Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,717,708 B2 (hereinafter ‘708) in view of Rimpel (DE102006050995A1).
Regarding claim 1, claims 1, 17, and 20 of patent ‘708 recites an abseiling device, comprising: a guide arrangement (“guiding arrangement” claims 1 and 20 of patent ‘708) (“guide roller” claim 17 of patent ‘708) that is configured to be rotated in two directions (“bidirectionally rotatable” claims 1, 17, and 20 of patent ‘708) for guidance of a traction means (“pulling means” claims 1 and 20 of patent ‘708) (“rope” claim 17 of patent ‘708), a braking device coupled to the guide arrangement, wherein a drive means (“drive apparatus” claims 1 and 20 of patent ‘708) (“input shaft coupling an external motorized drive apparatus” claim 17 of patent ‘708) is connectable to the guide arrangement for actuating the guide arrangement, and a (“mechanical” claims 1, 17, and 20 of patent ‘708) torque limiter decouples the drive means and the guide arrangement when a threshold value of a torque is exceeded, but lacks a torque limiter with a first coupling body and a second coupling body, wherein the first coupling body is configured to be displaced in translation relative to the second coupling body between a coupling position and a decoupling position. Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches a torque limiter with a first coupling body (1; Figure 1) and a second coupling body (2), wherein the first coupling body (1) is configured to be displaced in translation relative to the second coupling body (2) between a coupling position and a decoupling position (page 4, ¶6). It would have been obvious to modify claim 1 of patent ‘708 with the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 2-8, patent ‘708 recites the above abseiling device, but lacks
(claim 2) wherein the torque limiter comprises a pretensioning device with at least one pretensioning means, which pretensions the first coupling body in a direction of the second coupling body into the coupling position;
(claim 3) wherein the pretensioning device is adjustable, so that the threshold value of the torque above which decoupling of the first coupling body and the second coupling body takes place by translational displacement is determined;
(claim 4) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is designed as a spring element;
(claim 5) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is arranged or clamped between an adjusting element designed as an adjusting nut and the first coupling body;
(claim 6) wherein the adjusting element has a radially inwardly directed abutment against which the at least one pretensioning means is axially supported;
(claim 7) wherein the adjusting element has an internal thread which meshes with an external thread provided on the second coupling body;
(claim 8) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is supported axially on a first ball bearing, which is arranged on the first coupling body on an end face facing away from a first detent elements, so that the first coupling body is configured to rotate relative to the at least one pretensioning means.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 2) wherein the torque limiter comprises a pretensioning device (3, 6; Figure 1) with at least one pretensioning means (6), which pretensions the first coupling body (1) in a direction of the second coupling body (2) into the coupling position;
(claim 3) wherein the pretensioning device (3, 6) is adjustable, so that the threshold value of the torque above which decoupling of the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2) takes place by translational displacement is determined (page 6, ¶1);
(claim 4) wherein the at least one pretensioning means (6) is designed as a spring element (page 4, ¶3-6);
(claim 5) wherein the at least one pretensioning means (6; Figure 1) is arranged or clamped between an adjusting element (3) designed as an adjusting nut and the first coupling body (1);
(claim 6) wherein the adjusting element (3) has a radially inwardly directed abutment (31) against which the at least one pretensioning means (6) is axially supported;
(claim 7) wherein the adjusting element (3) has an internal thread which meshes with an external thread provided on the second coupling body (2; page 6, ¶14);
(claim 8) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is supported axially on a first ball bearing (4; Figure 1), which is arranged on the first coupling body (1) on an end face facing away from a first detent elements (right side locking balls 5), so that the first coupling body (1) is configured to rotate relative to the at least one pretensioning means (6).
It would have been obvious to modify patent ‘708 to include the torque limiter and pretensioning device as taught by Rimpel in order to improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 10-16, patent ‘708 recites the above abseiling device, but lacks
(claim 10) wherein first detent elements are arranged on the first coupling body and second detent elements are arranged on the second coupling body, and wherein in a coupling position, the first detent elements and the second detent elements engage with one another in a form-fitting and frictionally engaged manner;
(claim 11) wherein the first detent elements and the second detent elements are designed as detent balls;
(claim 12) wherein the first detent elements and the second detent elements are frictionally engaged with one another in the decoupling position of the first coupling body and the second coupling body;
(claim 13) wherein the first coupling body has first recesses for receiving the first detent elements and the second coupling body has second recesses for receiving the second detent elements;
(claim 14) wherein the first detent elements protrude from the first recesses and the second detent elements protrude from the second recesses, such that the first detent elements engage with the second detent elements;
(claim 15) wherein the first detent elements are arranged concentrically on a first end face of the first coupling body facing the second coupling body and the second detent elements are arranged concentrically about an axis of rotation on a second end face of the second coupling body facing the first coupling body;
(claim 16) wherein each of the first detent elements and the second detent elements are each arranged equidistant from one another.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 10) wherein first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) are arranged on the first coupling body (1) and second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are arranged on the second coupling body (2), and wherein in a coupling position, the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) engage with one another in a form-fitting and frictionally engaged manner (Figures 3 and 5).
(claim 11) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are designed as detent balls;
(claim 12) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are frictionally engaged with one another in the decoupling position of the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2; Figure 4);
(claim 13) wherein the first coupling body (1) has first recesses (15; Figure 1) for receiving the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second coupling body (2) has second recesses (25) for receiving the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5);
(claim 14) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) protrude from the first recesses (15) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) protrude from the second recesses (25), such that the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) engage with the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5);
(claim 15) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) are arranged concentrically on a first end face (end face of body 1 where recesses 15 are provided; Figure 1) of the first coupling body (1) facing the second coupling body (2) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are arranged concentrically about an axis of rotation on a second end face (end face of body 2 where recesses 25 are provided) of the second coupling body (2) facing the first coupling body (1);
(claim 16) wherein each of the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are each arranged equidistant from one another (Figures 6-8).
It would have been obvious to modify patent ‘708 to include the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling/coupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 18-20, patent ‘708 recites the above abseiling device, but lacks
(claim 18) wherein the first coupling body is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body;
(claim 19) wherein the first coupling body and the second coupling body are mounted so as to be rotatable coaxially about an axis of rotation;
(claim 20) wherein the first coupling body is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body in a direction of the axis of rotation.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 18) wherein the first coupling body (1) is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body (2; page 4, ¶6);
(claim 19) wherein the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2) are mounted so as to be rotatable coaxially about an axis of rotation (page 4, ¶6);
(claim 20) wherein the first coupling body (1) is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body (2) in a direction of the axis of rotation (page 4, ¶6).
It would have been obvious to modify patent ‘708 to include the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling/coupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, last line, the hyphen after “position” should be removed.
In claim 8, line 4, “from a first detent elements” should read ---from first detent elements---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 10, lines 4-5, “wherein in a coupling position, the first detent elements and the second detent elements engage with one another in a form-fitting and frictionally engaged manner”.
In claim 16, “wherein each of the first detent elements and the second detent elements are each arranged equidistant from one another”.
In claim 17, “wherein a first distance between each of the first detent elements is equal to a second distance between each of the second detent elements”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do and do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“traction means” in claim 1, line 3.
“drive means” in claim 1, line 5.
“pretensioning device” in claim 2, line 2.
“at least one pretensioning means” in claim 2, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 11, the phrase “designed as” in line 2 of claim 4, line 3 of claim 5, and line 3 of claim 11 renders the claim indefinite because the phrase is unclear as to whether or not the action after the phrase actually occurs. Applicant may want to consider using ---configured as--- instead.
Claims 5-9 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 4.
Claims 13-14 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogge (US20180296861A1) in view of Rimpel (DE102006050995A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rogge discloses an abseiling device, comprising: a guide arrangement (25; Figure 2) that is configured to be rotated in two directions for guidance of a traction means (26), a braking device (30) coupled to the guide arrangement (25), wherein a drive means (35) is connectable to the guide arrangement (25) for actuating the guide arrangement (25), and a torque limiter (27) with a first coupling body (31) and a second coupling body (32), wherein the torque limiter (33) decouples the drive means (35) and the guide arrangement (25) when a threshold value of the a torque is exceeded (Abstract), but fails to teach wherein the first coupling body is configured to be displaced in translation relative to the second coupling body between a coupling position and a decoupling position.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches wherein the first coupling body (1; Figure 1) is configured to be displaced in translation relative to the second coupling body (2) between a coupling position and a decoupling position (page 4, ¶6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abseiling device of Rogge to include the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 2-8, Rogge discloses the abseiling device, but fails to teach
(claim 2) wherein the torque limiter comprises a pretensioning device with at least one pretensioning means, which pretensions the first coupling body in a direction of the second coupling body into the coupling position;
(claim 3) wherein the pretensioning device is adjustable, so that the threshold value of the torque above which decoupling of the first coupling body and the second coupling body takes place by translational displacement is determined;
(claim 4) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is designed as a spring element;
(claim 5) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is arranged or clamped between an adjusting element designed as an adjusting nut and the first coupling body;
(claim 6) wherein the adjusting element has a radially inwardly directed abutment against which the at least one pretensioning means is axially supported;
(claim 7) wherein the adjusting element has an internal thread which meshes with an external thread provided on the second coupling body;
(claim 8) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is supported axially on a first ball bearing, which is arranged on the first coupling body on an end face facing away from a first detent elements, so that the first coupling body is configured to rotate relative to the at least one pretensioning means.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 2) wherein the torque limiter comprises a pretensioning device (3, 6; Figure 1) with at least one pretensioning means (6), which pretensions the first coupling body (1) in a direction of the second coupling body (2) into the coupling position;
(claim 3) wherein the pretensioning device (3, 6) is adjustable, so that the threshold value of the torque above which decoupling of the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2) takes place by translational displacement is determined (page 6, ¶1);
(claim 4) wherein the at least one pretensioning means (6) is designed as a spring element (page 4, ¶3-6);
(claim 5) wherein the at least one pretensioning means (6; Figure 1) is arranged or clamped between an adjusting element (3) designed as an adjusting nut and the first coupling body (1);
(claim 6) wherein the adjusting element (3) has a radially inwardly directed abutment (31) against which the at least one pretensioning means (6) is axially supported;
(claim 7) wherein the adjusting element (3) has an internal thread which meshes with an external thread provided on the second coupling body (2; page 6, ¶14);
(claim 8) wherein the at least one pretensioning means is supported axially on a first ball bearing (4; Figure 1), which is arranged on the first coupling body (1) on an end face facing away from a first detent elements (right side locking balls 5), so that the first coupling body (1) is configured to rotate relative to the at least one pretensioning means (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abseiling device of Rogge to include the torque limiter and pretensioning device as taught by Rimpel in order to improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 10-16, Rogge discloses the abseiling device, but fails to teach
(claim 10) wherein first detent elements are arranged on the first coupling body and second detent elements are arranged on the second coupling body, and wherein in a coupling position, the first detent elements and the second detent elements engage with one another in a form-fitting and frictionally engaged manner;
(claim 11) wherein the first detent elements and the second detent elements are designed as detent balls;
(claim 12) wherein the first detent elements and the second detent elements are frictionally engaged with one another in the decoupling position of the first coupling body and the second coupling body;
(claim 13) wherein the first coupling body has first recesses for receiving the first detent elements and the second coupling body has second recesses for receiving the second detent elements;
(claim 14) wherein the first detent elements protrude from the first recesses and the second detent elements protrude from the second recesses, such that the first detent elements engage with the second detent elements;
(claim 15) wherein the first detent elements are arranged concentrically on a first end face of the first coupling body facing the second coupling body and the second detent elements are arranged concentrically about an axis of rotation on a second end face of the second coupling body facing the first coupling body;
(claim 16) wherein each of the first detent elements and the second detent elements are each arranged equidistant from one another.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 10) wherein first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) are arranged on the first coupling body (1) and second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are arranged on the second coupling body (2), and wherein in a coupling position, the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) engage with one another in a form-fitting and frictionally engaged manner (Figures 3 and 5).
(claim 11) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are designed as detent balls;
(claim 12) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are frictionally engaged with one another in the decoupling position of the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2; Figure 4);
(claim 13) wherein the first coupling body (1) has first recesses (15; Figure 1) for receiving the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second coupling body (2) has second recesses (25) for receiving the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5);
(claim 14) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) protrude from the first recesses (15) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) protrude from the second recesses (25), such that the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) engage with the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5);
(claim 15) wherein the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) are arranged concentrically on a first end face (end face of body 1 where recesses 15 are provided; Figure 1) of the first coupling body (1) facing the second coupling body (2) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are arranged concentrically about an axis of rotation on a second end face (end face of body 2 where recesses 25 are provided) of the second coupling body (2) facing the first coupling body (1);
(claim 16) wherein each of the first detent elements (right side locking balls 5) and the second detent elements (left side locking balls 5) are each arranged equidistant from one another (Figures 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abseiling device of Rogge to include the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling/coupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Regarding claims 18-20, Rogge discloses the abseiling device, but fails to teach
(claim 18) wherein the first coupling body is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body;
(claim 19) wherein the first coupling body and the second coupling body are mounted so as to be rotatable coaxially about an axis of rotation;
(claim 20) wherein the first coupling body is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body in a direction of the axis of rotation.
Rimpel teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches
(claim 18) wherein the first coupling body (1) is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body (2; page 4, ¶6);
(claim 19) wherein the first coupling body (1) and the second coupling body (2) are mounted so as to be rotatable coaxially about an axis of rotation (page 4, ¶6);
(claim 20) wherein the first coupling body (1) is axially displaceable relative to the second coupling body (2) in a direction of the axis of rotation (page 4, ¶6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abseiling device of Rogge to include the torque limiter as taught by Rimpel in order to reduce spacing of the coupling arrangement, improve the accuracy and speed of decoupling/coupling, and prevent jamming of split coupling components to prevent overloading of the drive motor and/or abseiling components.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogge, in view of Rimpel, and in further view of Englert (DE202005005513U1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Rogge discloses the abseiling device, but fails to teach wherein a first distance between each of the first detent elements is equal to a second distance between each of the second detent elements.
Englert teaches a similar torque limiter and further teaches wherein a first distance between each of the first detent elements (K1; Figure 4) is equal to a second distance between each of the second detent elements (K2; page 6, ¶6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abseiling device of Rogge to include the first and second detent element distance as taught by Englert in order to ensure improved engagement and disengagement of the detent elements and reduce improper wear to prevent frequent repairs and maintenance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the first ball bearing is arranged in such a way that bearing balls present in the first ball bearing project axially above an upper U-leg.
Rimpel is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein the first ball bearing (4) is arranged in a groove of U-shaped cross-section running concentrically around an axis of rotation in such a way that bearing balls present in the first ball bearing (4) project axially above a lower U-leg, such that the at least one pretensioning means (6) is supported on the bearing balls, but fails to teach wherein the first ball bearing is arranged in such a way that bearing balls present in the first ball bearing project axially above an upper U-leg.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654