DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (hereinafter “Na” US 2013 / 0293488) in view of Frem et al. (hereinafter “Frem” US 2016 / 0357398).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) an information processing apparatus (see (100) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6; and see Page 1, Para. [0028]) comprising:
processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1; see Page 5, Para. [0094]-[0096]) configured to:
generate a screen (see (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29) including an image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes a target (i.e., a gaze target) of an operation (i.e., a selection operation) by a user (see Page 1, Para. [0005]; Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]; and Page 3, Para. [0046]);
acquire line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information; see (S10, S20) in Fig. 5) representing the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151) and a line of sight (i.e., a gaze position) of the user who executes the operation (i.e., the selection operation) while viewing the screen (151) including the image (i.e., any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29; see Page 6, Para. [0107]; and Page 7, Para. [0115]-[0116] and [0122]); and
generate output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) including additional information (i.e., displayed information) representing the acquired line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) of the user and the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]), wherein
the additional information (i.e., displayed information) includes an additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) representing the position of the line of sight (i.e., the gaze information) of the user; and
the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to generate the output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) through determining contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) according to an overlap (see Fig. 11, Fig. 28, and Fig. 29) of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) with the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
Na does not explicitly disclose that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) comprises modifying at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Frem discloses (see Fig. 1) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that visibility of an additional image (112), being overlaid on an image (108) included in a screen (106), can be improved by determining the contents (i.e., the color, size, shape) of the additional image (112) via modifying at least one of the image (108) included in the screen (106; see (124)) and the additional image (112; see (100, 120, 124)) to improve visibility of the additional image (112) as overlaid on the image (108) included in the screen (106; see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0022]). It is a general goal of Frem to develop techniques and methodologies for enabling a user to identify and interact with displayed additional information efficiently and effectively by building on techniques widely known in the art (see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Na with the teachings of Frem, such that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) comprises modifying, as suggested by Frem, at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 of Na) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen in a manner that is well-known in the art to enable efficient identification and interaction with displayed additional information.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes the target (i.e., a gaze target) of the operation (i.e., a selection operation) by the user is a moving image including a plurality of frame images (see Page 1, Para. [0005]; Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]), and
the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1; see Page 5, Para. [0094]-[0096]) is further configured to:
acquire the line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information; see (S10, S20) in Fig. 5) during display of the moving image for the user (i.e., again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image; and see Page 6, Para. [0107]; and Page 7, Para. [0115]-[0116] and [0122]); and
generate the output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) by associating the additional information (i.e., displayed information) with a corresponding one of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image; and see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103] and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to
modify the output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) by associating the additional information (i.e., displayed information) representing the acquired line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) of the user acquired during display of at least two consecutive frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image) of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image),
wherein the at least two consecutive frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image) including the corresponding frame image of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image) and at least one of a frame image previous to the corresponding one of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image) and a frame image subsequent to the corresponding one of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image; again, see Page 1, Para. [0005]; Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]; and see Page 6, Para. [0103] and note that the line-of-sight position information is continuously generated while a user views images, including frames of moving images, on the screen).
As pertaining to Claim 5, the combined teachings of Na and Frem disclose (again, see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29 of Na) that the processing circuitry (again, see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to generate the output information (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) by disposing the additional image to overlap with the corresponding one of the plurality of frame images (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 for a frame of a moving image; and see Page 1, Para. [0005] and Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]) in reference to the line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) of the user (again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]), and
modify (see Fig. 1 of Frem) at least one of the image (108) included in the screen (106) and the additional image (112) by at least one of applying blur processing, reducing a size of the additional image (112), adjusting a center of the additional image (112), changing a color of the additional image (112), changing a size of the additional image (112), and changing a shape of the additional image (112) according to an overlap of the additional image (112) with the image (108) included in the screen (106; again, see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0022]; and see Page 5, Para. [0049] and note that the techniques disclosed by Frem are particularly applicable to the presentation of additional information based on gaze tracking systems; further, note that additional image disclosed by Frem is analogous to the additional image disclosed by Na and that, again, it is a general goal of Frem to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen in a manner that is well-known in the art to enable efficient identification and interaction with displayed additional information).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to generate the output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) by deciding a mode (i.e., a display mode) of the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) in reference to information relating to a color of the partial image (i.e., a portion of the displayed image corresponding to the gazing position and/or line-of-sight; again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]; and note that, as shown in Fig. 29 for example, output information (IP) is generated to have a display mode that produces information overlapping and distinguished from a color of the partial image).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to:
acquire information (i.e., gaze information) representing a particular part (i.e., coinciding with the line-of-sight or gaze position) included in the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes the target (i.e., a gaze target) of the operation (i.e., a selection operation), and
determine a position at which the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) is disposed based on the information representing the particular part (i.e., the gaze information; again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to:
acquire information (i.e., gaze information) representing a particular part (i.e., coinciding with the line-of-sight or gaze position) included in the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes the target (i.e., a gaze target) of the operation (i.e., a selection operation), and
determine a mode (i.e., a display mode) of the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) based on the information representing the particular part (i.e., the gaze information; again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) a control method for an information processing apparatus (see (100) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6; and see Page 1, Para. [0028]), the method comprising (see (180) in Fig. 1; see Page 5, Para. [0094]-[0096]):
generating a screen (see (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29) including an image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes a target (i.e., a gaze target) of an operation (i.e., a selection operation) by a user (see Page 1, Para. [0005]; Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]; and Page 3, Para. [0046]),
acquiring line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information; see (S10, S20) in Fig. 5) representing the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151) and a line of sight (i.e., a gaze position) of the user who executes the operation (i.e., the selection operation) while viewing the screen (151) including the image (i.e., any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29; see Page 6, Para. [0107]; and Page 7, Para. [0115]-[0116] and [0122]); and
generating output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) including additional information (i.e., displayed information) representing the acquired line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) of the user and the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]), wherein
the additional information (i.e., displayed information) includes an additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) representing the position of the line of sight (i.e., the gaze information) of the user; and
the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to generate the output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) through determining contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) according to an overlap (see Fig. 11, Fig. 28, and Fig. 29) of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) with the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
Na does not explicitly disclose that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) comprises modifying at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Frem discloses (see Fig. 1) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that visibility of an additional image (112), being overlaid on an image (108) included in a screen (106), can be improved by determining the contents (i.e., the color, size, shape) of the additional image (112) via modifying at least one of the image (108) included in the screen (106; see (124)) and the additional image (112; see (100, 120, 124)) to improve visibility of the additional image (112) as overlaid on the image (108) included in the screen (106; see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0022]). It is a general goal of Frem to develop techniques and methodologies for enabling a user to identify and interact with displayed additional information efficiently and effectively by building on techniques widely known in the art (see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Na with the teachings of Frem, such that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) comprises modifying, as suggested by Frem, at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 of Na) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen in a manner that is well-known in the art to enable efficient identification and interaction with displayed additional information.
As pertaining to Claim 11, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) a non-transitory computer readable medium (see (100) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6; and see Page 1, Para. [0028]) storing a program for causing a computer to perform a method (see (180) in Fig. 1; see Page 5, Para. [0094]-[0096]), the method comprising:
generating a screen (see (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29) including an image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) that becomes a target (i.e., a gaze target) of an operation (i.e., a selection operation) by a user (see Page 1, Para. [0005]; Page 2, Para. [0040]-[0041]; and Page 3, Para. [0046]),
acquiring line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information; see (S10, S20) in Fig. 5) representing the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151) and a line of sight (i.e., a gaze position) of the user who executes the operation (i.e., the selection operation) while viewing the screen (151) including the image (i.e., any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29; see Page 6, Para. [0107]; and Page 7, Para. [0115]-[0116] and [0122]); and
generating output information (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) including additional information (i.e., displayed information) representing the acquired line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) of the user and the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]), wherein
the additional information (i.e., displayed information) includes an additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) representing the position of the line of sight (i.e., the gaze information) of the user; and
generating further comprising determining contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) according to an overlap (see Fig. 11, Fig. 28, and Fig. 29) of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) with the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
Na does not explicitly disclose that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) comprises modifying at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Frem discloses (see Fig. 1) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that visibility of an additional image (112), being overlaid on an image (108) included in a screen (106), can be improved by determining the contents (i.e., the color, size, shape) of the additional image (112) via modifying at least one of the image (108) included in the screen (106; see (124)) and the additional image (112; see (100, 120, 124)) to improve visibility of the additional image (112) as overlaid on the image (108) included in the screen (106; see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0022]). It is a general goal of Frem to develop techniques and methodologies for enabling a user to identify and interact with displayed additional information efficiently and effectively by building on techniques widely known in the art (see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Na with the teachings of Frem, such that determining the contents of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) comprises modifying, as suggested by Frem, at least one of the image included in the screen (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29 of Na) and the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen in a manner that is well-known in the art to enable efficient identification and interaction with displayed additional information.
As pertaining to Claim 12, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the additional information (i.e., displayed information) includes a range (i.e., a display area) in which the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) is to overlap with the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, the combined teachings of Na and Frem disclose (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29 of Na) that the processing circuitry (see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to
determine a content of the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151), and
change a content of the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) based on the content of the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151; again, see Fig. 29 with Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]),
wherein changing the content of the additional image (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29 of Na) comprises at least one of (see Fig. 1 of Frem) applying blur processing, reducing a size of the additional image (112), adjusting a center of the additional image (112), changing a color of the additional image (112), changing a size of the additional image (112), and changing a shape of the additional image (112) according to an overlap of the additional image (112) with the image (108) included in the screen (106; again, see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0022]; and see Page 5, Para. [0049] and note that the techniques disclosed by Frem are particularly applicable to the presentation of additional information based on gaze tracking systems; further, note that additional image disclosed by Frem is analogous to the additional image disclosed by Na and that, again, it is a general goal of Frem to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen in a manner that is well-known in the art to enable efficient identification and interaction with displayed additional information).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the range (i.e., the display area) in which the additional image (i.e., see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) is to overlap with the image (again, see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (151) is allowed to change when a difference between a previous line-of-sight position information (i.e., a previous gaze information) and a current line-of-sight position information (i.e., a current gaze information) exceeds a predefined threshold (i.e., as defined by the contents of the image; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]; and note, for example as shown in Fig. 29, that a range in which the additional image is disposed is based on a gaze position as associated with a target in an image such that the range only changes as the gaze position moves to be directed to a different target, or moves beyond the predefined threshold defined by the position of the current target).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the range (i.e., the display area) includes a region circumscribed about points (i.e., gazing positions) represented by two or more aspects of the line-of-sight position information (i.e., gaze information) corresponding to the image included in the screen (151; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133] and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170] and note that the line-of-sight position information is continuously generated while a user views images).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (again, see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to generate the output information (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) in synchrony (i.e., overlapping) with the image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (see (151); and again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (again, see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to include the output information (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) including the additional information (i.e., displayed information) with sound information of the image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (see (151); see Page 3, Para. [0046] and [0057]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Na discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 11, and Figs. 28 and 29) that the processing circuitry (again, see (180) in Fig. 1) is further configured to include the output information (again, see (ID) in Fig. 11 and/or see (ED) in Fig. 28 and/or (IP) in Fig. 29) including the additional information (i.e., displayed information) with sound information of the image (see any portion of (151) in Fig. 11 and Figs. 28 and 29, such as (IM) in Figs. 28 and 29) included in the screen (see (151); see Page 3, Para. [0046] and [0057]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0099]-0103]; Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0131]-[0133]; and Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0168]-[0170]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15 and 17-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Na, teach or fairly suggest “modifying at least one of the image included in the screen and the additional image to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on the image included in the screen” as newly recited in at least the independent claims (see Remarks at Pages 7 and 8). Respectfully, this argument is moot in view of at least the combined teachings of Na and Frem, as newly relied upon in the above rejections. In fact, the examiner respectfully maintains that the modification of an “additional image” to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on an image on a screen is a technique that is well-known in the art.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, and 17-19 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art is replete with references directed to the generation and output of “additional information” based on a position of a line-of-sight of a user relative to an image on a display screen. All of the following references are relevant to the claimed invention: Kim et al. (US 2023 / 0071037), Hwang (US 2019 / 0354178), Kawamura (US 2018 / 0348969), Park (US 2018 / 0321739), and Baldwin et al. (US 2012 / 0256967).
The prior art is replete with references directed to the modification of an “additional image” to improve visibility of the additional image as overlaid on an image on a screen. All of the following references are relevant to the claimed invention: Akashi (JP-3370225), Moffett (US 2014 / 0208273), King et al. (US 2013 / 0135288), and Rogalski et al. (US 2006 / 0095867).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623