DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9 recites “the interface (600) comprises an analyser (610)” that has typos, should be “the interface comprises an analyser”. Remove block number.
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 10 not been further treated on the merits.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“second layer”, “interface”, “analyser”, “key performance calculator”, “upload selector”, “condition monitoring system”, “machine protection system”, “control system”, and “monitoring system” in claims 1-2 and 5-9.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification (Fig. 1, page 3 lines 18-21 and page 6 line 18-page 7 line 3, second layer 200 implemented by computer) as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a key performance indicator calculator configured to determine at least one key performance indicator based on the data in the buffer, and an upload selector configured to select data from the incoming data to be forwarded to the data sink”. The relationship between the incoming data/selecting data to be forwarded to the data sink and the at least one key performance indicator are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MALLADI WO 2017035536 A1.
Regarding claim 1, MALLADI teaches a monitoring system for monitoring industrial plant equipment (Fig. 5 [76] edge computing platform) comprising:
a first layer having a plurality of sensors configured to detect parameters of equipment of an industrial plant (Fig. 5 [07] [81] [209] a plurality of sensors detecting parameters of equipment of a manufacturing plant),
a second layer configured to implement a process control system based on data from the first layer (Fig. 5 [92] [93] [81] [84] [86] [88] the data processing layer 515 i.e. “second layer” including analytics engine 535 and a plurality of deployed applications 567 communicating with the data bus to perform machine learning and feedback and automated controls based on the data converted from the detected sensor data), and
an interface coupled to the first and/or second layer configured to receive data from the first and/or second layer and to pre-process the received data (Fig. 5 [81] the data processing 515 layer including a coupled data bus 532 receiving data from the sensors i.e. “the first layer” and the analytics engine and deployed Apps i.e. “second layer”, and pre-processing the received data using decoder to decode the received data into common data format and decorating with additional metadata),
wherein the interface (600) comprises an analyser (610) configured to analyse the data from the first and/or second layer and to add metadata to the data from the plurality of sensors (Fig. 5 [81] the data bus including a decoder to decode the received data into common data format and adding additional metadata),
wherein the interface is configured to analyse the incoming data and to output the processed data to a data sink (Fig. 5 [81] [86] the incoming data is processed by the decoder of the data bus and is output to data publisher 570 i.e. “data sink” to further output to storage location 573 in the cloud i.e. “data sink”),
wherein the interface is configured to only allow a one-way data communication to the data sink (Fig. 5 [81] [86] the data bus transmitting the processed data by one-way communication to the data publisher 570 and the storage location 573 in the cloud, as indicated in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, MALLADI further teaches the interface is implemented as an Internet-of Things Edge unit (Fig. 5 [07] [76] the data bus is a IoT Edge unit).
Regarding claim 8, MALLADI further teaches an industrial plant (Fig. 5 [07] [81] [209] a plurality of sensors detecting parameters of equipment of a manufacturing plant), comprising:
at least one industrial plant equipment (Fig. 5 [07] [81] [209] a plurality of sensors detecting parameters of equipment of a manufacturing plant),
a control system (Figs. 4&5 [61] [76] edge platform) having a first layer having a plurality of sensors configured to detect parameters of the industrial plant equipment, and a second layer configured to implement a process control system based on the data from the first layer, and
a monitoring system for monitoring industrial plant equipment (Fig. 5 [75] [92] [93] [81] [84] [86] [88] the data processing layer 515 i.e. “second layer” including analytics engine 535 and a plurality of deployed applications 567 communicating with the data bus to monitor the plant equipment) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. Since MALLADI teaches the claimed system, he teaches the method steps for implementing the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALLADI as applied to claims 1, 6 and 8-9 above, in view of Luedtke US 20150127121 A1.
Regarding claim 2, MALLADI does not explicitly further teach the interface further comprises a data buffer, a key performance indicator calculator configured to determine at least one key performance indicator based on the data in the buffer, and an upload selector configured to select data from the incoming data to be forwarded to the data sink.
Luedtke explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the interface further comprises a data buffer (Fig. 3 [0084] measurement device output data 304 held in a database or memory), a key performance indicator calculator configured to determine at least one key performance indicator based on the data in the buffer, and an upload selector configured to select data from the incoming data to be forwarded to the data sink (Fig.5 [0106] [0107] performance indicator is determined using the MDO data corresponding to the time period, and is forwarded to the destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MALLADI to incorporate the teachings of Luedtke, because they all directed to plant process control, to make the system wherein the interface further comprises a data buffer, a key performance indicator calculator configured to determine at least one key performance indicator based on the data in the buffer, and an upload selector configured to select data from the incoming data to be forwarded to the data sink. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to keep track of the performance of the processing system, as Luedtke teaches in [0107].
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALLADI as applied to claims 1, 6 and 8-9 above, in view of Sayyarrodsari EP 3798776 A1.
Regarding claim 3, MALLADI does not explicitly further teach the metadata comprises time information and/or information on the sensor which has detected the data.
Sayyarrodsari explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the metadata comprises time information and/or information on the sensor which has detected the data ([0058] [0061] metadata including a state of a sensor and the time interval of the data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MALLADI to incorporate the teachings of Sayyarrodsari, because they all directed to plant process control, to make the system wherein the metadata comprises time information and/or information on the sensor which has detected the data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to quickly learn insights into the associated industrial process or machine operation, as Sayyarrodsari teaches in [0058].
Regarding claim 4, Sayyarrodsari further teaches the time information comprises time stamps or time shift information ([0061] [0072] [0104] start and end time and timestamps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MALLADI to incorporate the teachings of Sayyarrodsari, because they all directed to plant process control, to make the system wherein the time information comprises time stamps or time shift information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to quickly learn insights into the associated industrial process or machine operation, as Sayyarrodsari teaches in [0058].
Regarding claim 5, Sayyarrodsari further teaches the second layer comprises a condition monitoring system, and/or a machine protection system, wherein the interface is configured to analyse the data from the condition monitoring system, and/or the machine protection system and to add metadata to their output data, to process the data in order to reduce the amount of data if required, and to output the processed data to the data sink ([0111] the data collected from the sensor layer is normalized and modeled and present the resulting contextualized data, the added contextualized data can be automatically discovered and by referencing a customized model that defines data items such as key performance indicators etc., the amount of storage required is reduced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MALLADI to incorporate the teachings of Sayyarrodsari, because they all directed to plant process control, to make the system wherein the second layer comprises a condition monitoring system, and/or a machine protection system, wherein the interface is configured to analyse the data from the condition monitoring system, and/or the machine protection system and to add metadata to their output data, to process the data in order to reduce the amount of data if required, and to output the processed data to the data sink. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to quickly learn insights into the associated industrial process or machine operation, as Sayyarrodsari teaches in [0058].
Regarding claim 7, Sayyarrodsari further teaches the interface is configured to perform a time shifting on data from the first layer based on time shift information in the metadata to harmonize the data with data from other sensors ([0072] synchronizing the start and stop times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MALLADI to incorporate the teachings of Sayyarrodsari, because they all directed to plant process control, to make the system wherein the second layer comprises a condition monitoring system, and/or a machine protection system, wherein the interface is configured to analyse the data from the condition monitoring system, and/or the machine protection system and to add metadata to their output data, to process the data in order to reduce the amount of data if required, and to output the processed data to the data sink. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to obtain relevant and accurate data for processing, as Sayyarrodsari teaches in [0072].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhargava US 20180307723 A1 teaches performance indicator determined and sent to learning.
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115