DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ‘the style and desired fit’ that lacks antecedent basis.
In addition, claim 1 recites ‘the body’ that lacks antecedent basis.
In addition, claim 1 recites ‘a customized article of clothing’ twice and it is not clear if these are the same article of clothing.
Claim 3 recites ‘the body’ that lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites ‘analyzing via an algorithm’ and it is unclear what is to be analyzed.
Claim 5 ‘the style and desired fit’ that lacks antecedent basis.
In addition, claim 5 recites ‘a customized article of clothing’ and it is unclear if this is the same as the article of clothing previously recited.
Claim 7 recites ‘a wearer's body’ twice and it is not clear if these refer to the same wearer.
In addition, claim 7 recites ‘the style and desired fit’ that lacks antecedent basis.
In addition, claim 7 recites ‘a customized article of clothing’ twice and it is not clear if these are the same article of clothing.
Claim 11 recites ‘analyzing via an algorithm’ and it is unclear what is to be analyzed.
The dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlton U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170124747 (hereinafter Knowlton) in view of Parr et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170231793 (hereinafter Parr).
Regarding claim 1, Knowlton teaches a method of producing a customized article of clothing configured to reposition the soft tissue of a wearer's body [0002 — medical systems, instruments or devices, and methods and, more particularly, to digital capture and rendering of the human body for use in generating custom fitted, synthetically fabricated dressware for body contouring, and data and processing relating to the synthetic garments; 0017-0018 — systems and methods configured for capturing digital data representing skin of a body or subject, and generating from the digital data an avatar representing the skin of the body. A digital garment is rendered using data of the avatar. The digital garment is configured to match contours of the skin of the body. A custom-fitted garment configured for wear by the body is generated from the digital garment a custom-fitted garment; 0022 — the fabrication of a conformable synthetic garment; 0034 — contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline ], the method comprising:
creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the wearer's body [0023-0028, 0034, Fig. 4 — digital capture of the person's 3D embodiment enables rendering of a digital wire mesh embodiment and that digital wire mesh can then be re-rendered per fashion specification by the customer. FIG. 1 shows a digital capture (3D) 100 of a body, under an embodiment… The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar, which in an embodiment includes a digital wire mesh 404. In an embodiment, the rendering is performed in multiple 3D views including frontal (A-P), Lateral and Oblique Views.];
manipulating the style and desired fit, including coverage, lift, and compression of the body, via digital input [0018 — A digital garment configured to enhance contours of the skin of the body is rendered from the enhanced avatar. The digital garment comprises material having numerous zones, and each zone is configured with material comprising a contouring force and/or a pigment pattern corresponding to a region of the skin corresponding to the zone. A corrective garment is generated from the digital garment, and the corrective garment is configured for wear to cover one or more regions of the skin of the body. The corrective garment is configured to aesthetically enhance the body; 0034 — This Dresswear, rendered as a digital wire mesh, is not only fitted to the dimensions of the captured skin embodiment but is further re-rendered with zoning of the digital Dresswear with fabrics of variable elasticity (and dimension) to provide selective contouring of the person's own 3D embodiment. For this purpose, contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline; 0045-0047, Fig. 8 — the Skinwear is configured to contour defects caused by fat necrosis can also occur from blunt kinetic injuries. Many of these deformities are caused by motor vehicular accidents, for example. The use of Custom Camouflage Compression Garments for the treatment of scarring also softens cutaneous scarring. In addition, the custom fabrication of a soft tissue prosthesis (that has a similar viscosity as the adjacent soft tissue) can be incorporated into the compression garment of embodiments.; 0050 — Regarding custom Skinwear compressive garment configured for applications involving severe burn scarring, deep second and third degree burns can cause severe scaring that can also limit excursion of limbs across joints such as the axilla. The use of a Skinwear compressive garment of an embodiment camouflages severe burn scarring and also improves range of motion across joints by softening the scaring with compression; 0054 — Following the digital capture and re-rending of dyspigmentary irregularities, a programmable capability allows the topographical spraying or stenciling of a nontoxic mosaic of chromophores in a per patient programmable fashion that enables either pattern camouflaging or de-delineated blending into non-dyspigmentated areas of the skin envelope. Optical mouse mapping and recognition may provide the necessary real time tracking necessary for accurate topographic deposition of pigment materials]; and
producing a customized article of clothing by additive manufacturing based on the 3-dimensional avatar and the manipulation of the style and fit [0029-0030 — A garment generator or fabricator is used in an embodiment to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer. For contour enhancement, the synthetic materials of the Dresswear are zoned with variable parameters (e.g., elasticity, thickness, material properties, etc.) to provide aesthetic contour correction… Artificial fibers are selectively deposited to form the Skinwear by a computerized reprogrammable fabricator but are not so limited. In another embodiment, 3D printing technology is used with (or as a replacement to) a computerized reprogrammable fabricator.; 0049 — digital capture of this data set is then programed into a 3D printer for application onto the surface of the prosthesis].
But Knowlton fails to clearly specify manipulating the desired fit, including levels.
However, Parr teaches manipulating the desired fit, including levels of compression of the body [0037-0038, 0114 — Certain performance variables will be used to determine elastic levels required of an individual to achieve optimal performance. Compression levels may be selected in light of the visco-elastic properties of the tissue to be covered and/or manipulated by the garment. A stress-strain curve with appropriate understanding of the tissue loading, as described above, may be used to identify the proper compression levels].
Knowlton and Parr are analogous art. They relate to the customization of garments.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Knowlton, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Parr, to manipulating the style and desired fit, including coverage, lift, and compression of the body.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide optimum performance of the article of clothing, as taught by Parr [0015-0016, 0114].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Knowlton and Parr teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches wherein the 3-dimensional avatar is created from one or more chosen from an image, a series of images, a video, a 3-dimensional scan, and combinations thereof [0023-0025, Fig. 4 — The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar; 0093 — The capturing of the digital data comprises capturing a digital image of the body.].
Regarding claim 4, the combination Knowlton and Parr teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches analyzing via an algorithm wherein the digital input used to manipulate the style and fit before producing the customized article of clothing [0025-0029, Fig. 4 — The method comprises re-rendering the digital avatar (e.g., wire mesh) into an aesthetically corrected 3D digital wire mesh for transfer to a fabricator 406… the rendered digital wire mesh is subsequently re-rendered into a contour-enhanced version… to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer; 0132 —The methods described herein can be implemented in one or more of software algorithm(s), programs, firmware, hardware, components, circuitry, in any combination.; 0018, 0034, 0045-0054 — Following the digital capture and re-rending of dyspigmentary irregularities, a programmable capability allows the topographical spraying or stenciling of a nontoxic mosaic of chromophores in a per patient programmable fashion that enables either pattern camouflaging or de-delineated blending into non-dyspigmentated areas of the skin envelope. Optical mouse mapping and recognition may provide the necessary real time tracking necessary for accurate topographic deposition of pigment materials].
Regarding claim 5, Knowlton teaches an article of clothing prepared by a method [0045-0048, Figs. 8-11 — FIG. 8 shows custom patterned Skinwear (article of clothing); 0002 — medical systems, instruments or devices, and methods and, more particularly, to digital capture and rendering of the human body for use in generating custom fitted, synthetically fabricated dressware for body contouring, and data and processing relating to the synthetic garments; 0017-0018 — systems and methods configured for capturing digital data representing skin of a body or subject, and generating from the digital data an avatar representing the skin of the body. A digital garment is rendered using data of the avatar. The digital garment is configured to match contours of the skin of the body. A custom-fitted garment configured for wear by the body is generated from the digital garment a custom-fitted garment; 0022 — the fabrication of a conformable synthetic garment; 0034 — contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline] comprising:
creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the body of a wearer [0023-0028, 0034, Fig. 4 — digital capture of the person's 3D embodiment enables rendering of a digital wire mesh embodiment and that digital wire mesh can then be re-rendered per fashion specification by the customer. FIG. 1 shows a digital capture (3D) 100 of a body, under an embodiment… The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar, which in an embodiment includes a digital wire mesh 404. In an embodiment, the rendering is performed in multiple 3D views including frontal (A-P), Lateral and Oblique Views.];
manipulating the style and fit, including desired coverage, lift, and compression of the body, via digital input [0018 — A digital garment configured to enhance contours of the skin of the body is rendered from the enhanced avatar. The digital garment comprises material having numerous zones, and each zone is configured with material comprising a contouring force and/or a pigment pattern corresponding to a region of the skin corresponding to the zone. A corrective garment is generated from the digital garment, and the corrective garment is configured for wear to cover one or more regions of the skin of the body. The corrective garment is configured to aesthetically enhance the body; 0034 — This Dresswear, rendered as a digital wire mesh, is not only fitted to the dimensions of the captured skin embodiment but is further re-rendered with zoning of the digital Dresswear with fabrics of variable elasticity (and dimension) to provide selective contouring of the person's own 3D embodiment. For this purpose, contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline; 0045-0047, Fig. 8 — the Skinwear is configured to contour defects caused by fat necrosis can also occur from blunt kinetic injuries. Many of these deformities are caused by motor vehicular accidents, for example. The use of Custom Camouflage Compression Garments for the treatment of scarring also softens cutaneous scarring. In addition, the custom fabrication of a soft tissue prosthesis (that has a similar viscosity as the adjacent soft tissue) can be incorporated into the compression garment of embodiments.; 0050 — Regarding custom Skinwear compressive garment configured for applications involving severe burn scarring, deep second and third degree burns can cause severe scaring that can also limit excursion of limbs across joints such as the axilla. The use of a Skinwear compressive garment of an embodiment camouflages severe burn scarring and also improves range of motion across joints by softening the scaring with compression; 0054 — Following the digital capture and re-rending of dyspigmentary irregularities, a programmable capability allows the topographical spraying or stenciling of a nontoxic mosaic of chromophores in a per patient programmable fashion that enables either pattern camouflaging or de-delineated blending into non-dyspigmentated areas of the skin envelope. Optical mouse mapping and recognition may provide the necessary real time tracking necessary for accurate topographic deposition of pigment materials]; and
producing a customized article of clothing by additive manufacturing based on the 3-dimensional avatar and the manipulation of the style and fit, wherein the article of clothing is configured to reposition the soft tissue of the wearer's body [0029-0030 — A garment generator or fabricator is used in an embodiment to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer. For contour enhancement, the synthetic materials of the Dresswear are zoned with variable parameters (e.g., elasticity, thickness, material properties, etc.) to provide aesthetic contour correction… Artificial fibers are selectively deposited to form the Skinwear by a computerized reprogrammable fabricator but are not so limited. In another embodiment, 3D printing technology is used with (or as a replacement to) a computerized reprogrammable fabricator.; 0049 — digital capture of this data set is then programed into a 3D printer for application onto the surface of the prosthesis; ; 0022 — the fabrication of a conformable synthetic garment; 0034 — contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline].
But Knowlton fails to clearly specify manipulating the desired fit, including levels.
However, Parr teaches manipulating the desired fit, including levels of compression of the body [0037-0038, 0114 — Certain performance variables will be used to determine elastic levels required of an individual to achieve optimal performance. Compression levels may be selected in light of the visco-elastic properties of the tissue to be covered and/or manipulated by the garment. A stress-strain curve with appropriate understanding of the tissue loading, as described above, may be used to identify the proper compression levels].
Knowlton and Parr are analogous art. They relate to the customization of garments.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method to produce the article of clothing, as taught by Knowlton, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Parr, to manipulating the style and desired fit, including coverage, lift, and compression of the body.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide optimum performance of the article of clothing, as taught by Parr [0015-0016, 0114].
Claim(s) 3 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Knowlton and Parr in view of Sawada U.S. Patent No. 6101424 (hereinafter Sawada).
Regarding claim 3, the combination Knowlton and Parr teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the body [0023-0028, 0034, Fig. 4 — digital capture of the person's 3D embodiment enables rendering of a digital wire mesh embodiment and that digital wire mesh can then be re-rendered per fashion specification by the customer. FIG. 1 shows a digital capture (3D) 100 of a body, under an embodiment… The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar, which in an embodiment includes a digital wire mesh 404. In an embodiment, the rendering is performed in multiple 3D views including frontal (A-P), Lateral and Oblique Views.];
But the combination of Knowlton and Parr fails to clearly specify conforming the body into a desired position before creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the body by repositioning the soft tissue of the wearer's body.
However, Sawada teaches creating conforming the body into a desired position before creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the body by repositioning the soft tissue of the wearer's body [col. 1 lines 44-48 — the sizes of various parts of the customer's body are measured both without underwear and with foundation garment for measurement purpose, to obtain data of the customer.; col. 2 lines 63-67 — Customer data are obtained by performing similar measurements on the customer. However, as the foundation garment desired by the customer is not yet made, a foundation garment for measuring purpose is worn during measurement.; col. 3 lines 17-44 — The non-contact three-dimensional measuring machine 10 measures the customer's body, wherein a system called BL (Body Line) scanner… The three-dimensional body image data of the customer obtained as a result of measurement; col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5 — The present invention will now be described, taking as an example the method for manufacturing a brassiere or bodysuit. First, the body of the customer without foundation garment is measured. Then, the physical body of the customer is measured wearing a brassiere. The reason for measuring with a brassiere on is for determining the under bust position on customers with drooping breasts.].
Knowlton, Parr and Sawada are analogous art. They relate to the customization of garments.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method to produce the article of clothing, as taught by the combination of Knowlton and Parr, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Sawada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine an under bust position on some customers, as taught by Sawada [col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5].
Regarding claim 6, the combination Knowlton, Parr and Sawada teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Sawada teaches the soft tissue of the wearer's body is repositioned using one or more chosen from tape, ribbon, film, sheet material, adhesive sheet, compression garment, brassiere, shapewear, stocking, and silicone prosthetic [col. 3 line 24 -col. 4 line 5 — The present invention will now be described, taking as an example the method for manufacturing a brassiere or bodysuit. First, the body of the customer without foundation garment is measured. Then, the physical body of the customer is measured wearing a brassiere. The reason for measuring with a brassiere on is for determining the under bust position on customers with drooping breasts.].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method to produce the article of clothing, as taught by the combination of Knowlton and Parr, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Sawada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine an under bust position on some customers, as taught by Sawada [col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5].
Regarding claim 7, Knowlton teaches a method of producing a customized article of clothing configured to reposition the soft tissue of a wearer's body [0002 — medical systems, instruments or devices, and methods and, more particularly, to digital capture and rendering of the human body for use in generating custom fitted, synthetically fabricated dressware for body contouring, and data and processing relating to the synthetic garments; 0017-0018 — systems and methods configured for capturing digital data representing skin of a body or subject, and generating from the digital data an avatar representing the skin of the body. A digital garment is rendered using data of the avatar. The digital garment is configured to match contours of the skin of the body. A custom-fitted garment configured for wear by the body is generated from the digital garment a custom-fitted garment; 0022 — the fabrication of a conformable synthetic garment; 0034 — contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline], the method comprising:
creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the wearer's body [0023-0028, 0034, Fig. 4 — digital capture of the person's 3D embodiment enables rendering of a digital wire mesh embodiment and that digital wire mesh can then be re-rendered per fashion specification by the customer. FIG. 1 shows a digital capture (3D) 100 of a body, under an embodiment… The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar, which in an embodiment includes a digital wire mesh 404. In an embodiment, the rendering is performed in multiple 3D views including frontal (A-P), Lateral and Oblique Views];
manipulating the style and desired fit, including coverage, lift, and compression of the body, via digital input [0018 — A digital garment configured to enhance contours of the skin of the body is rendered from the enhanced avatar. The digital garment comprises material having numerous zones, and each zone is configured with material comprising a contouring force and/or a pigment pattern corresponding to a region of the skin corresponding to the zone. A corrective garment is generated from the digital garment, and the corrective garment is configured for wear to cover one or more regions of the skin of the body. The corrective garment is configured to aesthetically enhance the body; 0034 — This Dresswear, rendered as a digital wire mesh, is not only fitted to the dimensions of the captured skin embodiment but is further re-rendered with zoning of the digital Dresswear with fabrics of variable elasticity (and dimension) to provide selective contouring of the person's own 3D embodiment. For this purpose, contouring zones are incorporated into the custom garment in a seamless fashion. Examples of this rendering and selective zoning of the custom garment may include an incorporated bra zone to provide lift and 3D contouring of the breast. Another example is an incorporated girdle zone that will lift hips and contour-in the waistline; 0045-0047, Fig. 8 — the Skinwear is configured to contour defects caused by fat necrosis can also occur from blunt kinetic injuries. Many of these deformities are caused by motor vehicular accidents, for example. The use of Custom Camouflage Compression Garments for the treatment of scarring also softens cutaneous scarring. In addition, the custom fabrication of a soft tissue prosthesis (that has a similar viscosity as the adjacent soft tissue) can be incorporated into the compression garment of embodiments.; 0050 — Regarding custom Skinwear compressive garment configured for applications involving severe burn scarring, deep second and third degree burns can cause severe scaring that can also limit excursion of limbs across joints such as the axilla. The use of a Skinwear compressive garment of an embodiment camouflages severe burn scarring and also improves range of motion across joints by softening the scaring with compression; 0054 — Following the digital capture and re-rending of dyspigmentary irregularities, a programmable capability allows the topographical spraying or stenciling of a nontoxic mosaic of chromophores in a per patient programmable fashion that enables either pattern camouflaging or de-delineated blending into non-dyspigmentated areas of the skin envelope. Optical mouse mapping and recognition may provide the necessary real time tracking necessary for accurate topographic deposition of pigment materials]; and
producing a customized article of clothing based on the 3-dimensional avatar and the manipulation of the style and fit [0029-0030 — A garment generator or fabricator is used in an embodiment to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer. For contour enhancement, the synthetic materials of the Dresswear are zoned with variable parameters (e.g., elasticity, thickness, material properties, etc.) to provide aesthetic contour correction… Artificial fibers are selectively deposited to form the Skinwear by a computerized reprogrammable fabricator but are not so limited. In another embodiment, 3D printing technology is used with (or as a replacement to) a computerized reprogrammable fabricator.; 0049 — digital capture of this data set is then programed into a 3D printer for application onto the surface of the prosthesis].
But Knowlton fails to clearly specify conforming a wearer's body into a desired position by repositioning the soft tissue of the wearer's body and manipulating the desired fit, including levels.
However, Parr teaches manipulating the desired fit, including levels of compression of the body [0037-0038, 0114 — Certain performance variables will be used to determine elastic levels required of an individual to achieve optimal performance. Compression levels may be selected in light of the visco-elastic properties of the tissue to be covered and/or manipulated by the garment. A stress-strain curve with appropriate understanding of the tissue loading, as described above, may be used to identify the proper compression levels].
Knowlton and Parr are analogous art. They relate to the customization of garments.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Knowlton, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Parr, to manipulating the style and desired fit, including coverage, lift, and compression of the body.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide optimum performance of the article of clothing, as taught by Parr [0015-0016, 0114].
But the combination of Knowlton and Parr fails to clearly specify conforming a wearer's body into a desired position by repositioning the soft tissue of the wearer's body.
However, Sawada teaches conforming a wearer's body into a desired position by repositioning the soft tissue of the wearer's body and then creating a 3-dimensional avatar of the wearer's body [col. 1 lines 44-48 — the sizes of various parts of the customer's body are measured both without underwear and with foundation garment for measurement purpose, to obtain data of the customer.; col. 2 lines 63-67 — Customer data are obtained by performing similar measurements on the customer. However, as the foundation garment desired by the customer is not yet made, a foundation garment for measuring purpose is worn during measurement.; col. 3 lines 17-44 — The non-contact three-dimensional measuring machine 10 measures the customer's body, wherein a system called BL (Body Line) scanner… The three-dimensional body image data of the customer obtained as a result of measurement; col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5 — The present invention will now be described, taking as an example the method for manufacturing a brassiere or bodysuit. First, the body of the customer without foundation garment is measured. Then, the physical body of the customer is measured wearing a brassiere. The reason for measuring with a brassiere on is for determining the under bust position on customers with drooping breasts.].
Knowlton, Parr and Sawada are analogous art. They relate to the customization of garments.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Knowlton and Parr, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Sawada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine an under bust position on some customers, as taught by Sawada [col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Knowlton, Parr and Sawada teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Sawada teaches the soft tissue of the wearer's body is repositioned using one or more chosen from tape, ribbon, film, sheet material, adhesive sheet, compression garment, brassiere, shapewear, stocking, and silicone prosthetic [col. 3 line 24 -col. 4 line 5 — The present invention will now be described, taking as an example the method for manufacturing a brassiere or bodysuit. First, the body of the customer without foundation garment is measured. Then, the physical body of the customer is measured wearing a brassiere. The reason for measuring with a brassiere on is for determining the under bust position on customers with drooping breasts].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method to produce the article of clothing, as taught by the combination of Knowlton and Parr, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Sawada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine an under bust position on some customers, as taught by Sawada [col. 3 line 65 -col. 4 line 5].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Knowlton, Parr and Sawada teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches the 3-dimensional avatar is created from one or more chosen from an image, a series of images, a video, a 3-dimensional scan, and combinations thereof [0023-0025, Fig. 4 — The method comprises digital capture of data of the subject's skin embodiment 402. The digital capture is rendered into an avatar; 0093 — The capturing of the digital data comprises capturing a digital image of the body].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Knowlton, Parr and Sawada teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches the customized article of clothing is produced by additive manufacturing [0029-0030 — A garment generator or fabricator is used in an embodiment to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer. For contour enhancement, the synthetic materials of the Dresswear are zoned with variable parameters (e.g., elasticity, thickness, material properties, etc.) to provide aesthetic contour correction… Artificial fibers are selectively deposited to form the Skinwear by a computerized reprogrammable fabricator but are not so limited. In another embodiment, 3D printing technology is used with (or as a replacement to) a computerized reprogrammable fabricator.; 0049 — digital capture of this data set is then programed into a 3D printer for application onto the surface of the prosthesis].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Knowlton, Parr and Sawada teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Knowlton teaches analyzing via an algorithm wherein the digital input used to manipulate the style and fit before producing the customized article of clothing [0025-0029, Fig. 4 — The method comprises re-rendering the digital avatar (e.g., wire mesh) into an aesthetically corrected 3D digital wire mesh for transfer to a fabricator 406… the rendered digital wire mesh is subsequently re-rendered into a contour-enhanced version… to manufacture or produce the custom garment to unique dimensions and tastes of the customer; 0132 —The methods described herein can be implemented in one or more of software algorithm(s), programs, firmware, hardware, components, circuitry, in any combination.; 0018, 0034, 0045-0054 — Following the digital capture and re-rending of dyspigmentary irregularities, a programmable capability allows the topographical spraying or stenciling of a nontoxic mosaic of chromophores in a per patient programmable fashion that enables either pattern camouflaging or de-delineated blending into non-dyspigmentated areas of the skin envelope. Optical mouse mapping and recognition may provide the necessary real time tracking necessary for accurate topographic deposition of pigment materials].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aubert U.S. Patent No. 11559086 that discloses methods and systems to remotely and electronically enhance measurement accuracy and speed of electronic brassiere fitting data.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119