DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Patent 12,400,753) in view of Yu et al. (“Learning from a tiny dataset of manual annotations: a teacher/student approach for surgical phase recognition”, arXiv:1812.00033v3 [cs.LG] 30 Sep 2020).
Liu et al. teaches performing training of a self-knowledge distillation encoder(col. 6 lines 34-62, TTN (teacher network) conducts the weight self-ensembling part by replicating the average weights of the TSN (teacher network) instead of predictions.) using image of a surgical procedure by joint optimization (total loss) of a classification loss (adversarial loss) and feature similarity loss (MSE loss) through a student encoder network (TSN) and a teacher encoder network(TTN) (Fig. 2A and 2B);
providing a plurality of features extracted by the student encoder network to a self-knowledge distillation decoder (Fig. 2A and 2B);
performing training of the self-knowledge distillation decoder using the features, wherein the self-knowledge distillation decoder comprises a student decoder network and a teacher decoder network, and a plurality of soft labels (EMA prediction) generated by the teacher decoder network are used to regularize a prediction of the student decoder network (col. 8 lines 40-54, the EMA predictions and the base predictions are generated by the teacher model and the student model respectively with different augmentation applied to the target samples. Afterward, a mean-squared error (MSE) loss between the EMA and target predictions is calculated. Finally, the MSE loss together with the task-specific loss on the labeled source domain data is minimized to update the parameters of the student network ) ((Fig. 2A and 2B); and
combining a trained version of the self-knowledge distillation encoder and the self-knowledge distillation decoder as an image recognition model (Fig. 2A and 2B).
Liu et al. do not teach performing training of encoder sung a plurality of video frame of a surgical procedure and combining a trained version encoder and decoder as a phase recognition model to predict surgical phases of the surgical procedure in one or more videos.
Yu et al. teach performing training of encoder sung a plurality of video frame of a surgical procedure and combining a trained version encoder and decoder as a phase recognition model to predict surgical phases of the surgical procedure in one or more videos (page 2, introduction, , source of video data, which deep learning algorithms can leverage for surgical work flow analysis; surgical phase recognition using teacher/student approach).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize surgical phase of video using teacher/student approach in the method of Liu et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to improve Yu et al.’s offline pseudo-labeling framework by adopting Liu et al.’s online self-knowledge distillation (EMA-updated teacher and joint MSE similarity loss) to extract dense, invariant visual features without relying on artificial offline label generation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yu et al. with Liu et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Liu et al. teach applying a different image augmentation to the video frames provided to each of the student encoder network and the teacher encoder network (col. 8 lines 40-54, the EMA predictions and the base predictions are generated by the teacher model and the student model respectively with different augmentation applied to the target samples.)
With respect to claim 3, Liu et al. teach that the student encoder network comprises a student backbone portion that generates a plurality of frame representations (Fig. 2A and 2B, encoder generates a plurality of image representations across multiple hierarchical levels of the network).
With respect to claim 4, Liu et al. teach forwarding the frame representations to a first task-specific head to perform classification optimization and a second task-specific head to perform similarity optimization (Fig. 2A and 2B)
With respect to claim 5, Liu et al. teach that the teacher encoder network generates a feature representation as a target for the student encoder network (Fig. 2A and 2B)
With respect to claim 6, Liu et al. teach that the student encoder network is trained for phase recognition and feature similarity (Fig. 2A and 2B)
With respect to claim 7, Liu et al. teach that the soft labels generated by the teacher decoder network in a current epoch are used to produce predictions for a same video frame as the student decoder network with variant logits (Fig. 2A and 2B, The EMA prediction generated by the Teacher is compared with current prediction produced by the student for the same image to form MSE error)
With respect to claim 8, Liu et al. teach minimizing teacher and student logits using a smoothing loss (Fig. 2A and 2B, training of the student model is iteratively improved (minimized) by the task-specific loss, a moving average (EMA) (smoothing) model (teacher) of the student model).
With respect to claim 9, claim 9 is rejected same reason as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 10, claim 10 is rejected same reason as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 11, claim 11 is rejected same reason as claim 7 above.
With respect to claim 12, claim 12 is rejected same reason as claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected same reason as claims 3-5 above.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667