DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on September 18, 2024. The Preliminary Amendment filed on September 18, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1-14 and 16 have been amended, claim 15 has been canceled, and claims 17-20 have been added.
Drawings
The drawings filed on September 18, 2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0091733) in view of Takehara et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0037600; hereinafter “Takehara”).
As per claim 1, Peterson discloses a method of managing energy implemented by an electronic device (e.g., Fig. 1; para. [0034]: an off-grid regenerative energy system/method), the method comprising:
obtaining at least one value of ambient energy of a first type, representative of an exposure of a first piece of equipment to the ambient energy (e.g., para. [0036]-[0038] & [0042]: “the system is in communication with a plurality of sensors positioned such that each sensor receives data regarding the actual conditions relating to the input energy source. For example, an anemometer may be positioned outside of a structure to measure wind speed. Other sensors may be positioned to measure temperature, barometric pressure, sun light exposure, etc.”); and
providing at least one notification These sensors are in communication with the system, wherein the system processes the information received from the one or more sensors to evaluate the actual input of energy and the switch will adjust operations of the system according to the changes in the information received from the one or more sensors. In a particular example, the initial calibration may include a set number of hours of predicted sunlight, and an average wind speed. The sensors may then identify a set amount of actual sunlight that is different from the initial input. This information may provide instructions or motivation for the switch to trigger the wind turbine as an input power source at a different time based on the lack of sun light exposure.”).
Peterson does not explicitly disclose providing at least one notification suitable for a rendering on a user interface coupled to the device.
However, in the same field of an apparatus and method for monitoring operation of a photovoltaic panel, Takehara discloses: providing at least one notification suitable for a rendering on a user interface coupled to the device (see e.g., Figs. 1-2; para. [0007], [0020]-[0021] & [0036]-[0038]: “A module controller in the monitoring module outputs an error code and an alarm signal when a measured parameter value is outside a selected range. The alarm signal from the module controller is conditioned by a sensor/indicator input/output circuit and is output by an alarm indicator such as a visual indicator or an audible indicator, by a wireless transmitter, by a communications input/output port, or optionally by a combination of these devices. The alarm indicators optionally produce output in flashing light patterns, human-readable alphanumeric characters, or modulated sound patterns related to a parameter condition detected by the monitoring module. The alarm indicators assist service personnel in locating a PV panel having an out-of-range parameter value and optionally display information related to PV panel status, such as a fault condition.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of managing energy of Peterson by incorporating the teachings of Takehara to provide a notification suitable for a rendering on a user interface coupled to the device. This enables users to be informed and assists service personnel in locating a PV panel (candidate conversion element) having an out-of-range parameter value, as recognized by Takehara (para. [0007]).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson further discloses: wherein the obtaining of at least one value of ambient energy of the first type implements a measurement of the at least one energy value of the first type by means of at least one first sensor located on the first piece of equipment (see Peterson, e.g., para. [0036]).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson further discloses: wherein the obtaining of at least one value of ambient energy of the first type implements a reception of the at least one energy value of the first type from a second piece of equipment (see e.g., para. [0049]-[0050]).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson does not explicitly disclose: wherein the method comprises obtaining at least one item of time information associated with the at least one energy value of the first type.
However, Takehara further discloses: wherein the method comprises obtaining at least one item of time information associated with the at least one energy value of the first type (e.g., para. [0009] & [0031]: “The module controller 306 selectively associates time and date values with one or more measured parameter values and saves the time, date, and parameter values in the data and program memory 314 to form a historical log of PV panel performance. A historical log may optionally include a time and date at which the module controller 310 detects a parameter value from the PV panel 200 that is outside a range of values retrieved from the data and program memory 314.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of managing energy of Peterson by incorporating the teachings of Takehara to provide obtaining at least one item of time information associated with the at least one energy value of the first type. Doing so allows to create a historical log of time-stamped values related to an operating history of the PV panel (conversion element) being monitored, as recognized by Takehara (para. [0031]).
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the at least one notification also takes into account at least one item of information from at least one second sensor (see e.g., Peterson, e.g., para. [0036]; Takehara, e.g., para. [0033]).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the at least one notification takes into account at least one first conversion element used to power the first piece of equipment (see Peterson, e.g., para. [0036]-[0038] & [0042]; Takehara, e.g., para. [0020]).
As per claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the at least one notification takes into account the positioning of the electronic device and/or the at least one first sensor located on the first piece of equipment configured to measure the at least one energy value of the first type and/or the at least one second sensor providing at least one item of information when obtaining the at least one energy value of the first type (see Peterson, e.g., para. [0036] & [0042]: “the system is in communication with a plurality of sensors positioned such that each sensor receives data regarding the actual conditions relating to the input energy source. For example, an anemometer may be positioned outside of a structure to measure wind speed. Other sensors may be positioned to measure temperature, barometric pressure, sun light exposure, etc. These sensors are in communication with the system, wherein the system processes the information received from the one or more sensors to evaluate the actual input of energy and the switch will adjust operations of the system according to the changes in the information received from the one or more sensors.”; also see Takehara, Fig. 7; para. [0044]).
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the at least one notification belongs to a group comprising:
a notification recommending to change at least one conversion element commonly used by the first piece of equipment,
a notification recommending to replace at least one conversion element commonly used by the first piece of equipment with one of the at least one candidate conversion element,
a notification recommending at least one type of ambient energy to be converted,
a notification recommending at least one type and/or model of conversion element to be used,
a notification recommending at least one positioning of at least one conversion element on the first piece of equipment,
a notification recommending a number of conversion elements to be used on the first piece of equipment, and
a notification recommending at least one position and/or orientation of the first piece of equipment (see Peterson. e.g., para. [0036]: “This information may provide instructions or motivation for the switch to trigger the wind turbine as an input power source at a different time based on the lack of sun light exposure.”; also see Takehara, e.g., para. [0005] & [0036]).
As per claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson further discloses: wherein the candidate conversion element is selected from a plurality of conversion elements based on the efficiency of the plurality of conversion elements with the value of ambient energy (see e.g., para. [0042]).
Apparatus claim 12 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, apparatus claim 12 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
As per claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the notification is provided via a communication module of the electronic device (see Takehara, Figs. 1-2; para. [0026], [0033] & [0039]-[0040]).
As per claim 14, claim 12 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara further discloses: wherein the notification is provided via an output user interface of the electronic device (see Takehara, e.g., Fig. 2; para. [0036]: display 402).
The non-transitory computer-readable data medium (CRM) claims 16-19 are drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claims 1-4. Therefore, CRM claims 16-19 correspond to method claims 1-4, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Takehara, and further in view of Webb et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0176988; hereinafter “Webb”).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara does not explicitly disclose: wherein the method comprises transmitting the at least one energy value of the first type to a third piece of equipment and receiving at least one of the at least one candidate conversion element.
However, in the same field of systems and methods for providing control of an energy storage system, Webb teaches: wherein the method comprises transmitting the at least one energy value of the first type to a third piece of equipment and receiving at least one of the at least one candidate conversion element (see e.g., Fig. 2; para. [0030]: “Data can be accessed from data store records, or received from sensors in communication with the central controller through a local controller.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of managing energy of Peterson in view of Takehara by incorporating the teachings of Webb to provide transmitting the at least one energy value of the first type to a third piece of equipment and receiving at least one of the at least one candidate conversion element. Doing so allows for the acquisition of data from a central or remote device as well as locally, as recognized by Webb (para. [0030]).
The non-transitory computer-readable data medium (CRM) claim 20 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 5. Therefore, CRM claim 20 corresponds to method claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Takehara, and further in view of Kakulte et al. (WIPO Publication No. WO2014068591A1; provided by Applicant, hereinafter “Kakulte”).
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and Peterson in view of Takehara does not explicitly disclose: wherein at least one candidate conversion element takes into account a proximity between at least one energy conversion characteristic of the at least one candidate conversion element and the at least one energy value of the first type.
However, in the same field of an integrated wind and solar power system and method of operating the same, Kakulte teaches: wherein at least one candidate conversion element takes into account a proximity between at least one energy conversion characteristic of the at least one candidate conversion element and the at least one energy value of the first type (see e.g., para. [0073]: “the PMCU can include a preloaded decision map including a correlation between wind speed and solar radiation with the expected power output from each of said one or more generator power output sections, each of said one or more solar power output sections, and said power output section P.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of managing energy of Peterson in view of Takehara by incorporating the teachings of Kakulte to provide taking into account a proximity between at least one energy conversion characteristic of the at least one candidate conversion element and the at least one energy value of the first type. Doing so allows to verify that the obtained energy value matches the expected power output, as recognized by Kakulte (para. [0073]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Norwood et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0212506) discloses systems and methods for acquiring and transmitting information about resource usage in residences and other buildings (see e.g., abstract; para. [0112]).
Warfield et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0085167) discloses methods and apparatus used to display the performance of a photovoltaic power supply (see e.g., abstract).
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 adnan.aziz@uspto.gov