DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 20 May 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olson et al. (US 2015/0005785; hereinafter “Olson”).
Regarding claim 1, Olson discloses a multi-control system comprising: a first robotic catheter system for a first steerable catheter; a second robotic catheter system for a second steerable catheter; and an interface processor configured to generate a control interface for control of both the first and second robotic catheter systems (e.g. ¶¶ 32-33, Fig. 10; ¶¶ 128-132; Claim 1 – “a robotic control system that is configured to manipulate first and second catheters”, ¶¶ 60 – a single processor; etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Olson discloses the first steerable catheter comprises an intracardiac echocardiography catheter, the first robotic catheter system configured to robotically control the intracardiac echocardiography catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 29, 38, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to use an image from the intracardiac echocardiography catheter for image-based control of the second steerable catheter by the second robotic catheter system (e.g. ¶¶ 65 – where magnetic resonance imaging can be used in the anti collision steering systems).
Regarding claim 9, Olson discloses the image-based control comprises (a) updating kinematics of the second robotic catheter system based on detection of the second steerable catheter in the image, (b) updating a Jacobian matrix for the second robotic catheter system based on a mismatch between a predicted position of the second steerable catheter and an observed position of the second steerable catheter in the image, and/or (c) updating a hysteresis model based on the image (e.g. ¶¶ 83, 89-90, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Olson discloses the first and second robotic catheter systems comprise first and second bases having motors for steering the first and second steerable catheters, the first base separate from the second base, and comprise first and second adaptors connected with the first and second bases, respectively, the first and second adaptors configured to hold the first and second steerable catheters respectively (e.g. ¶¶ 40 – “The assembly 302 also includes a plurality of manipulation bases onto which the device cartridges are mounted. After mounting, the manipulator assembly 302, through the manipulation bases, is capable of manipulating the attached catheter and sheath.”).
Regarding claim 4, Olson discloses the first and second robotic catheter systems comprise a shared base with motors for steering the first and second steerable catheters (e.g. ¶¶ 38, 126, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to communicate from the control interface to robot interfaces for the first and second robotic catheter systems, the control interface configured to receive input from the user for the control of both the first and second robotic catheter systems and the robot interfaces configured to convert the input to instructions for operating motors of the first and second robotic catheter systems (e.g. ¶¶ 70-78).
Regarding claim 6, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured as a common interface for the control of both the first and second robotic catheter systems and as first and second interfaces for control of the first and second robotic catheter systems, respectively, based on the control from the common interface (e.g. ¶¶ 85-86).
Regarding claim 7, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to generate the control interface for user input of the control for both of the first and second robotic catheter systems in a same way (e.g. ¶¶ 33-40, 57, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured for calibration of the first and second robotic catheter systems and co-registration of the first robotic catheter system with the second robotic catheter system (e.g. ¶¶ 66).
Regarding claim 11, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to co-register by kinematics update of the first robotic catheter system relative to the second robotic catheter system with respect to a known tip position of the second steerable catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 83-90).
Regarding claim 12, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to avoid collision between the first and second steerable catheters (e.g. ¶¶ 76, 87, 121-126).
Regarding claim 13, Olson discloses the interface processor is in a different room than the first and second robotic catheter systems (e.g. ¶¶ 48 – where the examiner notes the use of remote guidance systems).
Regarding claim 14, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to use an image from the first steerable catheter for automatic control by the second robotic catheter system of the second steerable catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 76-87, 93, 121-124, etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Olson discloses the interface processor is configured to automatically control the first robotic catheter system to steer the first steerable catheter system to image the second steerable catheter as the second steerable catheter is steered by the second robotic catheter system based on the control from the interface processor (e.g. ¶¶ 93, 121-126, etc.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796