DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 03/26/2025. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application. Claim 5 has been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “an indoor unit that performs heat exchange” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “heat exchange” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an indoor unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “an indoor heat exchanger” see figure 1. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a heat storage unit” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “heat storage” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a heat storage unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a heat storage chamber” (35) see figure 1. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “an outdoor unit that perform heat exchange” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “heat exchange” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an outdoor unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “an outdoor heat exchanger” see figure 1. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a control unit” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “control” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a control unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a controller”, “a CPU” or “a processor” see figure 2. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof; and
the limitation “a detection unit” in claim 3 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “detection” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a detection unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a heat storage unit sensor” see figure 2. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (CN104633836A).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses an air conditioner comprising:
a compressor (01) that compresses a refrigerant (see figure 5);
an indoor unit (10) that performs heat exchange between air inside a room and the refrigerant (see figure 5);
an outdoor unit (20) that performs heat exchange between outdoor air and the refrigerant (see figure 5);
a heat storage unit (60) that performs heat exchange with the refrigerant (see figure 5);
a room temperature sensor (an indoor environment temperature detection device 12) that detects an indoor temperature that is a temperature inside the room (see figure 5); and
a control unit (see figures 1-2) that drives the compressor (raise frequency of the compressor 01) based on a difference (the difference of the indoor environment temperature and the user set temperature) between the indoor temperature (the indoor environment temperature) and a set temperature (the user set temperature; paragraph [0044]-[0045]), and that also allows the heat storage unit (60) to perform heat exchange (the real-time detects the temperature of the heat storage device is less than the first set temperature value) when the difference falls below a predetermined value (the first set temperature difference value BI; paragraph [0044]; see figures 1-2 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the control unit (see figures 1-2) operates the compressor at a minimum rotational speed (the compressor reduces frequency to the first set frequency value; paragraph [0052]), and also allows the heat storage unit (60) to perform heat exchange when the difference (the difference of the indoor environment temperature and the user set temperature) falls below (less than) the predetermined value (the first set temperature difference value BI; paragraph [0044]; see figures 1-2 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (JP2000002474A) in view of Guo.
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an air conditioner comprising:
a compressor (11) that compresses a refrigerant (see figure 1);
an indoor unit (g or h) that performs heat exchange between air inside a room and the refrigerant (the heat exchanger 22a or 22b performs the claimed heat exchange; see figure 1);
an outdoor unit (f) that performs heat exchange between outdoor air and the refrigerant (the heat exchanger 13 performs the claimed heat exchange; see figure 1);
a heat storage unit (20) that performs heat exchange with the refrigerant (see figure 1);
and a control unit (41; see figure 12).
However, Kato fails to disclose a room temperature sensor that detects an indoor temperature that is a temperature inside the room; and a control unit that drives the compressor based on a difference between the indoor temperature and a set temperature, and that also allows the heat storage unit to perform heat exchange when the difference falls below a predetermined value.
Guo teaches an air conditioner comprising a room temperature sensor (an indoor environment temperature detection device 12) that detects an indoor temperature that is a temperature inside the room (see figure 5); and a control unit (see figures 1-2) that drives the compressor (raise frequency of the compressor 01) based on a difference (the difference of the indoor environment temperature and the user set temperature) between the indoor temperature (the indoor environment temperature) and a set temperature (the user set temperature; paragraph [0044]-[0045]), and that also allows the heat storage unit (60) to perform heat exchange (the real-time detects the temperature of the heat storage device is less than the first set temperature value) when the difference falls below a predetermined value (the first set temperature difference value BI; paragraph [0044]; see figures 1-2 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the air conditioner of Kato to incorporate the claimed room temperature sensor and the claimed control feature of the compressor and the heat storage unit based on temperature different as taught by Guo in order to improve the operations of the air condition by providing better control for the compressor and the heat storage unit based on more control parameters.
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses the air conditioner further comprising: a first refrigerant circuit (the first circuit which associated with the compressor 11) that allows a first refrigerant to circulate (see figure 1);
a second refrigerant circuit (the second circuit which associated with the pump 21 and the heat storage unit 20) that allows a second refrigerant to circulate (see figure 1); and
a heat exchanger (16 and 19) that performs heat exchange between the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant (see figure 1), wherein the compressor (11) and the outdoor unit (f) are included in the first refrigerant circuit (see figure 1), and the indoor unit (g or h) and the heat storage unit (20) are included in the second refrigerant circuit (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kato as modified discloses the control unit (see figures 1-2) operates the compressor at a minimum rotational speed (the compressor reduces frequency to the first set frequency value; paragraph [0052], Guo), and also allows the heat storage unit (20, Kato) to perform heat exchange when the difference (the difference of the indoor environment temperature and the user set temperature) falls below (less than) the predetermined value (the first set temperature difference value BI; paragraph [0044]; see figures 1-2 and 5 of Guo).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Guo or Kato taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed control relationship between the compressor and the heat storage unit of the air conditioner as required in claims 3-5. Also, the prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivations to modify the air conditioner of Guo or Kato in order to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 3-5 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763