DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because lines, boxes, letterings are either poor blur or low readability for figures 1-7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZOPF (US 2022/0085913 A1) in view of SEMJONOV (US 2009/0016423 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZOPF discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a first adding unit that adds data, obtained by sampling a repetitively arrived packet by a clock with a frequency that is N1-times a communication speed, to an addition result of previously arrived packets every time the packet arrives (the receiver 102 may generate the accumulated packet 822 by performing bitwise decimal addition on the corrupted packet 811 and the received retransmitted packet 821 to generate soft bits in the accumulated packet 822, see ¶ 0058);
a first holding unit that holds the addition result of the first adding unit (previously buffered corrupted original and retransmitted packets, if any, to reconstruct the payload at block 411, see ¶ 0039).
ZOPF fails to disclose a first digital filter with N2 taps (where N2 is an integer of 2 or more and N1 or less) that processes the addition result, held by the first holding unit, in synchronization with a sampling clock; and a second holding unit that holds a processing result of the first digital filter.
In the same field of endeavor, SEMJONOV discloses the feedforward section 201 is arranged to receive the data transmitted by the first modem 102 via an analogue to digital converter ADC (not shown), where the ADC converts the transmitted analogue signal back into the digital domain. The data packets are received as data symbols, as is well known to a person skilled in the art. The feedforward section 201, which could be either a finite impulse response FIR filter or an infinite impulse response IIR filter, has its filter characteristics defined by tap coefficients, as is well known to a person skilled in the art (see ¶ 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SEMJONOV’s teaching in the network taught by ZOPF to compensate for transmission-channel impairment such as frequency-dependent phase and amplitude distortion.
Regarding claim 7, ZOPF discloses a communication method causing a processor to execute processing of:
adding data, obtained by sampling a repetitively arrived packet by a clock with a frequency that is N1-times a communication speed, to an addition result of previously arrived packets every time the packet arrives (the receiver 102 may generate the accumulated packet 822 by performing bitwise decimal addition on the corrupted packet 811 and the received retransmitted packet 821 to generate soft bits in the accumulated packet 822, see ¶ 0058);
causing a first memory to holds the addition result of the addition (previously buffered corrupted original and retransmitted packets, if any, to reconstruct the payload at block 411, see ¶ 0039).
ZOPF fails to disclose causing a digital filter with N2 taps (where N2 is an integer of 2 or more and N1 or less) that processes the addition result, held by the first holding unit, in synchronization with a sampling clock; and causing a second memory to holds a processing result of the first digital filter.
In the same field of endeavor, SEMJONOV discloses the feedforward section 201 is arranged to receive the data transmitted by the first modem 102 via an analogue to digital converter ADC (not shown), where the ADC converts the transmitted analogue signal back into the digital domain. The data packets are received as data symbols, as is well known to a person skilled in the art. The feedforward section 201, which could be either a finite impulse response FIR filter or an infinite impulse response IIR filter, has its filter characteristics defined by tap coefficients, as is well known to a person skilled in the art (see ¶ 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SEMJONOV’s teaching in the network taught by ZOPF to compensate for transmission-channel impairment such as frequency-dependent phase and amplitude distortion.
Regarding claim 8, ZOPF discloses a communication program causing a computer to execute processing of:
adding data, obtained by sampling a repetitively arrived packet by a clock with a frequency that is N1-times a communication speed, to an addition result of previously arrived packets every time the packet arrives (the receiver 102 may generate the accumulated packet 822 by performing bitwise decimal addition on the corrupted packet 811 and the received retransmitted packet 821 to generate soft bits in the accumulated packet 822, see ¶ 0058);
causing a first memory to holds the addition result of the addition (previously buffered corrupted original and retransmitted packets, if any, to reconstruct the payload at block 411, see ¶ 0039).
ZOPF fails to disclose causing a digital filter with N2 taps (where N2 is an integer of 2 or more and N1 or less) that processes the addition result, held by the first holding unit, in synchronization with a sampling clock; and causing a second memory to holds a processing result of the first digital filter.
In the same field of endeavor, SEMJONOV discloses the feedforward section 201 is arranged to receive the data transmitted by the first modem 102 via an analogue to digital converter ADC (not shown), where the ADC converts the transmitted analogue signal back into the digital domain. The data packets are received as data symbols, as is well known to a person skilled in the art. The feedforward section 201, which could be either a finite impulse response FIR filter or an infinite impulse response IIR filter, has its filter characteristics defined by tap coefficients, as is well known to a person skilled in the art (see ¶ 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SEMJONOV’s teaching in the network taught by ZOPF to compensate for transmission-channel impairment such as frequency-dependent phase and amplitude distortion.
Regarding claim 9, ZOPF discloses a communication system, comprising:
a transmitting-side communication apparatus; and
a receiving-side communication apparatus, wherein the transmitting-side communication apparatus includes a transmitting unit that repetitively transmits a single packet, and the receiving-side communication apparatus includes:
a first adding unit that adds data, obtained by sampling a repetitively arrived packet by a clock with a frequency that is N1-times a communication speed, to an addition result of previously arrived packets every time the packet arrives (the receiver 102 may generate the accumulated packet 822 by performing bitwise decimal addition on the corrupted packet 811 and the received retransmitted packet 821 to generate soft bits in the accumulated packet 822, see ¶ 0058);
a first holding unit that holds the addition result of the first adding unit (previously buffered corrupted original and retransmitted packets, if any, to reconstruct the payload at block 411, see ¶ 0039).
ZOPF fails to disclose a first digital filter with N2 taps (where N2 is an integer of 2 or more and N1 or less) that processes the addition result, held by the first holding unit, in synchronization with a sampling clock; and a second holding unit that holds a processing result of the first digital filter.
In the same field of endeavor, SEMJONOV discloses the feedforward section 201 is arranged to receive the data transmitted by the first modem 102 via an analogue to digital converter ADC (not shown), where the ADC converts the transmitted analogue signal back into the digital domain. The data packets are received as data symbols, as is well known to a person skilled in the art. The feedforward section 201, which could be either a finite impulse response FIR filter or an infinite impulse response IIR filter, has its filter characteristics defined by tap coefficients, as is well known to a person skilled in the art (see ¶ 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SEMJONOV’s teaching in the network taught by ZOPF to compensate for transmission-channel impairment such as frequency-dependent phase and amplitude distortion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: correlation unit that correlates a result processed by the first digital filter with a synchronous word; and a data acquiring unit that retrieves data from the result processed by the first t digital filter at a timing where correlation by the correlation unit increases.
Regarding claims 3-6, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: a second adding unit that adds data, obtained by sampling each bit constituting the arrived packet by the clock with a frequency that is N1-times a communication speed, to an addition result of previously arrived bits every time a next bit arrives; a third holding unit that holds an addition result of the second adding unit; a second digital filter with N3 taps (where N3 is an integer of 2 or more and N1 or less) that processes the addition result, held by the third holding unit, in synchronization with the sampling clock; a fourth holding unit that holds a processing result of the second digital filter; a clock pattern reproducing unit that reproduces a clock waveform included in bit data from data held by the fourth holding unit; and a clock reproducing unit that reproduces a sampling clock synchronized with the arrived packet from the clock waveform reproduced by the clock pattern reproducing unit.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412