DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
1. Claims 1, 4, 12-19, 21-30 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 12, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0222599 A1).
6. With regard to claim 12, Gregory discloses a negative pressure wound therapy device (100; abstract; [0002-0003]; [0057-0058]; Figs. 1, 3A, 3B, 11) comprising: a negative pressure source (pump assembly, 150 and pump, 390; [0029]; [0051]) configured to provide, via a fluid flow path, negative pressure therapy to a wound of a patient (wound cavity, 110) covered by a wound dressing (wound filler, 130 and wound cover, 120) in accordance with at least one parameter of therapy ([0003]); a pressure sensor (“one or more pressure sensors”) configured to measure a pressure in the fluid flow path ([0051]); and an electronic processing circuitry (general purpose controller, 310 and pump control processor, 370) configured to transmit data to and receive data from one or more remote computing devices ([0003-0004]; [0058-0058]) via a low latency, high speed communication protocol (Fig. 11; [0003-0004]; [0055]; [0074]), the electronic processing circuitry (310, 370) being further configured to: transmit the pressure in the fluid flow path measured by the pressure sensor ([0051]; step 1104; Fig. 11), thereby causing the one or more remote computing devices to determine an adjustment to the at least one parameter of therapy ([0052]; [0055]; [0057]; Fig. 11); receive from the one or more remote computing devices the adjustment of the at least one parameter of therapy (step, 1106; Fig. 11); and adjust the at least one parameter of therapy using the adjustment (step, 1108; Fig. 11; [0003-0004]; [0052]; [0057]; [0075-0076]).
7. With regard to claim 13, Gregory discloses that the low latency, high speed communication protocol comprises a 4G LTE or 5G cellular communication protocol ([0052]).
8. With regard to claim 17, Gregory discloses that the adjustment of the at least one parameter of therapy comprises at least one of changing a negative pressure set point, providing indication of an abnormal operating condition, or pausing provision of negative pressure therapy by the negative pressure source ([0028]; [0051-0052]; [0057]; [0073]; [0076-0078]).
9. With regard to claim 18, Gregory discloses that the communication electronic processing circuitry is configured to receive from the one or more remote computing devices a negative pressure wound therapy prescription (i.e. higher or lower negative pressure delivered to the wound; “pre-programmed”; “compliance monitoring”; [0052]; [0056]; [0058]; [0069]; [0077]); and cause wherein the negative pressure source is configured to provide negative pressure in accordance with the negative pressure wound therapy prescription ([0028]; [0051-0052]; [0057]; [0073]; [0076-0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1, 4, 14-16, 21-26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory.
11. With regard to claims 1 and 21, Gregory discloses a negative pressure wound therapy system (abstract; [0002-0003]; [0057-0058]; Figs. 1, 3A, 3B, 11) comprising: at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) configured to provide, via a fluid flow path, negative pressure therapy to a wound of a patient (wound cavity, 110) covered by a wound dressing (wound filler, 130 and wound cover, 120) in accordance with at least one parameter ([0003]), the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) being configured to measure a pressure in the fluid flow path (“one or more pressure sensors”; [0051]), and the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) being configured to switch between different communication protocols ([0003-0004]; [0028]; [0052]; [0056-0057]); and a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of one or more remote computing devices ([0003-0004]; [0057-0058]), causes the one or more processors to: communicate with the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) via a low latency, high speed communication protocol (Fig. 11; [0003-0004]; [0055]; [0074]); receive the pressure in the fluid flow path from the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device ([0003]; [0055]; [0074]; Fig. 11); based on processing the pressure in the fluid flow path, determine whether an adjustment to the at least one parameter of negative pressure therapy is needed ([0053]; [0055]; [0057]; Fig. 11); and in response to determining that the adjustment to the at least one parameter of negative pressure therapy is needed, communicate to the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) a request to perform the adjustment, wherein, the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) is configured to perform the adjustment in response to receiving the request (step, 1108; Fig. 11; [0003-0004]; [0052]; [0057]; [0075-0076]).
However, Gregory fails to explicitly disclose that at least one negative pressure wound therapy device is configured to switch between different communication protocols responsive to a detection of movement of the patient.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device disclosed by Gregory to be configured to switch between different communication protocols responsive to a detection of movement of the patient, since Gregory suggests in paragraph [0052] that its connectivity is used for various activities, such as pump assembly location tracking and asset tracking, which includes the claimed feature of patient movement detection. Additionally, it was well-known and common general knowledge in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a patient device which is being moved around necessarily needs to switch communication protocols for reasons of being out of range, confidentiality reasons and/or administrative reasons.
12. With regard to claim 14, while Gregory discloses that the electronic processing circuitry is configured to switch between different communication protocols ([0003-0004]; [0028]; [0052]; [0056-0057]), Gregory fails to explicitly disclose that at least one negative pressure wound therapy device is configured to switch between different communication protocols responsive to a detection of movement of the patient.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device disclosed by Gregory to be configured to switch between different communication protocols responsive to a detection of movement of the patient, since Gregory suggests in paragraph [0052] that its connectivity is used for various activities, such as pump assembly location tracking and asset tracking, which includes the claimed feature of patient movement detection. Additionally, it was well-known and common general knowledge in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a patient device which is being moved around necessarily needs to switch communication protocols for reasons of being out of range, confidentiality reasons and/or administrative reasons.
13. With regard to claim 22, Gregory discloses that the low latency, high speed communication protocol comprises a 4G LTE or 5G cellular communication protocol ([0052]).
14. With regard to claims 4, 15, 16, 23 and 24, Gregory, as modified in the rejections of claims 1, 14 and 21 above, discloses that the communication electronic processing circuitry is configured to switch from a low speed, low energy consumption communication protocol to the low latency, high speed communication protocol responsive to the detection of movement of the patient ([0003-0004]; [0028]; [0052]; [0056-0057]); and further suggests an LTE-M mode ([0052]).
However, Gregory fails to explicitly disclose that wherein the electronic processing circuitry is configured to switch from NB-IoT mode to LTE-M mode responsive to the detection of movement of the patient and switch from LTE-M mode to NB-IoT mode responsive to lack of the detection of movement of the patient.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device electronic processing circuity disclosed by Gregory to be configured to switch from NB-IoT mode to LTE-M mode responsive to the detection of movement of the patient and switch from LTE-M mode to NB-IoT mode responsive to lack of the detection of movement of the patient, since Gregory suggests in paragraph [0052] that its connectivity is used for various activities, such as pump assembly location tracking and asset tracking, which includes the claimed feature of patient movement detection. Additionally, it was well-known and common general knowledge in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that NB-IoT modes are widely utilized for battery conservation and such a mode would be advantageous in non-active situations.
15. With regard to claim 25, Gregory discloses that the adjustment of the at least one parameter of therapy comprises at least one of changing a negative pressure set point, providing indication of an abnormal operating condition, or pausing provision of negative pressure therapy by the negative pressure source ([0028]; [0051-0052]; [0057]; [0073]; [0076-0078]).
16. With regard to claim 26, Gregory discloses that the instructions further cause the one or more processors to communicate to the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device (100) a negative pressure wound therapy prescription (i.e. higher or lower negative pressure delivered to the wound; “pre-programmed”; “compliance monitoring”; [0052]; [0056]; [0058]; [0069]; [0077]); and cause wherein the negative pressure source is configured to provide negative pressure in accordance with the negative pressure wound therapy prescription ([0028]; [0051-0052]; [0057]; [0073]; [0076-0078]).
17. With regard to claims 29 and 30, Gregory fails to explicitly disclose that in response to detecting a failure in communication via the low latency, high speed communication protocol, communication with the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device is performed using a short range wireless communication protocol via another negative pressure wound therapy device or another computing device different from the one or more remote computing devices.
However, Gregory discloses that the communications processor (330) can utilize multiple antennas (340) for sending and receiving data to one or more types of known short and long range wireless connections for different various activities ([0052]); and that the system can be configured to alert a user, such as patient or medical care provider, to a variety of operating or failure conditions of the system ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one negative pressure wound therapy system disclosed by Gregory to switch between different communication protocol in response to detecting failure in another communication protocol, in order to act as a fail-safe for continuing communication protocols of therapy even if another available communications protocol were to lack connection during use, with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of Gregory’s suggestions in paragraphs [0039] and [0052].
18. Claim(s) 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory, as applied to claims 18 and 26 above, and further in view of Duesterhoft et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0271278 A1).
19. With regard to claims 19 and 27, Gregory is silent in regard to the electronic processing circuitry being configured to determine a verification of the negative pressure wound therapy prescription by a healthcare provider at the negative pressure wound therapy device prior to causing the negative pressure source is configured to provide negative pressure in accordance with the negative pressure wound therapy prescription responsive to verification of the negative pressure wound therapy prescription by a healthcare provider at the negative pressure wound therapy device.
Within the same field of negative pressure wound dressing therapy systems, Duesterhoft discloses computational methods and systems for reporting information regarding appurtenances to wound dressings (abstract; Fig. 6) wherein electronic processing circuitry (local unit, 540) is configured to determine a verification of a negative pressure wound therapy prescription (“program”) by a healthcare provider at the negative pressure wound therapy device (“verified by an initial interrogation”) prior to causing the negative pressure source is configured to provide negative pressure in accordance with the negative pressure wound therapy prescription responsive to verification of the negative pressure wound therapy prescription by a healthcare provider at the negative pressure wound therapy device ([0174]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic processing circuitry disclosed by Gregory to include a determination of a verification of the negative pressure wound therapy prescription by a healthcare provider, similar to that disclosed by Duesterhoft, in order to ensure that the patient information and wound therapy prescription are a verified match prior to starting therapy – ensuring that the patient receives the proper therapy, as suggested by Duesterhoft in paragraph [0174])
20. Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Brandolini et al. (CN 111093728 A).
21. With regard to claim 28, Gregory is silent in regard to the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device comprising a plurality of negative pressure wound therapy devices configured to be controlled by the one or more processors.
However, within the same field of negative pressure wound therapy systems, Brondolini discloses a device for operation, monitoring, and control in a wound treatment system (abstract), wherein a plurality of negative pressure wound therapy devices are configured to be controlled by one or more processors (Fig. 4; [0073-0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one negative pressure wound therapy device disclosed by Gregory to be a plurality of negative pressure wound therapy devices configured to be controlled by the one or more processors, similar to that disclosed by Brandolini, in order to separately monitor and provide independent treatment to wounds at multiple locations on a patient’s body, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Brandolini in paragraphs [0073-0074].
Conclusion
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karpowicz et al. (US PGPUB 2011/0077605 A1) discloses a pump system for negative pressure wound therapy.
Allen et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0053073 A1) discloses a system and method for implementing wound therapy protocols.
/ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781