Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jae (KR20100026809A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Jae discloses a magnesium alloy molding device comprising:
a support unit (fig.4: (30)) supporting a processing target to be rotatable;
a rotating unit (fig.4: (20)) opposite to the support unit, the rotating unit configured for rotating the processing target supported by the support unit; and
at least one roller unit (fig.4: (44a), (44b) and (44d)) configured for applying a pressure to the processing target while being moved in an axial direction of the processing target and rotated along the outer circumferential surface of the processing target.
Jae does not disclose at least one heater module detachably disposed
on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target an outer circumferential surface;
However, Jae discloses at least one heater module (fig.3: (60)) detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing element and heating the processing target and heating the processing target;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange at least one heater module of Jae to be at least one heater module detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target in order to heat the processing target (Jae: page 2 lines 3-5), since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Jae discloses wherein the roller unit has a predetermined incline relative to the processing target (fig.7).
Regarding claim 3, Jae discloses wherein the roller unit further includes a roller moving unit moved forward or backward in the axial direction of the processing target (page 12 lines 3-4).
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US20110214832A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses a magnesium alloy molding device (abstract and paragraphs 0001-0002: the device of fig.5 is cable to process a magnesium alloy) comprising:
a support unit (fig.5: (13)) supporting a processing target to be rotatable (paragraphs 0027-0036);
a rotating unit (fig.5: (10)) opposite to the support unit, the rotating unit configured for rotating the processing target supported by the support unit (paragraph 0047); and
at least one roller unit (fig.5: (16)) configured for applying a pressure to the processing target while being moved in an axial direction of the processing target and rotated along the outer circumferential surface of the processing target (paragraphs 0034-0036).
Ha does not disclose at least one heater module detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target and heating the processing target;
However, Ha discloses at least one heater module (fig.5: (22)) disposed near an outer circumferential surface of the processing target and heating the processing target (paragraphs 0037-0038);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange at least one heater module of Ha to be at least one heater module detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target in order to heat the processing target (Ha: paragraph 0049), since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 3, Ha discloses wherein the roller unit further includes a roller moving unit moved forward or backward in the axial direction of the processing target (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Ha discloses wherein the roller unit further includes a roller rotating unit rotating the roller unit along the outer circumferential surface of the processing target (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Ha discloses a compensation unit inserted into the processing target to compensate for shaking of the processing target (fig.5: (12a) is capable to compensate for shaking of the processing target).
Regarding claim 6, Ha discloses a heater (fig.5: (15)) heating the processing target to a predetermined temperature (paragraph 0033).
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenji (JP2000126827 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kenji discloses a magnesium alloy molding device (paragraphs 0012-0020) comprising:
a support unit (fig.1: (8)) supporting a processing target to be rotatable;
a rotating unit (fig.1: (2)) opposite to the support unit, the rotating unit configured for rotating the processing target supported by the support unit; and
at least one roller unit (fig.2: (5)) configured for applying a pressure to the processing target while being moved in an axial direction of the processing target and rotated along the outer circumferential surface of the processing target.
Kenji does not disclose at least one heater module detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target;
However, Kenji discloses at least one heater module (fig.1: (20)) disposed near an outer circumferential surface of the processing target and heating the processing target;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange at least one heater module of Kenji to be at least one heater module detachably disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the processing target in order to heat the processing target (Kenji: paragraph 0006), since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Kenji discloses wherein the roller unit has a predetermined incline relative to the processing target (fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Kenji discloses a compensation unit inserted into the processing target to compensate for shaking of the processing target (fig.1: the element (3) is capable to compensate for shaking of the processing target).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725