DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 11-24-25. Claims 11-25 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2020/0171973 to Perkins (“Perkins”) in view of US 2023/0356623 to Araujo Xavier et al. (“Araujo”).
Regarding claim 11, Perkins teaches a method for operating a traction battery (fig. 1, 106) for a motor vehicle (para; 0029, vehicle 102 includes one or more electric machines 104 capable of operating as one or both of an electric motor and generator, a traction battery 106), which can be discharged down to a predefined minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) during operation of the motor vehicle (para; 0028, lines 1-6, controller may be configured to compare a total estimated energy of operating the engine at a present high efficiency to charge the battery and to subsequently discharge the battery for propulsion to a total estimated energy of reducing or ending battery charging to operate the engine at a lower efficiency) and can be charged up to a predefined maximum state of charge (para; 0018, lines 46, selectively decrease the charge sustaining SOC range by decreasing the maximum sustaining threshold) in a charging operation (paras; 0018-0028), the method comprising: increasing the minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) and/or decreasing the maximum state of charge in response to a limit value (para; 0004, maintaining a state of charge (SOC) of the battery within a range defined by a first maximum threshold) being reached by a value of a predefined parameter (para; 0049, parameters, and values may be evaluated to define each of the charge depleting and charge sustaining modes of the vehicle 102, generally, and of the traction battery 106, specifically) that describes a variable property of the traction battery (para; 0017, A vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions, such that the vehicle and the traction battery may operate in one of the charge depleting and sustaining modes for a longer period of time),
But, Perkins fails to distinctly teach the predefined parameter comprises a state of health (SOH) of the traction battery.
However, Araujo teaches in [5] setting power limits to a traction battery based upon their state of health.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to base Perkins’ maximum and minimum state of charge at least in part on the state of health of the traction battery in order to consider age differences between the arrays in controlling the traction battery (Araujo, [16]), allowing for ease in serviceability (Araujo, [2], [45]).
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying the voltage/current range levels to the traction battery based on its state of health was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Araujo.
Regarding claim 12, Perkins teaches the minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase (or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) and/or the maximum state of charge (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC) is/are adjusted for a remainder of a lifetime of the traction battery (title and para; 0080).
Regarding claim 13, Perkins teaches wherein the predefined parameter further comprises: an energy throughput of the traction battery (para; 0016, during the charge depleting mode, i.e., while battery SOC is greater than 20%, the traction battery may be configured to output a first maximum energy Example, e.g., 6 kilowatt-hours (kW-hr), to meet propulsion and non-propulsion demands of the system).
Regarding claim 14, Perkins teaches adjusting the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge linearly (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC).
Regarding claim 15, Perkins teaches adjusting the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC) over a predefined period of 3 to 6 months (para; 0017, lines 4-5, traction battery may operate in one of the charge depleting and sustaining modes for a longer period of time).
Regarding claim 16, Perkins teaches adjusting the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC) while a predefined energy throughput is implemented in the traction battery (para; 0013, during vehicle operation, battery state of charge (SOC) value may decrease from a value at, or near, full charge to a predefined threshold, e.g., 20%, at which point the vehicle may begin operating in the charge sustaining mode) and/or while a predefined change in the state of health (SOH) occurs (para; 0016, during the charge depleting mode, i.e., while battery SOC is greater than 20%, the traction battery may be configured to output a first maximum energy Example, e.g., 6 kilowatt-hours (kW-hr), to meet propulsion and non-propulsion demands of the system).
Regarding claim 17, Perkins teaches control a charging process (para; 0037) of a traction battery (106) for a motor vehicle (para; 0029, vehicle 102 includes one or more electric machines 104 capable of operating as one or both of an electric motor and generator, a traction battery 106) which can be discharged down to a predefined minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) during operation of the motor vehicle (para; 0028, lines 1-6, controller may be configured to compare a total estimated energy of operating the engine at a present high efficiency to charge the battery and to subsequently discharge the battery for propulsion to a total estimated energy of reducing or ending battery charging to operate the engine at a lower efficiency) and can be charged up to a predefined maximum state of charge (para; 0018, lines 46, selectively decrease the charge sustaining SOC range by decreasing the maximum sustaining threshold) in a charging operation; and adjust the minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) and/or the maximum state of charge of the traction battery in response to a limit value (para; 0004, maintaining a state of charge (SOC) of the battery within a range defined by a first maximum threshold) being reached by a value of a predefined parameter (para; 0049, parameters, and values may be evaluated to define each of the charge depleting and charge sustaining modes of the vehicle 102, generally, and of the traction battery 106, specifically) that describes a variable property of the traction battery (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC),
But, Perkins fails to distinctly teach the predefined parameter comprises a state of health (SOH) of the traction battery.
However, Araujo teaches in [5] setting power limits to a traction battery based upon their state of health.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to base Perkins’ maximum and minimum state of charge at least in part on the state of health of the traction battery in order to consider age differences between the arrays in controlling the traction battery (Araujo, [16]), allowing for ease in serviceability (Araujo, [2], [45]).
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying the voltage/current range levels to the traction battery based on its state of health was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Araujo.
Regarding claim 18, Perkins teaches the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC) is/are adjusted for a remainder of a lifetime of the traction battery (title and para; 0080).
Regarding claim 19, Perkins teaches wherein the predefined parameter further comprises: an energy throughput of the traction battery (para; 0016, during the charge depleting mode, i.e., while battery SOC is greater than 20%, the traction battery may be configured to output a first maximum energy Example, e.g., 6 kilowatt-hours (kW-hr), to meet propulsion and non-propulsion demands of the system) and/or a state of health (SOH) is used as the predefined parameter (para; 0016, during the charge depleting mode, i.e., while battery SOC is greater than 20%, the traction battery may be configured to output a first maximum energy Example, e.g., 6 kilowatt-hours (kW-hr), to meet propulsion and non-propulsion demands of the system).
Regarding claim 20, Perkins teaches configured to: adjust the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge linearly (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC).
Regarding claim 21, Perkins teaches configured to: adjust the minimum state of charge and/or the maximum state of charge (para; 0016, maximum and minimum SOC) over a predefined period of 3 to 6 months (para; 0017, lines 4-5, traction battery may operate in one of the charge depleting and sustaining modes for a longer period of time).
Regarding claim 22, Perkins teaches configured to: adjust the minimum state of charge (para; 0017, vehicle controller may be configured to selectively increase ( or expand) battery SOC range during one or more operating conditions) and/or the maximum state of charge while a predefined energy throughput is implemented in the traction battery (para; 0013, during vehicle operation, battery state of charge (SOC) value may decrease from a value at, or near, full charge to a predefined threshold, e.g., 20%, at which point the vehicle may begin operating in the charge sustaining mode) and/or while a predefined change in the state of health (SOH) occurs (para; 0016, during the charge depleting mode, i.e., while battery SOC is greater than 20%, the traction battery may be configured to output a first maximum energy Example, e.g., 6 kilowatt-hours (kW-hr), to meet propulsion and non-propulsion demands of the system).
Regarding claim 23, Perkins teaches a motor vehicle comprising: a traction battery (para; 0029, vehicle 102 includes one or more electric machines 104 capable of operating as one or both of an electric motor and generator, a traction battery 106).
Regarding claim 24, Perkins teaches the motor vehicle is a hybrid vehicle (para; 0006).
Regarding claim 25, Perkins teaches further a display device (134) configured to output the minimum state of charge as a 0% state of charge and the maximum state of charge as a 100% state of charge (para; 0017, value of the maximum sustaining threshold from a first maximum sustaining threshold, e.g., 20%, to a second maximum sustaining threshold, e.g., 22%, where the second maximum sustaining threshold is greater than the first).
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 11-24-25 with respect to claims 11-25 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849