Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I- Claims 1-22 in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 3, 6, 8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “about 0.5 mm to about 20 mm”, and the claim also recites “preferably, from about 4 mm to about 6 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 states “applying a first adhesive composition”. A first adhesive composition already has antecedent basis in claim 1, an the restating of “a first adhesive composition” makes it indefinite as to whether this adhesive composition is the same composition as in claim 1, or if a different adhesive is intended. Applicant should amend claim 6 to “applying the first adhesive” for clarity. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret claim 6 as “applying the first adhesive”.
Regarding claim 8, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “about 10 to about 40 grams per square metre”, and the claim also recites “preferably… about 20 to about 30 grams per square metre” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 states “the step of applying the first adhesive composition to the outer layer is at a temperature of from about 50° C to 150° C”. It is unclear what is at the temperature range- the adhesive, the outer board, the adhesive applicator, or the environmental air temperature. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this as “…layer, the first adhesive composition is at a temperature”.
Regarding claim 12, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “about 5 to about 100 grams per square metre”, and the claim also recites “preferably… about 10 to about 40 grams per square metre” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 13, similar to claim 10, claim 13 states “applying the second adhesive composition to the uniform outer layer is performed at a temperature of from about 50°C to about 150°C.” It is unclear what is at the temperature range- the adhesive, the outer board, the adhesive applicator, or the environmental air temperature. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this as “…layer, the second adhesive composition is at a temperature”.
3. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the first and second adhesive composition are the same adhesive composition or different adhesive compositions” doesn’t further limit the subject matter as this limitation is all encompassing- there is no first adhesive composition and second adhesive composition that does not abide by this claim limitation, and therefore it is not further limiting.
4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Morris (US 2018/0195292) in view of Yoshimura et al. (US 6,010,793; hereafter Yoshimura).
Regarding claim 1, Morris teaches a method of a protective film to a construction panel ([0006]) comprising the steps of applying a first adhesive composition (“further adhesive composition”) to an outer layer of a construction panel (“surface of the construction panel”; also noted as “top surface”- 27 in [0007]) to provide an outer layer (“entire surface”) and then applying a second adhesive composition (“adhesive composition”) to the outer layer to provide a bonding surface (“peripheral region of a surface of the construction panel”), and the finally applying a protective film (“protective film”) to bond the protective film to the construction panel ([0022]-[0023]).
Morris teaches that the construction panel can be made of oriented strand board ([0009]), but does not discuss whether the oriented strand board has overlapping wood strands or a plurality of recesses, as well as being unclear if the first adhesive composition fills the plurality of recesses. Yoshimura teaches that oriented strand boards have both overlapping wood strands (col. 1 lines 31-40) and a plurality of recesses (noted as “irregularities” that cause cavities; col. 1 lines 41-55) and teaches that it is advantageous to fill the plurality of recesses into a uniform surface (“smoothed”) for the advantages of preventing warping and twisting and to create a better adhesion surface (col. 2 lines 35-44). In applying this technique to Morris, the outer surface of Morris would be a uniform outer surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to ensure that the first adhesive composition of Morris fills the recesses in the overlapping strands of wood of the outer layer of Morris’s construction panel as suggested by Yoshimura for the advantage of preventing warping and twisting and to create a better adhesion surface.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, Morris teaches that the construction panel is Oriented Strand Board ([0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant discloses in [0099]-[0100] of the PGPub of the immediate application (US 2025/0206010) that it is known in the prior art that oriented strand boards typically have a plurality of recesses from about 4 mm to 6 mm. Since Morris teaches the use of oriented strand boards, Morris’s outer layer would inherently have a plurality of recesses in the outer layer at a depth form about 4 mm to 6 mm.
Regarding claim 4, in applying Yoshimura as in claim 1, Yoshimura teaches that the wood strands of an oriented strand board can any type of wood, but specifically mentions pine, fir, and aspen as working examples (col. 1 line 62- col. 2 line 4).
Regarding claim 5, in Yoshimura as in claim 1, Yoshimura teaches to dry the uniform outer layer (“putty” noted as an adhesive; col. 8 lines 48-54). This is done prior to application of a second adhesive composition (col. 9 lines 1-9), and is therefore relevant to the method of Morris. This drying also enables the advantage of a better adhesion surface for which Yoshimura is relied upon for its combination with Morris in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Morris teaches that the first adhesive composition is applied to the outer layer via spray coating ([0026]).
Regarding claim 7, in applying Yoshimura as in claim 1, Yoshimura teaches that the a compression force should be applied to the outer layer after application of the first adhesive composition to compress the first adhesive composition into the plurality of recesses and form the uniform outer layer (col. 6 line 53- col. 7 line 10).
Regarding claim 8, Morris teaches that the first adhesive composition is applied at a coat weight of from about 30 to about 100 grams per square metre ([0024]). It is noted that a claimed range which overlaps, lies within, or is near a prior art range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness for using values in the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Morris teaches that first adhesive composition can be the same as the second adhesive composition ([0022]), and then teaches that the viscosity of the second adhesive composition is from about 1000 to about 3100 cPs at 160°C ([0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Morris teaches that the temperature of the first adhesive composition when applied to the outer layer is in a temperature range of from about 50°C to about 150°C ([0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Morris teaches that the step of applying the second adhesive composition to the uniform outer layer comprises spraying, brushing or roller coating the second adhesive composition onto the uniform outer layer ([0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Morris teaches that the second adhesive composition is applied to the uniform outer layer at a coat weight of from about 5 to about 80 grams per square metre ([0031]). It is noted that a claimed range which overlaps, lies within, or is near a prior art range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness for using values in the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, Morris teaches that the temperature of the second adhesive composition when applied to the uniform outer layer is in a temperature range of from about 80°C to about 220°C ([0029]).It is noted that a claimed range which overlaps, lies within, or is near a prior art range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness for using values in the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, the first and second adhesive compositions are either the same composition or a different composition by default, but Morris also teaches the first and second adhesive compositions are either the same composition or a different composition ([0022]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned previously the first and second adhesive composition of Morris can be the same composition ([0022]), which can be a hot melt adhesive ([0018]).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned previously the first and second adhesive composition of Morris can be the same composition ([0022]), which can be ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer based adhesive, polyolefin based adhesive, polyamide based adhesive, polyester based adhesive, polyurethane based adhesive, styrene block copolymer based adhesive, polycaprolactone based adhesive, polycarbonate based adhesive, fluorinated polymer based adhesive, silicone polymer based adhesive, polypyrrole based adhesive or any combination thereof ([0018]).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned previously the first and second adhesive composition of Morris can be the same composition ([0022]), which in one embodiment the bonding with the second adhesive composition is done by UV light exposure ([0036]), which makes the second, and consequentially the first adhesive composition a UV curable adhesive.
Regarding claim 19, Morris teaches that the protective film can a polyethylene based material, polypropylene based material, polyvinyl chloride based material, polyethylene terephthalate based material, polyvinylidene chloride based material, ethylene vinyl alcohol based material, ethylene vinyl acetate based material or any combination thereof ([0020]).
Regarding claim 20, Morris teaches that the protective film has a film weight of from about 60 grams per square metre to about 140 grams per square metre ([0020]).
Regarding claim 21, Morris teaches applying a pressure of from about 20 kPa to about 800 kPa to said protective film when bonding the protective film to the construction panel ([0036]). As this is applied to the whole laminate, this pressure would be applied to the protective film.
Regarding claim 22, Morris teaches of applying an adhesive to both the peripheral region of the construction panel and the protective film ([0022]). The adhesive applied to the construction panel is the second adhesive composition, and the adhesive applied to the surface of the protective film is a third adhesive composition.
6. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris and Yoshimura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gerello (US 2007/0029041).
Regarding claim 18, in applying Yoshimura as in claim 1, Yoshimura teaches that the first adhesive should be dried, or in other words cured (“putty” noted as an adhesive; col. 8 lines 48-54) prior to further placement of adhesive (col. 9 lines 1-9). A time is not given. Gerello suggests that it takes 30 seconds to fill the recesses of an oriented strand board ([0039]). This is within Applicant’s claimed range of 5-120 seconds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to have a delay time of 30 seconds between the step of applying the first adhesive composition and the step of applying the second adhesive composition for the advantage of having the recesses properly filled.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745