifier 110 (see figure 1)] known by both UE and itself as a visited PLMN [i.e., the secret identifier is a secret that is shared (emphasis added) between the UE and network node of the servicing PLMN 112 (see ref. 202 of figure 2), (page 2, para 0033), (see figure 1) i.e., the secret identifier 110 may comprise a Global Unique Temporary Identity (GUTI) (page 3, para 0038] and adapted to enable lawful interception of activities of the UE [i.e., the operation 108 may be an operation related to a lawful interception of the UE (page 4, para 0040), (page 2, para 0022), (see figure 1)], said PLMN further comprising:
a decryption module adapted to decrypt a received encrypted parameter using the provided key [i.e., decrypts the public identifier with the second symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0049) i.e., the second symmetric key is the same as the first symmetric key (page 5, para 0048)],
reception module adapted or to receive the encrypted parameter from the UE [i.e., send this public identifier, encrypted with the public key, to the network node 106 of the servicing PLMN 112 (page 5, para 0047 and 0048), (see figure 1)],
a processing module adapted to compare a decrypted parameter with the parameter as known by PLMN in the case where the parameter is decrypted by the PLMN [i.e., compares the decrypted public identifier with the secret identifier (page 5, para 0047 and para 0049)], the reception/transmission module being, in this case, further adapted to send the result of the comparison to an access management function for it to authorize only if the comparison shows that both parameter are the same [i.e., this comparison may result in a determination by the network node 106 that the encrypted secret identifier and the public identifier match. Such a match may indicate that the verification has succeeded (page 5, para 0047)].
NAKARMI does disclose;
with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology, said activities using an AF key, visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes, with a said provided application function key, encrypted the AF key or the provided AF key and decrypting with the provided AF key or the AF key.
However, Wang discloses;
a method to enable interception of activities of a user equipment UE with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology [i.e., authentication and key management for application (AKMA) as bootstrapping security between a UE and an application function (AF) (page 1, para 0003 – 0004) i.e., AKMA is described as an evolution of Generic Bootstrapping Architecture (GBA) (page 1, para 0004) i.e., AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) described as analogous to the Bootstrapping Server Function (BSF) in GBA (page 1, para 0006)], said activities using an AF key [i.e., KAF: The AF specific key…application key (page 1, para 0011) i.e., secure communication is established between the UE and the application based on the K_AF (page 1, para 0013)], visited PLMN having been provided, with a said provided application function key [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)], performing the AF key or the provided AF key [i.e., UE derives the same K_AF as the AAnF and AF…UE verifies integrity of AF responses using K_AF (MAC verification)…secured UE-AF communication is then established based on K_AF (page 1, para 0012) Note; performing secured application communication using the AF key].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Regarding claim 9, NAKARMI discloses; the PLMN according to claim 8, said PLMN having Function to enable lawful interception of activities of a user equipment UE, while the UE is in a roaming situation with a visited Public Land Mobile Network PLMN using a parameter known by both UE and visited PLMN, said visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes, with a said provided application function key respectively, for the UE or for the visited PLMN, by:
sending the parameter known by both UE and visited PLMN encrypted with, respectively, the key or the provided key, to, respectively, the visited PLMN or the UE, and for, respectively, the visited PLMN or the UE, which received the encrypted parameter [i.e., encrypting the secret identifier with the first symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0047 and 0048)]:
decrypting the encrypted parameter with, respectively, the provided key or the key [i.e., decrypts the public identifier with the second symmetric encryption key (page 5, para 0049) i.e., the second symmetric key is the same as the first symmetric key (page 5, para 0048)], and
comparing the decrypted parameter with the parameter as known by, respectively, the visited PLMN or the UE which received the encrypted parameter [i.e., compares the decrypted public identifier with the secret identifier (page 5, para 0047 and para 0049)],
authorizing the use of the AF only if the comparison shows that both parameters are the same [i.e., this comparison may result in a determination by the network node 106 that the encrypted secret identifier and the public identifier match. Such a match may indicate that the verification has succeeded (page 5, para 0047)].
NAKARMI does disclose;
A bootstrapping Anchor function, with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology, said activities using an AF key, visited PLMN having been provided, for lawful interception purposes, with a said provided application function key, encrypted the AF key or the provided AF key and decrypting with the provided AF key or the AF key.
However, Wang discloses;
a bootstrapping Anchor function [i.e., AAnF is the anchor function the Home PLMN (HPLM) for key material generation (page 1, para 0006)] a method to enable interception of activities of a user equipment UE with an application function AF associated to a bootstrapping technology [i.e., authentication and key management for application (AKMA) as bootstrapping security between a UE and an application function (AF) (page 1, para 0003 – 0004) i.e., AKMA is described as an evolution of Generic Bootstrapping Architecture (GBA) (page 1, para 0004) i.e., AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) described as analogous to the Bootstrapping Server Function (BSF) in GBA (page 1, para 0006)], said activities using an AF key [i.e., KAF: The AF specific key…application key (page 1, para 0011) i.e., secure communication is established between the UE and the application based on the K_AF (page 1, para 0013)], visited PLMN having been provided, with a said provided application function key [i.e., the AF requests the AF-specific key from the AAnf, providing a K_AKMA identifier and AF identifier…the AAnF derives K_AF from K_AKMA and provides it to the AF…the AF then forwards key-related parameters to the UE, enabling secured activity using K_AF (page 1, para 0012)], performing the AF key or the provided AF key [i.e., UE derives the same K_AF as the AAnF and AF…UE verifies integrity of AF responses using K_AF (MAC verification)…secured UE-AF communication is then established based on K_AF (page 1, para 0012) Note; performing secured application communication using the AF key].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of NAKARMI by adapting the teachings of Wang to key material generation optimization (See Wang; page 1, para 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NASLUND (US 2016/0234197 A1) discloses sending to a Key Management Server a request for a ticket, the request containing cryptographic information relating to the sending node; receiving from the Key Management Server a key and information associated with an identifier, the identifier being usable by the Key Management Server to identify cryptographic information relating to the communication and stored at a database; sending to the receiving node the ticket and identifier to establish the encrypted communication session with the receiving node; and including second information derived from the information associated with the identifier in packets sent to the receiving node in the encrypted communication.
/SYED A RONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432