DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2024 and 12/26/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1-20, the words first, second and third are interpreted as labels to differentiate between components and do not impart any additional structural limitations.
Regarding claims 1-20:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG)” recited in independent claim 1, and among others, includes a target PCell of the MN, and a target SpCell of the SN, respectively, according to the instant specification ([0003] the cell group of the MN is referred to be as a master cell group (MCG); and the cell group of the SN is referred to be as a secondary cell group (SCG). The MCG includes a primary cell (PCell) and at least one secondary cell (SCell); the SCG includes a secondary primary cell (SpCell) and at least one SCell). Therefore, the Pcell of target MN and the PScell target SN in LENG (LENG - Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910, target SN 914; [0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions, the CPAC execution conditions, the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell) are considered “target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leng et al. (US-20230262554-A1, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/323,363, filed on Mar. 24, 2022, hereinafter, LENG).
Regarding claim 1, LENG discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 1; Fig. 9 – UE 901; Fig. 3), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 3 - 360); and
at least one processor (Fig. 3 - 340) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to (Fig. 3; [0043] As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310,... a processor 340... and a memory 360; [0047] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for a joint operation of conditional handover and conditional PSCell addition or change in a wireless communication system. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process) cause the UE to:
receive at least (Fig. 3; [0043]; [0047];) one of:
a conditional handover (CHO) configuration (Fig. 9 – 920; [0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions, the CPAC execution conditions, the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell) for a target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG) (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910, target SN 914; [0063] In a DC operation, a multiple Rx/Tx capable UE can be configured to communicate with two different nodes, known as a master node (MN) serving a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary node (SN) serving a secondary cell group (SCG)... The UE connects to a primary cell (PCell) from the MCG and connects to a primary SCG cell (PSCell) from the SCG; [0072] For 642, the target MN 610/612 sends the handover request acknowledge to the source MN including a transparent RRC container containing the PCell and the corresponding MCG configuration to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the CHO; [0074] For each prepared PSCell, the target SN decides other SCG SCells and provides the corresponding SCG configuration to the target MN in the SN addition request acknowledge (652)...The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC), a first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO)), or a second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target SN 914 (execution conditions of CPAC); [0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell (e.g., target MN 910) and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell (e.g., target SN 914) are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount); and
perform a random access (RA) procedure to the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 932) in response to fulfillment of at least the first execution condition ([0091] For example, the UE starts or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)).
Regarding claim 2, LENG further discloses:
wherein the first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 920, 930 (e.g., execution conditions of CHO); [0091];) includes at least one of:
a channel quality threshold, wherein the first execution condition is considered as fulfilled if channel quality is greater than or equal to the channel quality threshold;
one conditional event ([0082] (e.g., A3 or A4);); or
a combination of two conditional events ((e.g., A5 contains two conditional events); [0082] For each candidate PCell for CHO and each candidate PSCell for CPAC, at least one and at most 2 measId(s) can be indicated in the condExecutionCond associated to a condReconfigId. The measId points to an CHO/CPAC event in condTriggerConfig. An CHO/CPAC event can be configured as one of CondEvent A3 (i.e., conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes amount of offset better than PCell/PSCell), CondEvent A4 (i.e., conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes better than absolute threshold), and CondEvent A5 (i.e., PCell/PSCell becomes worse than absolute threshold1 (conditional event 1) AND conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes better than another absolute threshold2 (conditional event 2))).
Regarding claim 3, LENG further discloses:
wherein the first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO)) includes the combination of the two conditional events ([0082] (e.g., A5 - threshold1 AND threshold2);), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to start to evaluate the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC); [0097] In one example, when a CHO is triggered while a CPAC is being executed... alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed):
in response to fulfillment of an entry condition of a first event of the two conditional events; or
in response ([0097] CPAC execution is paused until CHO execution is fulfilled; [0095] the UE does not keep evaluating CPAC execution conditions when CHO is triggered and/or failed) to fulfillment of an entry condition ([0080] Alternatively, a new RRC IE, e.g., conditionalReconfigurationSN, can be introduced to jointly configure the CHO and the associated CPAC... The RRC IE can include a list of CPA/CPC configurations, where each entry of the list is for one candidate PSCell associated with the candidate PCell and can include at least one of the CPA/CPC execution condition, the candidate PSCell and the corresponding SCG configuration) of each of the two conditional events ([0082] (e.g., A5 is an entry condition - threshold1 AND threshold2, hence both conditional events in A5 are fulfilled for CHO execution according to [0090-91]); Fig. 9 – 930; [0090] The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount; [0091] When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode, and the pair of the PCell and the PSCell is considered as a triggered cell pair... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)).
Regarding claim 5, LENG further discloses:
wherein the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) includes at least one of:
a channel quality threshold, wherein the second execution condition for the target SCG is considered as fulfilled if channel quality is greater than or equal to the channel quality threshold;
one conditional event ([0082] (e.g., A3 or A4););
a combination of two conditional events ((e.g., A5 contains two conditional events); [0082] For each candidate PCell for CHO and each candidate PSCell for CPAC, at least one and at most 2 measId(s) can be indicated in the condExecutionCond associated to a condReconfigId. The measId points to an CHO/CPAC event in condTriggerConfig. An CHO/CPAC event can be configured as one of CondEvent A3 (i.e., conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes amount of offset better than PCell/PSCell), CondEvent A4 (i.e., conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes better than absolute threshold), and CondEvent A5 (i.e., PCell/PSCell becomes worse than absolute threshold1 (conditional event 1) AND conditional reconfiguration candidate becomes better than another absolute threshold2 (conditional event 2)));
a time range, wherein the time range includes a first absolute time and a second absolute time ([0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount; [0091] For example, the UE starts (e.g., first absolute time, T1) or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled. When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry (e.g., second absolute time, T2), the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode); or
a time threshold and a configuration regarding a timer, wherein the time threshold is a third absolute time ([0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval (absolute third time) can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount).
Regarding claim 6, LENG further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to:
start to evaluate the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) in response to fulfillment of the first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO); [0097] In one example, when a CHO is triggered while a CPAC is being executed... alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed); or
start to evaluate the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; [0097];) in response to fulfillment of an entry condition of the first execution condition ([0082] (e.g., A3 or A4);) for the target MCG ([0097]; [0090] The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell... or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount); or
start to evaluate both the first execution condition for the target MCG and the second execution condition for the target SCG ([0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time... where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount) when both the first execution condition for the target MCG and the second execution condition for the target SCG are received (Fig. 7 – 710; Fig. 9 – 920; [0084] Once the RRCReconfiguration message including the configuration for the joint operation of CHO and CPAC is received (e.g., 710 as illustrated in FIG. 7), the UE stores the CHO and CPAC configuration, replies to the source MN with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message (720), and evaluates the execution condition of the joint CHO and CPAC for different operation modes, e.g., in serial, or in parallel, or independent (730, 740)).
Regarding claim 7, LENG further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to stop evaluating the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) in response to un-fulfillment of the first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO); [0095] In one example, the UE does not keep evaluating CPAC execution conditions when CHO is triggered and/or failed) or in response to fulfillment of a leaving condition of the first execution condition for the target MCG.
Regarding claim 8, LENG further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to determine whether the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) is fulfilled:
upon completing the RA procedure to the target MCG ([0102] Upon the successful completion of the random access to the target PCell, the UE retrieves the CPA/CPC configuration of candidate PSCells associated with the target PCell, and evaluates the CPA/CPC execution condition for each candidate PSCell. Upon the execution condition for one candidate PSCell is fulfilled, the UE selects that PSCell as the target PSCell, sends CPA/CPC completion confirmation to the current PCell, applies the configuration of the target PSCell and the corresponding SCG, and performs random access to the target PSCell if configured with bearers requiring SCG radio resources); or
in response to fulfillment of the first execution condition for the target MCG ([0097] In one example, when a CHO is triggered while a CPAC is being executed... alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed; [0090] The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount); or
in a time duration between triggering the RA procedure to the target MCG and completing the RA procedure to the target MCG.
Regarding claim 9, LENG further discloses:
wherein the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) includes the time range ([0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount; [0091] For example, the UE starts (e.g., first absolute time) or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled. When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry (e.g., second absolute time), the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to (Fig. 3) determine that the second execution condition for the target SCG is fulfilled ([0090] The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition... are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount; [0091];) if a time point when the at least one processor causes the UE to (Fig. 3) determine whether the second execution condition is fulfilled is within the time range ([0090] The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition... are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount; [0091];).
Regarding claim 10, LENG further discloses:
wherein the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) includes the time threshold and the configuration regarding the timer ([0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval (absolute third time) can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to:
start the timer at time of the time threshold ([0091] For example, the UE starts or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled. When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode); and
determine that the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CPAC)) is fulfilled if the timer is running at a time point when the at least one processor causes the UE to (Fig. 3) determine whether the second execution condition is fulfilled ([0091] For example, the UE starts or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled. When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode).
Regarding claim 11, LENG further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to:
start a mobility timer upon starting to perform the RA procedure to the target MCG and stop the mobility timer upon completing the RA procedure; or
in response to fulfillment of both the first execution condition for the target MCG and the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; [0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930); [0091] When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode, and the pair of the PCell and the PSCell is considered as a triggered cell pair... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)), perform a RA procedure to the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 938; [0092] Once the UE successfully attaches to the target PCell, the UE applies the RRCReconfiguration corresponding to the selected PSCell (i.e., the target PSCell), and sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the current MN (936), including an RRCReconfigurationComplete message for the target SN. If configured with bearers requiring SCG radio resources, the UE performs random access to the target SN (938)).
Regarding claim 15, LENG discloses:
A source master node (MN) for wireless communication (Fig. 1; Fig. 9 – Source MN 902; Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 2 - 230); and
at least one processor (Fig. 2 - 225) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to ([0038] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes for joint operation of conditional handover and conditional PSCell addition or change in a wireless communication system) cause the MN to:
transmit (Fig. 6 - 640) a handover request message to a target MN ([0071] For 640, the source MN 602 initiates the joint CHO and CPAC procedure by sending the handover request to target MN candidates 610/612. The message can include MCG configuration and/or SCG configuration, e.g., the source SN ID and the UE context in the source SN);
receive (Fig. 6 - 642) a handover request acknowledge message from the target MN, wherein the handover request acknowledge message includes a conditional handover (CHO) configuration ([0072] For 642, the target MN 610/612 sends the handover request acknowledge to the source MN including a transparent RRC container containing the PCell and the corresponding MCG configuration to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the CHO; [0074] For each prepared PSCell, the target SN decides other SCG SCells and provides the corresponding SCG configuration to the target MN in the SN addition request acknowledge (652)...The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC) for a target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG) ([0063] In a DC operation, a multiple Rx/Tx capable UE can be configured to communicate with two different nodes, known as a master node (MN) serving a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary node (SN) serving a secondary cell group (SCG)... The UE connects to a primary cell (PCell) from the MCG and connects to a primary SCG cell (PSCell) from the SCG); and
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 9 – UE 901), at least one of:
the CHO configuration for the target MCG and the target SCG (Fig. 9 - 920), a first execution condition for the target MCG, or a second execution condition for the target SCG ([0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions (e.g., first execution condition for the target MCG), the CPAC execution conditions (e.g., second execution condition for the target SCG), the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell).
Regarding claim 16, LENG further discloses:
wherein the handover request acknowledge message (Fig. 6 - 642) includes an indicator indicating that the CHO configuration includes configuration information for the target SCG ([0072] For 642, the target MN 610/612 sends the handover request acknowledge to the source MN including a transparent RRC container containing the PCell and the corresponding MCG configuration to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the CHO; [0074] The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC; [0071] For 640, the source MN 602 initiates the joint CHO and CPAC procedure by sending the handover request to target MN candidates 610/612; [0078] The CHO configuration and CPA/CPC configuration can be jointly or independently configured. For example, the candidate PSCell(s) can be configured to be associated with a candidate PCell... The CPAC execution condition and the SCG configuration associated with each candidate PSCell can be indicated to be jointly applied with the CHO configuration).
Regarding claim 17, LENG further discloses:
wherein the handover request acknowledge message (Fig. 6 - 642) includes the second execution condition for the target SCG ([0074] The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC; [0080] Alternatively, a new RRC IE, e.g., conditionalReconfigurationSN, can be introduced to jointly configure the CHO and the associated CPAC, which includes the CPAC execution conditions and the SCG configuration associated to each candidate PSCell; [0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions (e.g., first execution condition for the target MCG), the CPAC execution conditions (e.g., second execution condition for the target SCG), the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell).
Regarding claim 18, LENG discloses:
A processor (Fig. 3 - 340) for wireless communication (Fig. 1; Fig. 9 – UE 901), comprising:
at least one controller ([0046] the processor 340 includes at least one microprocessor or microcontroller) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 3 - 360) and configured to cause the processor (Fig. 3; [0043] As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310,... a processor 340... and a memory 360; [0047] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for a joint operation of conditional handover and conditional PSCell addition or change in a wireless communication system. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process) to:
receive at least one (Fig. 3; [0043]; [0047];) of:
a conditional handover (CHO) configuration (Fig. 9 – 920; [0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions, the CPAC execution conditions, the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell) for a target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG) (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910, target SN 914; [0063] In a DC operation, a multiple Rx/Tx capable UE can be configured to communicate with two different nodes, known as a master node (MN) serving a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary node (SN) serving a secondary cell group (SCG)... The UE connects to a primary cell (PCell) from the MCG and connects to a primary SCG cell (PSCell) from the SCG; [0072] For 642, the target MN 610/612 sends the handover request acknowledge to the source MN including a transparent RRC container containing the PCell and the corresponding MCG configuration to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the CHO; [0074] For each prepared PSCell, the target SN decides other SCG SCells and provides the corresponding SCG configuration to the target MN in the SN addition request acknowledge (652)...The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC), a first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO)), or a second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target SN 914 (execution conditions of CPAC); [0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell (e.g., target MN 910) and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell (e.g., target SN 914) are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount); and
perform a random access (RA) procedure to the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 932) in response to fulfillment of at least the first execution condition ([0091] For example, the UE starts or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)).
Regarding claim 19, LENG further discloses:
wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor (Fig. 3; [0046]; [0043];) to:
start a mobility timer upon starting to perform the RA procedure to the target MCG and stop the mobility timer upon completing the RA procedure; or
in response to fulfillment of both the first execution condition for the target MCG and the second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930; [0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930); [0091] When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode, and the pair of the PCell and the PSCell is considered as a triggered cell pair... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)), perform a RA procedure to the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 938; [0092] Once the UE successfully attaches to the target PCell, the UE applies the RRCReconfiguration corresponding to the selected PSCell (i.e., the target PSCell), and sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the current MN (936), including an RRCReconfigurationComplete message for the target SN. If configured with bearers requiring SCG radio resources, the UE performs random access to the target SN (938)).
Regarding claim 20, LENG discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1; Fig. 9 – UE 901; Fig. 3), the method (Abstract -Methods and apparatuses a joint operation of conditional handover and conditional PSCell addition or change in a wireless communication system. A method of a UE comprises: receiving information including association information, execution conditions, and configurations for candidate PCells and candidate PSCells;) comprising:
receiving at least one (Fig. 9; Abstract;) of:
a conditional handover (CHO) configuration (Fig. 9 – 920; [0076] To configure the joint operation of CHO and CPAC, the source MN sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE including the CHO execution conditions, the CPAC execution conditions, the MCG/SCG configuration associated to each candidate PCell/PSCell) for a target master cell group (MCG) and a target secondary cell group (SCG) (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910, target SN 914; [0063] In a DC operation, a multiple Rx/Tx capable UE can be configured to communicate with two different nodes, known as a master node (MN) serving a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary node (SN) serving a secondary cell group (SCG)... The UE connects to a primary cell (PCell) from the MCG and connects to a primary SCG cell (PSCell) from the SCG; [0072] For 642, the target MN 610/612 sends the handover request acknowledge to the source MN including a transparent RRC container containing the PCell and the corresponding MCG configuration to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the CHO; [0074] For each prepared PSCell, the target SN decides other SCG SCells and provides the corresponding SCG configuration to the target MN in the SN addition request acknowledge (652)...The SCG configuration provided by the target SN is forwarded to the source MN in the handover request acknowledge (642) to be sent to the UE to perform the CPAC), a first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target MN 910; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO)), or a second execution condition for the target SCG (Fig. 9 – 930, target SN 914 (execution conditions of CPAC); [0090] When the parallel mode is configured or predefined, as shown in FIG. 9, the UE evaluates the execution conditions of CHO and CPAC simultaneously (930). The execution conditions of CHO and CPAC are considered to be satisfied at the same time if the execution condition of one candidate PCell (e.g., target MN 910) and the execution condition of one candidate PSCell (e.g., target SN 914) are satisfied at the same time or one after another within a certain time interval, where the time interval can be the length of a configured timer timeToCount); and
performing a random access (RA) procedure to the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 932) in response to fulfillment of at least the first execution condition ([0091] For example, the UE starts or restarts a timeToCount timer when the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for a candidate PCell (or PSCell) is fulfilled... For the selected cell pair (i.e., the target PCell and the target PSCell), the UE first applies the stored condRRCReconfig (i.e., the encapsulated RRCReconfiguration) of the selected PCell, detaches from the source PCell, performs random access procedure to the target PCell (932), and completes the handover by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target MN (934)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG in view of KIM et al. (US-20200275340-A1, hereinafter, KIM).
Regarding claim 4, LENG further discloses:
wherein the first execution condition for the target MCG (Fig. 9 – 930; (e.g., execution conditions of CHO)) includes the combination of the two conditional events ([0082] (e.g., A5 - threshold1 AND threshold2);), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to stop evaluating the second execution condition (Fig. 9 – 930) for the target SCG ([0095] In one example, the UE does not keep evaluating CPAC execution conditions when CHO is triggered and/or failed; [0097] alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed):
in response to no fulfillment of an entry condition of a first event of the two conditional events or no fulfillment of an entry condition of each of the two conditional events ([0104] While, if none of the execution conditions for the associated candidate PSCells is fulfilled before the timer expires, the UE applies the configuration of the target PCell and the corresponding MCG, and executes CHO by performing random access procedure to the target PCell (UE do not continue to keep evaluating CPAC execution conditions when CHO is triggered and failed according to [0095] or/and CPAC execution is paused until CHO is completed according to [0097];)).
LENG does not explicitly disclose in response to:
fulfillment of a leaving condition of a first event of two conditional events; or
fulfillment of a leaving condition of each of the two conditional events.
However, KIM discloses:
fulfillment of a leaving condition of a first event of two conditional events ([0407] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A3-2, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0408] Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Mp+Ofp+Ocp+Off Inequality A3-2 (Leaving condition); [0404] Event A3 (Neighbor becomes offset better than SpCell) is described. Section 5.5.4.4 of 3GPP TS 38.331 V15.4.0 (2018-12) can be referred); or
fulfillment of a leaving condition ([0423] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A5-3 or condition A5-4, i.e. at least one of the two, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0425] Mp−Hys>Thresh1 Inequality A5-3 (Leaving condition 1); Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh2 Inequality A5-4 (Leaving condition 2)) of each of the two conditional events ([0420] Event A5 (SpCell becomes worse than threshold1 and neighbor becomes better than threshold2) is described (event A5 contains two conditional events)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the stop evaluating the second execution condition for the target SCG of LENG in response to the fulfillment of the leaving condition of a first event of two conditional events or the fulfillment of the leaving condition of each of the two conditional events as taught by KIM in order to stop the condition handover process if the source gNB signal quality becomes better (e.g., threshold 1) while the target gNB signal quality becomes worse (e.g., threshold 2), which would help avoid the ping-pong effect and thus also reduce latency during handover and unnecessary use of resources (KIM - [0215] On the other hand, if UE reports the measurement reports when target cell is higher than a threshold, role change can be performed even the channel quality of PCell is better than PSCell. It may cause ping-pong and waste resources for signaling; [0218] The conditional handover is considered to reduce the latency during the handover. If DC based handover is combined with conditional handover, the number of handshakes between the gNBs can be reduced and handover failure can be reduced. For example, UE reports measurement reports when the target cell is better than a threshold. The source cell adds the target cell as the SgNB and prepares the role change simultaneously when channel quality of the source cell is still in good condition. After that UE receives role change trigger condition (e.g., PSCell is better than PCell) and triggers the role change when it is satisfied. The gNBs can change the role immediately because gNBs prepared the role change in advanced. It can reduce the role change latency and handover/role change failure could be reduced).
Regarding claim 12, LENG further discloses:
wherein in response to un-fulfillment of the second execution condition ([0104] While, if none of the execution conditions for the associated candidate PSCells is fulfilled before the timer expires, the UE applies the configuration of the target PCell and the corresponding MCG, and executes CHO by performing random access procedure to the target PCell), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to:
suspend the second execution condition for the target SCG ([0097] alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed; [0098] In one example, a UE can suspend to trigger and/or execute CPAC while a CHO is being executed).
LENG does not explicitly disclose:
transmit a message including failure information to a target master node (MN); or
trigger an SCG failure information procedure.
However, KIM discloses:
trigger an SCG failure information procedure ([0265] 1> else if T304 of a secondary cell group expires: [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0267] 2> initiate the SCG failure information procedure to report SCG reconfiguration with sync failure, upon which the RRC reconfiguration procedure ends).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the response to the un-fulfillment of the second execution condition of LENG to include trigger the SCG failure information procedure as taught by KIM in order to reduce handover failures and to free up resources by releasing any dedicated RACH preambles associated with the SCG failure information procedure (KIM - [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0218] The conditional handover is considered to reduce the latency during the handover. If DC based handover is combined with conditional handover, the number of handshakes between the gNBs can be reduced and handover failure can be reduced. For example, UE reports measurement reports when the target cell is better than a threshold. The source cell adds the target cell as the SgNB and prepares the role change simultaneously when channel quality of the source cell is still in good condition. After that UE receives role change trigger condition (e.g., PSCell is better than PCell) and triggers the role change when it is satisfied. The gNBs can change the role immediately because gNBs prepared the role change in advanced. It can reduce the role change latency and handover/role change failure could be reduced).
Regarding claim 13, LENG further discloses:
the second execution condition for the target SCG is suspended ([0097] alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed; [0098] In one example, a UE can suspend to trigger and/or execute CPAC while a CHO is being executed) after a mobility timer is stopped ([0104] While, if none of the execution conditions for the associated candidate PSCells is fulfilled before the timer expires, the UE applies the configuration of the target PCell and the corresponding MCG, and executes CHO by performing random access procedure to the target PCell).
LENG does not explicitly disclose:
the SCG failure information procedure is triggered after completing the RA procedure to the target MCG or the mobility timer is stopped.
However, KIM discloses:
the SCG failure information procedure is triggered after a mobility timer is stopped ([0265] 1> else if T304 of a secondary cell group expires: [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0267] 2> initiate the SCG failure information procedure to report SCG reconfiguration with sync failure, upon which the RRC reconfiguration procedure ends).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SCG failure information procedure and the mobility timer of LENG and KIM to include the SCG failure information procedure is triggered after the mobility timer is stopped as taught by KIM in order to supervise the handover RRC reconfiguration procedure and to free up resources by releasing any dedicated RACH preambles after the mobility timer expires (KIM - [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0218] The conditional handover is considered to reduce the latency during the handover. If DC based handover is combined with conditional handover, the number of handshakes between the gNBs can be reduced and handover failure can be reduced. For example, UE reports measurement reports when the target cell is better than a threshold. The source cell adds the target cell as the SgNB and prepares the role change simultaneously when channel quality of the source cell is still in good condition. After that UE receives role change trigger condition (e.g., PSCell is better than PCell) and triggers the role change when it is satisfied. The gNBs can change the role immediately because gNBs prepared the role change in advanced. It can reduce the role change latency and handover/role change failure could be reduced).
Regarding claim 14, LENG further discloses:
wherein the second execution condition for the target SCG is suspended ([0097] alternatively, the UE can stop the CPAC execution and falls back to the source SCG configuration, and/or suspend to execution CPAC until CHO is completed; [0098] In one example, a UE can suspend to trigger and/or execute CPAC while a CHO is being executed) after a mobility timer is expired, and wherein the mobility timer is expired indicates that the second execution condition for the target SCG is not fulfilled ([0104] While, if none of the execution conditions for the associated candidate PSCells is fulfilled before the timer expires, the UE applies the configuration of the target PCell and the corresponding MCG, and executes CHO by performing random access procedure to the target PCell; [0091] When the timeToCount timer for the candidate PCell (or PSCell) is running, if the event(s) associated to all measId(s) within condTriggerConfig for any candidate PSCell (or PCell) is fulfilled before the timer expiry, the execution condition of joint CHO and CPAC is considered to be satisfied in the parallel mode).
LENG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the failure information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message or a SCG failure information message, and wherein the failure information indicates that the mobility timer is expired.
However, KIM discloses:
the failure information is included a SCG failure information message ([0265] 1> else if T304 of a secondary cell group expires: [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0267] 2> initiate the SCG failure information procedure to report SCG reconfiguration with sync failure, upon which the RRC reconfiguration procedure ends), and the failure information indicates that a mobility timer is expired ([0265] 1> else if T304 of a secondary cell group expires: [0266]; [0267];).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the mobility timer is expired indicates that the second execution condition for the target SCG is not fulfilled of LENG and KIM to include the failure information indicates that the mobility timer is expired as taught by KIM in order to supervise the handover RRC reconfiguration procedure and to free up resources by releasing any dedicated RACH preambles for the target SCG (KIM - [0266] 2> release dedicated preambles provided in rach-ConfigDedicated, if configured; [0218] The conditional handover is considered to reduce the latency during the handover. If DC based handover is combined with conditional handover, the number of handshakes between the gNBs can be reduced and handover failure can be reduced. For example, UE reports measurement reports when the target cell is better than a threshold. The source cell adds the target cell as the SgNB and prepares the role change simultaneously when channel quality of the source cell is still in good condition. After that UE receives role change trigger condition (e.g., PSCell is better than PCell) and triggers the role change when it is satisfied. The gNBs can change the role immediately because gNBs prepared the role change in advanced. It can reduce the role change latency and handover/role change failure could be reduced).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
LEE et al. (US-20210058838-A1) teaches method and apparatus for performing a conditional cell change in a wireless communication system with a mobility triggering condition may be either entering condition or leaving condition.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418