DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-15,17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being disclosed by Jaggers et al US 2021/0398054(hereinafter Jaggers).
Regarding claim1, Jaggers discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing: data including recorded historical service call videos for one or more medical imaging devices([0214], fig. 7), the videos being annotated with information about the service calls([0131], library of machine learning information can be developed and enhanced as historical data is collected as each of baseline machine, device, or system information and information, where the collection is generated from a plurality of service or repair events for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems. The service or repair event information incorporated in the historical information can provide actual usage data for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems, where such actual usage data can be leveraged to provide useful insights, [0119-0120], [0211]); select one of the historical service call videos based on the acquired video ([0196], the training materials can be viewable by the technician on a display device. In addition, the training materials can be provided in a variety of formats. For example, the training materials can be provided as one or more of a recorded video, a virtual reality environment, a game, a person, a virtual assistant, or through other appropriate media formats); and provide, on a display device, the selected historical service call video ([0196], the training materials can be viewable by the technician on a display device. In addition, the training materials can be provided in a variety of formats. For example, the training materials can be provided as one or more of a recorded video, a virtual reality environment, a game, a person, a virtual assistant, or through other appropriate media formats).
Regarding claim2, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the information about the service calls comprises at least one of: a visual marker or reference point indicative of a component of the medical imaging device represented in the video, a description of one or more servicing actions being executed on the medical imaging device represented in the video, a make and/or model of the imaging device whose servicing is recorded, a date of recording, a landmark on the medical imaging device represented in the video, and/or one or more segment points segmenting the video into chapters([0042], [0200], The obtained information can be transcribed 315 to collect and document, e.g., the make, model and serial number of the machine, device, or system).
Regarding claim3, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein the display device comprises an augmented-reality heads-up display (AR-HUD) device and the selected historical service call video is provided on the display device of the AR-HUD device as AR content ([0038], training materials can be augmented reality(A/R) material).
Regarding claim4, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim1, wherein the recorded historical service call videos include metadata related to a type of medical device and a type of service performed, and select one or more of the historical service call videos based on the acquired video includes: analyzing the metadata of the recorded historical service call videos; and selecting one or more recorded historical service call videos having metadata most similar to metadata of the acquired video([0139], A technician, an owner, etc. can obtain an image of the information plate or label and the acquired image can be processed via optical character recognition (“OCR”) to extract relevant information about a machine, device, or system, such as manufacturer name, serial number, manufacture date, etc. In implementations, information extracted from the images via OCR can be incorporated in a searchable database to provide information relevant to a service or repair event for the machine, device, or system. For example, information derived from the images via OCR can be compared to information in one or more searchable databases to provide specific information about the specific machine, device, or system, a collection of similar machine, device, or systems, prior repairs events, recalls, etc).
Regarding claim5, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein select one or more of the historical service call videos based on the acquired video includes: receiving, from a remote service engineer (RSE), an input comprising a selection of one or more of the historical service call videos ([0016], [0067], [0107], [0159], remote assistance).
Regarding claim6, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein select one or more of the historical service call videos based on the acquired video includes: selecting a plurality of historical service call videos([0088], technician can manually selected training material from a library of materials); providing, on the display device , a user interface (UI) (28) showing the selected historical service call videos, and receiving an input indicative of a selection of one of the historical service call videos shown on the UI([0088], technician can manually selected training material from a library of materials).
Regarding claim8, Jaggers discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim1, wherein the recorded historical service call videos includes recorded videos of historical service calls which are simulated service calls depicting an ideal service call([0130- 0131], library of machine learning information can be developed and enhanced as historical data is collected as each of baseline machine, device, or system information and information, where the collection is generated from a plurality of service or repair events for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems. The service or repair event information incorporated in the historical information can provide actual usage data for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems, where such actual usage data can be leveraged to provide useful insights, [0119-0120], [0211]).
Regarding claim10, Jaggers discloses an augmented-reality heads-up display (AR-HUD) device comprising: a camera ([0038],[0112], fig. 7 user device includes image capturing device) ; the display device([0196], training material can be viewable by the technician on a display device, [0208], fig. 7); and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1; wherein the selected historical service call video is provided on the display device of the AR-HUD device as augmented reality content comprising a transparent or semi-transparent overlay ([0038], training materials can be augmented reality(A/R) material).
Regarding claim12, Jaggers discloses a system for providing maintenance videos for one or more medical devices(fig. 7), the system comprising: an augmented-reality heads-up display (AR-HUD) device including a camera and at least one display device ([0167], [0196], training material can be viewable by the technician on a display device, [0208], fig. 7); and a server computer configured to: control the camera to acquire video of a current medical device being serviced in a current service call(); select one or more historical service call videos based on the acquired video, the historical service call videos comprising pre-recorded historical service call videos for one or more medical imaging devices, the videos being annotated with information about the service calls(); and provide, on the display device, the one or more selected historical service call video as a transparent or semi-transparent overlay ([0038], training materials can be augmented reality(A/R) material).
Claim13 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim4 above.
Regarding claim14, Jaggers discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the server computer is configured to: receive, from a remote service engineer (RSE), an input comprising a selection of one or more of the historical service call videos ([0016], [0067], [0107], [0159], remote assistance).
Claim15 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim6 above.
Regarding claim17, Jaggers discloses the system claim 12, wherein the recorded historical service call videos includes recorded videos of historical service calls which are simulated service calls depicting an ideal service call([0130- 0131], library of machine learning information can be developed and enhanced as historical data is collected as each of baseline machine, device, or system information and information, where the collection is generated from a plurality of service or repair events for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems. The service or repair event information incorporated in the historical information can provide actual usage data for a specific machine, device, or system or a collection of machines, devices, or systems, where such actual usage data can be leveraged to provide useful insights, [0119-0120], [0211]).
Claim20 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim12 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-15,17, 20 above, and further in view of Barral et al US 2020/0302600(hereinafter Barral).
Regarding claim7, Jaggers teaches all the limitations of claim1 above but does not teach and Barral teaches the instructions further include: segmenting the selected historical service call video into one or more subsections ([[0052], dividing video into segments); and receiving an input indicative of fast-forwarding or rewinding to a different subsection of the selected historical service call video([0022], [0057],fast-forwarding the segment while watching it).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to divide video in to segment as in Barral such that the viewer be able to fast-forward or skip portion of the video efficiently.
Claim16 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim7 above.
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-15,17, 20 above, and further in view of Thorley et al US 2019/0272362(hereinafter Thorley).
Regarding claim9, Jaggers teaches all the limitations of claim1 above but does not teach and Thorley teaches the instructions further include: providing, on the display device, a summary of the current service call ([0017], the glasses 110 can act as a display of information to the technician or as an input device. The information displayed can include the check list of a multi-point inspection, repair procedures, instructions, component diagrams, manuals, warranty information, multimedia (e.g. video), augmenting items and the like, [0033], the service ecosystem provide updates (summary of current) in real time in the event that the service is behind or even ahead of schedule).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an update of service is performed in real time as in Thorley in order to help the technician/service provider keep track of his/her progress effectively.
Claim18 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim9 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims11, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484