DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 9/18/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on September 18, 2024; July 14, 2025; and September 30, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (International Publication No. WO 2020034321 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of ZHOU et al. (International Publication Publication No. KR 20210149876 A), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel, performed by a transmission terminal ([see, [0005-0006], performing sidelink communication on a first sidelink channel resource unit of a first sidelink channel]), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from a communication device ([see, [0135], the signaling can be transmitted from the BS 102 to the UE 104 as a higher layer signaling or a physical layer signaling, e.g., a system broadcast message, a radio resource control (RRC) message]), wherein the RRC message comprises information of a frequency-domain resource position of a target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0089, 0092], the position of a sidelink channel resource unit of a sidelink channel are determined, the UE 104 can further receive or transmit sidelink information, and indicate positions of the first resource units (e.g. , symbols) in the time domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., time slot) , and/or position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g. , a BWP)]), and
the information of the frequency-domain resource position of the target physical sidelink channel is configured to configure a frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0089, 0092], the receive or transmit sidelink information, indicate positions of the first resource units (e.g. , symbols) in the time domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., time slot) , and/or position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g. , a BWP)]);
determining the frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0092], determine the position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool]),
wherein the target physical sidelink channel is configured to occupy a time-domain resource or a time-frequency resource of a communication channel ([see, [0157], wherein transmission of sidelink signals on a sidelink channel is performed by a UE 104, configured to occupy a time-domain resource, and the PSCCH resource unit occupying symbols 1-4 in a time slot is selected by the UE 104 for receiving and transmitting the SCI]);
carrying out resource mapping ([see, [0084], carrying out resource mapping between a SCS in sidelink communications and n/k values of a sidelink channel resource unit for a sidelink channel]),
wherein a target physical channel (i.e., PSCCH) after the resource mapping occupies several resource elements in L orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols) in one slot, wherein L is greater than or equal to 2 ([see, [0086, 0094-0095], and Fig. 25, the PSCCH resource unit comprises 4 symbols on the time domain and 5 RB on the frequency domain in the (OFDM)]), and
transmitting the target physical sidelink channel (i.e., sidelink channel resource units for 4 types of sidelink channels, i.e., PSCCH) on the L OFDM symbols in the slot ([see, [0078, 0086], wherein PSCCH resource is used to carry sidelink control information (SCI), at least one PSCCH resource is used for receiving or transmitting SCI between the UEs 104 in sidelink communications, such symbols on the time domain and RB on the frequency domain]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: copying a resource element mapped onto a target channel on a second one of the OFDM symbols to a previous OFDM symbol immediately adjacent to the second one of the OFDM symbols.
However, D2 discloses copying a resource element mapped onto a target channel (a PSFCH subchannel or a PSFCH resource) on a second one of the OFDM symbols to a previous OFDM symbol immediately adjacent to the second one of the OFDM symbols ([see, page 20, lines 10-20, discloses the UE may map a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) to a PSSCH subchannel/resource and copy one or more time domain symbols (i.e., resource element mapped) to which the PSSCH is mapped to a PSFCH subchannel or a PSFCH resource, on the PSSCH in adjacent frequency domain resources or non-adjacent frequency domain resources disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide resource element mapping results improve the network of the system (D2, page 2, lines 15-35]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
the second one of the OFDM symbols is a second-to-last one of symbols configured to transmit the target physical sidelink channel in one slot ([see, [0086], select PSCCH resources in a PSCCH resource pool, when a sidelink SCS is 15 kHz, the PSCCH resource unit allocated 4 symbols on the time domain]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the RRC message further comprises a periodicity value of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) and a periodicity value of the target physical sidelink channel is determined on the basis of the periodicity value of the PSFCH ([see, page 5, lines 15-20, receiving device 102 determines the resources of the PSFCH and transmits the corresponding PSFCH on the determined resources in order to indicate the ACK/NACK feedback information to the transmitting device 101]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide resource element mapping results improve the network of the system (D2, page 2, lines 15-35]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel does not overlap a frequency-domain position of the PSFCH in the same slot ([see, page 8, lines 30-40, time domain resources of the PSCCH resource pool and the PSSCH resource pool are the same, and the frequency domain resources do not overlap]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide resource element mapping results improve the network of the system (D2, page 2, lines 15-35]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
transmitting the target physical channel on first OFDM symbols ([see, [0064], transmitted by the BS 102 in a symbol format via the communication channel 192 (e.g. , a PBCH)]), wherein the first OFDM symbols are the L OFDM symbols in the slot ([see, [0080], the sidelink resource pool comprises 302-1, 302-2, and 302-3 slots]), and
conditions for transmitting the target physical channel on the first OFDM symbols (i.e., a symbol, a time slot and an RB in the frequency domain) in the slot ([see, [0069, 0080], the sidelink resource pool comprises 6 RBs in each slot]), comprise at least one of the following:
the slot belongs to a sidelink slot set, the RRC information comprises configuration information, and the configuration information configures all OFDM symbols in the slot as symbols configured for a sidelink;
the slot belongs to the sidelink slot set (i.e., sidelink channels), and at least a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) is transmitted on a slot located behind and immediately adjacent to the slot in the sidelink slot set ([see, 0078-0080], and Fig. wherein sidelink channel resource units for different sidelink channels, the at least one PSSCH resource unit is used for receiving or transmitting sidelink data between the UEs 104 in sidelink communications]); and the slot belongs to the sidelink slot set, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) is transmitted on at least one OFDM symbol belonging to the slot before an initial one of the first OFDM symbols, and at least a PSSCH is transmitted on the slot located behind and immediately adjacent to the slot in the sidelink slot set.
As per Claim 17, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
marking a sidelink resource pool in which the target physical sidelink channel is located as a target sidelink resource pool ([see, [0080], a sidelink resource set (or a sidelink resource pool) disclosed]),
wherein a frequency-domain resource used when the transmission terminal transmits the target physical sidelink channel is the same as frequency-domain resources used when other terminals transmit the target physical sidelink channel in the sidelink resource pool ([see, [0083], the at least one sidelink channel resource unit for a sidelink channel each is configured with a first number (n) of first resource units in the time domain and a second number (k) of second resource units in the frequency domain, n and/or k values of different sidelink channel resource units for different respective sidelink channels can be the same or different]).
As per Claim 18, D1 discloses an apparatus for transmitting a physical sidelink channel, comprising:
a reception module, configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from a communication device ([see, [0135], the signaling can be transmitted from the BS 102 to the UE 104 as a higher layer signaling or a physical layer signaling, e.g., a system broadcast message, a radio resource control (RRC) message]), wherein the RRC message comprises information of a frequency-domain resource position of a target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0089, 0092], the position of a sidelink channel resource unit of a sidelink channel are determined, the UE 104 can further receive or transmit sidelink information, and indicate positions of the first resource units (e.g. , symbols) in the time domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., time slot) , and/or position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g. , a BWP)]), and
the information of the frequency-domain resource position of the target physical sidelink channel is configured to configure a frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0089, 0092], the receive or transmit sidelink information, indicate positions of the first resource units (e.g. , symbols) in the time domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., time slot) , and/or position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool (e.g. , a BWP)]);
a determination module, configured to determine the frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0092], determine the position of the second resource units (e.g. , RBs) in the frequency domain in a sidelink resource pool]),
wherein the target physical sidelink channel is configured to occupy a time-domain resource or a time-frequency resource of a communication channel ([see, [0157], wherein transmission of sidelink signals on a sidelink channel is performed by a UE 104, configured to occupy a time-domain resource, and the PSCCH resource unit occupying symbols 1-4 in a time slot is selected by the UE 104 for receiving and transmitting the SCI]);
a mapping module, configured to carry out resource mapping ([see, [0084], carrying out resource mapping between a SCS in sidelink communications and n/k values of a sidelink channel resource unit for a sidelink channel]),
wherein a target physical channel (i.e., PSCCH) after the resource mapping occupies several resource elements in L orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols) in one slot, wherein L is greater than or equal to 2 ([see, [0086, 0094-0095], and Fig. 25, the PSCCH resource unit comprises 4 symbols on the time domain and 5 RB on the frequency domain in the (OFDM)]), and
transmitting the target physical sidelink channel (i.e., sidelink channel resource units for 4 types of sidelink channels, i.e., PSCCH) on the L OFDM symbols in the slot ([see, [0078, 0086], wherein PSCCH resource is used to carry sidelink control information (SCI), at least one PSCCH resource is used for receiving or transmitting SCI between the UEs 104 in sidelink communications, such symbols on the time domain and RB on the frequency domain]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: copying a resource element mapped onto a target channel on a second one of the OFDM symbols to a previous OFDM symbol immediately adjacent to the second one of the OFDM symbols.
However, D2 discloses copying a resource element mapped onto a target channel (a PSFCH subchannel or a PSFCH resource) on a second one of the OFDM symbols to a previous OFDM symbol immediately adjacent to the second one of the OFDM symbols ([see, page 20, lines 10-20, discloses the UE may map a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) to a PSSCH subchannel/resource and copy one or more time domain symbols (i.e., resource element mapped) to which the PSSCH is mapped to a PSFCH subchannel or a PSFCH resource, on the PSSCH in adjacent frequency domain resources or non-adjacent frequency domain resources disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide resource element mapping results improve the network of the system (D2, page 2, lines 15-35]).
As per Claim 19, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 19 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the method above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 20, is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 19 is anticipated by apparatus being performed by the method above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of LU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210127413), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 4, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose:
wherein a frequency domain of the target physical sidelink channel is discrete, the frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel corresponds to M physical resource blocks (PRB) of which frequency domains are discontinuous, and M is an integer greater than 5.
However, D3 discloses wherein a frequency domain of the target physical sidelink channel is discrete ([see, [0077], the frequency-domain resource is discrete]), the frequency-domain position of the target physical sidelink channel corresponds to M physical resource blocks (PRB) of which frequency domains are discontinuous, and M is an integer greater than 5 ([see, [0157], wherein the granularity of the frequency-domain unit is sub-band, and each sub-band includes 5 PRBs, the sub-bands for transmission of the PSSCH may be continuous in a frequency domain or discontinuous in the frequency domain]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting control information between the terminals results improve spectrum efficiency and lower in transmission delay that enables transmitting control information between the terminals so as to reduce time delay (D3, [0002]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of JI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220167340 A1), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein a process of the resource mapping of the target physical sidelink channel comprises:
generating a first sequence, wherein the first sequence is a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence; generating a second sequence, wherein a generation process of the second sequence comprises a cyclic shift operation carried out on the first sequence; and
mapping the second sequence to a resource element (RE) corresponding to an OFDM symbol of the target physical sidelink channel.
However, D3 discloses wherein a process of the resource mapping of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0005], provides a sidelink resource mapping method]) comprises:
generating a first sequence, wherein the first sequence is a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence; generating a second sequence ([see, [0051], the code sequence of the PSFCH resources includes an orthogonal covering code (OCC) sequence and a Zadoff-chu (ZC) sequence]),
wherein a generation process of the second sequence comprises a cyclic shift operation carried out on the first sequence ([see, [0051], a Zadoff-chu (ZC) sequence, and cyclic shift (CS) numbers corresponding to the ZC sequence]); and
mapping the second sequence to a resource element (RE) corresponding to an OFDM symbol of the target physical sidelink channel ([see, [0027], mapping relationship between the index number of the PSFCH resource and the index number of the corresponding PSSCH resource and/or PSCCH resource]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting control information between the terminals results improve spectrum efficiency and lower in transmission delay that enables transmitting control information between the terminals so as to reduce time delay (D4, [0002]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of YEO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200403737 A1), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
the transmitting the target physical sidelink channel on the L OFDM symbols in the slot ([see, [0064], transmitted by the BS 102 in a symbol format via the communication channel 192 (e.g. , a PBCH)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein a condition for transmitting the target physical sidelink channel in the slot comprises at least one of the following:
a terminal transmits no physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in the slot; and the terminal does not receive PSFCHs transmitted by other terminals in the slot; or
the transmitting the target physical sidelink channel on the L OFDM symbols in the slot, wherein a condition for not transmitting the target physical sidelink channel comprises at least one of the following: the terminal transmits the PSFCH in the slot; and the terminal receives the PSFCHs transmitted by the other terminals in the slot.
However, D5 discloses wherein a condition for transmitting the target physical sidelink channel in the slot comprises at least one of the following:
a terminal transmits no physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in the slot; and the terminal does not receive PSFCHs transmitted by other terminals in the slot ([see, [0286-0291], and Fig. 19, does not receive the PSCCH for scheduling the PSSCH, the PSFCH including HARQ-ACK feedback information does not need to be transmitted]); or
the transmitting the target physical sidelink channel on the L OFDM symbols in the slot, wherein a condition for not transmitting the target physical sidelink channel comprises at least one of the following: the terminal transmits the PSFCH in the slot; and the terminal receives the PSFCHs transmitted by the other terminals in the slot ([see, [0286-0291], and Fig. 19, if the reception terminal transmits the PSFCH in a specific slot, a slot included in the resource pool, a slot for which the PSFCH resource, the number of HARQ-ACK bits to be included in a PSFCH transmitted through slot]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback for data transmission through a sidelink results improve spectrum efficiency and prevent overlapping of the resources, and energy consumption of the user equipment (UE) is minimized. (D5, [0230]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
conditions for transmitting the target physical sidelink channel in the slot comprise the following: the slot belongs to a sidelink slot set, and the transmission terminal transmits at least a PSSCH on the slot, and transmits at least a PSSCH on a slot located behind and immediately adjacent to the slot in the sidelink slot set; and no other slots are comprised between the slot and the slot located behind and immediately adjacent to the slot in the sidelink slot set.
However, D5 discloses further comprising: conditions for transmitting the target physical sidelink channel in the slot ([see, [0271], and Fig. 16A, physical channels mapped to one slot through a sidelink]) comprise the following:
the slot belongs to a sidelink slot set ([see, [0271], one slot through a sidelink]), and
the transmission terminal transmits at least a PSSCH on the slot ([see, [0271], and Fig. 16, PSCCH 1603 including control information is transmitted through initial symbols of the slot 1601]), and
transmits at least a PSSCH on a slot (n) located behind (n-1) and immediately adjacent (n-2) to the slot in the sidelink slot set ([see, [0283-0285], wherein where the PSSCH is received in slot n; the PSFCH transmitted through slot n may include HARQ feedback information for the PSSCH scheduled in slot (n−1) and slot (n−2)]); and
no other slots are comprised between the slot and the slot located behind and immediately adjacent to the slot in the sidelink slot set ([see, [0286], no other slots between the PSSCH scheduled in slot (n−1) and slot (n−2)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback for data transmission through a sidelink results improve spectrum efficiency and prevent overlapping of the resources, and energy consumption of the user equipment (UE) is minimized. (D5, [0230]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of XIAO et al. (International Publication Publication No. WO 2021/108817 A2), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 16, D1 and D2 disclose the method for transmitting a physical sidelink channel according to claim 1, wherein a process of transmitting the target physical sidelink channel and a PSSCH ([see, [0073], a UE 104 for transmitting or receiving respective SCI in sidelink communications]) comprises:
transmitting the PSSCH on each of N greater than or equal to 2 continuous slots in the sidelink slot set;
transmitting the target physical sidelink channel on at least one of the N greater than or equal to 2 continuous slots ([see, [0078], at least one PSSCH resource unit each comprises n2 first resource unit in the time domain and k2 second resource unit in the frequency domain]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: transmitting no physical sidelink channel (i.e., transmissions gaps) in duration not longer than 25 us in any one of the N greater than or equal to 2 continuous slots.
However, D6 discloses transmitting no physical sidelink channel (i.e., transmissions gaps) in duration not longer than 25 us in any one of the N greater than or equal to 2 continuous slots ([see, Page 13, lines 5-15, Once channel access is obtained, the associated channel occupancy time (COT) can be shared between the initiating device (the communicating device with the transmission) and the responding device (the communicating device receiving the transmission). During COT transmission gaps (e.g., 10 idle periods), no transmission periods are allowed. The gaps are also limited in duration. As an example, in the 5 GHz spectrum, only transmission gaps of up to 25 microseconds are allowed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting sidelink channel duration results improve coverage of the signals or channels (D6, [page 23, lines 30-35]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418