DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figures 1-4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated, specifically they are described in the background of the invention and noted as related to prior art. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Further, the examiner suggest including “D” in the drawings (Fig. 10, 11, 12). As understood, the combination of all “d”s should equal “D”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On pp. 11, ll. 18; pp. 4, “description below discusses offsets of a distance L”. There appeared to be no further description of “L”, and the character appearing to be associated with offset is “d”.
On pp. 3, ll. 22 and pp. 4, ll. 1, “chambers 10” should be “array 10” as called in the rest of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: due to no antecedent basis, “the” should be changed to “a” for claim 11’s “the direction” and claim 13’s “the ratio D/N”.
Claims 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: due to antecedent basis, “a” should be changed to “the” for “a distance d” or “a distance 2d” recited after each first recitation in each claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
At least claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 18, and 21 include listings of limitations provided with “or” and “and/or”. These claims are interpreted as only needing one or at least one of the limitations that are listed in combination with the word “or” or “and/or”.
For example, claims 1 and 21 have a limitation wherein “a surface of the first wall located internally to the active chamber, the surface of the first wall having either no electrode thereon or having a third electrode thereon”. Therefore, a rejection may be made such that the prior art only discloses/teaches no electrode.
Further, claims 9 and 11 are identified as having “optionally” before an additional limitation. These claims are interpreted as only needing the limitation that comes before “optionally”.
For example, claims 11 has the limitation, “wherein each row is offset from the other rows in a direction of the extent of the rows, and optionally each row is arranged to be actuated at differing times to cause the droplets ejected from each row to be deposited on the medium in substantially a line”. Therefore, a rejection may be made such that the prior art only discloses/teaches the rows as offset from each other, but not the actuation timing and such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al. (US 6223405 B1, from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Oikawa and further in view of Ochi et al. (US 20140217198 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ochi.
Regarding claim 1, Oikawa teaches an apparatus for depositing droplets of fluid onto a medium (ink jet head with pressure chambers and nozzles to eject ink; col. 10, ll. 51-58), the apparatus comprising:
an array of chambers (Fig. 3, 4; portion of Fig. 3 annotated below for detail), the array including:
a first subset of chambers (10), the first subset of chambers comprising a plurality of chambers arranged to selectively deposit droplets of fluid (col. 10, ll. 56-58); and
a second subset of chambers (chambers other than 10), the second subset of chambers comprising a plurality of chambers not configured for selective deposition of droplets of fluid (electrode 6 is placed outwards with respect to chamber 10; col. 11, ll. 5-7; therefore the chamber(s) with electrode 6 internal is/are not used for deposition; alternatively, in Fig. 4, at least chamber farthest in -X direction has no connecting nozzle); wherein
at least one of the chambers in the first subset of chambers is an active chamber (chambers 10 may be connected to nozzles; col. 10, ll. 51-58), the active chamber having a first wall (8) adjoining a chamber from the first subset of chambers (8 connects two chambers 10) and a second wall opposed to the first wall the second wall (2) being formed of a piezoelectric material (col. 10, ll. 64-65) and adjoining a chamber from the second subset of chambers (2 disposed between 10 and chamber not labeled 10);
at least one of the chambers in the second subset of chambers is an inactive chamber (chambers other than 10), each inactive chamber having two opposed walls, at least one of the inactive chamber walls adjoining a chamber from the first subset of chambers (2 disposed between 10 and chamber not labeled 10); and wherein each active chamber (10) has:
a first electrode (5) on a surface of the second wall (2) internal to the active chamber and a second electrode (6) on an opposed surface of the second wall (2), external to the active chamber; and
a surface of the first wall located internally to the active chamber (side of 8 internal to 10), the surface of the first wall having either no electrode thereon (no electrode on 8) or having a third electrode thereon, the third electrode being controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode being an electrically isolated electrode (third electrode not required due to “or”); and
the apparatus being configured to provide an actuation potential [independently] to the first and second electrodes of each active chamber (“unactivated section includes an electrode to impress a voltage upon the piezoelectric element”; col. 3, ll. 64-65; electric charge can be injected between the electrodes; col. 8, ll. 18-19, 27-28); wherein
each of the second walls is actuable such that, in response to the provision of the actuation potential on the [second] electrode, the second wall is arranged to deform (“piezoelectric element deformed by the impression of a voltage..., the unactivated section includes an electrode to impress a voltage upon the piezoelectric element”; col. 3, ll. 61-65); and wherein
each chamber (10) in the first subset of chambers is in communication with an aperture (nozzle) for the release of droplets of fluid (col. 10, ll. 56-58) and is in communication with a supply of fluid (col. 10, ll. 58-60) to selectively deposit the fluid in response to the provision of actuation potential to the [second] electrode on the second wall of each active chamber (electric charge applied between electrodes can result in volume change in the chamber and result in ejection of ink through the nozzle; col. 8, ll. 18-22; voltage to piezoelectric element 2 causes deformation and results in ejecting ink from the nozzle; col. 11, ll. 47-66).
Oikawa teaches, as applied above, the electrode(s) as being used to impress a voltage/potential on the second wall for actuation/deformation (col. 3, ll. 61-65; col. 8, ll. 18-19, 27-28). While Oikawa is not explicit that an actuation potential is applied independently to the first and second electrodes of each active chamber and the actuation potential on the second electrode causes the second wall to be actuated and deform, it is well known in the art that by applying a potential to electrodes (either or both) disposed on a piezoelectric wall, the piezoelectric wall is causes to actuate and/or deform.
Ochi supports this by teaching an apparatus (inkjet head 100) with a configuration (Fig. 6A-6C) for a second [piezoelectric] wall (3) of an active chamber (1) with a first electrode (15, 18) on the wall internal to the chamber and a second electrode (14, 17) on the wall external to the chamber. A potential is independently applied to each electrode (VA to 14, VB to 15; at para. 0068-0071), and depending on the potential applied to the second electrode (VB, with respect to VA), the wall may be actuated and potentially deform (neutral, outward or inward). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known the mode for application of actuation potential and use of actuation potential for deformation of a piezoelectric wall via the electrode(s), such as the second electrode in particular, as further taught by Ochi.
As noted above, independent claim 1 recites the surface of the first wall has either no electrode thereon or has a third electrode thereon, the third electrode being controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode being an electrically isolated electrode. Under the assumption that the first wall has no electrode, Oikawa teaches claim 1.
Under the assumption that the third electrode is controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode is an electrically isolated electrode, Oikawa fails to teach this feature.
Regarding claim 3, Oikawa further teaches wherein one or more inactive chambers is not in communication with a/the supply of printing fluid; has no aperture for the selective release of fluid (in Fig. 4, at least chamber farthest in -X direction has no connecting nozzle); and/or is filled with gas or a gas mixture such as air.
Regarding claim 8, Oikawa further teaches wherein the first wall has a different width to a width of the second wall and/or wherein the first wall is formed from a different material from the material from which the second wall is formed (piezoelectric element 2 is thinner than wall 8 in Fig. 3 annotated for claim 1; alternatively, different direction hatching for piezoelectric element 2 and wall 8 typically imply different materials).
Regarding claim 9, Oikawa further teaches wherein the array includes adjacent chambers arranged in a row, optionally wherein the row is substantially linear (array in Fig. 3 annotated for claim 1 shows adjacent chambers in a substantially linear row).
Regarding claim 17, Oikawa further teaches wherein the second wall is arranged to deform in a first direction in response to a first potential difference applied across the second wall (electric charge between electrodes can be used to reduce volume of the chamber; col. 8, ll. 18-22; as understood, because the electrodes cause the piezoelectric wall to deform to change the volume of the chamber, the piezoelectric wall would move inwards for an decrease in volume); and wherein the second wall is arranged to deform in a second direction, opposite to the first direction in response to a second potential difference applied across the second wall (electric charge between electrodes can be used to increase volume of the chamber; col. 8, ll. 27-30; as understood, because the electrodes cause the piezoelectric wall to deform to change the volume of the chamber, the piezoelectric wall would move outwards for an increase in volume).
Ochi supports this as well (understanding of direction of deformation related change volume of the pressure chamber) by teaching wherein when the second wall (3) is actuated by the electrodes (14, 15 by voltages VA, VB), the second wall (3) can move inwards (Fig. 6C) or outwards (Fig. 6B) to change the volume of the active chamber (1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known the mode for application of a potential difference wherein the second wall can be deformed in either direction depending on the potential difference, as further taught by Ochi (at para. 0071, 0072).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson et al. (GB 2584617 A, from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Jackson.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa, supported by Ochi, and further in view of Jackson.
Regarding claim 2, Oikawa further teaches wherein the array includes at least one pair of adjacent active chambers (10’s adjacent in Fig. 3 annotated for claim 1), however Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the adjacent pair of active chambers are operable substantially simultaneously.
Jackson teaches an apparatus (printhead; pp. 6, ll. 9) wherein actuation for active chambers to fire may overlap in time or begin at the same time (pp. 11, ll. 27-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oikawa such adjacent active chambers may be operable substantially simultaneously for the purpose depositing a line on the medium, as taught by Igaki (pp. 11, ll. 27-32).
Regarding claim 21, Oikawa teaches method of depositing droplets of fluid onto a medium using an apparatus (ink jet head with pressure chambers and nozzles to eject ink; col. 10, ll. 51-58), the apparatus comprising:
an array of chambers (Fig. 3, 4; portion of Fig. 3 annotated under claim 1), the array including:
a first subset of chambers (10), the first subset of chambers comprising a plurality of chambers arranged to selectively deposit droplets of fluid (col. 10, ll. 56-58); and
a second subset of chambers (chambers other than 10), the second subset of chambers comprising a plurality of chambers not configured for selective deposition of droplets of fluid (electrode 6 is placed outwards with respect to chamber 10; col. 11, ll. 5-7; therefore, the chamber(s) with electrode 6 internal is/are not used for deposition; alternatively, in Fig. 4, at least chamber farthest in -X direction has no connecting nozzle); wherein
at least one of the chambers in the first subset of chambers is an active chamber (chambers 10 may be connected to nozzles; col. 10, ll. 51-58), the active chamber having a first wall (8) adjoining a chamber from the first subset of chambers (8 connects two chambers 10) and a second wall opposed to the first wall the second wall (2) being formed of a piezoelectric material (col. 10, ll. 64-65) and adjoining a chamber from the second subset of chambers (2 disposed between 10 and chamber not labeled 10);
at least one of the chambers in the second subset of chambers is an inactive chamber (chambers other than 10), each inactive chamber having two opposed walls, at least one of the inactive chamber walls adjoining a chamber from the first subset of chambers (2 disposed between 10 and chamber not labeled 10); and wherein each active chamber (10) has:
a first electrode (5) on a surface of the second wall (2) internal to the active chamber and a second electrode (6) on an opposed surface of the second wall (2), external to the active chamber; and
a surface of the first wall located internally to the active chamber (side of 8 internal to 10), the surface of the first wall having either no electrode thereon (no electrode on 8) or having a third electrode thereon, the third electrode being controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode being an electrically isolated electrode (third electrode not required due to “or”); and
and wherein the method comprises, for an actuation cycle, the steps of:
providing an actuation potential to the first and/or second electrodes to actuate the second walls of the active chambers (“unactivated section includes an electrode to impress a voltage upon the piezoelectric element”; col. 3, ll. 64-65; electric charge can be injected between the electrodes; col. 8, ll. 18-19, 27-28) such that:
for each active chamber that is assigned as a non-firing chamber, the second wall remains in a neutral position (as understood, if voltage is not applied or applied such that the potential difference is zero to the electrodes and second wall, the second wall should not move and stay in a neutral position); and
for each active chamber that is assigned as a firing chamber the second wall is actuated to reduce the volume of the active firing chamber and deposit a droplet of fluid (electric charge applied between electrodes can result in volume change in the chamber and result in ejection of ink through the nozzle; col. 8, ll. 18-22; voltage to piezoelectric element 2 causes deformation and can result in ejecting ink from the nozzle; col. 11, ll. 47-66); wherein
actuating the second walls results in each said firing chamber releasing at least one droplet (ink can be ejected when piezoelectric element 2 is actuated; col. 8, ll. 18-22, col. 11, ll. 47-66; as understood, if ink is ejected, at least a droplet of ink is released).
While Oikawa is not explicit that for each active chamber that is assigned as a non-firing chamber, the second wall remains in a neutral position, it is clear that the lack of application of a potential would mean there is a lack of movement (staying in a neutral position), and it is well known in the art that by applying equal potential to both electrodes disposed on a piezoelectric wall, the piezoelectric wall would not deform.
Ochi supports this by teaching an apparatus (inkjet head 100) with a configuration (Fig. 6A-6C) for a second [piezoelectric] wall (3) of an active chamber (1) with a first electrode (15, 18) on the wall internal to the chamber and a second electrode (14, 17) on the wall external to the chamber. A potential is independently applied to each electrode (VA to 14, VB to 15; at para. 0068-0071), and in a case wherein the potential applied to the second electrode is equal to the potential applied to the first electrode (VA=VB), the wall may stay in a neutral position (Fig. 6A). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known the mode for application of actuation potential and use of actuation potential for deformation or lack thereof of a piezoelectric wall via the electrode(s), as further taught by Ochi.
However, Oikawa, does not teach wherein the method includes the step of: receiving input data; assigning, based on said input data, all the active chambers within the first subset as either firing chambers or non-firing chambers so as to produce bands of one or more contiguous firing chambers separated by gaps corresponding to contiguous bands of chambers which are either nonfiring chambers or inactive chambers; and selectively providing an actuation potential to the first and/or second electrodes, based on said input data; and wherein the resulting droplets form dots disposed on a line on said medium, said dots being separated on said line by gaps corresponding to said non-firing chambers.
Jackson teaches a method of depositing droplets of fluid onto a medium using an apparatus, the method comprises, for an actuation cycle, the steps of:
receiving input data (“controller 54 receives image data from the user interface 50”; pp. 23, ll. 25);
assigning, based on said input data, all the active chambers within the first subset as either firing chambers or non-firing chambers so as to produce bands of one or more contiguous firing chambers separated by gaps corresponding to contiguous bands of chambers which are either nonfiring chambers or inactive chambers (“based on input data, certain of the chambers within the nozzle row are assigned as firing chambers… while the remaining chambers are assigned as non-firing chambers… this assignment results in bands of one or more contiguous firing chambers, indicated by the emboldened horizontal lines, separated by bands of one or more contiguous non-firing chambers”; pp. 8, ll. 17-23; Fig. 8(a), 8(b)); pp. 10, ll. 5-6; Fig. 10(a), 10(b)); and
selectively providing an actuation potential to the first and/or second electrodes, based on said input data (electrodes are provided on the chamber walls to form actuators which are selectively actuated; pp. 6, ll. 20-22); and
wherein the resulting droplets form dots disposed on a line on said medium, said dots being separated on said line by gaps corresponding to said non-firing chambers (pp. 8, ll. 15-23; Fig. 8(a), 8(b)), 10(a), 10(b)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oikawa such actuation cycles are based on input data to selectively control ejection of droplets for each pixel line such that they droplets may land in the same line on the medium, as taught by Igaki (pp. 8, ll. 15-16; pp. 23, ll. 26-27).
As noted above, independent claim 21 recites the surface of the first wall has either no electrode thereon or has a third electrode thereon, the third electrode being controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode being an electrically isolated electrode. Under the assumption that the first wall has no electrode, Oikawa as modified by Jackson teaches claim 1.
Under the assumption that the third electrode is controllable independently of the first and second electrodes or the third electrode is an electrically isolated electrode, Oikawa as modified by Jackson fails to explicitly teach this feature.
Regarding claim 22, Oikawa as modified by Jackson teaches the method according to claim 21, and Jackson further teaches wherein, during an actuation cycle at least one pair of adjacent active chambers are both designated as firing chambers and each second wall of the pair of adjacent active firing chambers is actuated substantially simultaneously (in Fig. 8(a), 8(b)), adjacent chambers 10(h), (i) are actuated to fire substantially simultaneously; actuation timing may be overlapped or synchronized; pp. 11, ll. 27-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Oikawa such adjacent active firing chambers may be operable substantially simultaneously for the purpose depositing a line on the medium, as taught by Igaki (pp. 11, ll. 27-32).
Claim(s) 4-7, 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amamiya et al. (JP 2001334662 A), hereinafter referred to as Amamiya.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Oikawa does teach a pattern of at least an inactive chamber, a pair of adjacent active chamber, and an inactive chamber (Fig. 3 annotated for claim 1). Further, it is understood that if the pattern were repeated such that the last inactive chamber were a first inactive chamber for a new set (set of three being an inactive and two adjacent active chambers), the pattern would continue such that a pair of adjacent active chambers separated from another pair of adjacent active chambers by an inactive chamber (i.e., inactive, active, active, inactive, active, active…).
However, Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the array includes a pair of adjacent active chambers separated from another pair of adjacent active chambers by an inactive chamber, wherein the array includes a repeating pattern of three chambers arranged as two adjacent active chambers followed by a single inactive chamber.
Amamiya teaches an apparatus (ink-jet recording head; at para. 0199) wherein an array (upper or lower row of chambers in Fig. 1, 6, 7) includes a pair of adjacent active chambers (3) separated from another pair of adjacent active chambers by an inactive chamber (5), and specifically wherein the array includes a repeating pattern of three chambers arranged as two adjacent active chambers followed by a single inactive chamber (a basic unit: ink chamber 3, wall 4, buffer chamber 5, wall 4, chamber 3, fixed wall 6; at para. 0040; the basic unit is repeated, therefore ink chamber 3 is adjacent to another inkjet chamber 3, sharing a wall 6; therefore, the pattern also follows essentially 3, 3, 5 repeating; Fig. 1, 6, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oikawa such that the pattern follows with a repeated pattern, such as adjacent active chambers followed by an inactive chamber, repeated, for the purpose of having a plurality of units with chambers to accommodate an apparatus with a large number of nozzles for high-speed printing as taught by Amamiya (at para. 0038).
Regarding claim 6, Oikawa as modified by Amamiya teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, and Oikawa specifically teaches wherein an end chamber of the array is: a chamber of the second subset of chambers; or an active chamber and a penultimate chamber in the array is a chamber of the second subset of chambers; or wherein an end most wall of the apparatus is moveable independently of other walls of the array (leftmost end chamber is an inactive chamber, i.e., a chamber of the second subset of chambers; Fig. 3 annotated for claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Oikawa does teach the apparatus according to claim 1, however Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the or each inactive chamber is different in shape and/or size to the or each active chamber.
Amamiya teaches an apparatus (ink-jet recording head; at para. 0199) wherein active chambers (3) may have a width (T1) larger than a width (T2) of inactive chambers (5) (at para. 0049; Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oikawa such that the inactive chambers may be smaller in size than active chambers for the purpose of having active chambers align with walls when offset in a plurality of rows in order to increase nozzle density as taught by Amamiya (at para. 0050, 0051).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Oikawa does teach the apparatus according to claim 9, however Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus includes a plurality of linear rows running parallel to one another and wherein each row is offset from the other rows in a direction of extent of the rows, and optionally each row is arranged to be actuated at differing times to cause the droplets ejected from each row to be deposited on the medium in substantially a line.
Amamiya teaches an apparatus (ink-jet recording head; at para. 0199) wherein there may be two or more rows of chambers (chamber sets forming body blocks may be arranged in two directions to form rows and columns; at para. 0038; two or more rows are adopted; at para. 0024; Fig. 1, 2, 6 ,7, 8). Further, each row is offset from one another by a pitch amount related to head pitch amount (P/2 or P’; Fig. 2, 8; rows shown as offset in Fig. 1, 6, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oikawa such that there are a plurality of linear rows running parallel to one another and wherein the rows are offset from other rows for the purpose of accommodating a large number of nozzles for higher nozzle density and high-speed printing as taught by Amamiya (at para. 0024, 0038).
Regarding claim 13, Oikawa as modified by Amamiya teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, and Amamiya teaches wherein there are N rows (two or more rows; at para. 0024; two rows; Fig. 2; three rows; Fig. 8), each row includes a repeating portion having repeating units of chambers of total length D (total length of D is similar to and/or slightly larger than head pitch P; Fig. 2, 8), and an offset d between rows is an integer multiple of a ratio D/N (range of offset exists from P/2 (similar to D/N with N=2) to P’ (equal to or less than P/2); this range is understood as at least overlapping with d, therefore obviousness exists; MPEP 2144.05 I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Oikawa such that there exists an offset related to the ratio of rows to repeating chamber units’ size for the purpose of accommodating a large number of nozzles for higher nozzle density as taught by Amamiya (at para. 0042, 0051).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Igaki et al. (US 20020140780 A1), hereinafter referred to as Igaki.
Regarding claims 14-16, Oikawa as modified by Amamiya teach the apparatus according to claim 11, and Amamiya teaches wherein there may be two or more rows, or specifically three rows (explicitly demonstrates two rows in Fig. 2 and three rows in Fig. 8). Further, Amamiya teaches (Fig. 2, 8) wherein the active chambers (3) may have a same width (T1) or larger width than a width (T1 > T2) of inactive chambers (5). The range of two or more rows overlaps with at least four and at least six rows, therefore obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05), specifically for the purpose of accommodating a large number of nozzles for higher nozzle density as taught by Amamiya (at para. 0042, 0051).
Igaki teaches an apparatus (ink-jet recording head 1; Fig. 1) wherein there may be a plurality of rows (Fig. 2(a)-2(c)) of active chambers (3 or 3a, b) and inactive chambers (5) may be provided (at para. 0187), the rows possibly following the two active chamber, one inactive chamber pattern (Fig. 4), and the chambers may be substantially aligned with one another (Fig. 2(a)-2(c)).
The specific widths of d or 2d for the active chamber, inactive chamber, and walls and specifics offsets of distance d or distance 2d between rows are not explicitly taught by the prior art provided, however it is understood that the reasoning for the offset according to the present invention is such that each location (understood as locations in a perpendicular direction to the first/second directions from Fig. 10-12) has an active chamber, an inactive chamber, or a wall once or twice (for claim 14: pp. 11, ll. 34-pp. 12, ll. 2; for claim 15: pp. 12, ll. 13-17; for claim 16: pp. 12, ll. 31-34). By this overlap occurring due to offset, inactive areas can be covered by active areas in a different row, and because apertures are provided for active chambers, and they overlap with inactive chambers, the aperture (nozzle) density is increased for improved print resolution (pp. 10, ll. 31-31, pp. 29, ll. 16-20).
This reasoning/purpose is not different from that of prior art wherein nozzle density and speed is increased (Amamiya: at para. 0042, 0051; Igaki: at para. 0187). Therefore, the present invention demonstrates a change in size/proportion that would not change the performance of the device differently from prior art (refer to MPEP 2144.04 IV A, “In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc.) and/or rearrangement of parts (refer to MPEP 2144.04 VI C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus taught by Oikawa as modified by Amamiya wherein the widths of parts and offset amounts may be specified for a plurality of rows such that a larger number of nozzles may be accommodated with improved nozzle density as taught by at least Amamiya (at para. 0042, 0051) and Igaki (at para. 0187).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Ochi.
Regarding claim 18, Oikawa does teach wherein one or more second walls are actuable such that a potential is applied and causes deformation (as applied to claim 17), however Oikawa does not teach wherein one or more second walls are actuable by either: the or each first electrode being held at a fixed potential and the apparatus being arranged to provide the or each corresponding second electrode with one of a first potential higher than the fixed potential or a second potential lower than the fixed potential; or by: the or each second electrode being held at a fixed potential and the apparatus being arranged to provide the or each corresponding first electrode with one of the first potential higher than the fixed potential or the second potential lower than the fixed potential.
Ochi teaches an apparatus (inkjet head 100) with a configuration (Fig. 6A-6C) for a second [piezoelectric] wall (3) of a chamber (1) with a first electrode (15, 18) on the wall internal to the chamber and a second electrode (14, 17) on the wall external to the chamber. A potential is independently applied to each electrode (VA to 14, VB to 15; at para. 0068-0071), and depending on the potential applied to the second electrode (VB, with respect to VA), the wall may be actuated and potentially deform (neutral, outward or inward). Specifically, there is a case wherein a fixed potential held/applied to the first electrode (VB is ground; at para. 0067), and a first potential higher than the fixed potential (VA>VB) or a second potential lower than the fixed potential (VA<VB) may applied to the second electrode (at para. 0070, 0071; Fig. 6B, 6C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the mode of actuation potential being applied wherein one electrode has a fixed potential and the other electrode has a potential higher or lower than the fixed potential for the purpose of clarifying the difference in potential needed to control the direction of deformation of the second wall, as taught by Ochi.
Regarding claim 19, Oikawa does teach wherein one or more second walls are actuable such that a potential is applied to the electrodes (“unactivated section includes an electrode to impress a voltage upon the piezoelectric element”; col. 3, ll. 64-65; electric charge can be injected between the electrodes; col. 8, ll. 18-19, 27-28; “piezoelectric element deformed by the impression of a voltage..., the unactivated section includes an electrode to impress a voltage upon the piezoelectric element”; col. 3, ll. 61-65) as applied to claim 1 and supported by Ochi. However, Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein different potentials are applied to one or more first and corresponding second electrodes for actuating the second wall(s).
Ochi teaches an apparatus (inkjet head 100) with a configuration (Fig. 6A-6C) for a second [piezoelectric] wall (3) of a chamber (1) with a first electrode (15, 18) on the wall internal to the chamber and a second electrode (14, 17) on the wall external to the chamber. A potential is independently applied to each electrode (VA to 14, VB to 15; at para. 0068-0071), and depending on the potential applied to the second electrode (VB, with respect to VA), the wall may be actuated and potentially deform (neutral, outward or inward). Specifically, the wall is actuated and deformed when the potential applied to the first electrode is different from the potential applied to the second electrode (VA>VB or VA<VB; at para. 0070, 0071; Fig. 6B, 6C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the mode of actuation potential being applied wherein one electrode has a potential and the other electrode has a different for the purpose of clarifying the use of different potentials to control the direction of deformation of the second wall, as taught by Ochi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. From IDS:
Kobayashi (EP 2905138 A1) demonstrates an apparatus wherein there are specifically four rows or six rows of [appearing equal size] active chambers and inactive chamber, and wherein the chambers are offset between rows (Fig. 11, 13).
Drury (WO 2007007079 A1) demonstrates an apparatus wherein active and inactive chambers are alternating and offset such that active share walls with both adjacent active chambers and inactive chambers and wherein the active chambers may have a different shape from inactive chambers (Fig. 4-13, 15, 16).
Drury et al. (WO 2010055344 A1) demonstrates a similar method/apparatus to that of Jackson used for rejections of claims 2, 21, and 22.
Jackson et al. (WO 2018224821 A1) demonstrates a similar method/apparatus to that of Jackson used for rejections of claims 2, 21, and 22.
Kubota (US 5144342 A) demonstrates an apparatus wherein there are alternating active and inactive chambers with first and second electrodes (Fig. 2, 6-8).
Condie et al. (GB 2546097 A) demonstrates an apparatus wherein active and inactive chambers are alternating and offset such that active share walls with both adjacent active chambers and inactive chambers and wherein the active chambers may have a different shape from inactive chambers, and the non-actuable walls may have isolated electrodes (Fig. 7A-8B).
17 July 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853