DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. This is a Final Action on the merits in response to the claims as submitted on 02/20/2026.
2. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-23 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 13 discloses the newly added limitation “update the battery rental information of the smart contract with information that the battery is lost based on the querying so as to avail information of the battery that is lost to the block chain network”.
However the originally filled specification does not disclose the limitation as claimed. Regarding updating the battery rental information, the originally filled specification discloses:
[0014] According to an embodiment, the communication unit may be further configured to further receive a battery return request of the user, and the information management unit may be further configured to update the battery rental information by using the smart contract upon receiving the return request.
[0107] In operation S320, the battery station management server 10 may update the battery rental information. Upon receiving the battery return request in operation S310, the battery station management server 10 may update the battery rental information by performing operation S320. In this case, the battery station management sever 10 may manage information indicating that the battery is normally returned, by updating the battery rental information.
[0108] The battery station management server 10 may perform operation S320 after performing operation S310, without being limited thereto. According to an embodiment, even without receiving the battery return request (i.e., without performing operation S310), the battery station management server 10 may update the battery rental information upon arrival of a preset period. The preset period may mean, but not limited to, a battery rental period.
As demonstrated, the originally filled specification merely discloses that the system updates the battery rental information by using a smart contract, however the originally filled specification does not provide the level of detail on the newly amended claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim(s) 1, the Applicant recites a battery station management server. However, the Applicant has failed to properly define the physical components (i.e. a computer processor, hardware, etc.) of such server in the claim recitation. Accordingly, the Examiner is interpreting such recitations as software, per se given that there is no structural or hardware information in the originally filled speciation. Indeed, computer code, per se, is not eligible for patent protection. Although, it is noted that the communication unit communicates with an external device via a signal, such external device is recited as not being part of the server, thereby failing to provide an structural element to the server. If Applicant were to amended the claim 1 to positively recite a physical component, such as a computer processor or any other hardware component, the 101 rejection would be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-15, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the claims are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process and machine, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-20 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls under the “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” group within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in the MPEP 2106 since the claims set forth steps that recite commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
Claims 1 and 8 and 13 recites the abstract idea of renting equipment such as batteries [005]. In claim 13, as a representative, this idea is described by the following claim steps:
storing battery information about a battery and user information about a user by using a contract;
receiving a battery rental request of the user for a rental of a battery;
determining whether to approve the batter rental request;
managing battery rental information comprising the battery information by using the contract, when approving the battery rental request;
determine whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information of the contract;
updating the battery rental information of the contract with information that the battery is lost based on querying so as avail information of the battery that is lost.
This idea falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas because it is directed towards commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; sales activities or behaviors; business relations). The noted abstract idea is also directed to managing interactions between people such as that required during communications renting a battery conforms to the requirements of more than one party.
Because the above-noted limitations recite steps falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity abstract idea groupings of the MPEP 2106, they have been determined to recite at least one abstract idea when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity abstract idea groupings described in the MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Claim 1 and 8 recites similar limitations as claim 13 and are therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application are:
-blockchain network;
-smart contract;
-server;
-a communication unit, an authentication unit and information management unit (i.e. software);
-a battery station;
-user terminal.
However, using a computer environment such as a blockchain network; server and smart contract and other recited computer elements amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Managing rental equipment can reasonably be performed by pencil and paper until limited to a computerized environment by requiring the generic use of a blockchain and smart contract and a computer environment to perform the steps.
In regards to the use of a blockchain and smart contract, the examiner views these additional elements as results-oriented steps given that there is no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result are currently present such that this is viewed as equivalent to “apply it” for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components (See Id.).
These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and alternatively serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h).
In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method, computer system, and computer program product that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For the reasons identified with respect to Step 2A, prong 2, claims 1, 8 and 13 and fail to recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept. For example, use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 17-23 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above.
Dependent claim 2-4, 7, 9, 12, 14-17, and 21-23 further limits the abstract idea by introducing additional abstract process and steps of the abstract idea. Processing data is a process that could be performed manually until limited by a computer environment. Further embellishing that the invention is capable of processing and sorting information in a generic computing environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 5, 10, 18-20 further limits the abstract idea by linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use by introducing a limitation directed to the use of a smart contract. However, The examiner views these additional elements as results-oriented steps given that there is no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result are currently present such that this is viewed as equivalent to “apply it” for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components (See Id.). Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide high level of generality computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For more information see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na (KR 1020200118696) in view of ABBOTT (WO 2023076954).
Regarding claims 1, 8, NA discloses a battery station management server of a block chain network, and system (page 1 “Hie present disclosure relates to a blockchain-based shared auxiliary battery rental and return system and method” page 2, “a rental and return mediation server”) comprising:
a battery station configured to manage at least one battery (page 4 “a shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400… The event information may be scan information obtained by scanning the identification code of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 and request information according to rental and return of the customer terminal.”);
a user terminal configured to generate a battery rental request for renting the at least one battery from the battery station (page 4 “the customer terminal 200 is a terminal for renting and returning a shared auxiliary battery, and is a terminal for providing event information required for rental and return by connecting to the rental and return mediation server 300 through a platform (app) during rental and return.”) and a battery station management server configured to:
a communication unit configured to communicate with an external device via a signal, and to receive a battery rental request for a battery managed by a battery station (page 2 “a first step of receiving rental request event information of a shared auxiliary battery from a customer terminal”);
an authentication unit configured to determine whether to approve the battery rental request for a rental of the battery (page 2 “a fourth step in which the rental and return mediation server determines whether the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal can be rented”; page 4 “At this time, it will be apparent that the customer terminal 200 May be any terminal that checks the authenticity of the customer's identity and checks the deposit and withdrawal of the virtual (encrypted) currency through the network communication to perform payment processing for the payment amount.”; Page 7 “The rental and return mediation server 300 approves rental and return of the shared auxiliary battery based on event information transmitted from the customer terminal 200, and performs a function of controlling a rental operation and a return operation of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 according to the approval information.”); and
an information management unit configured to store battery information about the battery and user information about a user by using a smart contract having a same content in the block chain network and manage battery rental information comprising the battery information and the user information by using the smart contract when approving the battery rental request (page 2 “updates and manages the rental data from the transaction and rental data, and the private blockchain shares the distributed ledger between the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal,” “a first step of receiving rental request event information of a shared auxiliary battery from a customer terminal and receiving the rental request event information from a return mediation server; a second step of providing, by the rental and return mediation server, geographical information of a rental place for renting a shared auxiliary battery compatible with the customer terminal to the customer terminal based on the rental request event information; a third step of renting and transmitting scan information and rental request event information obtained by scanning the identification code of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal installed in the rental place using the rental and return support platform in the customer terminal”; page 2 “When the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal manages a member capable of paying with virtual (encrypted) money for each grade and age, manages the private blockchain by updating mileage and rental history information of the member, manages a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code, confirms whether the generated wallet is deposited when an identification code is provided by generating a wallet address which is an account to be deposited by the shared auxiliary battery in the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, deduces the exchange fee when the virtual (encrypted) money is deposited into the electronic wallet address assigned to the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, and manages the type and number of the shared auxiliary battery rented and reserved in the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal as log data. page 7, “The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. In particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain.” Further see page 6 “A public key-based digital signature scheme…”),
battery rental information comprised in a smart contract, and update the battery rental information of the smart contract with information, so as to avail information to the block chain network (page 2 “manages the private blockchain by updating mileage and rental history information of the member, manages a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code”, page 7 “The blockchain supports such a smart contract, thereby enabling automated direct transactions between transaction parties without a mediation or central institution, and maintaining both conditions and results in a distributed ledger, thereby ensuring reliability and integrity of transaction information. That is, the user programs a protocol smart contract containing a desired condition and stores the same in a blockchain, and when a specific condition is satisfied, the corresponding smart contract is verified and executed by other blockchain participants… The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. ln particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain,” page 8 “The rental and return mediation server 300 May manage a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code.”)
Na does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information management unit is further configured to determine whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information.
However, Abbott which is directed to a smart power tool battery charger based on rental information further teaches:
wherein the information management unit is further configured to determine whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information ([00234] In other embodiments, the power tool battery charger 702 can be configured to enforce a return-to-charger rental policy. For instance, the power tool battery charger 702 (or an associated set of power tool battery chargers in a power tool device network) may require that all associated battery packs are returned by a given time. Missing battery packs may trigger an alert (e.g., visual, auditory, text, email, etc.). Alternatively, a power tool battery charger 702 or associated set of power tool battery chargers may require that all associated battery packs at least return to an associated power tool battery charger with some characteristic frequency (e.g., at least once a day).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to include a return policy such as that disclosed on Abbot in order to determine if a return is on time and thereby identify any missing equipment since such improvement in the system of Na is directed to a modification of a similar system that provides the known benefit of determine if the equipment were return by a specific time and if the equipment is complete as disclosed by Abbott.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 14 NA discloses
wherein the battery information comprises battery identification information and battery manufacturing company information (page 2 “a control unit configured to provide battery information including a quantity and a type of the shared auxiliary battery buffered in the charging accommodation unit… control a withdrawal operation of the charging accommodation unit so that the shared auxiliary battery of the charging accommodation unit corresponding to the ID recorded in the approval information is withdrawn”), and the user information comprises user identification information (page 2 “member data”; page 4 “the customer terminal 200 May be a terminal that receives virtual (encrypted) money through a wallet address generated for each purchaser by using a web page”; page 6 “his/her secret key”).
Regarding claim 3, NA discloses
wherein the authentication unit is further configured to generate authentication information in response to the battery rental request, and determine whether to approve the battery rental request based on the user information and the authentication information (page 2 “a fourth step in which the rental and return mediation server determines whether the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal can be rented”; page 4 “At this time, it will be apparent that the customer terminal 200 May be any terminal that checks the authenticity of the customer's identity and checks the deposit and withdrawal of the virtual (encrypted) currency through the network communication to perform payment processing for the payment amount.”; Page 7 “The rental and return mediation server 300 approves rental and return of the shared auxiliary battery based on event information transmitted from the customer terminal 200, and performs a function of controlling a rental operation and a return operation of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 according to the approval information.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, NA discloses
wherein the authentication unit is further configured to determine whether to approve the battery rental request based on a form validation (page 6 “The public key-based digital signature scheme is used to verify the validity of the transaction in the blockchain. A user who is to generate a transaction makes a signature for the corresponding transaction using his/her secret key and transmits transaction information to the blockchain network together with its own public key.”).
Regarding claims 5, 10, NA discloses
wherein the communication unit is further configured to further receive a battery return request of the user, and wherein the information management unit is further configured to update the battery rental information by using the smart contract upon receiving the battery return request (page 7 “The rental and return mediation server 300 approves rental and return of the shared auxiliary battery based on event information transmitted from the customer terminal 200, and performs a function of controlling a rental operation and a return operation of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 according to the approval information. The rental and return mediation server 300 May provide information about rental and return places according to the rental and return requests from the customer terminal 200 to the customer terminal 200.” Page 9 “For reference, the payment settlement may be a pre-payment type, and may be a sum of deposit + basic usage data. Here, when the customer returns the shared auxiliary battery, the amount of money calculated for the rental period X time from the rental time to the return time is first subtracted from the basic usage and the remaining amount is calculated to be subtracted from the deposit.” Page 10 “Meanwhile, referring to FIG. 11, when the step S760 is completed, the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 checks the rental approval information, separates the shared auxiliary battery and the charging terminal, provides, to the rental and return mediation server 300, the time at which the shared auxiliary battery is separated from the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400, the expected turn, and the withdrawal time, counts the rental time from the withdrawal time to the time when the shared auxiliary battery is returned from the rental and return mediation server 300, and then calculates the rental fee according to the counted rental time… Here, the time point at which the rental fee is calculated may be calculated based on a rental time during which the shared auxiliary battery rented by the customer is returned to the charging terminal (for example, the time at which the shared auxiliary battery is in contact between the shared auxiliary battery and the charging terminal). Therefore, when the blockchain-based shared auxiliary battery rental and return system and the shared auxiliary battery rental and return method using the same according to an embodiment of the present invention are used, there is an advantage that a user can conveniently store, charge, and replace a battery in a plurality of nearby designated stores.”).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 17 Abbott further teaches:
wherein when the information management unit determines that the battery is lost, the communication unit is further configured to transmit battery loss information to an external electronic device ([00234] In other embodiments, the power tool battery charger 702 can be configured to enforce a return-to-charger rental policy. For instance, the power tool battery charger 702 (or an associated set of power tool battery chargers in a power tool device network) may require that all associated battery packs are returned by a given time. Missing battery packs may trigger an alert (e.g., visual, auditory, text, email, etc.). Alternatively, a power tool battery charger 702 or associated set of power tool battery chargers may require that all associated battery packs at least return to an associated power tool battery charger with some characteristic frequency (e.g., at least once a day).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to include a return policy such as that disclosed on Abbot in order to determine if a return is on time and thereby identify any missing equipment since such improvement in the system of Na is directed to a modification of a similar system that provides the known benefit of determine if the equipment were return by a specific time and if the equipment is complete as disclosed by Abbott.
Regarding claim 13, NA disclose an operating method of a battery station management server of a block chain network, the operating method comprising:
storing battery information about a battery and user information about a user by using a smart contract (page 2 “a first step of receiving rental request event information of a shared auxiliary battery from a customer terminal and receiving the rental request event information from a return mediation server; a second step of providing, by the rental and return mediation server, geographical information of a rental place for renting a shared auxiliary battery compatible with the customer terminal to the customer terminal based on the rental request event information; a third step of renting and transmitting scan information and rental request event information obtained by scanning the identification code of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal installed in the rental place using the rental and return support platform in the customer terminal”; page 2 “When the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal manages a member capable of paying with virtual (encrypted) money for each grade and age, manages the private blockchain by updating mileage and rental history information of the member, manages a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code, confirms whether the generated wallet is deposited when an identification code is provided by generating a wallet address which is an account to be deposited by the shared auxiliary battery in the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, deduces the exchange fee when the virtual (encrypted) money is deposited into the electronic wallet address assigned to the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, and manages the type and number of the shared auxiliary battery rented and reserved in the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal as log data. page 7, “The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. In particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain.” Further see page 6 “A public key-based digital signature scheme…”);
receiving a battery rental request of the user for a rental of the battery (page 2 “a first step of receiving rental request event information of a shared auxiliary battery from a customer terminal”);
determining whether to approve the battery rental request (page 2 “a fourth step in which the rental and return mediation server determines whether the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal can be rented”; page 4 “At this time, it will be apparent that the customer terminal 200 May be any terminal that checks the authenticity of the customer's identity and checks the deposit and withdrawal of the virtual (encrypted) currency through the network communication to perform payment processing for the payment amount.”; Page 7 “The rental and return mediation server 300 approves rental and return of the shared auxiliary battery based on event information transmitted from the customer terminal 200, and performs a function of controlling a rental operation and a return operation of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal 400 according to the approval information.”);
managing battery rental information comprising the battery information by using the smart contract having a same content in the block chain network, when approving the battery rental request (page 2 “updates and manages the rental data from the transaction and rental data, and the private blockchain shares the distributed ledger between the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal,” “a first step of receiving rental request event information of a shared auxiliary battery from a customer terminal and receiving the rental request event information from a return mediation server; a second step of providing, by the rental and return mediation server, geographical information of a rental place for renting a shared auxiliary battery compatible with the customer terminal to the customer terminal based on the rental request event information; a third step of renting and transmitting scan information and rental request event information obtained by scanning the identification code of the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal installed in the rental place using the rental and return support platform in the customer terminal”; page 2 “When the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal manages a member capable of paying with virtual (encrypted) money for each grade and age, manages the private blockchain by updating mileage and rental history information of the member, manages a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code, confirms whether the generated wallet is deposited when an identification code is provided by generating a wallet address which is an account to be deposited by the shared auxiliary battery in the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, deduces the exchange fee when the virtual (encrypted) money is deposited into the electronic wallet address assigned to the shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal, and manages the type and number of the shared auxiliary battery rented and reserved in the at least one shared auxiliary battery charging/rental terminal as log data. page 7, “The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. In particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain.” Further see page 6 “A public key-based digital signature scheme…”);
battery rental information comprised in a smart contract, and update the battery rental information of the smart contract with information, so as to avail information to the block chain network (page 2 “manages the private blockchain by updating mileage and rental history information of the member, manages a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code”, page 7 “The blockchain supports such a smart contract, thereby enabling automated direct transactions between transaction parties without a mediation or central institution, and maintaining both conditions and results in a distributed ledger, thereby ensuring reliability and integrity of transaction information. That is, the user programs a protocol smart contract containing a desired condition and stores the same in a blockchain, and when a specific condition is satisfied, the corresponding smart contract is verified and executed by other blockchain participants… The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. ln particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain,” page 8 “The rental and return mediation server 300 May manage a smart contract for an autonomous transaction contract using the private blockchain and the chain code.”)
Na does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information management unit is further configured to determine whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information.
However, Abbott which is directed to a smart power tool battery charger based on rental information further teaches:
wherein the information management unit is further configured to determine whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information ([00234] In other embodiments, the power tool battery charger 702 can be configured to enforce a return-to-charger rental policy. For instance, the power tool battery charger 702 (or an associated set of power tool battery chargers in a power tool device network) may require that all associated battery packs are returned by a given time. Missing battery packs may trigger an alert (e.g., visual, auditory, text, email, etc.). Alternatively, a power tool battery charger 702 or associated set of power tool battery chargers may require that all associated battery packs at least return to an associated power tool battery charger with some characteristic frequency (e.g., at least once a day).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to include a return policy such as that disclosed on Abbot in order to determine if a return is on time and thereby identify any missing equipment since such improvement in the system of Na is directed to a modification of a similar system that provides the known benefit of determine if the equipment were return by a specific time and if the equipment is complete as disclosed by Abbott.
Regarding claims 18-20, NA discloses
wherein the battery is a standardized battery (page 3 “a type of the shared auxiliary battery”), and wherein the smart contract is in a format configured to be shared among several companies (see page 6 “In the blockchain, all transactions and information generated from the distributed ledger are recorded through a verification process of participants, and all participants maintain the same information. When the transaction or information is verified, first, the connectivity with the information already recorded in the distributed ledger maintained by the participant opening is checked, and only the legitimate transaction or information is stored in the distributed ledger of the blockchain through the consensus between the participants. When a transaction or information is stored, the transaction or information is accumulated for a predetermined time and stored in a block, and connectivity between the blocks is assigned to the distributed ledger.” Page 7 “In addition, in an embodiment of the present invention, a smart contract may be used. The smart contract is a computer protocol for e-commerce, is defined as a computer transaction protocol executing a contract condition, minimizes a broker for transaction reliability while satisfying a contract condition and minimizes malicious exceptions. The blockchain supports such a smart contract, thereby enabling automated direct transactions between transaction parties without a mediation or central institution, and maintaining both conditions and results in a distributed ledger, thereby ensuring reliability and integrity of transaction information. That is, the user programs a protocol smart contract containing a desired condition and stores the same in a blockchain, and when a specific condition is satisfied, the corresponding smart contract is verified and executed by other blockchain participants. The execution result is stored in the kelp blockchain to ensure the integrity and reliability of the information on the transaction result. In particular, automatic, autonomous collaboration, and control between devices with computing power are possible with smart contracts of the blockchain. The block chain described above as compared to a blockchain to be described later may be defined as a public blockchain. In addition, the present invention may further use a private blockchain, and the private blockchain May be defined as a network sharing transaction data, member data, purchase data, and the like by using each affiliated store as a node.”).
Regarding claims 21-23, NA discloses
a battery loss notification transmitted to a manager terminal, battery loss-identified date information transmitted to the battery station, and a battery return date elapse notification transmitted to the user terminal ([0234] “ Missing battery packs may trigger an alert (e.g., visual, auditory, text, email, etc.). Alternatively, a power tool battery charger 702 or associated set of power tool battery chargers may require that all associated battery packs at least return to an associated power tool battery charger with some characteristic frequency (e.g., at least once a day).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to include a battery loss notification such as that disclosed on Abbot in order to notify any missing equipment since such improvement in the system of Na is directed to a modification of a similar system that provides the known benefit of determine if the equipment were return by a specific time and if the equipment is complete as disclosed by Abbott.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 USC 101 software per se rejection
-Applicant argues that the presented limitation overcomes the current rejection. Respectfully Examiner disagrees. Although it is noted that the communication unit is configured to communicate with an external device via a signal, Applicant is claiming a server with units. Having a unit communicate with a device (physical element) does not incorporate any structure to the server. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
35 USC 101 abstract idea analysis
-Applicant argues “For example, the scope of claim 1 includes the rental of a battery, but the context of the invention is in a block chain network, where use of the smart contract is significant and improves the invention since the smart contract have a same content in the block chain network, which provides rapid access of the information to those in the block chain network. The advantage and improvement of the use of the smart contract in the block chain network have practical application when a determination is made whether the battery is lost, by querying the battery rental information of the smart contract, and there is an update of the battery rental information of the smart contract with information that the battery is lost based on the querying so as to avail information of the battery that is lost to the block chain network. Such provides quick identification of the battery loss to the entire block chain network.” Examine respectfully disagrees. The technology is claimed as such level of generality that is merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment by generically requiring the use of a smart contract and a block chain environment, wherein there is no improvement as to how a block chain operates but such environment used as a tool to perform the abstract idea of providing a rental service which is a longstanding mental processes that may be performed conceptually by a human.
35 USC 102/103
Applicant argues that the combination of Na and Abbott does not disclose or suggest an information management unit configured to determine whether the battery is lost by querying the battery rental information. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As presented in the art rejection above, Na discloses querying a smart contract for data related to the rental of a battery, it does not disclose whether the battery is lost since it does not manage that specific type of data, however Abbot is introduced to cure such deficiency to disclose a rental system that determines whether a battery is lost. From this combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious to further include data such as battery returns/lost, in order to further manage when batteries are return and control of inventory which is widely known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stannard, US 2016/0210688, ENTERPRISE RESOURCE MANAGEMENT, [0016] When the management entity 100 requests equipment from a supplier 102, and the management entity 100 determines that the supplier 102 does not have the equipment, then that is considered a “lost rental” in terms of supplier 102. Lost rentals can signal that supplier 102 should consider purchase or acquisition of said equipment. The management entity 100 is able to track equipment inventory, including if the supplier 102 purchases equipment they are supposed to purchase. This information is also able to be used when analyzing and rating/ranking the suppliers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA C SANTOS-DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629