DETAILED ACTION
The application filed 9/18/24 for Configured Power Up Time for Energy Harvesting Device filed 9/18/24 has been examined. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be a single paragraph written of a separate sheet of paper. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,12-18,26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gamage et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220303828.
Regarding claim 1, Gamage et al. teaches a wireless device for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (paragraph 019); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 019), configured to:
receive a power up signal (paragraph 057); and
transmit a backscattering signal that includes information bits, or receive
commands or bits, at a power up time after starting reception of the power up signal,
wherein the power up time is configured (paragraph 056-057).
Regarding claim 2, Gamage teaches the power up signal is a wake
up signal (paragraph 020).
Regarding claim 3, Gamage teaches the power up time and initial
frequency is preconfigured, loaded to the wireless device, and determined by a power transmitter
based at least in part on a device class or a device type of the wireless device (paragraph 030,032).
Regarding claim 4, Gamage teaches the one or more processors are
configured to receive an indication of the power up time a specified quantity of slots or symbols
before receiving the power up signal (beginning point in time 031, paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 12, Gamage teaches the power up signal includes at
least a portion of data that starts at a specified time or bin of a slot and that is repeated in the
commands or bits (packet waveform, paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 13, Gamage teaches a wireless device for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (paragraph 019); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit a power up signal (paragraph 057); and
receive a backscattering signal that includes information bits, or transmit
commands or bits, at a power up time after starting transmission of the power up signal,
wherein the power up time is configured or searched for (paragraph 056-057).
Regarding claim 14, Gamage teaches the power up signal is a wake
up signal (paragraph 020).
Regarding claim 15, Gamage teaches the power up time and initial
frequency is preconfigured (paragraph 030,032).
Regarding claim 16, Gamage teaches the one or more processors are configured to search for a start of the backscattering signal (paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 17, Gamage teaches the one or more processors, to transmit the power up signal, are configured to start the transmitting transmission of the power up signal in a slot before a slot of the receiving reception of the backscattering signal or the transmitting transmission of the commands or bits (the power up signal is transmitted before the backscattering signal, paragraph 056-057).
Regarding claim 18, Gamage teaches the one or more processors are configured to transmit an indication of the power up time a specified quantity of slots or symbols before receiving the power up signal (paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 26, Gamage teaches the power up signal includes at
least a portion of data that starts at a specified time or bin of a slot and that is repeated in the
commands or bits (packet waveform, paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 27, Gamage teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless device, comprising:
receiving a power up signal (paragraph 057); and
transmitting a backscattering signal that includes information bits, or receiving
commands or bits, at a power up time after starting the receiving of the power up signal, wherein
the power up time is configured (paragraph 056-057).
Regarding claim 28, Gamage teaches the one or more processors are
configured to receive an indication of the power up time a specified quantity of slots or symbols
before receiving the power up signal (beginning point in time 031, paragraph 031).
Regarding claim 29, Gamage teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless device, comprising:
transmitting a power up signal (paragraph 057); and
receiving a backscattering signal that includes information bits, or transmitting
commands or bits, at a power up time after starting the transmitting of the power up signal,
wherein the power up time is configured or searched for (paragraph 056-057).
Regarding claim 30, Gamage teaches the one or more processors are configured to search for a start of the backscattering signal (paragraph 031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamage et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220303828 in view of Diorio et al. US Patent Application Publication 2005/0099270.
Regarding claim 5, Gamage teaches harvest energy using the one or more of frequency resources or time resources (paragraph 056-057) but is silent on teaching the one or more processors are
configured to receive an indication of one or more of frequency resources or time resources to use for
energy harvesting. Diorio et al. in an analogous art teaches the processor is configured to receive an indication of one or more of frequency resources to use for energy harvesting (paragraph 044, 0118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Gamage as disclosed by Diorio et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage by providing a more adaptable device that can be configured based on the operating operation of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Gamage teaches the one or more processors, to harvest energy, are configured to harvest energy concurrently with the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits (fig. 5, paragraph 042-045).
Regarding claim 7, Gamage teaches the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in a same frequency band (paragraph 041).
Regarding claim 19, Gamage teaches harvest energy using the one or more of frequency resources or time resources (paragraph 056-057) but is silent on teaching the one or more processors are
configured to receive an indication of one or more of frequency resources or time resources to use for
energy harvesting. Diorio et al. in an analogous art teaches the processor is configured to receive an indication of one or more of frequency resources to use for energy harvesting (paragraph 044, 0118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Gamage as disclosed by Diorio et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage by providing a more adaptable device that can be configured based on the operating operation of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Gamage teaches the one or more processors, to harvest energy, are configured to harvest energy concurrently with the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits (fig. 5, paragraph 042-045).
Regarding claim 21, Gamage teaches the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in a same frequency band (paragraph 041).
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamage et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220303828 in view of Diorio et al. US Patent Application Publication 2005/0099270 and further in view of Maguire et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0285511.
Regarding claim 8, Gamage is silent on teaching the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in different frequency bands. Maguire et al in an analogous art teaches the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in different frequency bands (abstract, paragraph 07,061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage in view of Diorio as disclosed by Maguire because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage in view of Diorio by providing a more adaptable device that can be configured based on the operating operation of the device.
Regarding claim 22, Gamage is silent on teaching the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in different frequency bands. Maguire et al in an analogous art teaches the transmitting transmission of the backscattering signal or the receiving reception of the commands or bits, and the harvesting harvest of energy, occur in different frequency bands (abstract, paragraph 07,061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage in view of Diorio as disclosed by Maguire because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage in view of Diorio by providing a more adaptable device that can be configured based on the operating operation of the device.
Claim(s) 9,11,23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamage et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220303828 in view of Kanda et al. US Patent Application Publication 20110163852.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Gamage is silent on teaching the one or more processors are
configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently
harvest energy and transmit the backscattering signal or receive commands or bits. Kanda et al. in an analogous art teaches one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently (the indication of the class of RFID provided the RFID device capability, paragraph 053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage as disclosed by Kanda because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage by providing an indication of the capability of the RFID device and allow for the optimization of the RFID device capability.
Regarding claim 23, Gamage is silent on teaching the one or more processors are
configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently
harvest energy and transmit the backscattering signal or receive commands or bits. Kanda et al. in an analogous art teaches one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently (the indication of the class of RFID provided the RFID device capability, paragraph 053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage as disclosed by Kanda because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage by providing an indication of the capability of the RFID device and allow for the optimization of the RFID device capability.
Regarding claim 25, Gamage is silent on teaching the one or more processors are
configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently
harvest energy and transmit the backscattering signal or receive commands or bits. Kanda et al. in an analogous art teaches one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently (the indication of the class of RFID provided the RFID device capability, paragraph 053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage as disclosed by Kanda because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage by providing an indication of the capability of the RFID device and allow for the optimization of the RFID
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamage et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220303828 in view of Kanda et al. US Patent Application Publication 20110163852 and further in view of Fislage US Patent Application Publication 20230078538.
Regarding claim 10, Gamage in view of Kanda teaches one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently (the indication of the class of RFID provided the RFID device capability, paragraph 053) but is silent on teaching one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to stop using a signal that will be backscattered or a modulated signal carrying data that is partially used to power the wireless device, and to rely on other bands or signals for power. Fislage in an analogous art teaches class of the RFID indicates the capability of the wireless device to stop using a signal that will be backscattered or a modulated signal carrying data that is partially used to power the wireless device, and to rely on other bands or signals for power (abstract, paragraph 04-09,025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage in view of Kanda as disclosed by Fislage because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage in view of Kanda by providing an indication of the capability of the RFID device and allow for the optimization of the RFID device capability.
Regarding claim 24, Gamage in view of Kanda teaches one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to concurrently (the indication of the class of RFID provided the RFID device capability, paragraph 053) but is silent on teaching one or more processors are configured to transmit a message indicating a capability of the wireless device to stop using a signal that will be backscattered or a modulated signal carrying data that is partially used to power the wireless device, and to rely on other bands or signals for power. Fislage in an analogous art teaches class of the RFID indicates the capability of the wireless device to stop using a signal that will be backscattered or a modulated signal carrying data that is partially used to power the wireless device, and to rely on other bands or signals for power (abstract, paragraph 04-09,025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gamage in view of Kanda as disclosed by Fislage because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Gamage in view of Kanda by providing an indication of the capability of the RFID device and allow for the optimization of the RFID device capability.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686